Old 10th November 2023, 12:14   #196

Some minor software glitches...

1. Car play Music vs Notification announcements (while on wireless CarPlay): This happened 4 or 5 times, but since i have faced this on my Tigor EV as well, i knew how to solve this. (Tigor EV was on wired carplay)

Issue is that while you are listening to music using wireless CarPlay, and say some announcement comes in (like seat belt not on etc.), the music mutes itself. You try to increase volume or unmute - nothing works.

Solution - wait for few seconds, switch over the music to radio (that won't be muted) and after few second switch back to the wireless CarPlay. Use the Bluetooth button on the steering. The music is back.

2. 360 Degree camera stuck: This happened once when i was trying to use the right indicator and instead of right-side camera coming up, i started getting the earlier visual of my parking lot.

Solution: I had to use the "Force restart" option on the menu under "settings". Force restart works on if the car is in N mode and under P. All back to normal after that.

3. Dashboard going blank - Yes you heard it right, and this happened while I was driving. The dashboard suddenly went all dark. However, the infotainment system was working.

Solution: Restarted the car and the issue is gone. Faced this once and not sure if it repeats.

Software bugs will be identified and fixed by the manufacturer on a regular basis - so i am not worried about those. After all, most of the bugs require a reset or restart. Major issues which affect the safety and driving mechanics of the vehicle - that when you take them to service.

Originally Posted by 320NmThunder View Post
It is the new facelift, I wonder how can we trust the Make In India and these Indian companies..... they have policies to just safeguard themself and government support them. If the faulty product is being sold, it is like duping the customer and selling broken product as new.

Can TeamBHP publish it as a thread and support in highlighting this.... I want other friends to take a very cautious and informed decision while buying TATA cars.
Alright, that is bad for a new model.

When I took Safari, they did a comprehensive PDI and asked three days for that. Plus 15 kms was added to the Odo. My CSE was even advising me not to expedite the process as if you do, they may skip few steps under pressure. So, I asked them to do the PDI by taking time. Was the vehicle delivered to you without showroom doing a PDI? What as the Odo reading while you did your PDI?

Last edited by Sheel : 12th November 2023 at 14:56. Reason: Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD! Thanks.
spaceunicorn is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 10th November 2023, 15:43   #197

Re: 2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review

Originally Posted by spaceunicorn View Post
Boot Space - The seats are not flat - means, you may find lesser space compared to Harrier.
Thanks for your initial feedback post and wish you many many miles of fuss free ownership. Will help a lot of prospective buyers, myself included.
You mentioned the 3rd row sears don't fold flat. Does that mean luggages will be at an incline when placed in the boot? Was this the case with the previous gen Safari? I thought I had seen a YT video that showed the 3rd row seats sliding down a little when folded, thus creating a nice flat boot space.
akannath is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th November 2023, 22:38   #198

Originally Posted by akannath View Post
Thanks for your initial feedback post and wish you many many miles of fuss free ownership. Will help a lot of prospective buyers, myself included.
You mentioned the 3rd row sears don't fold flat. Does that mean luggages will be at an incline when placed in the boot? Was this the case with the previous gen Safari? I thought I had seen a YT video that showed the 3rd row seats sliding down a little when folded, thus creating a nice flat boot space.
Couldnt find the third row slider - but I tried pushing the middle row and making space. I will check that in day light again and revert.

That's a 11deg inclination.
2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review-20231110_181747.jpg

Space is adequate. Similar to xuv500.
2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review-20231110_181808.jpg
spaceunicorn is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 12th November 2023, 08:32   #199

Originally Posted by spaceunicorn View Post
Some minor software glitches...

Software bugs will be identified and fixed by the manufacturer on a regular basis - so i am not worried about those. After all, most of the bugs require a reset or restart.
The glitches in a TATA product, whether it's their MID or Infotainment system, are expected and I am not surprised at all. All my friends and family members always had something negative to say about it, including myself. I fought a battle with NCS TATA to get the HARMAN system replaced out of warranty, as the same problem occurred multiple times when I had the warranty, and they did nothing about it. Since I had screenshot proofs and video documentary of discussing the issue with their agents right after taking delivery in 2019, it only took me 4 months to get it replaced in 2023.

Since I am used to hearing complaints, I can't imagine a perfect system from Tata, even if we have to spend 3 million Rs.

My expected delivery date is next week on the 18th, and I can't wait to experience them firsthand. I received a call from Tata's call center last night, asking why I pressed the 'Emergency button near the sunroof,' and I had to explain that perhaps it's the people at Nippon doing the PDI as I haven't taken delivery yet.

The 11-degree inclination, although I noticed it initially, I didn't know it was that significant. It does look concerning.

Last edited by hAwX : 12th November 2023 at 08:34.
hAwX is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th November 2023, 12:51   #200

Dear TeamBHP family,

I just purchased a top end version of Tata Safari automatic and realized the engine oil leaking on second day.
Since then my car is with showroom and they are suggesting the whole engine assembly will be changed, its like changing the engine for the new car, which I have just run 40 kms.
What is the source of the engine oil leak? I faced a similar issue with my Tata Punch, incidentally on the second day and it came to the point of getting the car towed to a workshop. But things took a turn for good and it was an issue with the oil pressure switch which was resolved at my place. Please read my experience here (My Orcus White Tata Punch Creative DT | Ownership Review).

Changing the whole assembly on a brand-new car would be very unfortunate. Therefore, please ask for a detailed explanation as to what is wrong and negotiate further.
gischethans is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th November 2023, 13:39   #201

I don't know how to trust Make in India or be proud of our companies if this is what they bring to table, after taking in 31 lakh Rs.
My apologies if you find this reply inappropriate to the context but the engine is a Fiat one most probably imported into India. This is the reason why a far more powerful engined XUV 700 gives you much more for similar money or less. Tatas will be paying a huge amount plus import duties making them slightly uncompetitive in this segment. My take is that this is a one in a million case and if they are changing the entire engine, it shouldn’t be an unfair deal.
Old 12th November 2023, 14:51   #202

[quote=niranjanprabhu;5660309]My apologies if you find this reply inappropriate to the context but the engine is a Fiat one most probably imported into India.
Isn't fiat 2.0 Diesel engines produced in Pune with joint venture with Tata. Yes t
Tatas must be paying royalty for the engines making them costlier than the one produced inhouse by Mahindra
Old 12th November 2023, 20:20   #203

Originally Posted by niranjanprabhu View Post
My apologies if you find this reply inappropriate to the context but the engine is a Fiat one most probably imported into India. This is the reason why a far more powerful engined XUV 700 gives you much more for similar money or less. Tatas will be paying a huge amount plus import duties making them slightly uncompetitive in this segment. My take is that this is a one in a million case and if they are changing the entire engine, it shouldn’t be an unfair deal.
These engines are very much manufactured in India by FIAT India Automobiles (FIAPL) at its Ranjangaon, Maharashtra based manufacturing facility.
FIAPL is a joint venture between Tata Motors and Fiat Chrysler Automotive (now known as Stellantis)
84.monsoon is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th November 2023, 20:42   #204

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
These engines are very much manufactured in India by FIAT India Automobiles (FIAPL) at its Ranjangaon, Maharashtra based manufacturing facility.
FIAPL is a joint venture between Tata Motors and Fiat Chrysler Automotive (now known as Stellantis)
Is the entire engine manufactured locally or assembled like a CKD???
Old 13th November 2023, 01:09   #205

Man the car looks dope in that color with the PPF. Congratulations on the buy

Wishing you many miles of comfort and safety!
Old 13th November 2023, 01:28   #206

Originally Posted by niranjanprabhu View Post
There is nothing imported about the Fiat engine that is used in the Jeep Compass, Safari/Harrier and the Hector. It wouldn't make any financial sense for so many different companies to use them in the first place if they had to pay massive import taxes. It saves them the huge cost of designing and setting up a manufacturing line for their own engines or even importing more advanced engines from outside.

The reason the 2.0 fiat multijet engine makes less power is because it is an older design that was first available all the way back in 2017: https://www.indiatoday.in/auto/new-l...203-2017-07-31

The Mahindra engines are more refined and powerful because they are more modern and were released with the XUV700 in late 2021. Nothing to do with imported vs made in India.
Cresterk is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th November 2023, 06:04   #207

Originally Posted by Cresterk View Post

The Mahindra engines are more refined and powerful because they are more modern and were released with the XUV700 in late 2021. Nothing to do with imported vs made in India.
While the mStallion engines were a brand new development and first introduced on the new Thar in 2020 (a year before the appearance in the XUV7OO), the diesel mHawk is actually a very old engine introduced in the first generation Scorpion in 2007. Even then it was not brand new but derived from the m2CRDI technology in vogue then. It was incrementally improved with major updates every few years. The most recent update was indeed made in 2020/21 for the new Thar and the XUV7OO.

Some of this evolutionary history of the mHawk can be seen in the below image as it evolved in line with the Scorpio's evolution. This story goes to prove that you can keep improving a good diesel engine for ever, to make it as good as any contemporary engine. The mHawk today is so smooth and powerful, highly reliable and very frugal, and can challenge the best diesels from VW or BMW.

2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review-2e1d7703761242dda5f46b11b229c702scorpiotimeline.jpg

Mercedes has gone a quantum leap ahead though on their diesels, with these engines now able to churn out disproportionate power and torque compared to engine size - as can be seen from the recent launches such as the C300d.

The basics of the mHawk engine have not changed much (see below bullets), but improvements in materials, friction reduction, thermal management, transmission tuning etc have resulted in one of the best diesels available in the market today.

• Variable geometry turbocharger (VGT) for improved performance and fuel efficiency
  • Common rail fuel injection system for precise fuel delivery
  • Dual overhead camshafts (DOHC) for improved valve timing and performance
  • Intercooler for cooling the intake air and improving performance
  • Lightweight aluminum construction for reduced weight and improved fuel efficiency

On my Thar 2020 Auto, the mHawk is at a lower tune of 130HP/300NM and is totally unstressed, with 100 KPH coming up at 1600 RPM. The pairing of this engine to the 6 speed Aisin torque converter is a match made in heaven! The gear shifts are imperceptible and the transmission is butter smooth, when driven in a relaxed manner Higher states of tune of the 2.2 mHawk in the XUV7OO and ScorpioN make the engine spin faster and burn more fuel. I belive 100 KPH comes up at nearly 2300 RPM due to the increased weight and higher output tune. That is not a nice engine speed for a big diesel as it will likely be more noisy and less able to make quick speed increases beyond that RPM level for overtaking etc.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 13th November 2023 at 06:25.
84.monsoon is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 14th November 2023, 16:51   #208

Finally had a long drive of around 700 km during the last weekend. We took a trip to Guruvayoor (Thrissur, Kerala) from Trivandrum. The Diesel was filled until the auto cut off kicked in. The ODO was at 350 and it took 41.44 liters to fill the tank.

The entire journey was split into three legs. Trivandrum to Kollam, Kollam to Kochi and Kochi to Guruvayoor. The entire stretch of NH is under construction, and you hardly get to see real highways. The initial stretch till Kollam was driven at around 70 - 80 kmph and the mileage was shown as 15.8 in dash. The second stretch was quite hectic with traffic and road construction. Here the mileage was 11.8. The third stretch was like narrow roads and potholes, with construction of NH going on. Here the average mileage was 11.7.

We came back via MC road, where the average mileage came up to 12.8 (its average mileage and not the mileage for that stretch of trip). The drive was quite comfortable, acknowledged by both my wife (Front passenger seat) and Mother, middle left side. Kids too were happy as MC road normally make the elder one a bit claustrophobic, but this was not felt in Safari. Throughout the journey the speed never crossed 85kmph and never put any hard acceleration. FtF showed a mileage of 12.1 kmpl. This almost matched dashboard mileage as well.

Pros:
1. Very comfortable drive.
2. Music system was extremely good.
3. good average mileage of around 12.8 (within Kerala, where you dont have any 2 or 3 lane highways and with moderate to heavy traffic mostly).
4. Good road presence. May be because this was the first Safari facelift in Kerala on road.
5. Good sound insulation. Twice I missed ambulance behind me - sound was insulated properly and the music system was quite good - both seems to be the reason.

Cons:
1. Software glitches - The Music stops for wireless car play(already shared above), The dashboard map navigation fails to detect phone connected to car etc. Had to reset the system three - four times. But nothing alarming.
2. The TPMS is completely wrong - seems it needs to be calibrated. TPMS shows 44 while I checked at a local Tyre shop and ensured 34 for all four Tyres.
3. The Windshield water sprayer is not working as expected -the water spray is focused to the bottom of windshield, and it doesn't even reach the middle. Need to get it corrected during service (already due for the first service at 1000 - 2000 km)
4. Citi Mode sometimes feels quite laggy - sports mode is better and peppier. Not sure about the impact on mileage, i haven't used it extensively.

iRA app update: The iRA app seems to be connected when i turn on the car. It gets disconnected after a few minutes after i turn off the car. I believe it uses my mobile connection to connect and update status while i turn on the car. The purpose of the remote app is not that, I believe. Looks like it may take some time to get that ready.

Gave a good wash to the Lion after the trip:

2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review-microsoftteamsimage-27.jpg

After wash:
2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review-microsoftteamsimage-28.jpg

Last edited by spaceunicorn : 14th November 2023 at 16:57. Reason: Adding photos.
spaceunicorn is offline   (46) Thanks
Old 14th November 2023, 20:21   #209

Dear Friends, I would like to share my experience with my new Tata Safari.

First of all this is my first post/reply in team-bhp, kindly be light on any grammatical mistakes.

My new 3 months old Tata Safari had faced start issue twice already . Vehicle Delivery Date: 04-Sep-2023; Vehicle Reg Number: KL22S1484; Dealer: Trivandrum Motors.
Incident 1 - On 30th Oct 2023 when tried to start vehicle from my apartment parking slot after 2 days, it is giving a beep sound from engine and not getting started. Reached out to Sales Manager from Trivandrum Motors and she helped to register Road Side Assistance and after 4 hours a mechanic from Trivandrum Motors came and told battery is not generating power to start the engine, he did a jump start from the car he came and it started, after turning on for 15 minutes, we tried to restart and it got started and then he advised to drop the vehicle to the service station, I did so on the same day night. They have identified the issue as battery problem and replaced the battery, they had confirmed the dynamo unit to charge the battery is working fine and only battery is discharging fast, they took 4 days to deliver the vehicle after replacement. Along with it they have done the first service also.
Number of kilo meters driven as I faced first incident – Just 520

Incident 2 – On 14th Nov 2023 when tried to start vehicle from my apartment parking slot after 2 days, the story repeats, this time no beep sound, but it is not starting and displaying a message on the cluster system error. This time I directly contacted Road Side assistance and they are on the way to check what is the issue.
Number of kilo meters driven as I faced second incident – Just 640.

With these incidents, I started losing confidence with Tata Motors and my love towards Safari is on the edge.
MadhavBitra is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 14th November 2023, 22:25   #210

Originally Posted by MadhavBitra View Post
Dear Friends, I would like to share my experience with my new Tata Safari.

parking slot after 2 days, the story repeats, this time no beep sound, but it is not starting and displaying a message on the cluster system error.
Where is your parking location ? It's in basement or what ? How about telematics, it's configured or not in use? May be the remote functions draining the battery, that's one point to be checked.
TorqueIndia is offline   (2) Thanks