26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 22nd November 2020, 11:47   #4471
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

Anyone here investing in stock market through smallcases? I have just been introduced to this concept of basket investing and find it a wonderful tool for those who lack expertise in picking stocks or do not have time to analyze stocks.
Sorry if this topic has been discussed earlier on this forum; but am curious to hear about experiences of those who have availed this option.
Old 22nd November 2020, 12:27   #4472
BANNED

Quote:
Originally Posted by skchettry View Post
Anyone here investing in stock market through smallcases? I have just been introduced to this concept of basket investing and find it a wonderful tool for those who lack expertise in picking stocks or do not have time to analyze stocks.
I confess what those terms mean. But within a few months of starting to put my monthly savings in a single sctop (different crop each time), I realised it is better to split the buys to 2 - 3 scrips each time.

Couple of years later, was amused to find Geojit (my brokers) selling my concept back to me, well packaged, as "SIP" investments. They had 3 - 4 "packages" at a time with different scrips and varying numbers for differing amounts and risk appetites. Is this what it is?
Old 22nd November 2020, 17:08   #4473
BHPian

I have been investing in equity for more than 15 years now. During this time, I moved slowly from individual shares to mutual funds to finally ETF. For the last one year , my SIPS are in:
1. Nifty
2. Nifty next
3. Gold ETF
4. S&P500
5. Edelweiss Greater China equity

I invest more than 6 figures to all the funds together every month.

My investment period is for at least 15 years. Equity investment is around 20% of my total investment. Rest 80% is FD.

Any comments on my choices.