Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On modifying a car

Old 7th September 2011, 09:10   #3106

Re: Hawk-On-Fours® (H-4®) with a tail - Scorpio mHawk 4WD

Guys, I think the above discussion on the pros and cons of synthetic vs. mineral oils is better suited for posting in this thread, for other members to benefit from such knowledge; posting on an ownership thread would mean limited exposure, and we do want such knowledge to spread to a larger number of folks.

Mods, kindly do the needful.
Old 7th September 2011, 14:13   #3107

Re: ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil

I think I will search for more information on this matter. It is an important piece of information for most members in Team BHP who shift to synthetic oil from mineral oil at some point during the lifespan of the car (usually after expiry of warranty).

One thing I am confused about your post, Desert Fox: are you saying that this damage is less likely in Indian highway and road conditions which are not as extreme as the middle eastern desert conditions?
Old 7th September 2011, 16:08   #3108

I said advantages of 15W45 a rare item to find over 20W50 will be less felt in India.
Old 7th September 2011, 16:18   #3109

Team ,I have a friend who just bought a 5 liter can of Shell Helix Ultra Shell Helix Ultra - India only to hear that the Skoda dealer refused to use this oil .The reasoning he was given was that this would void the warranty.As a result ,he was forced to use the oil that the dealer was using and is left with this unused can.

Please PM me if anybody interested.

Dunno if this is OT .
Old 7th September 2011, 22:41   #3110

What oil does the dealer use ? Is the Skoda in question diesel or gasoline ?
Old 8th September 2011, 07:34   #3111

How would one rate Servo (servosynth), Mak (mak elite, mak supreme) and synthetic oil from HP (Milcy?) and Essar?? to synthetic oil from shell, mobil and castrol?

Last edited by devarshi84 : 8th September 2011 at 07:45.
Old 8th September 2011, 08:16   #3112

After the advice from Maruti ASC on the 10k service, I have started using A1 synthetic oil for my swift. I found the car to be more responsive, peppy, smooth and more Fuel effecient after this change.
Old 10th September 2011, 09:13   #3113

ALl mineral oils whether Petrol or Diesel engine formulations from IOC, BP, HP Public Sector companies, whether 15W40 or 20W50 are roughly the same.

Castrol GTX 20W50 or Castrol CRB would be superior to these, so would Total Quartz if available.

For synthetic oils I guess one should stick to specialist manufacturers like Mobil or Shell.

Last edited by desertfox : 10th September 2011 at 09:14.
Old 10th September 2011, 11:00   #3114

Mobil 1 synthetic oil life

I never used to pay much attention when M.A.S.S changed my 2005 model petrol Swift's engine oil during servicing.However,after reading up on the potential advantages of synthetic oils on this forum,I got Mobil 1 synthetic oil filled during the last servicing.It's run for around 5000 kms - do I need to change the oil or is it enough to top it up ?
How long can synthetic oils be used before they need to be replaced ?
Old 10th September 2011, 19:29   #3115

Re: Mobil 1 synthetic oil life

Originally Posted by shrjun View Post
I got Mobil 1 synthetic oil filled during the last servicing.It's run for around 5000 kms - do I need to change the oil or is it enough to top it up ?
How long can synthetic oils be used before they need to be replaced ?
Hi Shrjun, Synthetic oil needs to be changed every 10K. If you have more of vitamin M, change for every 5K would do lot of good to the engine overall .
Old 10th September 2011, 21:37   #3116

Mobil 1 is good enough for 10,000 KM even mineral oil when changed at 5000 KM traditionally, has a lot of good base oil which is recycled from it, it is changed because of the sludge and burnt carbon it acquires.
Old 20th September 2011, 20:57   #3117

There is a new blue can of Shell Helix (HX-7) now available for gasoline engines. This is 10W40, API SM, so I guess it is semi-synth. Costs Rs 345.00 per litre. I am planning to switch to this oil from HX-5, next service onwards!
Old 21st September 2011, 00:30   #3118
SAS

Originally Posted by desertfox View Post
ALl mineral oils whether Petrol or Diesel engine formulations from IOC, BP, HP Public Sector companies, whether 15W40 or 20W50 are roughly the same.

Castrol GTX 20W50 or Castrol CRB would be superior to these, so would Total Quartz if available.

For synthetic oils I guess one should stick to specialist manufacturers like Mobil or Shell.
I used to be a big supporter of Castrol GTX and used it several times. However this time on a trip to Goa, I enquired about engine oil since my oil level was low. I was able to buy Bharat Patroleum's Mak Elite 15W40 API SJ for Rs. 550 for 3 litres, which was a steal compared to the around Rs. 740 which I used to pay for Castrol GTX. Granted that GTX is definitely a better oil at SL grade, however BP's isn't too far behind at API SJ. It was a true VFM deal and I purchased 6 litres of it since 1 service was immediately due and I anyway cover my 10k kms in around 6-7 months.

What's your experience regarding pricing and VFM oils been?
Old 8th October 2011, 12:31   #3119

Hi My Optra petrol is running on Mobil1 synthetic for past 10k kms, its now done 43k kms in total. i showed my car to service adviser in sundaram motors, he saw the dip stick and said the oil is good and will easily last for more 5k kms. He said if you go for synthetic no need to change oil or oil filter for 15kms. Please advice. Now days my car is driven little less, previously i used to drive 70 km a day 70% city 30 % highway. It constantly delivers 11kmpl.
Old 8th October 2011, 13:30   #3120

^^Change the oil at the time interval / km mentioned in your manual. It does not matter whether the oil is OEM poured at the A.S.S or after market full synth oil.