Old 28th November 2008, 11:37   #211

I have decided to get service done next saturday (7500kms)
The things to do list
1. Power steering hissing - It does not come just at end lock, but also while turning
2. Central HVAC controls - It does not turn fully to windshield, and even hot cold gets stuck and needs lot of force to move
3. Surging at cold start when the rpm needle keeps flickering for some time
4. Slight grinding noise from engine bay
5. Slight whine from front diff during 4x4 driving above 40kmph(dirt track)
6. Squeek from suspension while flexing(eg speed breakers)
7. Extremely hard clutch and gears. Even after 7000+ they have not loosened up
8. Bad brakes. Rear locks up quicky, and even at 60kmph emergency braking causes her to go slightly sideways, I shudder to think what will happen if I have to slam brakes at 90. A lot of force is also required to brake, they lack "bite"
9. Engine note is "rough" unlike when she was new. Mostly smoothness should increase, rather than decrease!
10. Idler arm nut tightening so that the "khat" goes
Old 28th November 2008, 11:41   #212

It was the fuse. Replaced it.
Will wait and watch, and will report it on service next week.
With the winters the only time AC gets called is to clear the windscreen!

She's done 7060kms, guess I will wait a week more for service.

Meanwhile the toolkit got opened for the first time today, I was looking for pliers to pull out the fuse. However, no pliers in the sealed package, so used scissors to pull out the fuse
LOL, I faced the same problem when I was trying the replace the fuse the first time. However, look carefully in the fuse box and you will see a very nifty plastic fuse puller provided in one of the slots. Its a piece of cake to pull out the fuse with this puller.
Old 28th November 2008, 11:42   #213

It was the fuse. Replaced it.
Will wait and watch, and will report it on service next week.
With the winters the only time AC gets called is to clear the windscreen!

She's done 7060kms, guess I will wait a week more for service.

Meanwhile the toolkit got opened for the first time today, I was looking for pliers to pull out the fuse. However, no pliers in the sealed package, so used scissors to pull out the fuse
There is a plastic plier / tweezer in the fuse box to hold and pull the fuse.

cheers!
Srini
Old 2nd December 2008, 20:45   #214

Originally Posted by smsrini View Post
There is a plastic plier / tweezer in the fuse box to hold and pull the fuse.

cheers!
Srini
Yeah. Almost like Tata knew that we'd be changing fuses often.
Its white in colour.
Old 3rd December 2008, 10:36   #215

Fuse box in the engine bay? Or main fuse box inside the vehicle?
Old 3rd December 2008, 11:35   #216

Fuse box in the engine bay. The fuses in the box inside the vehicle can be removed by hand.
Old 5th December 2008, 18:32   #217

Negative camber

I got alignment done less than a week back, and after that too found the car pulling towards right.
I went again to tyre shoppe, and he showed me with thread that alignment is okay, but the LHS front tire has negative camber.
This is a 200rs separate camber adjustment thingy.
I did not get it done, and thought I will ask autolinks about this during service tomorrow.
A brand new car (7000kms done) should not have such negative camber I think.
Does this mean I have to pay 350rs extra for alignment tomorrow for adjusting camber or will they adjust the camber free of charge?
Old 5th December 2008, 18:45   #218

I have decided to get service done next saturday (7500kms)
The things to do list
1. Power steering hissing - It does not come just at end lock, but also while turning
2. Central HVAC controls - It does not turn fully to windshield, and even hot cold gets stuck and needs lot of force to move
3. Surging at cold start when the rpm needle keeps flickering for some time
4. Slight grinding noise from engine bay
5. Slight whine from front diff during 4x4 driving above 40kmph(dirt track)
6. Squeek from suspension while flexing(eg speed breakers)
7. Extremely hard clutch and gears. Even after 7000+ they have not loosened up
8. Bad brakes. Rear locks up quicky, and even at 60kmph emergency braking causes her to go slightly sideways, I shudder to think what will happen if I have to slam brakes at 90. A lot of force is also required to brake, they lack "bite"
9. Engine note is "rough" unlike when she was new. Mostly smoothness should increase, rather than decrease!
10. Idler arm nut tightening so that the "khat" goes
just more reasons never to touch TATA ever, they are just never good at cars, neither the company nor the people understand that itseems. my accent and zens over 50k and 1lakh kms over still no issues like these. to top it all safaris in bombay cost around 14 laks are they doping or what. id rather straight get a innova
Old 5th December 2008, 21:32   #219

