Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 28th August 2008, 16:58   #31

Originally Posted by sudev View Post
Unfortunately my contacts in Jaisalmer is now in Jodhpur. Would you be willing to stay in some Haweli's? Not done that in Jaisalmer but they are an experience..
Since our travel partners can catch a flight from Jodhpur also, one night in Jodhpur makes sense too.
I was looking at Devi Bhawan for 1300/night INR in Jodhpur. I guess thats a Haveli too.
Will PM ya shortly once everything is shortlisted
Old 29th August 2008, 16:00   #32

Ok, our itenary is more or less final now
Day 1 : 4am
Pick Samurai from hotel, leave Gurgaon by 5am
Reach Jaisalmer by 7-8pm going via Jaipur Bypass - Jodhpur - Jaisalmer
I guess via Beawar is the fastest route as mentioned by hv and sudev
At Jaisalmer, Fifu guest house seems to be a nice place with tripadvisor giving it very high rating
Day 2 :
Jaisalmer sight seeing + go to Khuri and spend night on the dunes
Day 3 :
Explore area around Khuri and return to Jaisalmer by evening, some sight seeing
Day 4
Drive to Jodhpur. Do sight seeing
Sudev, I will ping you shortly about Jodhpur
Day 5
Samurai catches flight back, and we drive to Delhi(11 hours approx from Jodhpur I guess), so we leave by 8am
Old 29th August 2008, 16:42   #33

Ok, our itenary is more or less final now
Day 1 : 4am
Pick Samurai from hotel, leave Gurgaon by 5am
Reach Jaisalmer by 7-8pm going via Jaipur Bypass - Jodhpur - Jaisalmer
I guess via Beawar is the fastest route as mentioned by hv and sudev
At Jaisalmer, Fifu guest house seems to be a nice place with tripadvisor giving it very high rating
Day 2 :
Jaisalmer sight seeing + go to Khuri and spend night on the dunes
Day 3 :
Explore area around Khuri and return to Jaisalmer by evening, some sight seeing
Day 4
Drive to Jodhpur. Do sight seeing
Sudev, I will ping you shortly about Jodhpur
Day 5
Samurai catches flight back, and we drive to Delhi(11 hours approx from Jodhpur I guess), so we leave by 8am
Hai TSK,

Link below to my trip log I did in 2006, from Ahmedabad to Jaisalmir, so route information may not be relevant.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...trip-logs.html

Another link below to my discussion before I did the trip would be useful, they have latest information on the conditions out there, lots of candid discussions and accounts by Firangis / Indians. You'd probably find Fifu full of foreigners, where I stayed, Sahi Palace, I was the only Indian.

Desert Safari -Jaisalmer trip /Creeps And Scorpions? - India Travel Forum | IndiaMike.com

Hope this helps,

--Ramky
File Type: xls TRIP LOG JAISALMER.xls (31.5 KB, 638 views)

Last edited by ramkya1 : 29th August 2008 at 16:44.
Old 29th August 2008, 17:03   #34

Thanks ramkya. I don't really expect many tourists in October second week, but you never know.
I will explore Sahi Place too. Is it Shahi Place or sahi place?
Old 29th August 2008, 17:35   #35

Ouch, my son is not going to like this part. He was freaking out at the sight of lowly leaches in the Muthodi forest.
Old 29th August 2008, 21:13   #36

Shahi Palace.

Thanks ramkya. I don't really expect many tourists in October second week, but you never know.
I will explore Sahi Place too. Is it Shahi Place or sahi place?
With Jaisalmir, you never know with crowds, when we went during the rains and floods, we thought it would be empty, the place was FULL !!!!

Giving below URL of shahipalace, I selected the place after seeing the lonely planet ratings and after hearing about the place from my cousin in Sydney.

Shahi Palace - Hotels in Jaisalmer , Camel Safari , Desert Camp

The place is NOTHING like what you see on the website, small place, limited rooms, very personal service, decent rooms, awesome terrace overlooking the fort and awesome rates and a great safari. The only problem I found was, there's no decent place for parking, you have to park out on the roadside or in the lane, you'd have a problem with your Truck.

