Old 12th March 2024, 05:52   #3061

Re: Maruti Jimny Review

Originally Posted by HTC View Post
One thing I noticed is the steering play in Jimny is pretty pronounced. The way I take razor sharp turns in my Figo, I can not do the same in Jimny. When coming out of our office parking space, there is a roundabout where people usually stand on the edge and will be chatting or having tea or smoking. With my Figo, I can take turn around that roundabout with exact precision. I can sense how many inches away is my car's LH front bumper corner from the person standing on edge of the road. But not the case with Jimny. I have to leave some extra space to be double sure that I am not hitting the person standing. Hopefully I will get better at handling the Jimny.
Exact same problem at office!! I try to keep more than the required margin there and end up butterflies in my tummy if anyone comes closer.
Maybe we love the Jimny so dearly and hate to scratch it in any way.
Old 12th March 2024, 19:32   #3062

Originally Posted by ShivC View Post

The Kit: 40mm lift and included the following:

- Front & rear foam cell shock absorbers
- Front raised coils
- Rear raised coils
- Headlight module kit
- Brake hose kit (rear left)
- ABS relocation kit
- Crossmember kit
- Caster Correction Bushes
Thanks for this elaborate post! I could see a 60 mm lift kit also listed in ToughDog website which includes front and rear panhard rods as well.
I wish to go with this kit, but not sure if this is available in India.

When I contacted 6thmilecustoms based out of Bangalore, they informed me that ToughDog has not officially launched the suspension lift kit for 5 door Jimny. What is available in the market was developed for 3 door one. The new kit for 5 door version may be launched in mid April.
Old 13th March 2024, 10:47   #3063

I wanted to ask a question about an issue that I have been struggling with since I brought home my Alpha AT couple of weeks back. There is a time displayed in the MID that I cant seem to find any way to adjust, the time in the main infotainment screen can be adjusted and shows fine but not able to find a way to change the time setting on the MID display. Would appreciate any help on this.

Last edited by Axe77 : 29th June 2024 at 15:59. Reason: Caps please.
Old 13th March 2024, 12:27   #3064

Originally Posted by nirvanaguy19 View Post

I wanted to ask a question about an issue that i have been struggling with since I brought home my Alpha AT couple of weeks back. There is a time displayed in the MID that i cant seem to find any way to adjust, the time in the main infotainment screen can be adjusted and shows fine but not able to find a way to change the time setting on the MID display. Would appreciate any help on this.
Please refer to this Video and you will be able to do it.

Cloud_Chaser is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th March 2024, 08:11   #3065

Originally Posted by MithunSathianat View Post
Thanks for this elaborate post! I could see a 60 mm lift kit also listed in ToughDog website which includes front and rear panhard rods as well.
I wish to go with this kit, but not sure if this is available in India.

When I contacted 6thmilecustoms based out of Bangalore, they informed me that ToughDog has not officially launched the suspension lift kit for 5 door Jimny. What is available in the market was developed for 3 door one. The new kit for 5 door version may be launched in mid April.
The 5 door version is the one for wait for and should be out in the Q2 time frame. Warranty is on importance as shocks can fail along with other issues that could come - so best stick with the current Tough Dog distributor which is 6th Mile.

Even if some other channel has the TD 60 mm lift kit would recommend that you have the one specific to the 5 door installed.

Also another major reason to wait would be potential increase in rear droop from 20 – 30 mm (factory) to about 70-90 mm with longer travel in the rear shock by about 4 - 4 1/2 inches - my wish list that I hope Tough Dog would incorporate in their 5 door version.

The rear droop of 20-30 mm is why the thud sound comes from our Jimny's as I have a feeling that MSIL also is using the same suspension they were using for the 3 door.

A lot has changed which has impacted the geometry of the Jimny - 3 door vs 5 door and hence the suspension :
  1. 3 door Length: 3625 mm vs 5 door 3985 mm.
  2. 3 door Approach, ramp over, departure angles: 37, 28, 49 Vs 5 door Approach, ramp over, departure angles: 36, 24, 50.
  3. 3 door Weight: 1 095 kg to 1 110 kg Vs 5 door Weight: 1 195 kg to 1 210 kg.
Everyone had only looked at the increase of 100 kg (since non GVM can take rear load of 0-300 kg) and assumed that the 3 door suspension would be suitable for the 5 door as well which is not correct.

Hope this helps.
ShivC is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th March 2024, 10:45   #3066

Just got a cold call from Popular Motors (Kerala) since I had made an enquiry for Jimny when my brother was looking to buy one. The executive said up to 3L offer is available on Jimny and there is a referral bonus of 10k. There might be room for bargaining since the discount was quoted in a cold call. This is probably for some left over MY23 stock.
thomahawk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2024, 21:38   #3067

The prices for these lift kits feel a bit ridiculous, to be honest. Ironman 4x4 are quoting ₹130,000, Tough Dog seems to be around ~₹100,000, and Tanabe being most expensive at ₹145,000 (but doesn't include brake line extender, castor correction bushes, and cross member drop brackets).

Considering all these kits were also designed for the 3 door Jimny, it's not clear how the 5 door car will react with these kits. Also warranty and insurance claims go for a toss as soon as you start messing around at the component level.

