Old 20th July 2012, 15:57   #961

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
This one is true. But he should be quick to switch back to 2WD when the road turns dry, else he will damage the transmission.

But we drove a whole 650kms in 4H, dunno what would be the condition of the transmission.
Old 20th July 2012, 16:03   #962

Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post

But we drove a whole 650kms in 4H, dunno what would be the condition of the transmission.
Just checked the pajero 4WD system, it does have center differential with viscous coupling. So it is alright. You could drive in 4H mode everywhere.

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/cor...nce/e/4wd.html

Last edited by Samurai : 20th July 2012 at 16:08.
Samurai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2012, 16:21   #963

Had to ride in a colleague's new i20 petrol yesterday. Conversation between him and another colleague riding with us:
C2: So why the i20?
C1: Its so spacious and see, its got the reversing camera!! (The screen comes alive on the rear view mirror)
C2:Oh! And how much mileage??
C1: Around 16 on the highways and 13 in the city. But I dont use the clutch much.
(Car stalls as he tries to surge ahead in 2nd gear from standstill - perfectly timed as if to demonstrate his clutchless driving skills!! And he restarts the car by pressing the Start/Stop button)
C1: See, its got electric start too!!
Geo_Ipe is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2012, 17:34   #964

Originally Posted by radek View Post
Not sure but probably Romanian english problem. Their thought process might be, it is SUV, so it will do off-roading, so it will travel on dusty road, so what we will call vehicle that will mainly travel on dust road? etc. They must have translated the word from Romanian language to English using some online dictionary.
I'm sure that the process of naming a car for another country is certainly not as elementary as THAT..??!!!!
Old 23rd July 2012, 17:46   #965

Clearly, this Hindi TV show anchor had heard the term "off-road" too often from his fellow journos during the Renault drive.

He must know me as an off-roader. Tells me at the Duster dinner event (in a mixture of Hindi & English):

He : She really goes on the "aaafff" road well.

Me : You took her off-roading? Without 4x4 and any off-road experience?

He : Yes. In Munnar, there is "aaafff" road everywhere.

Me : Ummm, yes and some pretty spots too. But you shouldn't go off-roading in a 2WD all alone. Can get stuck.

He : No chance. I don't even take the foot off the accelerator when "aaafff" roading. Duster flies on "aaafff" road.

Me : Pedal to the metal? Did you try this on grass? Mud?

He : I started outside our hotel only (smiling wide).

I sense something amiss and ask him to show me where outside the hotel as things are rather steep there....even for a seasoned vehicle. We were in an open terrace area overlooking the front. He points to the patch of broken (normal) roads and says "aaafff" roading

Eventually, it become clear that he thought rough / broken roads are "aaafff" roading.

Originally Posted by Geo_Ipe View Post
(Car stalls as he tries to surge ahead in 2nd gear from standstill - perfectly timed as if to demonstrate his clutchless driving skills!! And he restarts the car by pressing the Start/Stop button)
C1: See, its got electric start too!!
Nice SAVE!

Last edited by GTO : 23rd July 2012 at 17:48.
Old 31st July 2012, 11:53   #966

I was driving from my place to Bangalore during the last weekend with my cousin and I spotted a silver Nano with a Team-bhp sticker while we were waiting at a toll booth near Krishnagiri.(Owner reading this??)
I remarked to my cousin , "Wow, looks like he is gonna be reaching Bangalore tomorrow afternoon". Mind you, its was sometime like 1 in the morning and I was in a real good mood to pick on the Nano and its supposedly bad performance on the highways.
The Nano went off after paying the toll while we waited a couple of cars behind. I totally forgot about the incident until we reached the next toll booth about 55 km's away which we covered wth a cruising speed of 100kmph with occasional slowing down to zig zag and overtake the trucks.I was dumbstruck when I spotted the Nano still ahead of us and remarked to my cousin, "Look what the Nano has proved, I am a pompous ***!!"

Swore not to make fun of this car anymore, its not what most people think of it to be. I eat my words. Yes, the car is more than capabale of cruising on the highways!!

Last edited by mahesh.kolary : 31st July 2012 at 12:15.
Old 31st July 2012, 14:19   #967

A recent discussion with a supposed "petrol head" friend.