Originally Posted by jesal View Post
just more reasons never to touch TATA ever, they are just never good at cars, neither the company nor the people understand that itseems. my accent and zens over 50k and 1lakh kms over still no issues like these. to top it all safaris in bombay cost around 14 laks are they doping or what. id rather straight get a innova
Agreed Tata cars have issues. But your comparision with your Zen and Accent are absurd. You would not(rather cannot) drive your Zen and Accent like a Safari can be abused. And, you cannot take an Innova where A Safari can go. Tsk bought a 4x4 primarliy for 2 reasons if i remember correctly.
1. To get out of sticky situations where another vehicle would get stuck.
2. To be able to explore places which he would not be able to go to in a 4x2.

I got alignment done free at my TASS. They told me its free till 15000. I got it done for free after I got back from my Spiti trip at approx 17000+kms. The TASS seem quite flexible.
I do agree that the other small niggles are really irritating.
Old 6th December 2008, 21:47   #220

7300kms service update(Paid service)

Due to harsh riding in the Desert, decided to get service done early.
I was informed by the service advisor that now the 7500kms service interval is not there in the program at all and its only 15000kms service-30000kms service
Only in case of harsh initial usage, a service at 7500 can be recommended.
So my service coupons remain intact, and rest of the free services will be carried out at 15000,30000 etc., etc.,

Anyways The problems given at time of service were
1. Drivers side power window slow in rising - Fixed
2. Rattles in suspension - Fixed
3. Rattles in drivers seat - Fixed
4. Fishtailing under hard braking even at medium speeds - Pressure release valve adjusted, now is much less
5. 4x4 Differential Noise - Pin adjustment problem, 4x4 was not engaging all the time, adjusted, and fixed
6. Safari EX monogram rust- Photo sent to tata they will revert
7. Negative camber - Alignment done(no charge) and camber adjusted
9. AC fuse issue - 30A ampere fuse put
Apart from that oil was also changed along with filter
Total cost came to 3200, with 750 for service charges, and rest for oil and oil filter.
Exxon Mobil Super 1000 API-CH4 oil was used(seems to be favorite among TASC now)

Overall the service experience was great, and so was the washing. The Test drive for 4x4 as well as rattles and brake issue was very thorough.

Other issues reported were power steering hissing, which is supposedly normal, and the gear tightness, which is not really an issue but something you get used to.
The first gear slotting is difficult when vehicle is cold.

The surging issue has not come for a long time, and the software analyzer also did not find anything out of ordinary, so I guess it may have been a fuel issue.
Old 7th December 2008, 18:08   #221

Originally Posted by jesal View Post
Yes, I think you should get an Innova, especially if ALL Safaris in Mumbai cost 14 lacs. LOL
Old 7th December 2008, 18:48   #222

@ jesal: btw, a safari does not cost 14 lakhs.

@ tsk: was this 7500 km service recommended to you by someone or you did it on your own wish? if they charged 3200, that means this was considered as a pay service, am i right?

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th December 2008 at 22:30. Reason: Post edited. Members are free to express their opinions and you are free to counter them in a healthy discussion.
Old 7th December 2008, 20:37   #223

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
...this 7500 km service...if they charged 3200, that means this was considered as a pay service, am i right?
AFAIK, the free services of a vehicle are never actually free in the real sense of the word; you do have to pay for the consumables. The only thing that is free is the labour. Correct me if I'm wrong, tsk?
Old 7th December 2008, 21:14   #224

4. Fishtailing under hard braking even at medium speeds - Pressure release valve adjusted, now is much less
tsk,

Do you think the ABS system in the VX would avoid these problems (brakes locking up and vehicle fishtailing as a result)?
Old 7th December 2008, 23:07   #225

Originally Posted by kkdelhi View Post
AFAIK, the free services of a vehicle are never actually free in the real sense of the word; you do have to pay for the consumables. The only thing that is free is the labour. Correct me if I'm wrong, tsk?
you are absolutely right. what i said was in the same sense- free labour.