Old 18th March 2010, 16:22   #541

Thank you Junniaga for the answer to my question asked. I needed some reliable one and I got it from you. I got it done a week ago and I my travel is comfortable. I am thinking of upsising my present stock rubber Appollo amazer xl (165/65R13) to 165/70R appollo amazer xl. There is a 3% increase in the side walls, but I feel shall filter undulations considerably.

I have hand crafted a DIY air filter for the Xeta and V2 LSi, which has made a big boomy change in the performance.
Old 18th March 2010, 17:16   #542

It would be easier to upgrade the indigo airbox + filter , if you wanted more airflow
Old 19th March 2010, 10:01   #543

Hello Greenhorn, procuring tata petrol car spares in south Gujarat is like searching for a needle in a haystack. I could get a cylindrical air filter thats used in a Maruti omni, but without its housing, the piping hose done by myself. The most evident difference was an immediate smooth and crispy engine of the LSi. The same was done on my Xeta too, but Xeta gave a very minimal effect. The new air filter element is unenclosed and is fitted alongwith the existing stock air filter case, because when I removed the entire assembly, the check engine indication would'nt go. Other benefit I experienced was low gear torque. I only fear of the paper element open in the engine bay, can it trigger a flame.
Old 19th March 2010, 15:11   #544

Indigo - bad behaviour of wiper & Headlight

My indigo LS dec 2005 done 85k with no mazor problem but now down with 2 small issues.

1. High beam headlight is not working , am sure bulb are note fuse as both goes down at a time and there is no headlight sign even on dashborad meter too. even low beam is working fine. Spek with TASC guy , saying this may be due to faulty relay.

2. Wiper start suddenly when the ignition is on eevn though the wiper nob is on normal position , it happen 1 -2 time and then get ok.

anyone face the same problem , kindly share , is it a relay issue or something else.

Virender
Old 26th March 2010, 17:23   #545

Indica suspension cross body

Today, after travelling on long hauls and to fire a couple more, my Indica LSi was giving rumbling sound on small undulations, so I got the front suspension rubber bushing kit replaced and all is well now. There was a frictious movement in the gear changing process which was also sorted out in minutes by greasing the gear lever assembly.

But while replacing each and every nut-bolt and crevice were checked, the suspension underbody has a cubic centimetre hole of rust. The TASC guys were very good for their job, they replaced the rubber kit in less than 45 minutes and pointed out the above mentioned rust, recommending replacement which costs Rs 10000. It can be welded and patched too, engine removal is required.

Guys at Team-BHP here, please guide me what should I do. I have uploaded a rough sketch describing the same.
File Type: bmp indica suspension.bmp (820.2 KB, 1828 views)
Old 26th March 2010, 19:56   #546

Originally Posted by dr.faramroze View Post
the suspension underbody has a cubic centimetre hole of rust.
How old is your car and how much has it run?
Old 1st April 2010, 09:21   #547

Originally Posted by Sang View Post
Hello Friends,

I have a 72000 Kms done 2002 Indica DLS. For last couple of years I was facing problem of radiator fan not working at the start of summers, This used to get resolved by changing the thermostat switch. This year also I faced the same issue and I got the switch changed, now the problem is that Fan is working but only after the Temp gauge has gone approx 20% above the center point. As a result of this A.C. trips and on checking with the mechanic I found that time interval between successive running of 2 runs of the fan is 6 mins and it runs for almost 2 mins. I checked with the mechanic and he told me that it could be due to radiator blockage, I got that cleaned and still the problem is as it is. Now the mechanic is saying the only option left now is to replace the Gasket in the engine head, I am not sure about this so any advice provided by you on this will be of great help.

Thanks !

