Old 12th June 2022, 15:50   #46

Re: The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT

Got busy with plenty of work at office in-between, including visits from senior dignitaries and my own meetings, hence have not availed the first free service yet - something which I intend to do this coming week.

One good thing of note - the service center of my own city is up and running, so there won't be many runs to the Jeypore dealership in the future for services and/or complaints, if any.

Some observations from in-between:-

Bonnet lid has big gaps on either side.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image17.jpeg

Big enough to see through from both sides!
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image1.jpeg
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image2.jpeg

Tailgate's inner plastic section (side) needed better finish.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image15.jpeg

Same section on the other side. Much better shut line.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image14.jpeg

A-pillar coverings should have been finished better.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image9.jpeg
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image10.jpeg

Frameless wipers come with wind deflectors.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image16.jpeg

Washer jets under the bonnet lid line. Neat.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image0.jpeg

Details of the twin gas struts propping up the tailgate lid. Mahindra needed to provide one for the bonnet lid too.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image5.jpeg

Attention to detail - two plastic packs on either side of the boot lid lock to keep it from rattling. Neat!
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image13.jpeg

Notice how the cream and the chrome sections from the door try to merge into the dashboard in continuous lines.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image8.jpeg

Distance from the tip of the front armrest to the gear lever, which is slotted into 1st (or Reverse). For the record, I am 6'0".
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image4.jpeg

Piano-black and finished in a chrome ring, the gear lever feels and exudes premium quality. As it should, even in a mid variant. (Hyundai, take note!)
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image7.jpeg

Section above the A, B & C pedals. That exposed wiring on the right should have been covered.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image11.jpeg

Entire driver-side panel buttons are backlit. Even the single power window buttons on all other doors are backlit. No cutting corners here. (Hyundai, take note again!)
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image3.jpeg

The maps layout (by MMI) in the Head Unit is very detailed. I am told that the real-time guidance by the system sucks. Yet to verify.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_0597.jpg

Three Mahindra brothers in one frame!
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_1603.jpg

You know you are in love with your car, when you can't stop oogling at it and take pictures like this every now and then.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_0710.jpg

Standing proudly with my bank's BM.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-untitled2.jpg

OEM AX7's Reverse Camera details. Separate part code numbers for different colour fascias can be seen on the right.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-untitled.jpg

I have received the quotation for the OEM Auto-folding ORVMs and the Reverse Camera unit.

13,990.00 = Auto-folding ORVMs left & right (@ Rs 6,995/- each)
x7,088.00 = The AX7 reverse camera
x1,445.00 = Wiring Harness boot lid Left
x1,207.00 = Wiring Harness boot lid Right
-----------------------
23,730.00 = TOTAL
-----------------------

According to the dealership's service center, some token amount needs to be paid as advance before the parts can be ordered. Am evaluating the same and will do further discussions when I meet them.

Originally Posted by sbm View Post
I would suggest making an offer of 7.5k, and he would probably agree. Even if you don't want to use the spare regularly, buy it for 7.5k.
Originally Posted by jithin23 View Post
For spare this is fair enough Sir! You can go ahead with this as the the spare will remain hidden and unused 95% of the time.
Sounds good. And reasonable, sbm.

Let me see if the guy agrees to the quoted price.

ODO is currently at 974 kms. All good so far.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 12th June 2022 at 15:53.
RavenAvi is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 13th June 2022, 16:51   #47

What an amazing write up! I missed the thread the first time but I went through each and every one of your words, and was a thoroughly enjoyable read.

Congratulations on an amazing ride. Wish you many many happy miles and years to come in a very impressive vehicle, sir!
Porcupine is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th June 2022, 11:44   #48

Excellent Write-Up. Besides the camera and the wiring harness is there any other part required for enabling the OEM camera in the system. Another question is about cruise control. I am getting my AX5 Diesel AT this week. Kindly let me know if it would be possible to add cruise control. I know the steering buttons can be changed but not sure about the activation of cruise control.
sunilsoft is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th June 2022, 19:14   #49

That alloy rim looks pretty good to me.
Phantom 510 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2022, 21:55   #50

1,000 on the ODO

Crossed the milestone on Thursday evening, after a series of gremlins hit Icarus.

