Old 18th December 2013, 19:24   #2221

The white pilot is now out of stock at the hmt store. Will be available again in about two weeks, as per the salesman. Last piece sold out yesterday. Who would have thought???
Old 18th December 2013, 20:35   #2222
JVH

Originally Posted by Lij View Post
I would very much like a military green strap which will go with the dial colour of my watch. But how do I contact the gentleman? No contact details available in the link. Do I need to join that forum? If you can PM me the contact details it would be great as I see in the Google spreadsheet that only 1 in military green is available.
I cannot pm you probably because of your newbie status. Maybe there is some info on that website itself. Else you can share your email if it's ok and I can write to you.

Here are a couple of iPhone pics
Which watch do you own?-image3349254301.jpg  

Which watch do you own?-image2958986635.jpg  

Old 18th December 2013, 21:35   #2223

Contacted the HMT showroom at Jhandewalan Dehi today. The person there said that neither does he have the Pilot nor the Janata. He said that he can get me both of them from the Kashmiri Gate post office. The post office guys even have a white Pilot.

Due to the excitement for the watches i searched a bit on the Internet & came across a Citizen showroom in CP which also sells HMT.
I went there in the evening personally.
The person there gave me a weird look when i asked him for a HMT Pilot.
He just had one piece which too seemed a bit old. I still was happy seeing the watch.
When i asked him the price he quoted me Rs.2200 for one piece.
I said that the MRP itself is Rs.1200 then how can you sell it for 2200 when you are an authorised dealer. To which he replied "Sir lena hai to le lo, bahar kahin milegi bhi nahi. Aani band ho gai abb"
I was amazed by his attitude.
I said please check it again the price cant be Rs.2200, to which i again got "Lena hai to le lo apki marzi".
I just left the place & thought of continuing my search.

Can someone guide me a place where i can get a Pilot (Both a black & a white), else i'll contact the kashmiri gate post office.

Old 18th December 2013, 23:42   #2224

Originally Posted by satyamkaushik View Post
Can someone guide me a place where i can get a Pilot (Both a black & a white), else i'll contact the kashmiri gate post office.

The Mumbai HMT showroom at the World Trade Centre shopping complex has a lot of Black Pilots. White one has been ordered and will come in two weeks. The contact number is 02222183660.

I plan to pick up a white Pilot when it comes. If you're still looking around, I can pickup one for you.

Another store in Bombay has it in Dadar. A place called Kamdar. The store has stock of both white and black pilots. You could give them a call as well on +(91)-22-49187922. They may ship it across to you. I've never bought from them so can't vouch for their services.

Personally, I love going to the HMT store and looking at rack upon rack of myriad hmts. The last time I was there, spent 5000 odd rupees on a bunch of watches that I gave as gifts to friends. I'm just weird like that. :-P
Old 19th December 2013, 09:31   #2225

Originally Posted by djpeesh View Post

The Mumbai HMT showroom at the World Trade Centre shopping complex has a lot of Black Pilots. White one has been ordered and will come in two weeks. The contact number is 02222183660.

I plan to pick up a white Pilot when it comes. If you're still looking around, I can pickup one for you.

Another store in Bombay has it in Dadar. A place called Kamdar. The store has stock of both white and black pilots. You could give them a call as well on +(91)-22-49187922. They may ship it across to you. I've never bought from them so can't vouch for their services.

Personally, I love going to the HMT store and looking at rack upon rack of myriad hmts. The last time I was there, spent 5000 odd rupees on a bunch of watches that I gave as gifts to friends. I'm just weird like that. :-P
Thanks a lot sir for the response.
I'd first search out for it here in Delhi.
The last resort i have is to tell that Jhandewalan guy to get me these Pilots from the Kashmiri Gate Post office. If i still couldn't find a Pilot here in Delhi, i'll definitely let you know

Does someone know about a watch market in Chandni Chowk ?
A musical instrument shop owner in CP told me i could get any model of Hmt from there.

I am so eager to add these watches to my collection.
Never had such a difficult experience, buying a watch. :-/
Old 19th December 2013, 12:06   #2226

re: Which watch do you own?

Newly acquired..the Danish brand

Which watch do you own?-20131217_213756.jpg

Old 19th December 2013, 14:48   #2227

Where can I buy Nato or canvas straps in NCR. I have 2 pilot's and a Janta With leather straps & need 3 of them . found canvas straps Better So looking for them primarily .
Old 19th December 2013, 15:58   #2228

Finally got my Pilots today

Had to personally visit Kashmere Gate's GPO Post Office.
The person there Mr.Rajiv was really polite & gentle. He showed me all the watches he had.
These were the last two pieces of the Pilot & he said he has no information as to when they'll get new stock.
The black one had a minor scratch on the crystal to which he said, i can get it repaired free of cost from the Jhandewalan HMT centre.

Here are few snaps of the Pilots & the HMT counter at Kashmere Gate (Delhi).
Which watch do you own?-image3637074977.jpg  

Which watch do you own?-image3432869737.jpg  

Which watch do you own?-image909072906.jpg  

Which watch do you own?-image3093766726.jpg  

Which watch do you own?-image3627157632.jpg  

Which watch do you own?-image1755234604.jpg  

Old 19th December 2013, 16:04   #2229

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
That looks like a different model christened as a Pilot to me. Mine has a black dial.
Now I remember the name of the model. The HMT Sona.
Old 19th December 2013, 16:20   #2230

My latest. Seiko 5. Automatic 24 jewels. Now no more. Seriously the last watch I buy. Dropped my plans to buy a white pilot or any other watch till I get rid of some of my existing ones.

Name:  ForumRunner_20131219_162015.png
Views: 1605
Size:  536.1 KB
Old 19th December 2013, 17:57   #2231

http://www.flipkart.com/hmt-mechanic...FWlT4godVWsAjg
HMT pilot back on flipkart
Old 19th December 2013, 18:37   #2232

Originally Posted by poloman View Post
Thanks poloman - what a find. My wallet just lightened!
Old 19th December 2013, 19:30   #2233

Originally Posted by satyamkaushik View Post
Finally got my Pilots today
Had to personally visit Kashmere Gate's GPO Post Office.
The person there Mr.Rajiv was really polite & gentle. He showed me all the watches he had.
Congrats Satyam . That's a Nice find. Never Knew that Post office too stocks HMT. Did the Post Office guy has HMT kaushal ??
I tried calling jhandewala showroom but they didn't picked up the phone.

Do you have Any Phone No for rajeev or if you could let me know the PO Address in Kashmiri gate .

Some thing Like Below Pic
Which watch do you own?-kaushal.jpg

Last edited by .sushilkumar : 19th December 2013 at 19:47.
Old 19th December 2013, 19:47   #2234

I am surprised to see the HMT Pilot costs Rs 1200.00 online. Last time I bought in 2009 at the HMT store, I think I paid Rs 375.00 or so. The Janata too was similarly priced.
Old 19th December 2013, 19:56   #2235

Yeah, it looks like HMT jacked up the pricing! I recall the Janata and Pilot both, were retailing for Rs. 750 over a year back.

Originally Posted by djpeesh View Post
My latest. Seiko 5. Automatic 24 jewels.
We demand a lume shot of this! It is going to be killer I reckon! Expose the watch to some bright light, take it into a pitch dark room and click a snap. Please!

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 19th December 2013 at 20:00.