Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 13th May 2008, 04:01   #1051

The 42 is too expensive... around 1.3. The 50" is a much more reasonable 1.65. These are prices from the delhi disty.
Old 13th May 2008, 16:01   #1052

I bought a 47" VU LCD, costed a lakh as they were running promotional discounts, I am bot sure what would be the cost now probably 1.5-2, not sure but their picture quality is real good. VU is a joint venture of a american company with zenith i believe.
Old 14th May 2008, 00:09   #1053

ST7677 - Any idea how much the Kuro costs? Also what's your time frame for buying the plasma. (I'm assuming you are buying a Plasma !!) If its end of year probably we can team up and join. I had my eyes on the PV70 for sometime. But if the Kuro is also within a reasonable price we could get that.
Yeah, Kuro is almost double of Panasonic.
But Kuro is simply the best HDTV out there and me being a perfectionist am tempted :(

I am not in any great hurry. The new tech/models keep coming out everyday and they keep me wanting more than what is available around. It's bad habit that it makes me keep delaying my decision, and it's good that I get better tech at better price - that is when I make the plunge...

To cut things short, end of year would be a good time frame.
I am actually waiting for new line up of Pana and Pio, will do a comparison and then take the final call. Expecting both to come before Olympics 2008.

Also considering the small gap between Pio 42" and Pio 50", might even consider that. probably that's what Pio wants, lol...
Old 14th May 2008, 00:53   #1054

Wow.. The Kuro prices have come down.
The last time i checked(which was a few months ago), the 42" was 1.45 and the 50" was 2.2
Old 14th May 2008, 01:00   #1055

^^Are you talking about the 1080p kuro? The 1.65 price is for the 720p kuro.
Old 14th May 2008, 01:20   #1056

This was not for the FullHD Kuro.
Old 16th May 2008, 23:56   #1057

won a plasma !!

Yes you all read it right.I have purchased a Toyota Corolla.They were running a lucky contest during march.And I have won a 42" Panasonic Plasma PV70.cheers:I bought the car on 31st march after valuable suggestions from tbhpian's (http://corolla at 8.14 lacs ex showr...IT: Now Bought )at 8.14 lacs ex showroom,buy or not? EDIT: Now BoughtI had got a 1 lakh rupee discount and haggled for more discounts from the dealer keeping the OTR below 9.

Mods I wanted to post in the thread I started in what car section but its being closed,hence posted it here.Plz move it to wherever it is appropriate.Would be glad if people who helped me out in what car section know this fact.
Old 18th May 2008, 12:06   #1058

The 42 is too expensive... around 1.3. The 50" is a much more reasonable 1.65. These are prices from the delhi disty.
Wow.. The Kuro prices have come down.
The last time i checked(which was a few months ago), the 42" was 1.45 and the 50" was 2.2
Yesterday I went to Gem Plaza, with half a mind to buy a Pioneer Kuro finally.
But lo, the prices the same as they were earlier 42" - 1.45 and 50" - 2.2 for HD ready models. Full HD is not there in 42" and in 50" its 4.5 lacs!!!
Stupid, Pio is not so expensive abroad, not sure why they are making it so elite here?

Then I went to Panasonic Brand shop in Koramangala. There PV70 is out of stock (read stopped).
8 series is expected in a month or two, so I left my number and asked them to give me a call when it does... :(

Last edited by ST7677 : 18th May 2008 at 12:10.
Old 19th May 2008, 21:59   #1059

did you guys notice this article in Rediff
TV sets to cost more
Television sets may cost more

Also didn't know that 'Under the Free Trade Agreement with Thailand, TV sets imported from Thailand have zero per cent customs duty..'
Old 20th May 2008, 21:23   #1060

ok let me try to charge up the thread....

In a few days the price of flat panel TVs will drop considerably. Why? Because Sony wants to regain its number one market share, so its drastically dropping the prices of its first new 2008 1080p flat panel models in order to pick up more sales volume.
Want more good news? According to a well-placed industry sources, you can expect Sony’s major competitors (LG, Samsung, Sharp, Toshiba) to react by dropping their respective prices too (in May).
Here is an example. Sony’s latest 40” 1080p (1920×1080) HDTV the KDL-40S4100 will have a (suggested minimum price) of just $1199 making a full $500 less than its lowest priced predecessor.
How about a 46” 1080p set? The new KDL-46S4100 will be priced at $1599 (representing a $400 drop). This is Sony’s “advertised price”. The big box retailers Circuit City and Best Buy have been dropping below this minimum advertised price (MAP) 10% or more, only a week or two after other 2008 HDTVs have debuted, so don’t be surprised to see these Sony prices cut quickly by the big box retailers.
What about Plasma? This price marks the first time a 1080p LCD is priced below 1080p plasma. The HD Guru™ expects a lockstep reaction by the big plasma vendors with 2008 product now available or coming to market in May (Panasonic, LG and Samsung).

Source: Psst?Wanna Save Big on a New HDTV? It Will Pay to Wait Till May HDGURU.Com
Old 20th May 2008, 22:19   #1061

How long it will take to reflect the changes in indian market?

Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
ok let me try to charge up the thread....

In a few days the price of flat panel TVs will drop considerably. Why? Because Sony wants to regain its number one market share, so its drastically dropping the prices of its first new 2008 1080p flat panel models in order to pick up more sales volume.
Want more good news? According to a well-placed industry sources, you can expect Sony’s major competitors (LG, Samsung, Sharp, Toshiba) to react by dropping their respective prices too (in May).
Here is an example. Sony’s latest 40” 1080p (1920×1080) HDTV the KDL-40S4100 will have a (suggested minimum price) of just $1199 making a full $500 less than its lowest priced predecessor.
How about a 46” 1080p set? The new KDL-46S4100 will be priced at $1599 (representing a $400 drop). This is Sony’s “advertised price”. The big box retailers Circuit City and Best Buy have been dropping below this minimum advertised price (MAP) 10% or more, only a week or two after other 2008 HDTVs have debuted, so don’t be surprised to see these Sony prices cut quickly by the big box retailers.
What about Plasma? This price marks the first time a 1080p LCD is priced below 1080p plasma. The HD Guru™ expects a lockstep reaction by the big plasma vendors with 2008 product now available or coming to market in May (Panasonic, LG and Samsung).

Source: Psst?Wanna Save Big on a New HDTV? It Will Pay to Wait Till May HDGURU.Com
Old 21st May 2008, 00:12   #1062

Lol, I am not even sure how much to trust this news...
But being a consumer, I hope it is true!
Old 22nd May 2008, 16:47   #1063

Let me wait a lil more to see if its true.

btw, after launch of LG scarlet, Is there a chance of LG pearl back prices coming down?

Any Idea?
Old 24th May 2008, 03:36   #1064

Finally got myself a 37inch Full HD,very rare to find one so as soon as Samsung launched the series5 i jumped on it.
Brilliant TV for a good price...highly recommended.

Now am confused if i should get Tatasky or BigTV...and also home theater was look at the Sony Z250 @ 14.5k for 850watts 5.1...any suggestions??

Last edited by Sahil : 24th May 2008 at 03:37.
Old 24th May 2008, 12:42   #1065

bigTV ? has it been launched ?