Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd November 2010, 23:15   #2941
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 542
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

Whats going on with your phone guys ???

For me, i added yahoo, hotmail, aol e-mail accounts and as usual, they got configured in a jiffy. Now just waiting for e-mails to pop in. I have clubbed all e-mail (work / personal / sms) icons in one folder and placed it on the main screen...ease of use just got to a whole new level.

Bought a Sennheiser earphone CX180 recently for 14xx. The sound clarity is awsome, bass is on slightly lower side which i tweaked in winamp (for testing on pc) and it sounded great. I wished for a razor moray plus but found that costly & had to go really far to fetch em, hence dropped the idea. Those would have been killer, with an in-built mic, you can listen n talk via the earphones

Planning a zag shield / some screen protector cover. Valhallen, anyplace you can find good quality screen protectors in blr ??

Anyone saw the new BB ad ?? i like it man.

@blackberryhelp on twitter is amazing. These guys do best to help you out. I would advice you guys to follow them.
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 07:58   #2942
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
@sumannandy Do what I do. I have a vodafone postpaid for calls and another prepaid for BB and sms services. But then with bsnl you have the option of 3G and very wide coverage!
BSNL has great coverage and the speed is also great. If only they had good talktime offers. It seems that you can only apply one voucher at a time, not multiple vouchers to reduce the call cost.

Also, the unlimited plan does not allow you to use internet on the computer (per the website). I was wondering if you could use internet in computer with airtel, vodafone or any other operator.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 11:08   #2943
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 285
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

@quadra I have never bothered with a screen guard on my BB and neither have my friends nor most of my customers from work. I'm in retail. The screen guards just make visibility bad.

I saw the new BB ad nice very smartly done. Very appealing. They want to reach to a younger audience. Let's hope they have the stuff and not just the beans to impress the new gen. I still know a lot of the teen and tween gen who just aren't able to justify the charges of the BB services.

And blackberry help on twitter while its nice I've found it just floods you with a lot of old stuff.

@sumannandy you can with each and every operator. I haven't tried but connect your laptop open up BBDM and hit mobile internet see if it let's you browse. Then check if you get charged for wap. Because I know when I used one of the mobile internet radio stations I got from BB AppWorld it routed through wap and then I had to fight with vodafone to reverse the charges as it is supposed to route through BIS. The same thing happened to my friend. So watch out for wap charges.

Last edited by valhallen.282 : 23rd November 2010 at 11:12.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 16:59   #2944
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 285
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Guys I've left my pin with a few of you'll as I may or may not be able to help you'll with queries as its going to be a hectic few weeks. PIN me or BBM me. Or leave me a PM. Will reply ASAP.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 21:47   #2945
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 542
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

@valhallen: we really appreciate your help here. I will speak with you soon.
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 18:03   #2946
BHPian
 
deathwalkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 628
Thanked: 448 Times
Default

Well the new Bold is out at Rs.26,990 [Redington,18months warranty]

comes with 5mp cam and 512MB with OS6.0 loaded

cant wait to get it
deathwalkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 23:39   #2947
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default Automatic (time based) profile switch app for 8520?

I remember using an app called "Best Profiles" on my Nokia E71. It switches between profiles (e.g. Silent to General or Outdoor etc) according to pre-set times. e.g. it would switch to Silent profile (all alerts off) at my bed time (2330 hrs) automatically. And switch back to Normal profile when I get to work (at 0930 hrs).

Does there exist any similar app for BlackBerry Curve 8520 OS 5?
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2010, 00:01   #2948
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 285
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
I remember using an app called "Best Profiles" on my Nokia E71. It switches between profiles (e.g. Silent to General or Outdoor etc) according to pre-set times. e.g. it would switch to Silent profile (all alerts off) at my bed time (2330 hrs) automatically. And switch back to Normal profile when I get to work (at 0930 hrs).

