Old 16th August 2024, 11:53   #10606

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by thefifthd View Post
Oh that’s interesting. I booked Burnt Sienna (AWD diesel) last month in Bangalore after multiple dealers gave me a 6 week - 2 month timeline. I contacted my dealer earlier this week, and they said that production has begun and July bookings will be allotted most likely by end of this month. Now I don’t know which statement is true. If it is going to delayed much beyond that, I’m almost ready to change the color and go with Napoli black.
Congrats on your booking of AWD. Are you going for AX7 AWD or AX7L AWD?

Mahindra showcased Burnt Sienna on Thar Roxx and the color nice in real life. I hope you get yours by September.

I am planning to book AX7 AT in Burnt Sienna early next week. Mahindra SA has gone unresponsive and does not respond on WhatsApp chat or call for past 1 week. This attitude is making me hold back and look for another responsive salesperson in other dealership, as once the dealership gets booking amount, I feel I will have to chase him to get status of my booking.
Old 16th August 2024, 12:39   #10607

Originally Posted by bbv View Post
I got the PDI done through Zeekardo and the showroom people allowed it without much hassles, except once he mentioned (when they delayed the PDI by 2 days) that they are preparing it well as I am bringing 3rd party for PDI.. . As mentioned by someone, the zeekardo person used obd scanner and it is a very small device that needs to be connected below steering wheel area. This can be done easily when seating at the driver seat, so you may still go for it.

In my case, the scanner showed the actual run of vehicle to be 111 KM, whereas the instrument cluster was showing only 67KM. The guy told that it is common for dealers to do this tempering a bit when they drive the vehicle to-and-fro from stockyards. Perhaps, to avoid the discussions on this topic, he may not be allowing you for attaching obd scanner. You may threaten him to go elsewhere if insists for no obd.
Yes. My dealer too has agreed without any conditions now since I mentioned how others are going ahead. Only condition being that I have to do it in their stockyard which is 30 km away from the city but I guess makes sense. Infact they will fit all the accessories their itself and get the car fully ready to their showroom for delivery.

Also surprisingly, my car got alloted with 4 days of booking (estimated waiting period was upto 4 weeks) and could be reaching the stockyard in a couple of days. The VIN number shows it as this month's manufactured, which was my original condition for them anyway, so glad about that.

Now just hoping the PDI doesn't spring up surprises. And also a bit of paranoia that my new car will be driven through horrible crater of roads from stockyard to the showroom
Old 16th August 2024, 12:41   #10608

Originally Posted by Ron.ghy View Post
Got delivery of my car on 14th August 2024 and today (15th August) my screen has gone blank. I have tried to check it multiple times at an interval of 1-2 hours each since morning but it’s still blank. Please help me with a solution if possible as I wanted to take the family on a ride today. Also, do let me know if I can expect it to reoccur even after getting it fixed at the service center tomorrow.

Sharing a couple of pics for reference.
Whoa! This is so disappointing. I thought these blank outs were kind of resolved by Mahindra with software updates. Can understand your frustration with the new car. Do give us an update on the resolution.
Old 16th August 2024, 14:47   #10609

Hi everyone.

Booked my AX7L P AT 7STR Everest White today at Khivraj Kamal motors Ambattur, Chennai.

ETD within 4 weeks acc to dealer.

Just wanted to thank everyone for all the valuable information collated over in this thread that helped my make the decision.

Thank you.
Old 16th August 2024, 14:58   #10610

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
Congrats on your booking of AWD. Are you going for AX7 AWD or AX7L AWD?

Mahindra showcased Burnt Sienna on Thar Roxx and the color nice in real life. I hope you get yours by September.

I am planning to book AX7 AT in Burnt Sienna early next week. Mahindra SA has gone unresponsive and does not respond on WhatsApp chat or call for past 1 week. This attitude is making me hold back and look for another responsive salesperson in other dealership, as once the dealership gets booking amount, I feel I will have to chase him to get status of my booking.
I have booked AX7L. The dealer was unresponsive too, I then tweeted to Anand Mahindra and now I get weekly updates from the GM at the dealership. The delivery date is still uncertain but they are at least responsive.

Thanks for the pointer on Thar Roxx, I hadn’t noticed it. I have mixed feelings about the color. It looks nice and different, although not as stunning as in the pictures they published initially.
Old 16th August 2024, 14:59   #10611

Originally Posted by adeshgunjan View Post
Yes. My dealer too has agreed without any conditions now since I mentioned how others are going ahead. Only condition being that I have to do it in their stockyard which is 30 km away from the city but I guess makes sense. Infact they will fit all the accessories their itself and get the car fully ready to their showroom for delivery.

Also surprisingly, my car got alloted with 4 days of booking (estimated waiting period was upto 4 weeks) and could be reaching the stockyard in a couple of days. The VIN number shows it as this month's manufactured, which was my original condition for them anyway, so glad about that.

