Old 16th September 2021, 22:34   #841

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Okay, hearing this from a fairly reliable birdie who wishes to remain anonymous:-

The difference between 5-seaters and 7-seater iterations of the same variant could be 70,000.

The difference between petrols & diesels of the same variant could be 1,00,000.

The difference between MTs & ATs of the same variant could be 1,30,000.

The AWD variant could command a 1,50,000 premium.

The option pack variants could be capped at (give or take) 80,000.

The AX7 variant lineup could start from 18.50 ex-showroom mark.

Do note that corporate honchos change decisions at the very last minute so these shouldn't be deemed final. This is just to give you a fair idea of what to expect in terms of pricing of the entire 7OO lineup.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 16th September 2021 at 22:57. Reason: added AX7.
RavenAvi is offline   (47) Thanks
Old 16th September 2021, 23:18   #842

I am interested in the top of the line AX7 AWD (o) variant. Using the above logic, this variant would be priced at:

XUV AX5 Petrol Manual 5 seater – 14.99 Lakh (As per Mahindra’s own website). Let’s round it off to 15 Lakh.

The AX3 Petrol Manual 5 seater is 14 Lakh according to Mahindra’s website.

So, keeping the same 1 Lakh increase in cost per variant, the AX7 Petrol Manual could be 16 Lakh. But this would be a 7 Seater since AX7 does not come with 5 seats. So, the 70000 difference between 5-seaters and 7-seater iterations of the same variant may not be applicable here.

The difference between petrol’s & diesels of the same variant could be 1,00,000. So, add another Lakh, which brings the cost to 17 Lakh for the AX7 Diesel Manual 7 seater.

The difference between MTs & ATs of the same variant could be 1,30,000. Adding this would bring the cost to 18.3 Lakhs for the AX7 Diesel Automatic 7 seater.

The AWD variant could command a 1,50,000 premium. Adding this would bring the cost to 19.8 Lakhs for the AX7 Diesel Automatic AWD 7 seater.

The option pack variants could be capped at (give or take) 80,000. Finally, adding this would bring the cost to 20.6 Lakh ex showroom price. This would not be a bad price for the top of the line AX7 AT AWD (o) variant.

This puts it more than a Lakh under the Tata Safari XZA+ adventure 7 seater diesel automatic variant in Bangalore at least. Of course, the caveat, as mentioned by RavenAvi being this is speculative. But, if Mahindra does keep this price, they have hit the proverbial nail on the head when it comes to the pricing strategy.

Edit: Just saw that RavenAvi has edited his post and added one more line: The AX7 variant line-up could start from 18.50 ex-showroom mark. This puts my calculation for a toss since I had pegged the Base AX7 Petrol Manual at 16 Lakh. If it starts at 18.5 Lakh, then the end price for the AX7 AT AWD (o) comes to 23.1 Lakh ex showroom (speculative).

I would be surprised by the jump from AX3 petrol manual (14 Lakh confirmed) to AX5 petrol manual (15 Lakh confirmed) to AX7 Petrol manual (18.5 Lakh speculated). Let’s wait and see.

Last edited by BharathXUV700 : 16th September 2021 at 23:39. Reason: Reacting to additonal information
BharathXUV700 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th September 2021, 23:26   #843

MOD NOTE : Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers.

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Okay, hearing this from a fairly reliable birdie who wishes to remain anonymous:-

Do note that corporate honchos change decisions at the very last minute so these shouldn't be deemed final. This is just to give you a fair idea of what to expect in terms of pricing of the entire 7OO lineup.
Thanks for the sharing.
AX5 petrol manual is 15L ex showroom and 18.5L for AX7 is too steep. I doubt the additional features are worth that much.
Hope Mahindra prices AX7 sensibly

Last edited by Sheel : 17th September 2021 at 08:12. Reason: Mod note attached.
Old 17th September 2021, 00:00   #844

The option pack variants could be capped at (give or take) 80,000.
Any clue if option packs will be limited to AX7 variant only or will they be available from AX3 itself ?
MaanSingh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 00:07   #845

The AX7 variant lineup could start from 18.50 ex-showroom mark.
Clarification - the AX7 lineup could start from 17.20 ex-showroom mark for the petrol MT.

