Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 12th April 2009, 14:52   #886

I did manage to meet an Army office who was driving an Army prepped rally gypsy with a 1.6l. He says he gets all sort of help from the Maruti guys, and he got an engine too, but the army had to mount it themselves, and its not registered in the RC and never will. His only saviour is the army gypsies never have to stop for cops, besides if the old no. is stamped on it, they don't get to know the difference between the old and the new engine.
Old 13th April 2009, 12:30   #887
USR

Hi Guys… I think if your pockets doesn’t allow you to buy a Gurkha then why not go with a Trax Gama 4*4. It’s around 5.60. I have heard trax is better without power steering and you can get an A.C fixed for 20 grand’s. I know it will not be the same as Gurkha but I guess it is also a better deal.

Post EDITED since it contained various [FONT], [COLOR] and [SIZE] tags.
Posting with such text formatting should be avoided on Team-BHP as it is inconvenient for members to read post.
Kindly go through Announcements section before proceeding.

Thanking You for your anticipated co-operation

The Team-BHP Support

Last edited by Jaggu : 13th April 2009 at 15:03. Reason: Font tags
Old 13th April 2009, 15:28   #888

If I am not wrong, I have read somewhere that Maruti had prepared and supplied some Gypsies with 1.6L engines.

In last 04 years I bought 02 Maruti vehicles on cash (Swift / SX4) so having impeccable relationship with local dealer who is having quite good resources within Maruti Suzuki.
Old 13th April 2009, 18:02   #889

Originally Posted by USR View Post
Hi Guys… I think if your pockets doesn’t allow you to buy a Gurkha then why not go with a Trax Gama 4*4. It’s around 5.60. I have heard trax is better without power steering and you can get an A.C fixed for 20 grand’s. I know it will not be the same as Gurkha but I guess it is also a better deal.
The point in going for the Gurkha is for the SWB, 75 bhp engine, Diff locks, PS/AC. If you are not getting these rather than buy a Gama 4x4 you are better off with a Bolero 4WD.
Old 16th April 2009, 21:35   #890
USR

with you that their is no comparison of gurkha & Gama but i think gama is far much better then bolero 4*4. Thats my personal experience about the bolero. Bolero is a nice drive but her off-roading is not upto the. But i guess this thread is about gurkha. I am mad to buy a gurkha . But its just too out of budget. If i could afford 9 Lakhs i would go for a getaway.

If any1 can help me gettin a 2 or 3rd hand Gurkha

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
The point in going for the Gurkha is for the SWB, 75 bhp engine, Diff locks, PS/AC. If you are not getting these rather than buy a Gama 4x4 you are better off with a Bolero 4WD.
Old 2nd May 2009, 19:04   #891

LoL used Gurkha --> Bechne jaoge bikegee nahin, kharidne jaoge toh milegee nahin(if you go to sell it you wont be able to sell it and if you go to buy it you wont be able to buy it).
Old 4th May 2009, 09:45   #892

Originally Posted by USR View Post
with you that their is no comparison of gurkha & Gama but i think gama is far much better then bolero 4*4. Thats my personal experience about the bolero. Bolero is a nice drive but her off-roading is not upto the. But i guess this thread is about gurkha. I am mad to buy a gurkha . But its just too out of budget. If i could afford 9 Lakhs i would go for a getaway.

If any1 can help me gettin a 2 or 3rd hand Gurkha
Talking about second hand Gurkha, I remember there was this one topic around a year back in which an elderly gentle man somewhere around Bangalore had a Judo which he wanted to sell. I remember someone from T-Bhp had also met the gentleman who had not ordered difflocks in the car as he didn't deem them necessary. I ave been trying to find that post/thread for a long time now and even written to forum stalwarts here. If anyone remembers it please shed light on the same.
Old 4th May 2009, 16:24   #893

Originally Posted by dyer_made View Post
Talking about second hand Gurkha, I remember there was this one topic around a year back in which an elderly gentle man somewhere around Bangalore had a Judo which he wanted to sell. I remember someone from T-Bhp had also met the gentleman who had not ordered difflocks in the car as he didn't deem them necessary. I ave been trying to find that post/thread for a long time now and even written to forum stalwarts here. If anyone remembers it please shed light on the same.
I spoke to him. I dropped the idea since the vehicle did not have the Turbo OM616 engine or Power Steering. I believe it had an after market AC. I deleted the number.
Old 7th May 2009, 01:39   #894

hi guys, im logging in after a long time. i waitd fr a year but finally bought a gurkha a year bk. i got it almost a monthy before gurkha was launched. Anyways will have to wait for a while. Hey any sugeestions which is better the OM616 IDI TURBO OR OM616 DI TURBO(Currently available on gurkha a modified version of OM616). What is the ideal tyre & alloy size for gurkha
Old 7th May 2009, 09:50   #895

Guys, I was told that Force only made 20 Gurkhas since 2007 as planned. And they don't make it anymore and you can't order it. Can anyone verify this?
Old 7th May 2009, 16:47   #896

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Guys, I was told that Force only made 20 Gurkhas since 2007 as planned. And they don't make it anymore and you can't order it. Can anyone verify this?
I don't have any credible information, but tt is possible since there some members posted that some units were readily available. So it is possible that they weren't able to sell all the 20 very easily. This must have discouraged them to make it more of them.
Old 7th May 2009, 18:46   #897

Yeah I heard one unit is still readily available.

I would be able to clear some airs about this as I am going to visit Force Motors in Pune with my vehicle to show them some small issues :o
Old 7th May 2009, 19:16   #898

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Samurai,
I can only comment on "you can't order it" part of your post.
I have been keenly following Trax Gurkha and Gama for a while and mailed a query to Force about available vehicle options with 4wd+AC+PS. Force replied to my query yesterday that they can take order for Gurkha - no mention about Gama.

Just speculating that Force might be looking at clearing that last one piece mentioned by rhandle.

Old 8th May 2009, 14:42   #899

It seems there are quite a few followers of the Force SUV's. I had seen long wheel base Force vehicles but seeing the Gurkha for the first time. It sure has a very raw appeal and looks as if it could go on any terrain with much ease.

Does the company actually take so much time in delivery?

Old 8th May 2009, 18:58   #900

Ps: I’m absolute novice with hardcore 4wd internals.

Information gathered so far from Force:
a) Gurkha is the only vehicle offered (CURRENTLY) that has diff-locks.

b) "Gama 4WD" and "Gama AC+PS" are mutually exclusive affairs.

c) Broadly speaking:
Gurkha =
{Gama 4WD + Front/Rear Diff locks + Turbo charger (read 15Hp) + AC + PS + Air intake Snorkel + INR200,000 + Misc*} - {350mm of wheel base}

*Misc = (Higher GC, Better brakes, Cow Guard, Leather upholstery and other aesthetic zing bang)

What I want = Gama 4WD +AC +PS + Diff locks.
But I will never get this from Force. I guess Force is telling me "it is life, not picnic".

But I’m happy to settle for Gama 4WD. I’m not too keen on travelling to places where I need to queue up to possibly get stuck and hopefully come out of it (off-roading). Of course, I absolutely respect the intensions of the guys who do it.

Questions to all those who invented the wheel:
a) What is Gama 4wd worth if my requirement is to get through a 2~3 km patch to reach the farm? My folks tell me their Bolero Camper can’t get through this 2km path during monsoon months. I trust them - I have never seen this patch though.
b) Differentials in Gama 4wd - is it Open or LSD or other (such as Torsen)?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com