Does there exist any similar app for BlackBerry Curve 8520 OS 5?
Yes its called the clock :-P sorry I couldn't resist it. Under most circumstances you need to recharge these phones on a daily basis. I prefer at night or during peak work hours when the phone is not around. If you set your phone to charge at night the clock will auto-open at this point hitting BB key>enter bedside mode will switch to a preset all silent profile until you hit escape and quit bedside mode the next morning.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2010, 08:31   #2949
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 285
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Knock knock where did everyone disappear? I just got the new whatsapp messenger on BB its free for a year! It is soo laggy it isn't funny. The person with whom to chat I got the whatsapp messenger has ended up emailing me instead from the iphone.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2010, 08:44   #2950
BHPian
 
slicvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KA 19
Posts: 747
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
Knock knock where did everyone disappear? I just got the new whatsapp messenger on BB its free for a year! It is soo laggy it isn't funny. The person with whom to chat I got the whatsapp messenger has ended up emailing me instead from the iphone.
Yeah true, it is quite laggy. Is there any way to revert back to the old version? I generally don't upgrade immediately until someone tells me that the new version is good, but in the case of whatsapp the app kept sending me quite a few times that it was getting irritating.
slicvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 01:16   #2951
BHPian
 
beanstalk_230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lucknow/New Delhi
Posts: 254
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Is there a workaround to use Facebook / Browser on BIS lite plan (Vodafone Postpaid) ?

P.S. Prepaid seems to be a much better option @ 399 which I currently use but want to shift completely to postpaid
beanstalk_230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 02:28   #2952
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beanstalk_230 View Post
Is there a workaround to use Facebook / Browser on BIS lite plan (Vodafone Postpaid) ?

P.S. Prepaid seems to be a much better option @ 399 which I currently use but want to shift completely to postpaid
No, it won't work, as the service books in your phone would not include browser for any http connection in lite plan.

so you would not be able to use any application which needs to connect to internet.

you should be able to tether to laptop but that would cost extra.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 07:13   #2953
Senior - BHPian
 
MileCruncher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,985
Thanked: 351 Times
Default

I'm thinking of upgrading from my BB 8310 after almost 3 years to BB Curve 3G. Does any one has it and any specific reviews I should know about?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
MileCruncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 08:30   #2954
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 285
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

@beanstalk230 there is supposedly a 599 plan for the same thing. Yes postpaid will be more expensive. Nothing beats prepaid on cost.

@milecruncher: the 9300 is a brilliant phone. All the niggles of the 8520 have got addressed. Build quality is excellent. OS is fantastic. A much better browsing experience. The only downside is the battery life. As BB standards these days it lasts only a day. 3G will be out VERY soon. It also has GPS so that's a boon.

MOST importantly if the audio experience is anything you want please please please throw away the stock headphones they are terrible. I have never found a worse OEM set. If you don't mind the money please get the sennheiser mm 50. They are at MRP 3500 you should be able to get them for a good 25% off. And they come with 2/3 year replacement warranty.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 09:52   #2955
Senior - BHPian
 
MileCruncher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,985
Thanked: 351 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
@milecruncher: the 9300 is a brilliant phone. All the niggles of the 8520 have got addressed. Build quality is excellent. OS is fantastic. A much better browsing experience. The only downside is the battery life. As BB standards these days it lasts only a day. 3G will be out VERY soon. It also has GPS so that's a boon.

MOST importantly if the audio experience is anything you want please please please throw away the stock headphones they are terrible. I have never found a worse OEM set. If you don't mind the money please get the sennheiser mm 50. They are at MRP 3500 you should be able to get them for a good 25% off. And they come with 2/3 year replacement warranty.
I thought it was a 3G Handset. Correct me if I'm wrong. My 8310 has a GPS and only thing I have waited this long to upgrade is that I didn't like the Bold (too big for me) and the 8520 didn't have a GPS.

My primary usage is work emails, using it as a GPS and a bit of browsing on the handset. I donot listen to music nor do I take pictures, so thats not a deal breaker. I attach my present BB to laptop and get decent browsing speeds upto 200 kbps.

I guess with the 256MB internal memory, I won't have to flush the memory everyday.

I'm on the BB899 plan on Airtel and believe me you don't need Broadband at home unless you are looking at downloading movies. This takes care of my all other browsing needs.

Any idea whats the best price. The best I've got is 17.4 and was wondering if it can get any lower.
MileCruncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:29.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks