Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 17th January 2011, 09:26   #166

re: 1967 VW Fastback - Restored

Originally Posted by ruthvikmagal View Post
Pavan sir,

Any updates to share? Did the windshield arrive?

And Your Bug does 500kms a week ?

Yes. The Windshields have arrived, but not delivered to me yet due to the weekend festivities.

Should reach me by today afternoon

Yes, my Beetle completed 525 km run last week

And the coming week, will be doing the same with the BUS.
Old 18th January 2011, 18:33   #167

Sir,
Are the windshields on the Fastback?
And the bus is doing 500Kms too?
Old 23rd January 2011, 09:12   #168
KPS

Including the purchase price paid for the car, I would estimate that this car will cost 6+ lakhs. I sometimes wonder if such cars are really worth such spends . Especially if they are mass produced cars, I would always advocate practicality than a bull head thought process of bringing up to stock restoration. How much ever much money you spend on this car it can never be a show stopper in a vintage & classic car meet, it will not win awards on pure merit. Do not get me wrong but believe me in the long run there will be more regrets to come.

Owning a classic is all about a lot of patience. Every car you look at will give you goose bumps and your will start dreaming about it. However one must reflect a bit and try and understand as to why the previous owner never got it right. Especially if the previous owner has the requisite knowledge and has been an owner of other cars. Never be in a hurry to buy a mass produced car, there may be more ghosts than you can see at first glance.

Small cars with small engines are always more painful. Most of them lack practicality and comfort. I used to own a 1959 Morris Mini Woody at one point, rare car but very painful to drive around.

For rare and limited produced cars never bat an eye lid just buy it if the opportunity presents itself. Restoration can be done in parts over a period of time as normally a 100% restoration will cost you a lot of money.

KPS
Old 24th January 2011, 00:40   #169

Originally Posted by KPS View Post
Including the purchase price paid for the car, I would estimate that this car will cost 6+ lakhs. I sometimes wonder if such cars are really worth such spends . Especially if they are mass produced cars, I would always advocate practicality than a bull head thought process of bringing up to stock restoration. How much ever much money you spend on this car it can never be a show stopper in a vintage & classic car meet, it will not win awards on pure merit. Do not get me wrong but believe me in the long run there will be more regrets to come.

Owning a classic is all about a lot of patience. Every car you look at will give you goose bumps and your will start dreaming about it. However one must reflect a bit and try and understand as to why the previous owner never got it right. Especially if the previous owner has the requisite knowledge and has been an owner of other cars. Never be in a hurry to buy a mass produced car, there may be more ghosts than you can see at first glance.

Small cars with small engines are always more painful. Most of them lack practicality and comfort. I used to own a 1959 Morris Mini Woody at one point, rare car but very painful to drive around.

For rare and limited produced cars never bat an eye lid just buy it if the opportunity presents itself. Restoration can be done in parts over a period of time as normally a 100% restoration will cost you a lot of money.

KPS
I would on your view sir,

But VW Type-3 were manufactured only between 1961 and 1973. Their production numbers never crossed 2.53 lac units.

But if you consider the Fastback. VW's sold less than a lac.

So as per me, i consider Fastbacks to be rare. I can say, we may only have less than 10 or 20 Fastbacks in the country. Atleast in a city like Bangalore, there are only 3, and you wont find much more than this documented anywhere.

About the costs, well, i can only talk about restoration costs of this car. Well, it has crossed 2 lacs as on date, but not cross another 20-30K. but thats the price one has to pay for restoring a battered rare car.
Old 24th January 2011, 12:30   #170

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Yes. The Windshields have arrived, but not delivered to me yet due to the weekend festivities.

Should reach me by today afternoon

Yes, my Beetle completed 525 km run last week

And the coming week, will be doing the same with the BUS.
Waiting for the "better pictures" of your restoration.

I'm now planning to go according to your signature.
Will contact you as soon I'm ready.

So can I expect the BUS on the BETL this week?
Old 26th January 2011, 17:56   #171

car.
Hi Pavan,

Did you manage to contact Chris for the Fintail parts? Does he have what you were looking for?
Old 9th February 2011, 19:45   #172

Sometimes restoration becomes pain, not for the troubles the car is giving, those are exciting challenges, the more i see trouble, the more i am happy. Because, i get to learn more once the problem is solved.

Firstly, the Carb gave a hell lot of issues, got a new one, and fitted, now carburetion is perfect

The distributor clamp never came with the engine, my mechanic did some kind of L clamp to hold the distibutor in its place, but, that damn thing used to short and give us electrical nightmares while running. all this is difficult to convice the car owner who does not understand the nitty gritty of restoring an out of production RARE car, finally found one at our good old scrapyard.

There used to be a lot of oil leakage, inspite of installing a brand new crankshaft oil seal during engine buildup, that darn thing gave way, again the engine was downed (this must be some 6 - 7th time the engine was removed and re-fitted. Got a new one and installed it.

Clutch was severly damaged, god knows how, but ordered one quickly, lucky that i managed to get a Brand new NOS part.

Mechanically now the Fastback is perfect. Runs like a dream.

The only problem being

1) No availability of front indicators.
2) Front seats are not sliding as they should

The car is now good to go by weekend. But till then some more money going down the drain for testing.
1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2612.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2610.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2611.jpg  

Old 9th February 2011, 20:16   #173

Yay!! The ghosts are retreating!!
Old 10th February 2011, 10:00   #174

while you were at it you should havedetailed the engine a bit...those covers on both sides do look like htey could use a new coat of paint.

Its great to hear its runnning well now
Old 10th February 2011, 11:06   #175

The only problem being

1) No availability of front indicators.
2) Front seats are not sliding as they should

The car is now good to go by weekend. But till then some more money going down the drain for testing.
Try VW Heritage, I think these are the correct indicators. VW Heritage for VW parts and accessories

Prithvi
Old 10th February 2011, 11:37   #176

You bet....

Originally Posted by wasif View Post
while you were at it you should havedetailed the engine a bit...those covers on both sides do look like htey could use a new coat of paint.

Its great to hear its runnning well now
Thanks wasif bhai, i so much wanted to detail the engine. Only if it was not for the budget constraint.

Originally Posted by mbz180 View Post
Try VW Heritage, I think these are the correct indicators. VW Heritage for VW parts and accessories

Prithvi
Sir, The price is so steep, if only the car owner could get me these units, i would have happily put them on to the car.
Old 28th February 2011, 19:55   #177

All Ghosts are treated and BUSTED one final time

The car is FLYING.............FLYING HIGH.............!

My other mechanic was such a fool, i was disgusted by his small mistake.

He lost the distributor mounting clamp, and instead discreetly without telling me made a metal L clamp and had tied the Distributor to it, Indirectly "SHORTING" it to the Body

It had to take one long distance call to my Original mechanic to diagnose the trouble. One call and he hit "BULLS EYE" He also arranged for one original distributor clamp and after that, the car is completely FINE.

Fitted the original rear glass today.

The car is getting delivered tomorrow morning.

Will keep u guys updated.
1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2791.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2794.jpg  

Old 28th February 2011, 20:32   #178

The ghosts are NO MORE!!! So Aanji saves the day again?
Old 1st March 2011, 16:49   #179

Re: 1967 VW Fastback - Restored

The ghosts are NO MORE!!! So Aanji saves the day again?
Its not trouble free as you think.

Any old cars will give out minor niggles after a full restoration.

This car should give, infact it gave us major gremlins to sort out.

It will still stop once its HOT, Since its a fresh Engine.

Anyways, those will be taken car of eventually, But importantly the car is a flyer right now.
1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2804.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2805.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2806.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2807.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2808.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2809.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2810.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2811.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2812.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback - Restored-imag_2814.jpg  

Old 1st March 2011, 16:58   #180

Re: 1967 VW Fastback - Restored

Good to see the car finally done! Great job Pavan! The interior especially looks yummy!

Where did you procure the original rear glass from btw? Imported it?

Also who's the dude in the red tee standing next to the car?