Old 13th February 2024, 18:32   #3376

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N Review

Originally Posted by Auto Enthusiast View Post
Thanks, Manasr28 for your to-the-point input.

The wire bundled with the dashcam was long enough to reach the power socket located in the back? or did you have to add extra wire to it? was it soldered together?
I have used a third option. OBD adapter. It can either enable parking mode or keep it off as soon as the ignition is turned off, with a switch, Works flawlessly.
rahuldevnath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2024, 23:00   #3377

Originally Posted by Rahkehs View Post
A Scorpio-N owner has informed in a facebook group that got his steering assembly changed by M&M under warranty due to vibration issues. The newer assembly seems different from the old. Has anyone got their Scorpio-N recalled for the steering issue?
Thank you for sharing. I have an issue where while rotating there is a squeaking sound. Initially it was at certain angles, now it has increased. Anyone have the same issue? Or any solution. I can feel the squeakiness physically too.
Old 14th February 2024, 14:23   #3378

My air inflator’s cable was not long enough to reach the front tyres. So I got a Maruti extension cable from boodmo which cost 399+courier charges. However while inflating the front tyre, the pump stopped working. I then connected it to my WagonR and topped up the tyre pressure in the front of the Scorpio N. Obviously fuse of the 12V socket had blown. Spoke to the service manager who suggested I may have used a higher wattage pump. That turned out to be the case as the pump was rated 150W while the socket is for 120W. Funny, I never thought what was working on my puny WagonR over a couple of years would blow the fuse of the big daddy. Any way within an hour a technician arrived and changed the fuse. Great Mahindra service!
The technician also suggested that the dashcam was hardwired in the fuse box, some method of fuse over a fuse (I’m don’t have much technical knowledge about these things) and this could void warranty if ever such a situation arose (I’m attaching a pic. The red and yellow wires are the dashcam wires). He suggested that the dashcam should be connected directly to the battery. Could any of the knowledgeable members guide me on this matter?
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_4046.jpeg  

rajesh2812 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2024, 19:17   #3379

Got the Front Camera Solution for Z8 into original HeadUnit. Ordered will share installation and working pics soon.

A great chap finally developed the Canbus solution OEM, coupler to coupler.

Uday from R B electronics : +91 9867347476

Z6 front Rear
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240215wa0007.jpg

Z8 Front on canbus
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240215wa0014.jpg
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240215wa0013.jpg
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240215wa0012.jpg

For other vehicles also including Xuv

Waa looking for this since long after I got the similar solution installed on my Safari XzA+

I landed after viewing this video and comments
iskandariya is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 15th February 2024, 19:46   #3380

Got the cupholder extension (link in earlier post).
Covers the 4x4 knob perfectly and provides one extra cupholder too.
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-20240215_182707.jpg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-20240215_182724.jpg  

yadavsid21 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 16th February 2024, 10:12   #3381

Originally Posted by rahuldevnath View Post
I have used a third option. OBD adapter…Works flawlessly.
Kindly post a step-by-step guide on how you did it.
Old 16th February 2024, 14:00   #3382

Originally Posted by rajesh2812 View Post
Kindly post a step-by-step guide on how you did it.
Nothing needs to be done, it's plug and play. I bought this from Amazon

There are multiple such OBD to-cam adapters available on Amazon.
rahuldevnath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th February 2024, 10:45   #3383

. The newer assembly seems different from the old. Has anyone got their Scorpio-N recalled for the steering issue?
Took delivery of Z8L D AT 4Xplore this Thursday.
There was some vibration on steering and feeling of something being loose, thought maybe due to high tyre pressure.
But it persisted even after correcting the pressure.

There is no such active recall from Mahindra, initially ASC told everyone that its normal and happening in all cars, when owners persisted, Mahindra added a service action for re-torquing and later replacement.
But the replacement part is also the same, so marginal improvement.
Now i believe Mahindra has improved the part, it may take some time to reach all ASCs.

I will be lodging this complaint at first service and see what happens.
yadavsid21 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th February 2024, 11:00   #3384

Originally Posted by yadavsid21 View Post
——————
Mahindra added a service action for re-torquing and later replacement.
But the replacement part is also the same, so marginal improvement.
Now i believe Mahindra has improved the part, it may take some time to reach all ASCs.