I was leaving my office to head home, and after turning the key, I was greeted by twin blank screens! Turned off and turned back on, result same. Again turned off and turned back on (3rd time), and the MID with the twin dials came back to life, while the AdrenoX infotainment screen was blank for a few seconds before starting the display of the 4 rectangular boxes sliding in from the right side of the infotainment display to the left side, and went into the "Fun With XUV7OO" & "Coming Soon" screens soon after.

This was not the first time I encountered the blank screens gremlin. Had happened once before at home, but the display started as soon as I had turned the key off and back on, so I didn't think much of it that time.

Interestingly, this time in the ODO display, the fuel indicator vertical line went blank (empty) and the MID plastered the "Low Fuel" warning before me. No voice alerts. The MID had resetted itself to the Vehicle Info screen yet again (I usually drive with the Fuel Info screen by default to keep a tab on the DEF level indicator). Blank as in completely blank, meaning that the systems were telling me that there wasn't even a drop of diesel inside the tank!

Turned key again back and forth, and the bootup of both screens was quicker this time, although the FE indicator line showed a very small line in red, while the Distance to Empty value showed 164 kms! This time, the lady living under the Voice Alerts cottage of the 7OO spoke to me and said - "Your car is running on low fuel."

The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_1953.jpg

This was not the case in the afternoon when I had driven to my office from home. The fuel indicator line was healthily showing in white, the red portion was quite below, the DTE range was 192 kms, and my office is a mere 2 kms away from my home.

And, the low fuel alert doesn't kick in at 164 kms DTE range. At least in Icarus, till now, it never has.

Nevertheless, I filled up at the nearest pump and crossed the milestone while leaving the place.

The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_1954.jpg

All the recent social media talks of fuel leakage and fuel tank issues of the 7OO made me apprehensive and I checked the underbody of Icarus both at the office parking space and at the fuel pump, specially under the rear wheel well where the fuel tank sits. Thankfully, no drips or leakage were seen. Shrugging it off as an one-off incident and a temporarily faulty fuel sensor, I moved on.

Also, I have noticed that the Google Maps display under Android Auto starts with the dark "Night" screen by default these days. This, despite the Settings set to "Day" or changing to either "Automatic" or "Day". Did a lot of tinkering in my S21 Ultra and inside the AdrenoX's settings, but this didn't cure it. I thought this was a new gremlin in Icarus's systems, but a search on Google confirmed this as a problem with the latest update for Google Maps (version 11.34.1 and later) which is affecting many car owners who are using Android Auto. No solution to this but to wait for the next update from Google. The stock MMI navigation maps in the AdrenoX system are working fine.

The keyhole of Icarus loves it's key so much that it absolutely refuses to let go of the key when the XUV is shut down. This is now irritating. Twisting it back and forth repeatedly to get it out is now a regular happening. Have to get this rectified.

I had taken an online slot for Saturday morning to get the First Free Service done at the local Mahindra dealership, Balaji Motors, but lack of communication from their Service Manager despite my calls or Whatsapp messages made me irritated. He neither picked up my repeated calls, nor answered the messages despite seeing them. Called up a girl at the service reception with whom I had talked over the phone, and she said that they couldn't accomodate Icarus on Saturday since there were a lot of pending vehicles opened up in their service hangar and they were instructed to finish them off before taking any new vehicles.

Did some enquiries at my office and heard reports of bad servicing experiences from some contacts of my colleagues. I eventually cancelled my original online slot from the local dealership and booked a slot from the Paramount Automotive dealership at Jeypore, Odisha, from where I had taken delivery. Called the Service Manager there who picked up my call the first time itself, and was happily ready to accomodate me on Saturday.

But, my little one suffered a toe injury on Friday and she needed minor surgery. Due to that I had to skip the Jeypore run yesterday.

Also, in between, I had transferred Rs 4,000/- as advance for the Power Folding ORVMs set and the AX7 Reverse Camera, which has been duly ordered and should reach the Jeypore dealership by next weekend.

Closed the deal for the alloy with minor scratches (pic shared in earlier post) at Rs 7,000/-. I shall go and get a suitable tyre in the default 235/65/17 profile soon (thinking Bridgestone), and carry it with me when I visit them next weekend for the first service + get both the pre-ordered items installed (hopefully).

Signing off with a couple of comparo pics received on Whatsapp:-

Brothers in arms.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-17c93e08a41f4ee1ba7ebc86d42a94bb.jpg

With the mighty.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-photo20220619195741.jpg

Credits to the original photographers.

ODO is at 1,052 kms. Catch you all soon with more updates.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 19th June 2022 at 22:03.
RavenAvi is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 20th June 2022, 06:45   #51
sbm

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
1,000 on the ODO

The keyhole of Icarus loves it's key so much that it absolutely refuses to let go of the key when the XUV is shut down. This is now irritating. Twisting it back and forth repeatedly to get it out is now a regular happening. Have to get this rectified.

ODO is at 1,052 kms. Catch you all soon with more updates.
Thanks for the updates, @ravenavi. Regarding the key issue, it might sound too obvious, but have you tried moving the steering a bit while removing the key? The steering lock mechanism sometimes exerts*a force on the key itself, and that might be stopping it from coming out smoothly. This trick has worked for me in multiple cars, and might help you until you find a permanent solution.*
sbm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th June 2022, 11:13   #52

Thanks for the updates, @ravenavi. Regarding the key issue, it might sound too obvious, but have you tried moving the steering a bit while removing the key?
That's the first thing I do. In our previously owned Maruti cars this used to be an occasional problem. But the Maruti keys used to slide out easily in the 2nd or 3rd try, sometimes with easing the steering to either side.

Not in Icarus's case. Moving the steering to either side doesn't ease the key out.

I think it's a problem with the lock inside the keyhole where the key goes in to sit on. Shall get it checked.
RavenAvi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th June 2022, 14:48   #53

Crossed the milestone on Thursday evening, after a series of gremlins hit Icarus.
Just curious to know how accurate is the fuel indicator when you filled the fuel? The reason being, it should not be giving incorrect reading and let you down in the middle of the road.

Waiting to see how the AX7 reverse camera on your vehicle. I was not too impressed with the one which comes as accessory for AX5 and the camera's guidance lines are also static and does not adjust according to the steering inputs as well. Hopefully the one for AX7 has dynamic guidance lines.

Last edited by ampere : 20th June 2022 at 15:07. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
Old 21st June 2022, 12:13   #54

Congratulations on the AX5. I feel being the mid variant, the AX5 should have been better equipped. Especially reverse camera, cruise control, auto folding ORVMs and start stop button should have been there in a vehicle which cost more than 20 lakhs on road.
souvikjana83 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2022, 15:45   #55

That's the first thing I do. In our previously owned Maruti cars this used to be an occasional problem. But the Maruti keys used to slide out easily in the 2nd or 3rd try, sometimes with easing the steering to either side.

Not in Icarus's case. Moving the steering to either side doesn't ease the key out.

I think it's a problem with the lock inside the keyhole where the key goes in to sit on. Shall get it checked.
Try removing the keycover and doing it. I have same keycover and started facing the issue after using it. It worked for me when I removed the keycover. It seems the keycover is restricting the pressure required to ease the key out.
Piyush_DT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2022, 20:19   #56

I have received PMs from some members asking about the comparo I did between the Tata Safari XT diesel versus the Mahindra XUV7OO AX5 7-seater diesel. Here is my homework:-

Advantage 7OO:-

1) 2.2L turbocharged engine (vs 2.0L turbocharged),
2) 185PS power (vs 170PS),
3) 420Nm torque (vs 350Nm),
4) 34mm length and 9mm wheelbase more,
*5) 60 liters fuel tank (vs 50 liters),
6) 20 liters DEF tank (vs 15L),
*7) 5-star GNCAP score (vs unknown),
*8) 4 airbags - Front and curtain extending till 3rd row (vs 2 at front),
*9) Hill Descent Control (vs NA),
10) LED headlamps (vs halogen projector HLs),
11) LED foglamps (vs halogens),
12) LED tail lights (vs normal),
*13) Cornering lamps (vs NA),
*14) Auto-booster headlamps (vs NA),
15) Smart door handles (vs NA),
*16) Rear suspension with FSDs (vs NA),
17) Panoramic "skyroof" (vs NA - equipped in the XT+ variant at 80,000 bucks extra),
18) 4 drive modes including Custom (vs 3),
19) Micro Hybrid tech (vs NA),
20) Twin ISOFIX child seat mounts in 2nd row (vs NA),
*21) 10.25" touchscreen infotainment (vs 7-inch),
22) Sound Staging by Sony (vs NA),
23) Fully digital twin dials + MID (vs semi-digital speedo),
*24) Better steering feel at all speeds,
25) Better side-bolstering in seats,
*26) More premium and rich interiors.

Advantage Safari:-

1) 31mm height and 4mm width more,
2) 235/60/R18 alloys (vs 235/65/R17),
*3) Driver seat with lumbar support (vs NA),
*4) Cruise Control (vs NA),
*5) Fully Automatic Climate Control (vs Manual AC),
*6) Reverse Camera (vs NA),
*7) Start-Stop button (vs NA),
*8) Auto-folding ORVMs (vs manually foldable),
*9) Rain-sensing wipers (vs NA),
*10) Auto headlamps (vs NA - can be installed as an OEM accessory like I did),
*11) Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (vs NA),
12) In-cabin air purifier (vs NA),
*13) Telescopic steering wheel adjustment (vs Tilt only),
*14) 3rd row cabin lamp (vs NA),
*15) 8-speaker system with 4 tweeters (vs 6-speaker system with 2 tweeters),
16) Better Mood lighting (vs one thin strip along the front map lights section),
17) Boss Mode (vs NA),
*18) Full-sized 235/70/R16 spare wheel (vs a puny 155/90/R18 steel wheel!),
*19) Better ride quality overall.

(* = Must-Haves)

I have underlined those features which, according to me, are important for either SUV. There might be more but these were the ones I listed in my mental checklist back in March-April.

At the time of my purchase, the XUV7OO AX5 diesel MT 7-seater was priced at 17.84 lakhs, while the Safari XT 7-seater was priced at 18.08 lakhs (XT+ with just the pano sunroof extra was at 18.88 lakhs).

In the end, it's purely a heart vs head decision. The Safari XT appeals more to the practical-minded of us, while the 7OO AX5 is more for those who are pulled by the strings of their hearts (glaring missing features notwithstanding).

Hope this helps any/all buyers cross-shopping between these two particular variants of both models.

Originally Posted by Porcupine View Post
Wish you many many happy miles and years to come in a very impressive vehicle, sir!
Thank you so much, Porcupine, sunilsoft and souvikjana83.

Originally Posted by sunilsoft View Post
Besides the camera and the wiring harness is there any other part required for enabling the OEM camera in the system.

Kindly let me know if it would be possible to add cruise control. I know the steering buttons can be changed but not sure about the activation of cruise control.
The fascia where the reverse camera is to sit upon is the most important part. If that doesn't match the space/gap given, the camera cannot be installed.

Cruise control connections are given behind the dashboard. All you need are the couplers, the related fuses and enabling via official software through a laptop connected to the OBD port.

Originally Posted by Phantom 510 View Post
That alloy rim looks pretty good to me.
Thanks. Finalised it at 7K.

Originally Posted by Mjbharat4u View Post
Just curious to know how accurate is the fuel indicator when you filled the fuel?
The FE indicator is pretty accurate. Hence I didn't pay much attention to the gremlins when they hit. It must be a moment when an OTA update was in the process of getting installed and the infotainment system got caught in the whole deal of throwing out alerts such as the first free service, low fuel, Zap mode, etc.

The fuel sensors are working fine now. I check it everyday. The Distance To Empty (DTE) indicator is also perfectly fine.

Originally Posted by Mjbharat4u View Post
Waiting to see how the AX7 reverse camera on your vehicle.
Hopefully the one for AX7 has dynamic guidance lines.
Even I am waiting eagerly to see how it works in conjunction with the system. The parts are scheduled to arrive by Monday (coming from Pune), so expect a big update on these fitments sometime next week.