I think I will stick by my stock suspension a little while longer. Atleast, until I go insane enough to drop upwards of 1 lakh rupees on a suspension kit. Feels like there's so much more that I can do with that money. Some examples would be: Funding a downpayment for next car or motorcycle, taking some courses, expanding and funding my other hobbies, or even just doing charity. If the modifications are priced like this, I might just accept that I am not the type of person who modifies cars. Maybe I can be content in simply buying, owning and driving stock vehicles.

I am tempted, but I am not sold on these aftermarket suspensions. Other than Instagram clout and ego boost, I'm not sure what the 40mm lift kits are supposed to do. I am not planning on doing any hardcore off-roading anyway. So why risk tearing up my $20,000 vehicle that people already call overpriced? Would have to dump even more time and money into it. That's a big no for me.
pepega is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th March 2024, 22:56   #3068

Originally Posted by BlrAutoZen View Post
I have team-bhp PDI checklist, but request Jimny owners of a Jimny PDI if they have one.
I used this checklist during my PDI (tailored for Zeta MT).

PDI&delivery checklist.pdf
blueberry is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th March 2024, 14:25   #3069

Originally Posted by pepega View Post
The prices for these lift kits feel a bit ridiculous, to be honest. Ironman 4x4 are quoting ₹130,000, Tough Dog seems to be around ~₹100,000, and Tanabe being most expensive at ₹145,000 (but doesn't include brake line extender, castor correction bushes, and cross member drop brackets).
Suspension is a black art and good kits are always expensive. Even a good kit for a Swift or a Baleno will cost you more than a lakh (springs and dampers). Waiting isn't going to make them cheaper unless they start local production which given the niche nature of this market in India there is very little chance of that happening. Distributors have to pay import duty plus their margin. You could save 10-20k if you import it directly as long as you can DIY or have a private garage to get it done.

That said in terms of ride quality even at stock height I have read that Ironman makes the ride better at highway speeds and most of them sort out the rear bottoming out issue on humps and potholes. If these are not super important to you and you only do light offroading I think the stock suspension should be fine.

Drive on,
Shibu
shibujp is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2024, 00:29   #3070

Yes, that’s correct. Are you also looking to buy one?
Dealer has ZETA and ALPHA in stock, both manuals. AT is out of stock.
I bought one

Rather, convinced my father who never liked my beloved Petrol MT Thar for its ride quality to get himself a beautiful bluish black Jimny Alpha AT instead. And he did. Feb/March discounts sweetened the deal.

Considering the deals for 2023 Jimnny, notably the Zeta is a steal, for people who frequent the hills.
aak7420 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2024, 13:15   #3071

Originally Posted by aak7420 View Post
I bought one

Rather, convinced my father who never liked my beloved Petrol MT Thar for its ride quality to get himself a beautiful bluish black Jimny Alpha AT instead. And he did. Feb/March discounts sweetened the deal.

Considering the deals for 2023 Jimnny, notably the Zeta is a steal, for people who frequent the hills.
Congrats Bluish Black and Red were my preferences, but unfortunately no dealers had it in stock (Zeta AT). I was checking out throughout Kerala

I have made all the payments, PDI was done at the dealer's yard at Edapally.
Thanks to Manoj (Bibendum90949) who accompanied me for the PDI.
Hoping to take the delivery next week.

Are you also getting 2023 model?
MithunSathianat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th March 2024, 21:24   #3072

Congrats Bluish Black and Red were my preferences, but unfortunately no dealers had it in stock (Zeta AT). I was checking out throughout Kerala

Congratulations to you too! What colour did you choose finally ?

Ours is a 2023 model too. I bought it from SM Nexa, Salem, TN. They straight away gave me the good discount back in February. Their buying experience was really good as well. Have to register the vehicle now in KL.

Upgraded the tyres to Geolander 235/70/15 yesterday. Got it for 20k after exchanging stock. A bit outside the recommended values but dad went for it so have to see how it performs in the Estate roads. I only hope it doesn’t rub against the body.

I would love to catch up with you and Bibendum90949 and the Thars (and Jimmy’s ) sometime.
aak7420 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2024, 14:27   #3073

Congratulations for the new buy and wishing you miles of happiness. A friend of mine is planning to buy Jimny (Alpha AT) and is being offered a discount of 1.5 lacs on 2023 model. I just want to know what discounts were you offered by dealership?

Last edited by KarthikK : 20th March 2024 at 14:33. Reason: Minor typo correction
MahindraThor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2024, 15:00   #3074

Originally Posted by MahindraThor View Post
Congratulations for the new buy and wishing you miles of happiness. A friend of mine is planning to buy Jimny (Alpha AT) and is being offered a discount of 1.5 lacs on 2023 model. I just want to know what discounts were you offered by dealership?
Thank you
I believe 1.5L is Maruti offered discount. I got flat 2L cash discount + 10k worth free accessories of my choice. I wasn’t able to negotiate more as they had only one AT Zeta in stock.
If the dealer have more stock, more negotiation is easily possible. All they are trying is to liquidate the 2023 stocks somehow.
MithunSathianat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2024, 15:47   #3075

Originally Posted by MahindraThor View Post

You can get 1.5 (Maruti) + another 1.5L or more if you push harder for dealerships that have a lot of those in stock. Someone commented about Popular Motors offering the same for MTs in KL. If you're from KL/TN, DM me. I know a Zeta AT with a dealer and might be able to help you. But today is the last day for booking/billing AFAIK.
aak7420 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com