76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 2nd November 2020, 10:48   #4456
Team-BHP Support

Re: Do you play the stock market

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imran.Syed View Post
I'm a novice investor & I have 10L residual cash that I can invest and forget for 3-5 or even more years.
ITC is on the top of my list, and I have done rigorous research on it.
My other pick is Bharat Electronics for only for two reasons, it is a defense manufacturer/supplier and it is on Smartcat's screener. Haven't done the due diligence on BEL yet. I plan to invest 75% capital in ITC and rest in BEL.
Yikes, that is a bad idea. Issues:

- You are a novice investor
- You plan to put 75% capital in 1 stock (way too high) and 25% capital in the other (too high)

ITC and BEL are value for money stocks though.

Since you are just starting off, put that Rs. 10L capital in liquid funds. Pull out Rs. 30,000 to 50,000 per month from this capital and invest in stocks. This way, it will take 2 to 3 years for you to deploy all the capital, allowing you to "learn along the way".

You could start by investing Rs. 10K to 50K per stock, and not more than that.

Last edited by SmartCat : 2nd November 2020 at 11:08.
SmartCat is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2020, 13:54   #4457
BHPian

Quote:
I would appreciate some advice from the experts here. I'm a novice investor & I have 10L residual cash that I can invest and forget for 3-5 or even more years.

I was also in the same situation but later on decided not to go all in via direct stocks. Too much work to identify and monitor. In the end i stopped at 2.5l in direct equity and the rest of it in couple of mutual funds including the index fund.