The pricing in the quote above was conveyed by mistake.

Originally Posted by BharathXUV700 View Post
I am interested in the top of the line AX7 AWD (o) variant. Using the above logic, this variant would be priced at:

Finally, adding this would bring the cost to 20.6 Lakh ex showroom price. This would not be a bad price for the top of the line AX7 AT AWD (o) variant.
Close. It should be near the 21L mark, give or take 50K.

Originally Posted by RachhaMan10 View Post
Thanks for the sharing.
AX5 petrol manual is 15L ex showroom and 18.5L for AX7 is too steep. I doubt the additional features are worth that much.
Hope Mahindra prices AX7 sensibly
Check the corrected section above.

Originally Posted by MaanSingh View Post
Any clue if option packs will be limited to AX7 variant only or will they be available from AX3 itself ?
Limited to AX7 only, for now.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 17th September 2021 at 00:12. Reason: added clarification and replies.
RavenAvi is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 00:19   #846

One thing that surprises me is about ESP availability.
If ESP is available as option pack - that means its available in AX7 only, this seems bit odd considering that Hector and Safari provide it from base variant as a standard safety feature.

I was hoping it should be available from AX3 onwards.

Last edited by MaanSingh : 17th September 2021 at 00:25.
MaanSingh is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 00:28   #847

I was also going to ask about ESP. In website it's given as optional but with the information that we have till now, optional pack doesn't cover ESP but 360 camera, wireless charging auto flush handles, Sony 12 speaker system, electric parking brake.
Does anyone have any information about this?
Vivek Menon is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 01:32   #848

Is the booking transferable to another person? Or to someone within the family (say spouse)?
car_monarch is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 07:47   #849

Thanks for sharing this. Going by above (which we understand is speculative), and the current data of AX5 Petrol 5 Seater Data, we get the below calc:

AX5 Petrol 5 Seater: 15,00,000
AX5 Petrol 7 Seater: 15,70,000 (add 70,000 to above)
AX5 Diesel 7 Seater: 16,70,000 (add 1,00,000 to above)
AX5 Diesel 7 Seater AT: 18,00,000 (add 1,30,000 to above)

An Ex Showroom Price of AX5 Diesel 7 Seater AT: 18,00,000 in Bangalore means:

Insurance: 80,00,00 (This one will be tough as Dealers will try to push their insurance)
Other Charges: 20,000 odd (TCS, Hypo, FastTag etc.)

Total On Road (without Extended Warranty and Dealer Provided accessories): Around 22,41,000. This figure is not bad considering that we only get a XMA Safari (auto) at that price

Last edited by Sheel : 17th September 2021 at 08:13. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks!
TSEA is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 08:23   #850

Originally Posted by TSEA View Post
Thanks for sharing this. Going by above (which we understand is speculative), and the current data of AX5 Petrol 5 Seater Data, we get the below calc:

AX5 Petrol 5 Seater: 15,00,000
AX5 Petrol 7 Seater: 15,70,000 (add 70,000 to above)
AX5 Diesel 7 Seater: 16,70,000 (add 1,00,000 to above)
AX5 Diesel 7 Seater AT: 18,00,000 (add 1,30,000 to above)

An Ex Showroom Price of AX5 Diesel 7 Seater AT: 18,00,000 in Bangalore means:

Insurance: 80,00,00 (This one will be tough as Dealers will try to push their insurance)
Other Charges: 20,000 odd (TCS, Hypo, FastTag etc.)

