Old 21st January 2011, 14:34   #631

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

Originally Posted by silversteed View Post
-Amby is the safest car available in India because it has an inch thick metal body
Who needs a bank locker then?

:lol the enemy running away when a minister nears the border post. On second thoughts I dont think that will ever happen. Reminds me of Fahrenheit 9/11, where only 1 senator in the entire US senate had his kid in the army
Old 21st January 2011, 14:53   #632

ALTIS is a reliable, practical, higher selling car than the Civic. But does that mean EVERYTHING in it is the BEST?.

Well, I was taking a TD of the ANHC, and casually mentioned to the sales guy that how I wished the steering was more responsive and had it been completely hydraulic, it would have been fun to throw it around the corners.

The reply he gave me was, Sir, your concept of driving is totally wrong. Have you driven the Altis??.. It has the lightest steering around and is most appreciated by customers.

I: More appreciated than the Civic?

He: Obviously, that's why it sells more.

Thats when I came to know that, most customers find light steering better than a more responsive, hydraulic one.
Old 1st March 2011, 15:08   #633

Re: How do you stick a bell on a wall? (Pics of Quirky Signs)

While i have no picture to share, got a short funny? incident to share.

This conversation took place between to people in my office, where i happend to be a bystander evesdropping. So here it goes:

Guy 1: Hey, I've booked a Nissan Micra.
Guy 2: Thats great news. I have utmost repsect for that company.
Guy 1: Respect????
Guy 2: Yeah, respect. Look at it this way. Here is a company that has grown leaps and bounds in some years.
Guy 1: How? Can you explain?
Guy 2: See, this is a company that started with manufacturing Jams and Sauces and now, has moved on to manufacturing vehicles! What more can one ask for!

ME: ? And then an expression that cannot be described on this forum.
Old 1st March 2011, 15:12   #634

^^ Swanand

OK I have worked with some pretty clueless people over the years but Nissan = Kissan just takes the cake. You should have smiled brightly and said, "Do you know Rahul Dravid's dad used to work for Nissan? That's what gave him the nickname Jammy!"
Old 2nd March 2011, 21:57   #635

I was having a conversation with my classmates, few days back.

Friend 1 : Which is the best driver's car this side of 10 lakhs?
Friend 2 : Maruti Dzire. It understeers, oversteers on it's own allowing the driver have even more fun - that is if he is able to wake up the next day!

Me & Friend 1 :

PS: Kindly take no offence.
Old 3rd March 2011, 09:48   #636

this happened when I was in US. One of my desi friends owning a V6 Altima was adament that the Indica V2 had a V twin engine in it.
Old 3rd March 2011, 10:08   #637

One of my suppliers. He has a factory manufacturing fasteners and is a technical person himself.

He just purchased a Mahindra Logan diesel and this is what he has to say. "Aray kya gadi hai. Mujhe 32+ ka average deti hai on the highway at speeds of 140km/h"

"And it is so quick. It reaches 100km/h from standstill in 4 seconds flat. Bolo to abhi dikha doon"
Old 3rd March 2011, 10:56   #638

Originally Posted by Swanand Inamdar View Post
While i have no picture to share, got a short funny? incident to share.

This conversation took place between to people in my office, where i happend to be a bystander evesdropping. So here it goes:

Guy 1: Hey, I've booked a Nissan Micra.
Guy 2: Thats great news. I have utmost repsect for that company.
Guy 1: Respect????
Guy 2: Yeah, respect. Look at it this way. Here is a company that has grown leaps and bounds in some years.
Guy 1: How? Can you explain?
Guy 2: See, this is a company that started with manufacturing Jams and Sauces and now, has moved on to manufacturing vehicles! What more can one ask for!

ME: ? And then an expression that cannot be described on this forum.
^^^ Thats really funny...

The other day, when i was booking a car for my relatives to travel to another city. The rental agency guy asked me if I want Tata Sumo or Tata Qualis!

I replied, Tata Qualis.
Old 3rd March 2011, 11:44   #639

While chatting with a guy who happens to be the son of a Hyundai dealer, I unearthed something very interesting. Here goes:

Me: You know this is a very nice car. I wonder why Toosawn [Hyundai Tucson] didnt sell much?
Friend: Tuksun..
Me: Huh?
Friend: Tuksun.. Hyundai Tuksun hota hai, Toosawn nahi.. Believe me, I sell them.
Me: Dont worry, Now I know why it doesent sell
Old 3rd March 2011, 12:09   #640

@ra'ul M- that's hilarious!

As a new owner of an AT vehicle I have the misfortune of being subjected to the inanities of my many well-meaning friends and relatives, all of whom are convinced beyond belief that auto transmission= pathetic mileage. Recent conversation with a colleague:

Him: You bought an AUTOMATIC Vento? It must be giving you really bad mileage.
Me: (brightly) Not at all, dude. I am getting 11 kmpl in the city, and more on highway runs.
Him: (even more brightly): Yes but if you would have bought a manual, you would get much more!
Me: Umm...maybe around 11.5 or max 12. I drive with a light foot.
Him: (smugly confident he is showing me up) No way...you would get at least 15!
Me: Ummm...dude my Swift gives just 13.
Him: (in an "end of discussion" tone): Automatics give poor mileage.
Me: Ok
Old 3rd March 2011, 19:00   #641

Originally Posted by mac187 View Post
^^^ Thats really funny...

The other day, when i was booking a car for my relatives to travel to another city. The rental agency guy asked me if I want Tata Sumo or Tata Qualis!

I replied, Tata Qualis.
You know, that could have been a trick question, before you know it he could be posting on this thread about the guy who fell for the Tata Qualis joke!!
Old 4th March 2011, 09:48   #642

@Noopster, my experience with Camry - Manual (3 year) and Camry - Automatic (4 years) tells me Auto gives poor mileage in city drives, on highways there was no difference at all. Within City, the automatic crawls in 1st gear with 2-3k rpm and refuses to shift gear, while I used to crawl at 3rd gear with less than 1000 rpm. That makes the difference.
My driving overall with say 70% highway and 30% city traffic in Saudi, I get at least 3 kmpl more with manual than automatic. Of course, it also depends on the driving habits / skills!
Old 4th March 2011, 11:35   #643

An incident 2 days back , while I was fitting a Subwoofer and Amp for my CIVIC in an accessories shop.
Another man who was getting a system fitted in his Indica.
He comes and asks .. about my car mileage etc ,
Then he asks "What is the Max speed you have touched in this car ? "
I said - 187kmph,
Then he says "Sir only that much ? I have touched 200kmph in my Indica. It can easily do 200 in highway sir "
I just shrugged off and escaped that moment from him.
Old 4th March 2011, 13:20   #644

A fellow collegue wanted to buy a used car with a budget of 1.5lacs
I suggested palio gtx which was available with a used car dealer in good condition.
I went with him for the test drive which he liked.
I met him again after 2 weeks and saw him getting out of a maruti 800
I asked him why 800?
He said " Yaar the car felt too big and the doors were soo heavy "
Old 4th March 2011, 13:25   #645

Note from the Team-BHP Support Staff : Slang and SMS Language are STRICTLY prohibited on Team-BHP. Please type in full and proper English for the benefit of other community members.

We advise you to read the Announcements and Board Rules section before proceeding any further.

Last edited by bblost : 4th March 2011 at 14:33.
shantyrocks is offline   Received Infraction