Old 17th July 2007, 15:13   #106

a small update

members who wont be able to make it:
1. toiingg - out of town.
2. nura - work pressure.

@ Rudra da - please carry one helmet with you if you are planning to hitch a ride in BP's Baleno.

@ tathagata - dont worry! you can always bring along your family / friends. we have a Rule - new members are supposed to treat all of the old members. just kidding yaar. i am sure that you will have fun.

@ BlackPearl / shuvc- can you get in touch with Sambartta & SaurabhM and let them know about the meet.

@ shuvd - get well soon. i hope the silver bullet gets well soon as well

@ guys - please co-ordinate amongst yourselves- if anyone of you needs to hitch a ride with anyone of us.

ps: SMS sent to all the members (except 1100D, indrajitr, adc, Hells Bells, SP_Kolkata)

Last edited by planet_rocker : 17th July 2007 at 15:27.
Old 17th July 2007, 15:28   #107

Originally Posted by planet_rocker View Post
@ BlackPearl / shuvc- can you get in touch with Sambartta & SaurabhM and let them know about the meet.
Checked with SaurabhM. He will not be able to go due to family commitments.
Old 17th July 2007, 18:40   #108

One request guys, please take loooooooooooots of pictures.
Old 18th July 2007, 00:12   #109

a small update

@ Rudra da - please carry one helmet with you if you are planning to hitch a ride in BP's Baleno.
Rudra Da, gujob e kaan deben na... I am a very safe, sensible and old driver.. lol
Old 18th July 2007, 00:29   #110

Sambartta will not be coming.. he is not in a very good mood as he had an accident with 1.6.. banged into an accent on bypass... :-(
Old 18th July 2007, 11:39   #111

a small update

@ tathagata - dont worry! you can always bring along your family / friends. we have a Rule - new members are supposed to treat all of the old members. just kidding yaar. i am sure that you will have fun.
@ Planet - No problem I will carry packets of Britania Treat and that will take care of the treat part I suppose

BTW Rudrada has given me his contact no.s and pick-up location at Tollygaunge. Do let me know if someone else is picking him up. In that case I will head directly to the spot.
Old 18th July 2007, 14:13   #112

@ tathagata - nahi yaar! i was just kidding.

@ guys - can we please fix the venue for lunch/daaru?

options:
Sher-e-Punjab
Sanjha Chulha
Mishra's
Opium
Honey-da-Dhaba (somewhere near Salt Lake)
Somewhere in City Centre???

its better to avoid the restaurants @ Park Street - it will be way too crowded on Sunday + parking problems

please suggest.
Old 18th July 2007, 14:59   #113

@ tathagata - nahi yaar! i was just kidding.

@ guys - can we please fix the venue for lunch/daaru?

options:
Sher-e-Punjab
Sanjha Chulha
Mishra's
Opium
Honey-da-Dhaba (somewhere near Salt Lake)
Somewhere in City Centre???

its better to avoid the restaurants @ Park Street - it will be way too crowded on Sunday + parking problems

please suggest.
I vote for Sher-e-Punjab. Have heard a lot of good things, but never been there.

Btw, I know of a Honey-ka-Dhaba very close to the Ultadanga crossing, opposite VSNL bldg. Are you talking about the same one?

Last edited by Wimwian : 18th July 2007 at 15:18.
Old 18th July 2007, 19:51   #114

Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
I vote for Sher-e-Punjab. Have heard a lot of good things, but never been there.
We have had one of our meets going there earlier, oh that was a lovely meet.

Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
Btw, I know of a Honey-ka-Dhaba very close to the Ultadanga crossing, opposite VSNL bldg. Are you talking about the same one?
Yeah same one, there aren't many Honey's who have a Dhaba!!

BTW have you guys considered O2. Its a joint (roof-top and even a glass walled lower floor - 6th or 7th I guess with a good view to the VIP road) just off the haldiram flyover towards the airport on the left. Ambience is really nice and they have parking facilities as well.
Old 18th July 2007, 22:13   #115

yeah we can even try out O2.

@shuvc - can you check that out? btw what is the present condition of Rajarhat stretch? i havent been there for a while.
Old 19th July 2007, 00:29   #116

Drove on Rajarhat road today. The Salt Lake - VIP road stretch is in great shape... they recently fixed it (and it's survived the rains so far!!!!). The other side is in shambles... some parts have been patched up, but it's best avoided.
Regd rooftop restaurants - not the best of ideas during the monsoons.

My vote goes to Sher-e-Punjab.
Old 19th July 2007, 00:45   #117

Originally Posted by razor4077 View Post
Regd rooftop restaurants - not the best of ideas during the monsoons.
Like I said, they have the floor below the roof too, with glass panels overlooking the VIP road, so no probs regarding the rain. Thise serves a variety of stuff from continental to Indian.
Old 19th July 2007, 01:00   #118

Originally Posted by razor4077 View Post
Drove on Rajarhat road today. The Salt Lake - VIP road stretch is in great shape... they recently fixed it (and it's survived the rains so far!!!!).
Read that as - you can touch 140-150 if you want to. Parts of that stretch is GQ quality.
Returning to salt lake via Rajarhat, should be done only if you have a RangeRover or likewise.
Old 19th July 2007, 01:14   #119

Originally Posted by shuvc View Post
Returning to salt lake via Rajarhat, should be done only if you have a RangeRover or likewise.
There used to be a particular Bus on 55 route, that used bend and buckle in every possible way, when the front wheels went into a pothole, the rear not even used to know. When it used to brake, the roof used to slowly move forward making the braking very soft for the standing passengers. Quite logically, hence, it had infinite number of expansion joints and I once had my finger cut on one such joint. BTW this particular bus, for some reason was very very fast and we BE Collegers used to love this bus.
Old 19th July 2007, 12:01   #120

my vote goes to Sher-e-Punjab as well.

POA can be something like this:

gather - opp Nicco Park @ around 11.30am to 12 pm.
get introduced to new members
how about a photo shoot somewhere near Rajarhat / Delhi Public School (awsome place to do a photo shoot)?
drive to Sher-e-Punjab.

i hope to see all of you guys.

@ shuvd - get well soon / if you can't drive, tag along with Wimwian / me
@ nikunj - i hope you will be coming for the meet.

somebody get in touch with Sudipto da.

if it rains, please carry your own chhata / umbrella