Total On Road (without Extended Warranty and Dealer Provided accessories): Around 22,41,000. This figure is not bad considering that we only get a XMA Safari (auto) at that price
Sorry but your calculations are too conservative. Diesel will command atleast 1,80,000 over its petrol counterpart. So I expect AX5 Diesel to retail at 18,50,000. Diesel AT will again command atleast 1,70,000 premium. So Diesel AT is expected to retail at 20,20,000. Adding all the other costs, I expect Diesel AT at 21,00,000 Ex-showroom price.

Last edited by Aditya : 20th September 2021 at 19:17. Reason: Typo
Old 17th September 2021, 08:29   #851

Originally Posted by arunramaswamy View Post
Sorry but your calculations are too conservative. Diesel will comman atleast 1,80,000 over its petrol counterpart. So I expect AX5 Diesel to retail at 18,50,000. Diesel AT will again command atleast 1,70,000 premium. So Diesel AT is expected to retail at 20,20,000. Adding all the other costs, I expect Diesel AT at 21,00,000 Ex-showroom price.
Please refer to post #841 for the basis of this calculation.
bwildrd#1 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 09:14   #852

Originally Posted by arunramaswamy View Post
Sorry but your calculations are too conservative. Diesel will comman atleast 1,80,000 over its petrol counterpart. So I expect AX5 Diesel to retail at 18,50,000. Diesel AT will again command atleast 1,70,000 premium. So Diesel AT is expected to retail at 20,20,000. Adding all the other costs, I expect Diesel AT at 21,00,000 Ex-showroom price.
1) Let us not forget that the petrol engine itself is a turbocharged one. Hence a price difference of Rs 1.8 lacs between the petrol and the diesel variants is very very unrealistic. Case in point: the price difference between similarly specced petrol and diesel variants of Mahindra Thar is only Rs 20,000, that too for a BS6 diesel. Hence the price difference between similarly specced petrol and diesel variants of XUV700 may just be about Rs 1 lac.

2) The price difference between the manual and automatic variants of the Thar is about Rs 1.4 lacs, ex showroom.

Hence I feel the AX5 five seater with a diesel AT will just cost about Rs 17.5 lacs ex showroom.

Geta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 09:52   #853

My sense is that Mahindra will price it's top end variant at 19.99 to take advantage of the new 2% less registration charges, floating around due to BH series.
pelican90 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 10:14   #854

Clarification - the AX7 lineup could start from 17.20 ex-showroom mark for the petrol MT.

Close. It should be near the 21L mark, give or take 50K.
Thanks for the birdie info on pricing and its pretty close to my expectation. Does your birdie has any info on how the Optional pack will be added to AX7 ?
During the Freedom drive, I saw 3 versions on AX7(AX7, AX7-L and AX7-T).

My guess:
- AX7 (no option) - will miss out on Sony music system, smart door handles, 360 camera, blind view monitoring, EPB and wireless charging
- AX7-L - All above options
- AX7-T - All above options and ADAS

I am assuming that AX7-T is the top end (without AWD). It will be a killer pricing if XUV700 Diesel AT AX7-T (top end without AWD) comes under 20L Ex-showroom
Carz77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th September 2021, 11:34   #855

Originally Posted by Carz77 View Post
Thanks for the birdie info on pricing and its pretty close to my expectation. Does your birdie has any info on how the Optional pack will be added to AX7 ?
During the Freedom drive, I saw 3 versions on AX7(AX7, AX7-L and AX7-T).

My guess:
- AX7 (no option) - will miss out on Sony music system, smart door handles, 360 camera, blind view monitoring, EPB and wireless charging
- AX7-L - All above options
- AX7-T - All above options and ADAS

I am assuming that AX7-T is the top end (without AWD). It will be a killer pricing if XUV700 Diesel AT AX7-T (top end without AWD) comes under 20L Ex-showroom
This seems to be Mahindra's plan - Top end AX7-T (without AWD) priced at 19.99 lakhs, thus wiping out the competition.