Originally Posted by souvikjana83 View Post
I feel being the mid variant, the AX5 should have been better equipped. Especially reverse camera, cruise control, auto folding ORVMs and start stop button should have been there in a vehicle which cost more than 20 lakhs on road.
Definitely. Especially reverse camera & auto-fold ORVMs are big, big misses.

Originally Posted by Piyush_DT View Post
Try removing the keycover and doing it. I have same keycover and started facing the issue after using it. It worked for me when I removed the keycover. It seems the keycover is restricting the pressure required to ease the key out.
Yes, that was indeed the culprit.

Removed the keycover and used the key for a whole day and it was back to normal. Checked the keycover closely and the top part of that actually came with enhanced wraparound for the key's base section, but which was actually covering it while it was inserted inside the keyhole and didn't let it come out easily. Did a jugaad and cut small, straight silicone sections from both sides of that area and now the key works normally, although the keycover's top looks ugly in it's finish.

The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image4.jpeg

Am on the lookout for a keycover with an open top to replace this one.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 23rd June 2022 at 20:32. Reason: added.
RavenAvi is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2022, 22:49   #57
sbm

The fascia where the reverse camera is to sit upon is the most important part. If that doesn't match the space/gap given, the camera cannot be installed.

Cruise control connections are given behind the dashboard. All you need are the couplers, the related fuses and enabling via official software through a laptop connected to the OBD port.

Again, thanks for this update, @Ravenavi.
Your thread is coming up as the go-to thread for every AX5 buyer as you wished. I have a couple of quick questions for you.

Is there a possibility that it might not fit? I think there must be some dummy in AX5 in place of the camera module, which needs to be replaced with the fascia from AX7.

Even if the cruise control module and fuses are installed, will the service centre enable it through their software? Wouldn't it be counterproductive for Mahindra if the ASC guys installed the cruise control and beat the pathetic feature distribution by M & M?
sbm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2022, 00:56   #58

The OEM AX7 Reverse Camera and the power-folding ORVMs have arrived at the dealership. The Workshop Manager called me on Saturday and informed me about the good news. They came from Bhubaneswar.

The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-image1.jpeg

Part Number for the XUV7OO AX5 in Everest White shade is M1312BW600011N.

For AX5s in other colours, the related part numbers can be seen on the right side of this pic which I had posted earlier. First part of the Part Numbers remain the same - only the last letter ("N" in the case of Everest White) changes according to the body colour shade. Mind you, in the pic it showed the last letter as "G" for Everest White. Not sure what coding changed in-between and why.

But the power-folding ORVM button, which is to be fitted in the driver door panel, and it's related wirings + couplers haven't arrived yet. They were supposedly coming directly from the Chakan plant and are held up at Raipur as of today. Expected to arrive tomorrow.

I shall go and get them fitted during my First Free Service which is now overdue by quite a bit. Since I have the June 2022 monthly Closing to deal with in a couple of days, expect a definite update on this development by this weekend when I will be completely free from work and home related stuff.

Is there a possibility that it might not fit? I think there must be some dummy in AX5 in place of the camera module, which needs to be replaced with the fascia from AX7.
I am told that the fascia matches with the detachable blank section given in the same space in the AX5s rear. Let's see.

Even if the cruise control module and fuses are installed, will the service centre enable it through their software? Wouldn't it be counterproductive for Mahindra if the ASC guys installed the cruise control and beat the pathetic feature distribution by M & M?
Yes, they will. But the control modules + related wiring, couplers & fuses cost a bomb. I have seen people get aftermarket cruise controls fitted in their 7OOs on Youtube. If those can be installed and enabled, I am pretty damn sure that the official service workshop won't deny to enable this feature, provided all related parts are duly purchased and installed.

13,990.00 = Auto-folding ORVMs left & right (@ Rs 6,995/- each)
x7,088.00 = The AX7 reverse camera
x1,445.00 = Wiring Harness boot lid Left
x1,207.00 = Wiring Harness boot lid Right
-----------------------
23,730.00 = TOTAL
-----------------------
Correction - the Wiring Harnesses are for the Tailgate Upper and the Tailgate Lower sections, not "boot lid Left & Right", in the above quotation. Do read that accordingly.

