Old 4th April 2011, 20:43   #166

Re: HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
he design FMEA (failure mode effect analysis) requires that you tilt the power plant very slightly about the Z (vertical) axis as well. The idea is to make the adjacent needles in the needle bearings of the propeller shaft crosses overlap each others' position during running, minimizing wear and vibrations
If the intent is minimizing wear and NVH, (& not safety) then how does it figure in an FMEA?

The power steering / collapsible steering column are easier said than done, power steering requires change in king pin inclination angle.
Why is that? and how is it achieved. Do PS and nonPS variants of Santro/Zen etc have this modification?
Old 4th April 2011, 23:30   #167

Power steering the whole kit is being changed and its gonna cost dear according to initial quotes :( 62k including, column, rack, steering wheel, pump and what not! No jugaad here.

EDIT: New Amby's do come with collapsible aka joint type steering column as OE

Last edited by Jaggu : 4th April 2011 at 23:33.
Old 5th April 2011, 00:08   #168

Ah! This is where the thread is! I was wondering how come there is no update on the Amby rejuvenation work!

Rudra sir - Firstly, It was a pleasure to have met you! Secondly, since you stay far off, please do let me know if you would want me to keep you posted on the updates as I visit Gopal very frequently for my Hulk, though I know your beauty is very safe hands of Gopal.

All I can say is "A Beautiful car!"

Shubz
Old 5th April 2011, 10:48   #169

Originally Posted by Shubz View Post
Secondly, since you stay far off, please do let me know if you would want me to keep you posted on the updates as I visit Gopal very frequently for my Hulk, though I know your beauty is very safe hands of Gopal.
Hey, thanks a lot. Yes, need your help for sure. Also please PM me your phone number if that's not an issue.
All I can say is "A Beautiful car!
Thanks boss. I'm sure she'll come out great.
Old 7th April 2011, 08:13   #170

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
If the intent is minimizing wear and NVH, (& not safety) then how does it figure in an FMEA?

Why is that? and how is it achieved. Do PS and nonPS variants of Santro/Zen etc have this modification?
Dear Mpower - your first query, the intent is to minimize wear and NVH, therefore "acceptance criteria" of number of cyclic variations the propeller shaft will be subject to and the allowable deterioration in performance is controlled. This is done through FMEA. Your second query, the actuating torque and stabilizing torque with power steering requires change in wheel setting parameters to prevent wander / drift, otherwise you will have a vehicle moving like a drunk person on the road.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2011, 08:17   #171

otherwise you will have a vehicle moving like a drunk person on the road.
Can you guide me to some link/s where I can read more about it? I don't want my car to behave like drunk on the road.
Old 7th April 2011, 21:13   #172

Some serious developments, have to wait for the weekend to confirm the plan ahead. Rust and loads of metal paste, we will have to make some tough calls in the next few days :(
Old 8th April 2011, 19:43   #173

Though I don't know about the developments, I could see layers n layers of metal paste being shed by maamu. Hope to catch up with you gentlemen tomorrow.
Old 8th April 2011, 22:16   #174

Am not sure about tomorrow for me, you might want to touch base with Rudra if he is in town. Actually it would be really helpful. Or i will make it for sunday afternoon session. But darn those metal paste!
Old 8th April 2011, 22:31   #175

Hey Rudra! Gopal is just the right person to work on your Amby.

Bhpian Prabhuav's Padmini too is getting restored in the same place.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...ni-1989-a.html

Some pics of Gopal's very very original 1960 FIAT 1100 Select. I had seen this car a year ago in the FIAT Club meet.

See the reflection on the car. The body line is just perfect! Zero metal paste.

Hope the BLACK AMBY too turns out like this FIAT!
HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-dsc09583.jpg  

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-dsc09584.jpg  

Last edited by EARTHed : 8th April 2011 at 22:33.
Old 9th April 2011, 02:15   #176

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Am not sure about tomorrow for me, you might want to touch base with Rudra if he is in town. Actually it would be really helpful. Or i will make it for sunday afternoon session. But darn those metal paste!
And I thought he shuts shop on Sundays. Does he not?

Rudra sir asked me for my no. and i was hoping he'd call me for anything but so far nothing. Anyways I would be doing my regular visit, do let me know if you need to know anything specific (visual confirmations)

Old 9th April 2011, 22:14   #177

Originally Posted by Shubz View Post
Rudra sir asked me for my no. and i was hoping he'd call me for anything but so far nothing. Anyways I would be doing my regular visit, do let me know if you need to know anything specific (visual confirmations)
I did call you Shubz.
Got late because reached Bangalore from Chennai almost an hour late. Thanks to Kingfisher Airline.

Anyway, I was worried hearing horror stories about huge quantity of metal paste usage from the last job. In reality, it didn't looked that bad today. Gopal told me that left side was damaged due to some heavy impact.
I had completely forgotten that a sand filled truck reversed and landed on my parked Amby (1987). So with my minimum pocket strength and what not, I had managed to bring it back to some shape. And now that entire area has to be corrected.

Inspection of alignment of the left fender.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-gopal1.jpg

Positioning of the same.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-positioning.jpg

Putting a clean shaped bonnet to check the gap.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-bonnet1.jpg

Expecting to get the line gap like this and it will happen.
This so called an artist's impression. Don't take it seriously.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-bonnet2.jpg

Right side inside core wall needs lot of patch job.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-patches.jpg

Chassis after the cut is perfect.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-chassis.jpg

Right side fender's shock absorber bed to be corrected.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-mount.jpg

Checking with a fresh grill for gap/alignment.

HM Ambassador - At 45th year. Reincarnation process in progress.-grill.jpg

More I'm watching Gopal in action, more I'm convinced about his capability. Today I watched him working on Shubz's jeep's engine valve grinding/setting. He took more than an hour to work on one valve..
Before that I saw him working on Shubz's engine's distributor coupling. There was some play and watched him making the coupling face fresh and filing out the groove and slots. He's amazing!!

I don't mind him taking his time. He told me that my car will come out the way he wants. Who am I to question him or push him?

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 9th April 2011 at 22:16.
Old 10th April 2011, 13:10   #178

Wow your Amby is getting back into ship shape.Get her some simple alloys too this time.Black will be the best color on amby (white ambys are mainly taxi cars).Panel gaps are not irregular particularly on the bonnet.Does your amby also have k&n air filters?
Old 10th April 2011, 13:41   #179

Originally Posted by shk 8896 View Post
Get her some simple alloys too this time.
Naah.. Amby doesn't go well with alloys. Or that's what i feel.
Originally Posted by shk 8896
Does your amby also have k&n air filters?
Yes, it has but replacement type.
Old 10th April 2011, 16:08   #180

So decided to go with the existing shell itself eh, good. Am more worried now coz the combination of you and Gopal can be quite incorrigible

I will convince Gopal to go with your signature hood curves, i think that should be retained! to hell with w-originality!