Indica DLS 2002, 72000Kms
Baleno 2006 - 35000 Kms
Delhi
Its start of summer and heating problem is back. I drive almost 35 kms on way back to home from office and I have noticed that Radiator fan switches on when the Temp needle goes to 3/4. Car is not stalling or not going to extreme heat position but due to delay in fan start, A/C of the car trips. As soon as fan starts running, temp needle comes back to normal position and A/C is running again. Can any one give me some idea on what needs to be done? I have shown it to couple of electricians and they say it is normal with Indica but that is not true, since they can not find out the reason so they seem to be in denial mode. Last option for me is to get the thermostat switch replaced as I am doing at onset of summers for lst 3 years.
Old 2nd April 2010, 10:55   #548

My friend's Indica is consuming too much oil and getting heated. We have already tried changing Engine oil, Oil filters, Coolant Water, Almost Everything but nothing worked and the Temperature Meter always show the mark near the Extreme Level. There is no problem to the Temperature meter. Suggest something to let her chill.
Old 4th April 2010, 11:36   #549

Dear TRRK,

I am sorry for the delay in answering your feedback. Car has run 50k kms, May 2004 model, everything stock and perfect.

During this period last week, I had to travel on the highways, got a new lungi (the cross underbody where the suspension is mounted) welded and also changed the tie rods, entire front suspension kit replaced.

The original problem of tyre rumbling over minor patchy roads and the steering jitters have gone now. A new sound has cropped up like thhak-thhak-thhak, sometimes even while braking and turning. It sounds like the entire front suspension is loose and moving and just about to fall off.
Old 6th April 2010, 19:58   #550

Originally Posted by dr.faramroze View Post
I am sorry for the delay in answering your feedback. Car has run 50k kms, May 2004 model, everything stock and perfect.
Fine with it.

Suddenly this particular issue has cropped up and more and more cases are coming up.

I should take a look in my Marina.
Old 12th April 2010, 13:05   #551

Last night while on my way to hospital, got a Xeta cool cab from Colaba, Mumbai. After some normal dialogue with the cabbie, he said his Xeta was 2 years old, 30000 kms run and the car faced a problem in the ECU within the warranty period. The engine misfired due to some serious error code in the ECU. He suggested me to remove the ECU assembly and put a carburettor bolt on. This will increase performance, enhance mileage and reduce serious ECU replacements. He even gave me the address of retrofitters in Marol and Jogeshware and the total cost comes to around Rs 7000.

Does anyone know of such a technology that can be implanted on a Indica V2 or Xeta?
Old 19th April 2010, 16:48   #552

I'm sorry, WHAT?!?

Besides the billion practical difficulties in bringing a cutting edge MPFi system back into the stone age of carbs, increased mileage?!?
Old 19th April 2010, 18:46   #553

saar, in case of tata, newer does not mean better
case in point
the 1.4 TDi is vastly more reliable, and almost as powerful as the 1.4 DiCOR
the Independent suspension in the indica is worse than the non independent one on the vista.
The Older/Cruder Castrol GTD works better in the indica than the newer and better spec GTX D

I recall that the car was MPFi'd to stick to emission norms.

Not saying that going to carb is the answer, but you'll never know
Old 19th April 2010, 21:12   #554

Hey Greenhorn, mine is a petrol Indica. That was just a bit of information I happened to get on way.

I know that technology wise MPFI is superior than carb, but TASC cannot fix any ECU errors, if anything they will only jump to replacing the ECU without taxing their brains. The Hitachi ECU costs Rs 13000.

There are some issues TASC can never handle, one of them is ECU malfunction or even checking the various sensors. I have used carb M-800 for years and never had the event of fiddling with the jets or opening the butterfly.

Sir ImmortalZ, it was just a minor query about the same, not amounting to drastic engine changes. I always have the fear of the fact that an Indica ECU can give way anytime, anywhere.
Old 30th April 2010, 12:11   #555

Indica DLG - 60K Service

I am planning to get the 60K service done this weekend for my Indica DLG.
Until now I used to get it serviced at the authorized TASS and the service level was good even though it was not great. They used to get the job done. One of the reasons used to TASS as the extended warranty is applicable only if serviced at the TASS.
Expenses used to come around 5K.
This time I am planning to take to a service garage that is near my house and they have good reputation in that area and also it seems their service charges are nominal.
Let anyone can share the drawback of it. I have extended warranty and it may become invalid. Also until now I have not faced any issues with my vehicle and it runs like a dream (Indica Level) and the mileage is around 16/17 Kms.
Any precautions need to be considered for the 60K service, it still runs under the stock brakes and only LHS shocks as been changed.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com