Between Fifu and Shahi (both equal ratings on lonely planet, I think) fifu has better parking sapce, check this out. Attaching word file with corres. with fifu, can't locate the mails on shahipalace, rates are not fixed anyway.

One advise on the desert, at night, sleep as far away from the bushes and on the deck of a sand dune, the creepies cluster around the bushes, they are also seasonal, more during the rainy season. If you know the galaxies and constellations of the sky, take a sky map, you could spend half the night with a small torch and a sky map. My eldest son is very good with that due to his school science project and entertained us and the Firangis till 2 AM, they were stumped for sure!!!!!!!

Happy Driving,

--Ramky

----------
File Type: doc corres jaisalmir.doc (27.5 KB, 639 views)
Old 29th August 2008, 21:16   #37

Why not visit the border areas? Very decent drive and if you got jugaad you can go RIGHT up to the border. Longewala is inspirational.
Old 29th August 2008, 21:36   #38

Why not visit the border areas? Very decent drive and if you got jugaad you can go RIGHT up to the border. Longewala is inspirational.
I was told that you cannot go beyond Sam without a permit - where all can you go?
Old 29th August 2008, 22:09   #39

Go in another direciton

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
I was told that you cannot go beyond Sam without a permit - where all can you go?
IMO, Sam is a little overused, would NOT recommend it at all, too crowded. We went towards Kauari, from where we went, it was 20 KM to the border. Took us in a jeep to a small village where the camels are kept, 2 other groups joined, 8 firangis, safaried off into the desert.

--Ramky

---------
Old 29th August 2008, 23:16   #40

I went to Tanot border (scene of Border movie in real life ?) and from there to Longevala, and ended the day at Sam sand dunes. Bugger driver had some cohorts - never stop at the first guys. The camel ride is anyways awkward and boring. Go ahead, take a short 50-100 buck ride ON the dunes than the long boring 300 buck ride which they cut short at the first/second dune anyways. And the best dunes are at the end - the touristy stuff is right at the beginning, with half dirty blackish sands courtesy tourists!!

Permits are required ahead of Tanot/Longevala. I saw an army 8x8 there which I wasnt allowed to click. Impressive machine that made a joke outta doing like 60 kph on sand !!

Last edited by phamilyman : 29th August 2008 at 23:18.
Old 30th August 2008, 01:06   #41

Lets see if we can get permits.
I heard Fifu guys arrange tents, so danger of bugs etc., is less.
Sam is not good, so we will definitely visit Khuri.

Shahi Palace, and Fifu, 2 good options for now, lets see which one do we take!

Samurai San, your inputs please
Old 30th August 2008, 10:05   #42

Stay In The Open

Shahi Palace, and Fifu, 2 good options for now, lets see which one do we take!

Samurai San, your inputs please
Suggest you stay in the open, its more fun. I've seen the tents the opertors use, smelly and unclean. Out in the open, staring at the sky is a gret way to sleep out; in the morning there could be dew, some people are allergic to moisture, sand and strong sunlight. Those with any allergy, it would make sense to take an anti-histamine like fexophenedine, 1 tab a day, from the day you hit Jaisalmir, not sedating at all, check with your family doctor for a prescription.

--Ramky
=======
Old 30th August 2008, 10:05   #43

Yeah, I need to take the tent option, my son won't let us sleep otherwise, he is too jumpy in outdoors.

Fifu looks good, lots of good reviews on the web, may be the best option considering the parking requirement for the beauty.
Old 31st August 2008, 14:07   #44

Originally Posted by ramkya1 View Post
Suggest you stay in the open, its more fun. I've seen the tents the opertors use, smelly and unclean. Out in the open, staring at the sky is a gret way to sleep out;
We will do that, but not for whole night. Since it will be a very different weather for us, better use some caution and avoid sleeping in the open, especially with the kid.
Old 31st August 2008, 14:35   #45

Maximum will be 30-34C and Minimum will be around 20 in second week of October.