He: The Safari body is extremely light weight and so is Scorpio. All these indian manufacturers take us for a ride.
Me: (Thinking) probably referring to build quality
He: Continuing - The Grande is even worse than Safari, the Logan is also light weight metals, they use low guage metal and plastic to keep the weight down.
Me: What exactly are you trying to say?
He: Arre, how can a vehicle with 2.2 litre engine have weight of only 2000 kgs? That means they are using plastic in making body!
Me: Well, Cannot laugh at him, but was like
Me: (Trying to make some sense), even Vista has weight of 1000 kgs approx with 1.2 litre engine. So do others like Swift, Figo etc.
He: Thats what I am saying, these guys all sell cars with light metal and plastic. Not worried about safety at all.
Me: Well...
Old 31st July 2012, 14:51   #968

An argument with a 'self-supposed' petrolhead friend. He was one among the very few friends in the group who could afford a car at that time. Thanks to the Redmond-based company.

Time: Sometime in 2007, but it's raining.

Me: <all drenched after reaching the place on a bike>
friend: <arrives well-protected in his nice new accent GLE>
Me: You lucky **** !
Friend: Grins. Why don't you buy one too?
Me: I'll buy one when I can afford it and meets all my pre-requisites.
Friend: <mocking> err.. like what? a BMW or Merc?
Me: <dreaming> I'd love to own one of those rear-wheel-driven beauties.
Friend: RWD? Why BMW? Accent has it and so does Swift !
Me: ...errr. I don't think so.
Friend: Of course man! When I accelerate hard and let the clutch out fast, the people sitting in the back seat are pulled to their seats because power is getting generated from the rear end of the vehicle.. That's a real wheel drive.
Me:
mempheS.D is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2012, 18:19   #969

Originally Posted by torquecurve View Post
A recent discussion with a supposed "petrol head" friend.

He: Thats what I am saying, these guys all sell cars with light metal and plastic. Not worried about safety at all.
Me: Well...
In a way his argument makes sense! I don't say lightweight construction is bad and the crumple zones are to be done away with, but these sheet metal stampings get totalled or even crushed beyond repair just for minor crashes. We have seen so many images in our accidents section that many accidents look deadlier just because the crumple zones absorbed the impact and the car looks totalled, but at the end we find out that it was a not a major accident.

P.S: I am in a field where light weight is the mantra! and which is where it was first developed. But i still love that sturdy full metal jacket of the amby's and W124's.
Old 31st July 2012, 18:38   #970

Eventually, it become clear that he thought rough / broken roads are "aaafff" roading.
May be he meant "Half" roads
Old 31st July 2012, 20:14   #971

my cousin (from surat): wow you brought a brio.
me: yes
my cousin: arey how much bhp it has
me: 88 bhp
my cousin: arey yaar you should have got the i20 it has 1200 bhp.
me: fainted.
ac 427 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st August 2012, 01:50   #972

This happened with me
When i was small (read coudnt drive) Cielo used to be my top favorite and my family with some friends had come out for dinner together.

They had a Nexia. and we had a 800
When we checked out of the place i decided to sit in their car cause evryone was heading to our home for Coffee

Thats when my grandfather commented
" Tu unki gaadi mein jaayega toh alag ho jayega.
Unki 60 ki speed aur hai aur humari aur hai..""
("If you go in their car, we will be separated. Their 60 kph is different from ours")

Me even at that age-

Last edited by noopster : 1st August 2012 at 11:01. Reason: Added translation
don_carmaster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st August 2012, 07:34   #973

Originally Posted by ac 427 View Post
my cousin (from surat): wow you brought a brio.
me: yes
my cousin: arey how much bhp it has
me: 88 bhp
my cousin: arey yaar you should have got the i20 it has 1200 bhp.
me: fainted.
I have had similar experiences. You know, next time, hold your nerves and don't faint. Respond with a technically correct statement, such as, "even the most powerful FWD car, Accord 3.5 V6, has only 275 bhp power" (note: I am not too sure about this figure) or "Veyron Supersport has 1200 bhp".
That's when the ignorant party continues the argument. Possibly with, i20 is RWD or Veyron is just a modified car.

That's how you'll get more content to write in here and keep us entertained.
rohanjf is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st August 2012, 09:33   #974

Originally Posted by don_carmaster
This happened with me
When i was small (read coudnt drive) Cielo used to be my top favorite and my family with some friends had come out for dinner together.

They had a Nexia. and we had a 800
When we checked out of the place i decided to sit in their car cause evryone was heading to our home for Coffee

Thats when my grandfather commented
" Tu unki gaadi mein jaayega toh alag ho jayega.
Unki 60 ki speed aur hai aur humari aur hai..""

Me even at that age-
Translate the punch line please.
Old 1st August 2012, 10:04   #975

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Translate the punch line please.
"Unki 60 ki speed aur hai aur humari aur hai..""
The 60kmph in their car (Nexia) is different from 60kmph in our car (M800). Probably grandpa felt doing 60 in the Nexia is faster
silversteed is offline   (1) Thanks