Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

Old 24th May 2012, 01:37   #16

re: Looking for Ladakh long drive-mates in August 2013

Hey there is no ban on non-HP vehicles. You just need to get your permits from Manali and btw they are very strict about implementing it. Regulars like Harshvardhan or Tanveer can through better light on the matter. AFAIK getting the permits is not going to be a problem. If not then anyway Srinagar - Zozila route is there and while coming you can take the Rohtang route (you don't need permit while returning ). Although I would agree that people would like to do the route other way round i.e. Manali-Rohtang-Keylong-Sarchu-Leh. Last two times I went in August and July respectively. So this time I was thinking of doing it in September if I can. Lets see what happens, will be keeping an eye on this thread.
Old 24th May 2012, 19:46   #17

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route-...o-here-35.html
This is the link to the other Leh plan, where they plan 16 days to cover Leh and nearby areas STARTING FROM MUMBAI.
When from Bangalore it adds up 2+2 more days. For me from Cochin, 3+3 more days.
What do you think, Hemanth?
Old 24th May 2012, 20:25   #18

what is the procedure for getting the permits in HP?
Old 25th May 2012, 10:29   #19

Originally Posted by Harbir View Post
what is the procedure for getting the permits in HP?
Hi Harbir, this is mentioned elsewhere on the forum as well, but the link below should clarify all your doubts about getting permits for Rohtang Pass.

Non – HP Vehicles Need Permit on Manali – Rohtang Pass Road - DeViL on WheeLs...
Old 25th May 2012, 11:18   #20

thank you. It seems the pass is required for rohtang but not needed if you approach Keylong from the spiti valley over the kunzum pass. I am planning to go that way this summer. I will check and make sure.
Old 25th May 2012, 13:35   #21

Yes, Harbir, you need it for Rohtang only. It's HP Govt.'s way of dealing with the traffic at Rohtang (well, I don't know if this move is helping at all). For Spiti I don't think there is any kind of permit system.
Old 29th May 2012, 23:38   #22

That means if you go by Srinagar-Leh, and return via Rohtang pass, no special papers needed, except your driving license and vehicle RC book, Insurance, Ok ? Any other ID card etc needed??
Old 1st June 2012, 18:25   #23

Dear HVK,
Referring log of your Scorpio as shown below:
1. I found you overlapped Leh to times. Was it a must ?
2. Please suggest a itinerary for some 15/16 days(from Pune), retaining those 'Must see' sections but pruning it by cutting those 'extremely difficult' routes for our forthcoming drive. We can add 2 buffer days, but otherwise a 16 day tour.
Please guide...
Old 21st June 2012, 17:32   #24

alrighty then. I was a tentative entry earlier because I was expecting to purchase a suitable vehicle but didn't have it yet. Now i do. Bought a Pajero SFX. Am in Kashmir putting it through its paces in rural areas where there are no roads.

I am planning a big trip to ladakh in september, I will join this one, and if I can organize one in July, I'll make that too. How about we start fixing up some dates and iteneraries?

Looking for Ladakh long drive-mates in August 2013-pajero-8.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 25th June 2012 at 16:39. Reason: Re-uploading as attachment. Using IMG tags on the full size image breaks the page layout. Thanks
Old 22nd June 2012, 00:23   #25

Originally Posted by Sunney View Post
That means if you go by Srinagar-Leh, and return via Rohtang pass, no special papers needed, except your driving license and vehicle RC book, Insurance, Ok ? Any other ID card etc needed??
Sunney
Hi.
When you go via Srinagar and return via Manali you do not need that permit.
Over and above that you reduce your chances of AMS
On the devil on wheels link(given by PGNarain) mentions 5 reasons to go this way.To that I have added 2 more.Please read it.Wont take more than few minutes.Worth it.
Old 22nd June 2012, 13:51   #26

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
I would bet my money on that Yellow-board Taxis are banned. this is possible by greasing palms and in hand-in-glow with Government and Goons.

I am not sure if they would even prevent Non-himachal registered private (White board) vehicles from plying. I dont think there is a law. The only way is to enforce this illegaly with police and goons.
I don't think any Gov. can curtail the Freedom of Movement right of citizens and their private vehicles during peace time as said earlier. Is there any security issue with the Rohtang route?
Old 22nd June 2012, 15:20   #27

Originally Posted by SedatedDrive View Post
I don't think any Gov. can curtail the Freedom of Movement right of citizens and their private vehicles during peace time as said earlier. Is there any security issue with the Rohtang route?
This is india and we are middle class as per the govt. Anything can happen. Just a couple of lacs by Taxi unions and anythng can be passed.

There is a confirmation that Govt is not allowing vechicles without permission for the onward journey.

One India, United India all exist on Paper Only. I really wish they allow vehicles without any questions asked but unfortunately Govt looks to inconvenience common man and make a quick buck.
Old 22nd June 2012, 16:06   #28

I am seeing too many comments On vehicle ban. what people need to understand is that there was a dire need to de congest Rohtang considering that one will find whole of north India in Rohtang during peak tourist season. local administration did tried to sanitize people wrt to preserving the ecology of the region but nobody listened. place would fill up with all kind of garbage once the season is over. result was that where as earlier ice would stay till july end , it started to melt completely by may - june , which got the alarms ringing . Here also, administration was forced by HP high court to take steps to de congest the place and bring situation under control. those criticizing it should first get the situation on ground IMO.

just to clear for once and all , One can still go via Rohtang but they need to have a permission before hand from Concerned authority in Manali after presenting the relevant vehicle papers and drivers license. i see it more as a mean to regulate traffic than any sort of ban .

The positive results of this Regulation are well documented in below article .

Less carbon emission slows snow meltdown - Times Of India

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
This is india and we are middle class as per the govt. Anything can happen. Just a couple of lacs by Taxi unions and anythng can be passed.

There is a confirmation that Govt is not allowing vechicles without permission for the onward journey.
Dear Scorpiobharath ,

The ban was imposed based on high court;s direction to de congest the place. I understand that couple of lacs here and there can do the things but IMO judiciary is still clean in india .

Just to re confirm again for above in Bold . Once can still go via rohtang . All they need is a permission letter from concerned authority without paying a single paisa . there is no fee involved

PS : - I will try to find out the official notification and post it here to bring more clarity on the matter.

Last edited by .sushilkumar : 22nd June 2012 at 16:10. Reason: quoting scorpio bharath
Old 22nd June 2012, 17:20   #29

So if one were to go via Simla -->Hindustan Tibet rd -->Kinnaur --> sumdo -->Kaaza -->Kunzum-La --> and down to Rohtang pass on to Manali, no permit required?

--R
Old 23rd June 2012, 20:51   #30

Am planning a big ladakh trip in July. Itenerary to be finalized but tentatively to include Zanskar, nubra, pangong, hanle, tso moriri, then into himachal to sach pass, then back to lahaul, spiti, right to the eastern end of HP. Want to try and explore various less travelled routes and passes, such as for example between Nubra, pangong and hanle.

Any of you guys interested?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com