26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 6th January 2017, 10:29   #3466
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

I did invest in Gold ETFs earlier. Their NAVs though transparent does not seem to move with actual gold prices, is what I feel. To me it looked arbitrary.

I came out of it and put my money in GOI Sovereign Gold Bonds. From ICICIDirect they are easy to transact. I haven't sold any yet neither did I buy from secondary market, but I think it liquidity should not be an issue.

For physical gold,
PayTM gold is a good option. They have tied up with MMTC-PAMP. Prices are reasonable and it comes certified. If you have safe deposit locker, these are a good option.

Bangalore Refinery is another option, they sell directly as well as through online portals.

Goldrushonline.in is another option, is the web interface of MMTC.

The sight and feel of a pure gold coin/bar can be exhilarating.

At the same time, I wanted to know how good is an investment in physical silver? Silver prices move up and down very much. Is it a safe bet as of now? People having knowledge in these please share.
Old 11th January 2017, 14:59   #3467
Senior - BHPian

Finally took the plunge and now in the process of having my demat account opened with Zerodha. My dad has been persuading me, for the better part of this decade to do this. And like many of us here, I wanted to start with investments in the Auto sector, something I know better. But initial analysis tells me that a company's stack value, is not linked to its sales performance directly. How and from where should I begin?
Old 11th January 2017, 15:03   #3468
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by aravind.anand View Post
But initial analysis tells me that a company's stack value, is not linked to its sales performance directly. How and from where should I begin?