I will be lodging this complaint at first service and see what happens.
I also have 4WD AT from the first lot, initially there was lot of vibration especially in the pedals but after retorqing and 12-15000KMs later I felt that vibrations reduced almost to nil.
Although I hope M&M recalls all the Scorpio-Ns and change the steering assembly.
Rahkehs is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 19th February 2024, 03:47   #3385

I also have 4WD AT from the first lot, initially there was lot of vibration especially in the pedals but after retorqing and 12-15000KMs later I felt that vibrations reduced almost to nil.
Although I hope M&M recalls all the Scorpio-Ns and change the steering assembly.
Could you tell me what was the recall? Or to what year/month models were they done? I had a service action which recalled for torquing the prop shaft along with new bolts.
Old 19th February 2024, 09:03   #3386

Originally Posted by yadavsid21 View Post
Got the cupholder extension (link in earlier post).
Covers the 4x4 knob perfectly and provides one extra cupholder too.
How are you managing the rattling sound - both at the base and at the top?
Old 19th February 2024, 11:03   #3387

30,000 KM Update and a trip to the Mountains

My Scorpio has completed about 30,000 kms now, and I wanted to share a few updates regarding my ownership so far. I also did a 3500 km trip early this year to the Himalayas.

Ownership

My car has been without a glitch so far and I think I have been lucky that way. The car is running smooth and like it did when new. There are zero suspension sounds and no engine noises. I do face the occasional ICE glitch where Apple Carplay stops working for about 30 seconds or so, but I think that will be sorted at my 30,000 service.

I have driven the car in city and on highways. It is my daily drive to work and also my preferred car for highways. It is a 5-seater essentially and I have seldom used the last row for ferrying passengers.

I did change the stock tyres and switched to Michelin ATs (256/65/18 LTX Trails) and have been happy with the purchase so far. They are smooth and I haven’t noticed any cabin noise either. They are now 10,000 km old. I also changed the alloys to Fuel very recently and the stance of the car has changed. With the change in alloys and a light upsized tyre, I still don’t have issues when turning full-cuts or on inclines. I have not observed any behavioral change so far in the ride of the car. It continues to be smooth like on stock tyres.

I drive a 4EXPLOR AT and I get about 11.5 kmpl in the city and highway mileage stays above 15 kmpl with me mostly cruising at speed limits (90-120 kmph).

Trip to Niti Valley (Uttarakhand)

We wanted to do a snow drive in the winters but unfortunately, snow arrived pretty late this year. We did drive to Niti though and found some snow along the roadside. The group had a type-1 Fortuner, and a Jimny AT. The Scorpio climbs effortlessly even at 3500m and I did not face any issue with the drivability of the car. There did seem to be some glitch though with the MID where the fuel meter would show empty tank occasionally. Twice, I checked the underbelly for leakages or damage to the fuel tank, but there were none. I assumed it to be a mix of altitude, temperature and the incline angle that was causing the issue and continued with my drive.

On my trip to Uttarakhand from Ahmedabad, the car returned a fuel efficiency of 15.3 kmpl tank to tank, with 4 pax and a full boot. Here are a few pictures from the trip. The beauty of the valley mesmerized all of us and if you are in an around Uttarakhand, do include this in your bucketlist.

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_17a7e964f5431.jpeg

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_7171e30f61c31.jpeg

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_ca3e01da43131.jpeg

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.20.428239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.22.448239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.24.208239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.31.308239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.32.538239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.37.148239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.37.398239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-10.38.338239am.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_5857.jpg
acquillew is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 19th February 2024, 12:56   #3388

Infractions: 0/2 (11)

Originally Posted by acquillew View Post
[h3]
Ownership

I did change the stock tyres and switched to Michelin ATs (256/65/18 LTX Trails) and have been happy with the purchase so far. They are smooth and I haven’t noticed any cabin noise either. They are now 10,000 km old. I also changed the alloys to Fuel very recently and the stance of the car has changed. With the change in alloys and a light upsized tyre, I still don’t have issues when turning full-cuts or on inclines. I have not observed any behavioral change so far in the ride of the car. It continues to be smooth like on stock tyres.
Please post close up pictures of the alloys and tyres. Also, if possible, please show us the clearance in wheel well, which is an issue in the Scorpio N if tyres are upgraded.
Old 19th February 2024, 17:02   #3389

Originally Posted by Amrit@wheels View Post
Please post close up pictures of the alloys and tyres. Also, if possible, please show us the clearance in wheel well, which is an issue in the Scorpio N if tyres are upgraded.
Here are a few pictures of the tyres+alloys:

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-4.58.038239pm.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-4.58.218239pm.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-4.58.378239pm.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot-20240219-4.58.538239pm.png
acquillew is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 19th February 2024, 17:14   #3390

Originally Posted by acquillew View Post
Here are a few pictures of the tyres+alloys:
The alloys and tyre combo looks great. Would you mind posting some side pics of the whole vehicle?
rakesh_r is offline   (1) Thanks