Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 6th January 2011, 16:17   #151

re: 1967 VW Fastback - Restored

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Pavan, these pics dont do justice to the car nor your effort. Catch hold of the Bug's photographer and convince the new owner to lend it or drive along with you on a weekend morning and get better pics.
sir.. Thank you very much. Work schedule is really eccentric right now. I will certainly get some better pics of the car by weekend.

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Ah.. finally its on road and its really looking good. With all those chrome bits shining at their full and superb shade (color) this VW will surely stand out in the crowd.
However, i think if the front no. plate was little less in height it would have looked even better. Just my opinion.
Thanks Sagar, The car for sure is a stunner.

BTW, those 2 number plates are ORIGINAL VW one's so the size.

Originally Posted by COUNSEL View Post
Congrats Pavan. Yet another excellent restoration. Hope the accounts are settled!
yes. The accounts are settled, the only 2 accounts that are not settled is the Tinkers and painter, which i have adviced the car owner not to do. And there's a valid reason. They still have to do some detailing on the car. Once the car comes back, i will make sure they attend to it.
PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2011, 18:02   #152

Pavanji,

Many many congratulations on the wonderful outcome of the car. I have followed this thread very closely from day one and am very pleased with the final outcome. Superb!

Prithvi
Old 6th January 2011, 22:28   #153

Hey Pavan, she's looking stunning !
And what a shade of blue - my congratulations to you and to your team, for a fantastic job !!

Please do take some photos in a good location - ideally in the august company of your Bug and Bus .
Old 7th January 2011, 09:22   #154

Congratulations and another excellent work from you and your team.

Fantastic job......
Old 7th January 2011, 13:17   #155

Great job Pavan !

The car looks stunning, especially the back end with the curves & the tail pipes boldly thrusting out !

Some more pics please ?
Old 8th January 2011, 22:42   #156

Great job Pavan. Would you be interested in sharing what the total cost was. I am sure it will help others get an idea as to what restoration costs should be
Old 8th January 2011, 23:28   #157

Originally Posted by SuperSelect View Post
Hey Pavan, she's looking stunning !
And what a shade of blue - my congratulations to you and to your team, for a fantastic job !!

Please do take some photos in a good location - ideally in the august company of your Bug and Bus .
Sure sir, will post better pics soon.

Originally Posted by girishpv View Post
Congratulations and another excellent work from you and your team.

Fantastic job......

Originally Posted by nirmaljusdoit View Post
Great job Pavan !

The car looks stunning, especially the back end with the curves & the tail pipes boldly thrusting out !

Some more pics please ?
Thank you very much guys.

Originally Posted by wasif View Post
Great job Pavan. Would you be interested in sharing what the total cost was. I am sure it will help others get an idea as to what restoration costs should be
Wasif bhai, The car is not Fully restored as yet, but what ever stage its reached right now has costed Rs 1.80 lacs.
Old 11th January 2011, 12:32   #158

Some more pics of the car.

Will take better snaps later, when the car comes in for the first service
1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2396.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2398.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2399.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2400.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2402.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2403.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2404.jpg  

Old 11th January 2011, 13:40   #159

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Some more pics of the car.

Will take better snaps later, when the car comes in for the first service

@PAVAN KADAM, Amazing resto, love it!
Old 12th January 2011, 11:55   #160

Originally Posted by Basharatu View Post
@PAVAN KADAM, Amazing resto, love it!
Thank you very much.

As they say, old ghosts return to haunt you..............

Post delivery the car refuses to run right. Although its running, its not the way it should be.

1) One or two Pushrod tubes leaking oil
2) Carb playing pranks
3) Fuel pump not working when the engine gets hot.
4) Lot of unfinished paint panels.

I ADMIT, MY TEAM AND MYSELF HAVE GOOOFED UP BIG TIME

The car has come back and 2 weeks i am going to work on the car before its reliable.

Wish be luck guys.
1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2406.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2408.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2409.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2412.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2411.jpg  

Old 12th January 2011, 22:58   #161

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post

I ADMIT, MY TEAM AND MYSELF HAVE GOOOFED UP BIG TIME
I wouldnt say that! You put a car back on the road in a remarkably short amount of time. Now the owner can actually enjoy it while you perfect it.

PS: Cant you find another dashboard, it would make the interiors a killer. Is it just me or do the headlights of the restored car look larger than the ones on the unrestored one?
Old 13th January 2011, 00:20   #162

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
I wouldnt say that! You put a car back on the road in a remarkably short amount of time. Now the owner can actually enjoy it while you perfect it.

PS: Cant you find another dashboard, it would make the interiors a killer. Is it just me or do the headlights of the restored car look larger than the ones on the unrestored one?
True sir, but it cannot be a rule that what ever i restore is 100% right. I have screwed up this time, and i am not able to digest the fact, that the car did not run properly when the car owner drove it around.

I always make sure that any car is driven extensively, Tested before i deliver it to the respective owners, but this time my mechanic diverted my attention and convinced me to give the car with only half the initial run-in done. And that is a big mistake.

OTOH, the car runs fine, with little or no hiccups when i start driving it.

Anyways, its certain, NOW the car will be checked thoroughly before delivering one final time.

And BTW those are ORIGINAL GERMAN HELLA HEADLIGHTS

The other car has a rounded headlight, must research about them sometime.
Old 14th January 2011, 09:49   #163

Pavan Kadam,

This is one beautiful restoration you have done.
The amount of pain, time and money you have taken to do this is just invaluable.
When I saw the post that you do not charge for your restoration, I was truly .
Passionate people like you are rare to find.

We are waiting for some good pictures of this car. Please post them as soon as you find time.

Keep it going buddy...you and your team simply rock.

By the word rock, i get reminded of the picture of your yellow bug and my white lady in the same pose on nice road .

BTW I saw your yellow bug on the elevated road today morning at 8:00am just beside my white lady.
Once you overtook me, i flashed the headlights once...but i doubt if you saw me.
I took a picture of your car from the rear view mirror of my car while driving, but the picture did not come good.
This was the first time I saw your prized possesion on the road. and I must say its absolutely beautiful.
Old 14th January 2011, 12:16   #164

Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post
Pavan Kadam,

This is one beautiful restoration you have done.
The amount of pain, time and money you have taken to do this is just invaluable.
When I saw the post that you do not charge for your restoration, I was truly .
Passionate people like you are rare to find.

We are waiting for some good pictures of this car. Please post them as soon as you find time.

Keep it going buddy...you and your team simply rock.

By the word rock, i get reminded of the picture of your yellow bug and my white lady in the same pose on nice road .

BTW I saw your yellow bug on the elevated road today morning at 8:00am just beside my white lady.
Once you overtook me, i flashed the headlights once...but i doubt if you saw me.
I took a picture of your car from the rear view mirror of my car while driving, but the picture did not come good.
This was the first time I saw your prized possesion on the road. and I must say its absolutely beautiful.
Thank you very much.

The Fastback still has a bit of work to be done. By the coming weekend, the car will be delivered one final time. We are waiting for the rear windshield that i've imported.

BTW, That was not me, but my younger bro driving the Bug to office (Infy) today. This week the Bug is used everyday by me to office and today was my bro's turn. A 500 km run was the target and today it will complete 525 kms in 5 days.
Old 16th January 2011, 23:22   #165

Pavan sir,

Any updates to share? Did the windshield arrive?

And Your Bug does 500kms a week ?