ODO is currently at 1112 kms. Except for the USB drive resetting back to the first song in the folder/file structure repeatedly and thus becoming a really annoying nuisance by now, there is no other issue to report.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 28th June 2022 at 01:04. Reason: added reply.
RavenAvi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2022, 23:22   #59

ODO is currently at 1112 kms. Except for the USB drive resetting back to the first song in the folder/file structure repeatedly and thus becoming a really annoying nuisance by now, there is no other issue to report.[/quote]

Try using a 8/16 gb pendrive with not too many folders. Settled the problem in my AX5.
Old 4th July 2022, 21:05   #60

Some updates:-

1) The ORVM power window switch, to be fitted on the driver door panel, was delayed from the Mahindra plant due to acute parts shortage. The dispatch was done only on Saturday, 2nd July. Expected to arrive in a week's time. Have delayed the 1st service accordingly.

Part number for the ORVM switch - 0109EW600021B. Notice the Gate Pass Date on the far right.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-orvm-switch.jpg

2) The Google Maps' latest update is a big one. I guess this was why the earlier map in Android Auto showed a blank (day or night) when enabled - it hadn't downloaded completely. Now, you can see the entire geographical layout of the location, the roads and the lanes where your XUV will run through. Have a look:-

Stationary. Very detailed.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-google-maps-latest.jpg

On the move.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-google-maps-latest2.jpg

3) Had a quick look at some tyres in the stock 235/65/R17 profile to use it as my spare (5th).

Goodyear Wrangler TripleMax 104H A/T = 11,800
Yokohama Geolandar A/T G015 108H = 13,600
Michelin LTX Trail 108T = 15,000

I have selected the Geolandar taking all things into consideration - the kind of roads I will ply in, plus using it regularly on a 5-wheel rotational basis. Our own Team-BHP thread on the Geolandar gives it a thumbs up from most members also.

Getting a 2022 make too, which is a plus. Looks like it can withstand the abuse, and then some.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-geolandar.jpg

4) Had ordered a new keyfob cover for Icarus - a premium one by Mogato through CarLoginn on Whatsapp. Received the COD parcel today and I am glad I did. Looks, fit and finish is absolutely top-notch.

And, absolutely no issues sliding it out from the keyhole of the 7OO after shutdown.

MRP listed is Rs 1,200. Received at 900/- with free shipping & COD. Worth the moolah.

The entire kit. Keyfob cover is of hard elastic material, yet flexible and light. Seems tough and long-lasting.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2762.jpg

Mogato on left, AX5 key in middle, Keyzone silicone case on right (now looking ugly due to all the cutting).
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2763.jpg

From behind - the Mogato one has a cutout for the Mahindra logo whereas the Keyzone one doesn't.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2764.jpg

Very snug fit. Key doesn't move even a millimeter inside it.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2767.jpg

Plenty of space behind the base of the key. The reason why it doesn't get stuck.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2772.jpg

In the end.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2773.jpg

4) Had received the customised letters set from Carmetics Official on Whatsapp about a week back. Took some time out through the past weekend to stick the I-C-A-R-U-S 3D letters in the front and back of our 7OO. Each set contains the letters and a sticking alignment cutout which has perfectly aligned gaps in them according to the letters of the words chosen.

This is how it looks:-

Style selected is Carbon Fiber 3D.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2786.jpg

50 bucks per letter. Worth it if you can spare the cash.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-front.jpg

A close-up. Size is 1.4 inches.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2789.jpg

Thickness. Around 5mm would be my guess.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2790.jpg

Rear placement. Sticks with 3M self-adhesive.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2791.jpg

Aligned centrally according to the placement of the Twin Peaks logo.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2792.jpg

Looks absolutely F-A-B!
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2796.jpg

Got a "Diesel" 3D sticker free with the 2 sets. Same thickness as the letters.
The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT-img_2797.jpg

Originally Posted by shiven2207 View Post
Try using a 8/16 gb pendrive with not too many folders. Settled the problem in my AX5.
Tried it with a 16GB USB drive. Even customised all the songs by renaming them in a sequence to play from the root directory itself. No luck so far.

My experiments with the USB drives continue.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 4th July 2022 at 21:08.
RavenAvi is offline   (5) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com