Old 13th December 2013, 10:57   #2191

re: Which watch do you own?

Originally Posted by trammway View Post
But my watch isn't Pam 925, it is Pam 168 regatta chrono from 2003.
I think he mean to say that the photo of HMT Pilot was taken using a Nokia Lumia 925
Old 13th December 2013, 11:17   #2192

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
I think he mean to say that the photo of HMT Pilot was taken using a Nokia Lumia 925
My mistake. I read Lumia as Luminor and introduced the confusion.

The picture of HMT with the Parker is stunning and for a smart phone camera it is awesome.
Old 13th December 2013, 17:54   #2193

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
That's a great looking watch. If I may ask, how much did you pay for it? You can PM me if not comfortable to share here.
HI Mobike,

If i remembered correctly, I bought a HMT Pilot and Janta for total of 1800 Rs with Pilot being some 950 Rs and Janta being 840 rs . I bought them from Flip kart and got a discount of 15 % on listed Priced.

Although it's Showing as Out of stock for Pilot But last price for Pilot was 1200 Rs on flip kart . Off lately i am seeing huge demand for pilot's .

http://www.flipkart.com/hmt-mechanic...TDHHASVHPXGGKY
Old 13th December 2013, 19:13   #2194

Originally Posted by .sushilkumar View Post

HI Mobike,

If i remembered correctly, I bought a HMT Pilot and Janta for total of 1800 Rs with Pilot being some 950 Rs and Janta being 840 rs . I bought them from Flip kart and got a discount of 15 % on listed Priced.

Although it's Showing as Out of stock for Pilot But last price for Pilot was 1200 Rs on flip kart . Off lately i am seeing huge demand for pilot's .

http://www.flipkart.com/hmt-mechanic...TDHHASVHPXGGKY
If you're in Mumbai or Delhi or bangalore, go to the hmt shop. Those guys are eager to see anyone, and they give a discount on the watches. I picked up the pilot for 650 from Mumbai and a janta for 750 a year ago. I checked with them about the white face pilot and it's available in Mumbai. Not sure about the discount but I'm sure it won't cost more than 900 rupees.

The only catch is that the store is open from 10 to 5. Sarkari store so that's expected.

I wish I could run hmt. It would be such a great candidate for an overhaul by someone passionate about watches rather than babu who doesn't care.
Old 14th December 2013, 10:54   #2195

My HMT Janata just got a NATO makeover
Which watch do you own?-img_20131213_235208.jpg  

Old 14th December 2013, 13:50   #2196
JVH

Originally Posted by d_himan View Post
My HMT Janata just got a NATO makeover
Looks nice. Where did you buy the NATO from?
Old 14th December 2013, 14:20   #2197

Originally Posted by JVH View Post
Looks nice. Where did you buy the NATO from?
Thanks! From a gentleman in techenclave: http://www.techenclave.com/community...for-hmt.153499

The straps are of great quality and are well-priced. The packaging was also top-notch.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 15th December 2013 at 09:38. Reason: Removed the e-mail Id as requested
Old 14th December 2013, 16:04   #2198

Has anyone used this site called digaaz.com? It seems to good to be true, and what I've learnt about too good to be true is that it usually is.

Thinking about this: http://www.digaaz.com/luxury-watches...ion-watch.html

At 33000 rupees, it's a steal. So should I take the plunge?
Old 14th December 2013, 23:31   #2199

Got my Pilot from the TE GO today evening!

Some snaps:

Which watch do you own?-wp_20131214_20_17_06_pro.jpg

Which watch do you own?-wp_20131214_20_17_35_pro.jpg

Which watch do you own?-wp_20131214_20_18_22_pro.jpg

My humble collection so far:

Which watch do you own?-wp_20131214_20_22_26_pro.jpg
Old 15th December 2013, 06:21   #2200

Here are images of my watch. Finally found out how to use my slide rule too. Used this video to help.

Which watch do you own?-image-1.jpeg

Which watch do you own?-image-2.jpeg

Which watch do you own?-image-3.jpeg

Which watch do you own?-image.jpeg

Maddy
Old 15th December 2013, 16:26   #2201

I did a bit of googling and found that digaaz.com reviews point out a bit of a scam. Added to that, the "ceo" rang me up twice which sort of made me suspicious.

I also rang the montblanc shop and they said that they wouldn't service it. Given that a 450,000 rupee watch was going for 33,000, clearly there's something suspicious about it.
Old 15th December 2013, 19:28   #2202

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by djpeesh View Post
Has anyone used this site called digaaz.com? It seems to good to be true, and what I've learnt about too good to be true is that it usually is. Thinking about this: http://www.digaaz.com/luxury-watches...ion-watch.html At 33000 rupees, it's a steal. So should I take the plunge?

Clearly there is something here that is creating an overpowering piscine odour....

Do not go near this deal!
Old 15th December 2013, 21:18   #2203

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Got my Pilot from the TE GO today evening!

Some snaps:

My humble collection so far:
The Pilot looks amazing in this avatar.
After having all sorts & different Swiss mades, i seriously am game for the pilot.

Why is that i can only see the black variant of the Pilot on HMT's website ?
Can you tell me where did you get this one from & how much did you shed for it, if you don't mind.
Old 16th December 2013, 09:18   #2204
JVH

Originally Posted by d_himan View Post
Thanks! From a gentleman in techenclave: http://www.techenclave.com/community...for-hmt.153499

The straps are of great quality and are well-priced. The packaging was also top-notch.
Thanks! I did contact him and ordered a few straps. Want to try out NATOs on all my HMTs. The regular leather straps have become a little boring now.
Old 16th December 2013, 10:39   #2205

Originally Posted by satyamkaushik View Post
Why is that i can only see the black variant of the Pilot on HMT's website ?
I think the most popular version of Pilot has a black dial but there are several other variants as well. Not sure if all those are still made by HMT today. Some images from Google for reference:

Name:  1.png
Views: 1399
Size:  355.9 KB

Which watch do you own?-1606583freeshipvintagerarehmtpilot.jpg

Which watch do you own?-1374144091_527790359_1antiquewristwatchhmtpilotmanualwindingwatchchembur.jpg

Which watch do you own?-f1f0642f.jpg

Originally Posted by satyamkaushik
Can you tell me where did you get this one from & how much did you shed for it, if you don't mind.
Absolutely! I got mine from TE's ongoing group order (Link). These were custom made by HMT on a made-to-order basis. We did an interest check, collected some 200+ orders, transferred the amount (Rs. 1250 per watch) and Mano Sir requested HMT's Chennai branch to place the order at their plant. It appears that their plant is going through a major power crisis and as a result, the manufacturing happens pretty slowly. The first batch order was placed during August-end and I received mine last weekend so you could get an estimate of the delay.

But all said and done, the wait was completely worth it. I am not a big fan of these NATO straps. Leather suits me just fine.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com