Old 8th December 2008, 00:13   #226

If it had been free service, I would have paid 750rs less. Rest is chargeable

Moreover I took this service of my own accord, because oil has not been changed in this vehicle since manufacturing(may 08), and I have used it in 4L for extended periods of time.
Moreover this 4x4 problem was something which had to be rectified.
Now I intend to get next service at 15500, and thereafter every 15K kms.

As for fishtailing, lockup should result in a straight line skid, not a 90 degree handbrake turn like maneuver. Tata provides a mechanism to prevent this, which was faulty(adjustment issue), the service station rectified it.
Old 9th December 2008, 21:17   #227

hey Tanveer,

Your safari has a Punjab regn number. Please do tell me have you ever had any issues with the police, at the check posts, or at tolls with this? Also the address on your license is that too the same as the cars address or of noida.
I am asking this as i am thinking of buying a M&M Major 4x4 for OTR's and other adventure stuff but the problem is I cant get it registered in Delhi (non euro III). I would have to get it registered in Hoshiarpur, Pb.

Please advise
Harjeev
Old 9th December 2008, 21:55   #228

No issues with punjab number. Heck no issues with KA number
Old 10th December 2008, 02:33   #229

Originally Posted by suman View Post
Yes, I think you should get an Innova, especially if ALL Safaris in Mumbai cost 14 lacs. LOL
i own one since a year. also have a 5 year old qualis as well. safaris on road in bombay start at around 11 laks to 14 laks which i will never pay in my life for tata or any other indian make. i guess ill just stick to the japanese for some more years to come. next on my list is swift and civic in 09
Old 10th December 2008, 10:36   #230

Originally Posted by jesal View Post
i own one since a year. also have a 5 year old qualis as well. safaris on road in bombay start at around 11 laks to 14 laks which i will never pay in my life for tata or any other indian make. i guess ill just stick to the japanese for some more years to come. next on my list is swift and civic in 09
I think you have been grossly misinformed. The Safari LX in Bombay starts @ 8.5lakhs approx. As far as buying Indian or japanese is concerned, its strictly personal choice and requirements. Its certainly true that japanese quality is top notch and comparisions cannot be drawn with Indian auto companies.
I drive a Prado too and honestly there cannot be comparsions. 67000kms in 20 months of ownership with total offroad abuse and not a sound from anywhere. Infact the way the suspension has held up, im just awed.

Last edited by jaysmokesleaves : 10th December 2008 at 10:40.
Old 10th December 2008, 10:42   #231

the on road prices for safari in mumbai starts from 8.98 lakhs for the LX 4x2 and ends at 13.59 lakhs for the VX 4x4.
Old 16th December 2008, 16:40   #232

Front Hubcap falls off

I noticed this some time back.
Can I buy just one from TASS or do I have to buy 4?
Do I need to get a new one immediately(no harm in continuing without it for some time?)
Anyways, how much is the cost?
Safari EX 4x4 120,000 km update-image012.jpg
Old 16th December 2008, 17:07   #233

I noticed this some time back.
Can I buy just one from TASS or do I have to buy 4?
Do I need to get a new one immediately(no harm in continuing without it for some time?)
Anyways, how much is the cost?
You can buy one - 219/= including taxes.
Old 16th December 2008, 17:08   #234

219!! For this small plastic cap. Did I buy a skoda safari?
Old 16th December 2008, 17:11   #235

219!! For this small plastic cap. Did I buy a skoda safari?
C'mon Tanveer, you're lucky you're not having to pay 350/= (which is what it used to cost initially).

For Skoda (as in Fabia), please add on another "0" at least. LOL
Old 16th December 2008, 17:38   #236

Is it just cosmetic or does it serve any other function? Its not airtight, so I doubt it will stop dust/water etc., so I guess I can delay the change? Or I can probably put the rear one for now on front wheel
Old 16th December 2008, 17:41   #237

I would put the rear one there. With your OTR antics, not sure what you'd get into that hub. Its not totally cosmetic, its additional protection I'd say.
Old 16th December 2008, 18:02   #238

It's just a cosmetic thing, Tanveer.
Negotiate a discount for buying a set of four; with your kind of usage those should last you for the year at least!
Old 16th December 2008, 18:04   #239

I think I will require one every 5K kms
So a set of 4 it will be, for now, I will just use the rear one.
I have seen hrags safari does not have any for a long time, no surprise, with all the rock roading he does
Old 16th December 2008, 18:04   #240

Or I can probably put the rear one for now on front wheel
Or may be remove all four for a Consistent look