Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 26th June 2008, 23:03   #1

I want to develop the Indian version of Dynamat. UPDATE: Sample is ready for testing!

Hi All

First, a little bit about myself.

I have my own small factory which manufactures rubber components. I have been active at work for a little over 4 years and have a great interest in developing new products.

Recently I came across Dynamat, and I find the concept amazing. I want to develop a similar Butyl based product.

I just wanted to ask you gurus.. What is the difference between Dynamat and the competition, which is cheaper? Is there a difference installation or performance which is noticeable?

Mods: This thread has NO commercial intentions at all. I have nothing to sell. If you feel its unsuitable, kindly do the needful.
Old 26th June 2008, 23:44   #2

@AbhiJ i think the easiest way out for you is to buy a sheet dynamat and also Noisekill. compare the two. see if it can be developed/manufactured inhouse.
Old 26th June 2008, 23:58   #3

Already did that bro.

Got dynamat. Did the chemical analysis and am confident that I can match it.

The pricing I have in mind will make the dampening sheet affordable for many many more people.

I want to know if dynamat is what I should follow/duplicate, or is noisekill better?
Old 27th June 2008, 00:04   #4

If you make a good product, which is priced well, i am sure you will have many buyers here. Count me in!!
Old 27th June 2008, 00:09   #5

Originally Posted by AbhiJ View Post
I want to know if dynamat is what I should follow/duplicate, or is noisekill better?
Dynamat Extreme or Raamaat 60 is what you should follow. The regular Dynamat is little better than useless.

stick to butyl rubbder based damping. it lasts longer and does a better job.

Automotive Sound Dampening and Reduction - Reduce Classic Car Noise by Auto Media

Sound Dampening - Tech Article - Eurotuner Magazine
Old 27th June 2008, 09:14   #6

Dynamat Extreme is what you should try to match. The only problem with dynamat extreme is that it is bloody expensive. If you can manufacture it for cheaper khudos to you.
DYNAMAT EXTREME
Old 27th June 2008, 09:51   #7

AbhiJ,

There are some good suggestions already made.

Dynamat Extreme is the market leader and probably one of the pioneers in this field. My suggestion is that you get samples of all major brands, and do your own comparison.

Do some performance testing and try to determine how to make the lowest cost with good performance. Best value for money will sell.

Good luck,

Gaurav
Old 27th June 2008, 10:10   #8

NPD - Sound Damping for Indian Cars in Indian conditions

Buddy,

Dynamat Extreme is one registered product - as suggested here already.

Another product that is worth comparing with is Wuerth Industrial deadeners.

Since you are looking at developing a good product which can be bench-marked, I'd suggest you also look at Wuerth.

They have normal sound dampening sheets as well - but those relate to normal dynamat quality spec. The industrial deadeners have much better damping output and will make a good benchmark to set.

Since I have used both, i find the Wuerth product better than Dynamat extreme - however the downside is that it is also heavier by about 25% for the same sheet size. The difference is noticable.

It might help for your comparisons.

Look forward to good indian product from your shop-floor soon.

Regards & keep us posted.
Old 27th June 2008, 14:49   #9

Thanks a lot for the response guys.

Lots of good info for me to work on.

One question: Chemically I believe I can match Wuerth/Dynamat Extreme, but is there any way I can do some real world benchmarking?

Any ideas?

SRShrikanth - Is Dynamat Extreme a comfortable weighted material to work with?
Old 27th June 2008, 16:57   #10

SRShrikanth - Is Dynamat Extreme a comfortable weighted material to work with?
Hey,

The answer is yes to that question.

If you stand to compare Dynamat Ext & Wuerth on chemical compisition - you might find some answers to come to an equally capable B-rubber compound. The real crunch is probably the question of making it self adhesive without losing damping characetistics and maintaining grade at harsh conditions.

Since you have resources to lab-test them under varying conditions - am sure you can come out with the answer.

The next test for you, in my opinion , maintaning the VFM factor.

Best of Luck mate.

If you do succeed, its a HIT product across segments.
Old 27th June 2008, 19:43   #11

I am sure you will succeed AbhiJ and i most definately be one of your 1st customers.
I was thinking that in the process of development you could come out with 2 products. One aiming at pure performance with a premium and the other a good compromise between VFM and performance, so you would widen your customer reach and also customers would have a decent choice as far as money is concerned against performance.

And these products would a huge commercial feseability as if the product is good then not only tuners and enthusiasts come in your customer base but also Audio installers and for industrial purpose aswell.
All the very best to you AbhiJ! Hope to see an excellent product from you soon.

Last edited by abhik : 27th June 2008 at 19:57.
Old 27th June 2008, 19:56   #12

Great. Getting to work guys.

Will keep this thread updated .

Btw. I was just working out the cost.

What does Dynamat (Not Extreme) usually sell for?

A roll of say 2 mm thickness has how many square feet?

Also, instead of producing rolls of 2 feet X 3 feet or similar, will it be easier to install (and less wasteful) if the product is in an endless roll 4 inches wide and of say.. 10 ft? Like a huge Tape?

Note from the Team-BHP Support Staff : Please use the "edit" button if posting within 15 minutes of the first post, instead of creating another back-to-back post

Also use "Multi Quote" option for quoting Multiple posts.

Last edited by Jaggu : 27th June 2008 at 20:05.
Old 27th June 2008, 20:42   #13

The Stock Keeping Units (SKUs) you make available depends on your target market, transportation costs,warehousing costs,cost of storage etc.
Depending whom you want to sell the product to Dealers/end consumers you can decide a feasible option.
Old 27th June 2008, 20:53   #14
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Please keep going and dont lose faith, your first customer cum guinea pig is right here!!!
Old 29th June 2008, 01:04   #15

hi AbhiJ this site may help you a bit Sound Deadener Showdown