Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 6th April 2009, 16:44   #421

PS On Gypsy

Hi Guys!!
A lil but I have been been offered to install PS into my Gypsy through some mec. in Mayapuri with a nissan pump and some salvaged PS Box which shall be a direct replacement for the manual one - for cheap. Any one got any experience to share as to What should be the way ahead??

Old 6th April 2009, 17:20   #422

All the Dabwalli jeeps do just this, buy the PS and pump from mayapuri to install in their hummer's illicit babies. The entire setup costs about Rs.6000 without the fabrication costs and labour(which ends up at Rs.8000). So far, i've never heard anything bad about it, but you never know, though i would say the reliability depends more on things like fabrication and fitting .
Old 6th April 2009, 20:20   #423

The power steering installation in Mayapuri should cost you about 8-9k. This is all inclusive.
A friend of mine has got it done on his mm550 and is using it for the past month. They work very well.

Some update on the jeep.
This pics I have attached are about 4-5 days old.
the current status of the work is that after the application of the body filler the putti was applied and the painter was rubbing it. This should be over by the tomorrow evening and then they will apply surfacer. This is what they call it. I dont know the english name for it.
Am again off to mayapuri tomorrow and will get latest pics.
I think that the jeep should take another week or so...
Harjeev's RANGER - MM550 XD3P 4x4 (Latest Pics Updated Pg-41)-img_7191.jpg  

Harjeev's RANGER - MM550 XD3P 4x4 (Latest Pics Updated Pg-41)-img_7192.jpg  

Harjeev's RANGER - MM550 XD3P 4x4 (Latest Pics Updated Pg-41)-img_7193.jpg  

Harjeev's RANGER - MM550 XD3P 4x4 (Latest Pics Updated Pg-41)-img_7194.jpg  

Old 6th April 2009, 20:42   #424

This is under restoration ? Whose MM550 were you driving on the March 14 OTR ?
Old 6th April 2009, 20:45   #425

I think that the OTR you are talking about I was driving Shashank's 550.

How come you came only for 1 OTR and have been absent from all others???
Old 6th April 2009, 20:57   #426

Sick on the Manesar OTR, Viral infection with a change in seasons. Remember I used to live in a protected environment with no seasonal changes in Dubai for the last fifteen years.

As for the night OTR, I very much wanted to come, but was pre comitted on another off road trip.

Where is this village of Berhampur on Sohna road. Actually I live on the Sohna road itself in Gurgaon.
Old 7th April 2009, 10:55   #427

@brutus and Harjeev - Thanks for the input guys. Well with the feedback i think its easy to decide now..

Last edited by Spark : 7th April 2009 at 11:08.
Old 7th April 2009, 11:18   #428

Originally Posted by harjeev View Post
the current status of the work is that after the application of the body filler the putti was applied and the painter was rubbing it. This should be over by the tomorrow evening and then they will apply surfacer. This is what they call it. I dont know the english name for it.
Hi Harjeev,

They call it right. It is called "Primer Surfacer" only. This basically prepares surface for the next coat and removes small abnormalities on the surface.

Great work !!! Keep it up

Tarkesh
Old 7th April 2009, 12:29   #429

@harjeev,

can you please post some pics of rubicon.. really waiting to see the final product..

wanna start working on a 4*4 and finish it before monsoon...
Old 7th April 2009, 14:09   #430

Nice to see the progress Harjeev. Have you already bought any new battery for y'r 550 by any chance? If so, then kindly share the brand and price.
-regards,
Old 7th April 2009, 16:12   #431

Looks to be coming on good now and a painter/denter who takes a bit more pride in their work compared to the dodgy lime green finish before.

I was showing my dad the pictures you posted on this thread when you got your MM550 and he thought it looked in excellent condition compared to the state our MM550 was in when we got it.
Old 8th April 2009, 12:06   #432

Originally Posted by desertfox View Post
Where is this village of Berhampur on Sohna road. Actually I live on the Sohna road itself in Gurgaon.
I am sorry, I think that I mentioned worng in my earlier post.
It is not Bherampur but village Badshapur.
Here is the link on wikimapia
I do not have the full trail on GPS, but this is the place where we guys had dinner at the lake. The GPS co-ordinates are 28°21'46.68"N 77° 7'27.33"E

Once I get my own jeep I will map the whole trail on GPS, you see the GPS on y cell phone is very power hungry, so I need the car charger while doing OTR. I have a GPS trail of another track though. It is in .KML format.

@spark
Anytime Mate

@ricky
Thanks Tarkesh,
I talked to the painter yesterday, they are now applying the putti again after the surfacer and then will do the rubbing and then again apply the surfacer, before they start painting.

@Pdev29
Yaar my 550 is now no longer in the same garage where the rubicon was been doneup. Further the workshop is 120 kms to & fro from my house so I will not be able to go there, just for for taking pics. Sorry for that!!!

@kandisa
I had bought Bosch battery for 4k. It was bought at the 1st workshop, (greater noida) for my 550 but will now be mounting it in the CJ3B and will buy someother for the 550.

@bigman
Thanks Satnam
Infact a guy from my office is standing on theor heads for getting the work done up. But still these guys take their own time, which now after 4 months I have become acustom too. But atleast here (mayapuri) the prices are much cheaper that I paid earlier. But the knowledge I am gaining, is helping me get my CJ3B done up at a much cheaper price.
Old 14th April 2009, 16:26   #433

Whats happening?

Harjeev, s up dude?

what is going on? any updates on where the jeep stands?

putty? filler? paint?

pic?
Old 16th April 2009, 18:22   #434

Well Harjeev, Hope your Jeep delivery is going to happen soon.

I cannot believe the patience you guys have to get these brutes rebuilt.
Old 17th April 2009, 09:42   #435

Originally Posted by IronWolf View Post
...I cannot believe the patience you guys have to get these brutes rebuilt.
Well, one actually shouldn't get into jeeps if the above factor is absent!

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com