Congratulations! It’s fantastic that your car got allotted in just 4 days! I had booked an AX7 DAT in electric blue on July 27th with NBS and requested a change to AX7L DAT on July 31st. I am still awaiting the allotment confirmation. They tried to convince me to take a Jan 2024 manufactured model in the same color, which is in their stock, but I declined that offer.
Old 16th August 2024, 15:29   #10612

Originally Posted by carchronicles View Post
Congratulations! It’s fantastic that your car got allotted in just 4 days! I had booked an AX7 DAT in electric blue on July 27th with NBS and requested a change to AX7L DAT on July 31st. I am still awaiting the allotment confirmation. They tried to convince me to take a Jan 2024 manufactured model in the same color, which is in their stock, but I declined that offer.
Thanks! I think its a good decision on your part to move to AX7L, I have learnt that the usability of the features far outweigh the initial cost. Also a good decision to refuse the Jan model, because, why not get the latest. Moreso, I believe some of the Jan batch Ls don't have the ventilated seats. As for the allotment, I think the variant and the color might be of significance. Mine is the AWD, Silver color. Whereas AWD may not be so sought after but the silver color might be produced more due to being common color preference. Maybe this combination worked in my favour (just speculating). Electric blue is a unique color so might not be produced as many. But here is hoping you get the allotment asap!
adeshgunjan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 16:13   #10613

Originally Posted by Ron.ghy View Post
Got delivery of my car on 14th August 2024 and today (15th August) my screen has gone blank. I have tried to check it multiple times at an interval of 1-2 hours each since morning but it’s still blank. Please help me with a solution if possible as I wanted to take the family on a ride today. Also, do let me know if I can expect it to reoccur even after getting it fixed at the service center tomorrow.

Sharing a couple of pics for reference.
You can try opening the bonnet, disconnect negative terminal for a few mins, connect back and then start the car. This was a classic DIY solution in my early days with XUV700 while the software was unstable. This used to fix Hill hold control error, Display blank issues, Dual AC control stuck in Hi temperature setting on passenger side etc. Didn't have to do it almost for the last year after software update fixes.
manoj.elan is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 18:41   #10614
SRM

Guys I am being allotted a Jul/Aug car. Given its a fresh product from the factory with most recent manufacturing date, is there enough merit to do a PDI from services like Zekardo. Or can that be skipped?
Old 16th August 2024, 18:48   #10615
SRM

Originally Posted by mentalmaxout View Post
Mahindra accessories I have opted for are Bumper corner protector set, Side Foot step, Mud flaps, Tailgate scuff protector, Scuff protector set sandblasted, Sun shade kit with clip, Screen protector film, ORVM applique cover & SD card.
Is this the window rolling down sun shade kit that is fixed on the glass? If yes, how is your experience on it, would you suggest it over the usual magnetic ones. And if you can post a couple of pics please.
Old 16th August 2024, 18:49   #10616

Originally Posted by SRM View Post
Guys I am being allotted a Jul/Aug car. Given its a fresh product from the factory with most recent manufacturing date, is there enough merit to do a PDI from services like Zekardo. Or can that be skipped?
Please don't skip. If you prefer not to go for a paid PDI service provider, you can print PDI checklist from team-bhp and do it yourselves. But, we cannot do paint quality checks ourselves and that's where paid PDI service providers are worth the money.
manoj.elan is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 19:48   #10617

Originally Posted by adeshgunjan View Post
Whoa! This is so disappointing. I thought these blank outs were kind of resolved by Mahindra with software updates. Can understand your frustration with the new car. Do give us an update on the resolution.
Well as I had mentioned in my earlier post, the car is a MY23 Nov vehicle so probably the issue. They tried to fix it through the software update but I guess it didn’t work. Therefore they have given me a temporary car (Xuv 300) till they fix it in a day or two. Hope the issue gets resolved permanently and it doesn’t become a recurring issue.

Credit to Mahindra, The SA has been very cooperative pre and post delivery.

Originally Posted by manoj.elan View Post
You can try opening the bonnet, disconnect negative terminal for a few mins, connect back and then start the car. This was a classic DIY solution in my early days with XUV700 while the software was unstable.
That’s the first thing that the service guy did but wasn’t of much help. Surprisingly the screen had no glitches on the day of the delivery and on the very next day was a horror show.

Last edited by bblost : 16th August 2024 at 20:30. Reason: back to back.
Old 17th August 2024, 00:16   #10618

XUV700 - Midnight Black vs Everest White

I am planning to buy the XUV700 AX7L P AT, and contemplating between the most popular colors - Midnight Black and Everest White. They both look great in flesh. No wonder these two are the highest selling colors for this car. Midnight Black was my first preference, but am now in a confused state.
  1. I was considering PPF, but have a mixed feeling after reading through various posts on the forum. At 1.2 lakh plus for a good quality PPF, it seems to be a huge burden to the pocket since I have already stretched beyond my budget to opt for the luxury pack variant. I am not convinced with the ROI of PPF coating (based on various discussions/threads). Hence, I don't intend to do any additional coating for the car.
  2. Car will be parked indoors when not in use. Plan to keep the car for 10+ years. Weekly cleaning to be done by the apartment car wash guy, plus occasional wash/wax at a professional as needed.
  3. Not too concerned about which color car will have better resale value. All I want is that the color should hold up decently for 10+ years.
  4. Based on the above factors, I think midnight black might get more swirl marks and lose some shine over a long period of time. White may age more gracefully.

Can I still buy midnight black color and use it without any coating?
  • Looking for inputs from fellow members on this topic.
  • People who have bought midnight black color in 2021/2022 - Although it is just 2 to 3 years - Have you noticed any degradation in appearance/shine/finish of the paint?
Old 17th August 2024, 03:00   #10619

Hello BHPians! I brought home my first car, the XUV700 AX7L P AT in Midnight Black on 6 August. The booking was made on 14 July and it is a July manufactured car (!!), with 41 km on the odo during PDI/delivery.

I have driven it ~500 kms (70/30 City/Highway) and loved every bit of it! The only (well-known) con being the FE - it gulps gas like anything (have been feeding it HP poWer exclusively; suggestions welcome on better alternates).

Here are the 7 accessories installed:
  1. Side foot step (OEM)
  2. Illuminated scuff plates (OEM)
  3. Screen gaurd (OEM)
  4. Mud flaps (OEM)
  5. Metal A/B pedal covers (OEM)
  6. 3D floor mats (GFX, 3 rows+boot)
  7. 10H ceramic coating with 5y warranty

A bit of background:
This was going to be my first car, and the only one in the family replacing our humble 2013 WagonR VXi (pre-FL), showing its age. Almost anything would have been an upgrade over this little thing.

I am a petrolhead and have driven quite a few kinds around the planet: Fast car (Huracan)? Check! Big car (Palisade)? Check! Combination of fast and big (Dodge Charger R/T)? Check!

Here were my 7 non-negotiables:
  1. Punchy. Petrol. Performance (diesel was a no-go, because: Delhi-NCR. Eliminates the Harrier/Safari, Compass)
  2. Slick automatique (a C pedal doesn't help in the unforgiving NCR traffic)
  3. Uncompromized safety & build (paramount)
  4. Length >4.5m (size matters, right?)
    Family wanted a 'badi gaadi', hence the criteria. Eliminates the C-SUVs (purposefully though). 7-seater was preferred, not a necessity
  5. Decent suite of features (front ventilated seats, wireless AA & ACP, solid audio system desired; panoramic sunroof, ADAS were nice-to-haves)
  6. An all-rounder (i.e., good to drive AND be driven-in)
  7. Budget <30 lacs (Eliminates the HyCross)

Based on the above, I had almost finalized Virtus GT+ DSG, and was ready to wait for the facelift. Last month, we were visiting some relatives in another city who picked us up in an Innova, and that ignited the urge to buy a 7-seater. As a cherry on top, the news of ludicrous 2L discount on the AX7 line-up tipped me over to book the XUV700. Do note that both the Virtus and XUV fulfill the 7 non-negotiables quite well.

PS: Here were the contenders that couldn't make it and why, if you want to give it a read:

VW Virtus GT+ DSG
  • Nothing - well, almost (in isolation)
  • Smaller than the 700 in every dimension
  • DSG is <3 but concerning in heavy Delhi-NCR traffic
  • Awaiting a facelift next year (and I am getting all those features NOW in the 700)

Skoda Slavia 1.5 DSG
  • Preferred the design and GT elements of the Virtus

Honda City CVT/Hybrid
  • NA + CVT performance is adequate, but failed to excite me
  • Hybrid loses the VFM quotient and eats into bootspace

Hyundai Verna Turbo DCT
  • Nobody in the family liked the design (sorry!)
  • Too low for parents

Hyundai Alcazar Turbo DCT
  • Not the safest per NCAP ratings
  • 3rd row space is minuscule

Kia Carens Turbo DCT
  • Not the safest per NCAP ratings
  • Cool factor is lower, being an MPV

Tata Safari XZA+/Accomplished+ (both pre-FL and FL)
  • Diesel only
  • Horror stories of Tata ASS
  • Inconsistencies in the TD/demo cars

MG Hector+ CVT
  • Performance felt uninspiring
  • Infotainment system is laggy (mom found it tacky)

Mahindra Scorpio N Z8L P AT
  • Too much of a climb in and out for parents
  • Feature misses vs the 700

Toyota Innova HyCross/MS Invicto
  • Toyota: No TD/demo vehicle; attitude of the staff seemed like they didn't want to sell a car
  • MS: Pushing for Delta vs Alpha variant. Basic feature misses in Delta. The screen & interior quality even in Alpha felt short for a 30L+ car.
Ti22 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th August 2024, 11:35   #10620

Originally Posted by SRM View Post
Is this the window rolling down sun shade kit that is fixed on the glass? If yes, how is your experience on it, would you suggest it over the usual magnetic ones. And if you can post a couple of pics please.
I avoided the magnetic ones as over time magnets lose their strength and the sunshade fall off when one opens the doors. This is a simple sunshade mounted on cips pasted using adhesive. One of my clips is loose but can be fixed with adhesive. This is a better option in my view, as its easy to remove sunshades and put them back on and may have a longer life
mentalmaxout is offline   (1) Thanks