Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Do you face any Problems with TATA Sky?
Yes 118 37.58%
No 196 62.42%
Voters: 314. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd August 2014, 20:51   #511
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 942
Thanked: 344 Times
Question Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post
...
He told that the set top box must be swapped with a new one and the swap box would cost 500 rupees.
Mine is a 3 year old Tata Sky HD+ STB and is out of warranty.
I agreed and he put a new box.
...
Hi Hemanth,
So when an STB is "swapped" out, what happens to the recorded content stored on it ?
I'm asking since I have a lot of recorded content on my STB & I'd really hate to lose all that content !
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 21:35   #512
Distinguished - BHPian
 
hemanth.anand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,098
Thanked: 5,697 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
Hi Hemanth,
So when an STB is "swapped" out, what happens to the recorded content stored on it ?
I'm asking since I have a lot of recorded content on my STB & I'd really hate to lose all that content !
Unfortunately you will lose it. It will all be stored in the 500GB hard disk. You will have to remove this hard disk to get all the recordings that I don't know if they'll allow that.
hemanth.anand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 14:14   #513
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 6
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

My Tata Sky membership is due for renewal.

I am on an Annual Mega SD Pack which is currently Rs.6400 or so.

There is this offer of upgrading to HD at 990 Rs. The Annual Mega HD Pack is around 7500 Rs.

Should I opt for the HD pack ? Are the HD channels currently available worth the move ? Anyways, HBO Hits HD and other premium channels are not part of the pack.
srividya76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 15:13   #514
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 4,079
Thanked: 3,326 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by srividya76 View Post
My Tata Sky membership is due for renewal.

I am on an Annual Mega SD Pack which is currently Rs.6400 or so.

There is this offer of upgrading to HD at 990 Rs. The Annual Mega HD Pack is around 7500 Rs.

Should I opt for the HD pack ? Are the HD channels currently available worth the move ? Anyways, HBO Hits HD and other premium channels are not part of the pack.
You should get it.
What size is your screen though?

There are quite a few HD channels available, and once you start with them, youll not be watching the SD definitely. Agreed, though, SWPremiere, HBO Hits and Defined are not part of this, but its still worth it.
mayankk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 16:40   #515
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 6
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Thanks mayankk.

I have a 32" Samsung LED TV.

I guess I will go for it.
srividya76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2014, 13:16   #516
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 6
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

I did finally get the Tata Sky HD box and have subscribed to the Annual HD package.

I somehow feel that the sound and the picture quality is a bit off.

I see that the Tata Sky technician has connected both the HDMI and the RGB cables. Are both these required ?

My TV model is Samsung LED TV 32" - UA32EH4800R. I guess it is 720p at 50 Hz.

Please let me know.
srividya76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2014, 16:34   #517
BHPian
 
sa_kiran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Thane
Posts: 508
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by srividya76 View Post
I see that the Tata Sky technician has connected both the HDMI and the RGB cables. Are both these required ?
You don't need both HDMI and RGB to be connected. Check the signal strength, weak signal may be the reason for unsatisfactory picture.
sa_kiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2014, 18:28   #518
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 4,079
Thanked: 3,326 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srividya76 View Post

My TV model is Samsung LED TV 32" - UA32EH4800R. I guess it is 720p at 50 Hz.

Please let me know.
What do you mean, "off"?

Also, yours is not a full HD TV, it's HD ready only. Could be the reason for not getting the whole experience. And yes, you only need one hdmi cable connected. See if your TV is taking input from that only.
mayankk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2014, 12:01   #519
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 6
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Thanks mayankk and sa_kiran !

The TV is not full HD and that could be the reason. I have just the HDMI cable plugged in right now.
srividya76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 15:14   #520
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 185
Thanked: 44 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Issue with Sound and Picture

Hi guys

Have recently had a few issues with the signal on my Toshiba 39L3300 TV. Initially thought it might be a television problem, but wanted to check if it might be a tata sky issue.

Since yesterday, there was a screeching sound from the TV for about 1-5 seconds and at the same time, the picture became very jagged / cut. THe same has happened today afternoon as well. After those 5 seconds get over, everything is back to normal.

There have been no rains here (Delhi), so it is not a typical bad weather problem. Has anyone faced similar issues with Tata sky?
avi550m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 13:18   #521
BHPian
 
sumathindra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 602
Thanked: 190 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Apparently a new report for the HD box is priced at 400! is that normal? Anyone replaced once recently?
sumathindra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2014, 20:39   #522
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,140
Thanked: 4,572 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Not getting rear left channel on Movies now dolby digital. Its proper in other channels. Can anyone check and tell?
audioholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2014, 14:18   #523
BHPian
 
turbodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chinchwad-Pune
Posts: 112
Thanked: 107 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

My post may not fit here but just came to know that a bogus dealer in chinchwad area has run away taking customer's money.

Morya enterprises, a multi dish recharge shop located near chinchwad bus stop, has conned many customers and shut shop. This shop owner, named Ganesh (don't know if that is his real name) ran away with money of customers who gave him annual recharge amount of tata sky. His mobile no. 9922186637 is out of service now.

When I asked my friend that why did he pay annual recharge amount to the dealer then he replied that he had taken tata sky from that dealer and he knew him from 1 year. First recharge of 1 year that dealer had done successfully. But subsequent recharge he did not do and just did 100, 50, 200 amount recharges and after 6 months fled with remaining money.

My friend has a receipt of the payment. But with the shop shut and mobile number of the person not working, is there any possibility to prosecute that fraud dealer?

My friend has already complained to tata sky but they refused to help saying it is dealer issue.
turbodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2014, 19:59   #524
BHPian
 
dkamath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 543
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Just an fyi. I used to face sporadic, short disruptions/blackouts even at the slightest hint of a passing cloud. Insisted on a dish replacement, since mine is an 8+ year old connection. They charged Rs.350 for the task, and things are good now. Looks like the dish warps with age.
dkamath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2014, 17:46   #525
Senior - BHPian
 
mpksuhas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: KA03/KL11
Posts: 2,664
Thanked: 3,205 Times
Default Re: TATA Sky..Do you face any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkamath View Post
Insisted on a dish replacement, since mine is an 8+ year old connection.
Faced the same issue. Also, few channels were not available unless sky is clear.
Things are fixed now after changing the receiver, dish remains the same.
mpksuhas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Face vs. Full Face Helmets : How Safe are they? Rehaan Motorbikes 73 28th May 2015 15:13
Face to face with an angry tiger drkakkilaya Travelogues 49 22nd June 2012 18:46
Tata SKY / Dish / CAS what is your choice .... all south delhi BHPians whatcanthisbe Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 29th December 2006 10:31
How many of you face problems with electronics in your car? frankmehta Technical Stuff 15 15th April 2006 10:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:04.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks