Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 30th July 2007, 14:47   #76

You need to connect your Phone line to the BSNL modem.
Then you need to connect the Lan cable(Ethernet) from BSNL modem to the Wireless router.
I assume that when you switch on BSNL modem it connects to net, you don't need to "dial in" from your computer, right?
The router you got is one of the best BTW.
The router quick setup page will tell you what all to set so that you are on the go with minimal effort.
Old 30th July 2007, 15:18   #77

I assume that when you switch on BSNL modem it connects to net, you don't need to "dial in" from your computer, right?
BSNL guys installed broadband in such a way that i have to "dial in" from desktop shortcut evreytime.

As right now my dsl modem is connected to pc with usb cable and not ethernet cable,will it make any difference to the procedure?

BTW,OS in laptop is window vista HP.

And do i need to consult bsnl guys also about net settings?

Last edited by rsjaurr : 30th July 2007 at 15:22.
Old 30th July 2007, 15:24   #78

I suggest you get an ethernet cable.
Step1 : Connect modem to Router with Ethernet cable
Step 2: Connect to router with your LAPTOP through ethernet cable, and then inside the router you can setup "dial in".
So now instead of computer dialing in with Username and password, your router will do so
Step 3 : Set up wireless and surf wirelessly on your laptop, and connect PC with the router via ethernet cable. This way you can simultaneously use PC and laptop and surf web.

The insructions for dialing in with your Wireless router are fairly simple. One point to note, keep the MTU around 1450, with bigger values you may have issues with windows update and all. The router MTU will most probably be set to 1492.
Old 30th July 2007, 16:18   #79

Ok, here is a simple question. Has anyone got a Sify connection running on a WiFi setup? More specifically the Netgear WGR614 router?

If so and it is 100% successful (no jugaad, I know that part) then I would like to know what you did to get the thing off the ground?
Old 30th July 2007, 16:21   #80

well,thanx Tanvir for all the input.
I will be doing it tomorrow and will write my experiences[hopefully better ones] then.

BTW i will only be using notebook and not pc.

Last edited by rsjaurr : 30th July 2007 at 16:24.
Old 8th August 2007, 14:22   #81

Tanvir,i am not able to install this router.

In the last few days i have tried many times,both manual and automatic settings.
I followed all the commands given in the manual cd and i do get final page showing "safe browsing" but when i try to open any website,it doesn't open.

Also laptop works with previous dsl modem provided by bsnl both with wire and wireless(It has a pcmia slot and i put a pcmia wireless card in it given by a bsnl guy who also could not do it).

Am I may be missing something here.Plz do explain in detail...

If it doesn't get installed in 2-3days i will have to sell it on ebay.in and buy that pcmia card from bsnl guy for abt 500rs

Last edited by Zappo : 8th August 2007 at 14:36. Reason: I know you are frustrated but still, not more than 2 smilies please. Just as Fate is 2 faced so are the smiley faces ;)
Old 8th August 2007, 14:39   #82

Oye bando... koi to bataao. Sify connection with Netgear WGR614 router, chalta hai? Does this combo works with 100% success?
Old 8th August 2007, 16:24   #83

i have the wgr614 router but no sify connection. i have used this router with a bsnl connection, more details about your connection and i may be able to help you.
Old 8th August 2007, 17:11   #84

Hey cheap_deal, I have myself also setup this router with Airtel and BSNL connections. Even with Sify it works after a dhakka start.

The problem is that Sify has a dedicated dialer/log-in app. This app takes your userid and password and then logs you in. In doing that it does N nos of tikdambaajis. It checks your system, IE installation and don't know what else. Thereafter it uses a custom encryption (most probably an implementation of RSA) and communicates with the server and gets back a response XML. It then sets up some environment at your local machines and affirms back to the server. This is when your status is logged in.

Problem is that the poor WGR614 router can not do all these for you. And hence it can never log you in. I use a backdoor way to log in. I connect the cable jack directly to my laptop and log in. Thereafter I take out the wire and put it back into the router. And everyone can then surf the net. Obviously this is a major irritant, not to say is also a stupid way to use a router.

Hence I wanted to know if someone has found a way around this problem.
Old 8th August 2007, 23:13   #85

Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
Tanvir,i am not able to install this router.

In the last few days i have tried many times,both manual and automatic settings.
I followed all the commands given in the manual cd and i do get final page showing "safe browsing" but when i try to open any website,it doesn't open.

Also laptop works with previous dsl modem provided by bsnl both with wire and wireless(It has a pcmia slot and i put a pcmia wireless card in it given by a bsnl guy who also could not do it).

Am I may be missing something here.Plz do explain in detail...

If it doesn't get installed in 2-3days i will have to sell it on ebay.in and buy that pcmia card from bsnl guy for abt 500rs
Ok lets go step by step(We have 12 hours time difference, so it may take some time).
For now answer these questions(some may be stupid... but then this is the best way)
1. Do you have an ethernet cable? If not get one
2. When you switch on the modem, does it connect to the internet, or do you have to "dial in" from your computer. If its a dial in, I suggest you tell BSNL guy to make it always on. i.e. modem on means connection to internet, no need of dial in.
3. What is the ip address of your modem most probably it will be 192.168.1.1

Lets go by the step by step process now
1. In your modem settings turn on DHCP. This way when your wireless router is connected to modem it will automatically get IP address
2. In your router there will be a setting "Do you need to dial in", change that, i.e. no dial in
3. In your computer for your wireless connection put turn on DHCP, turn on DHCP in your wireless router also, that way your Laptop will get IP address automatically.

Now you may be getting confused here I know, so If you are confused about what to fill in where, take screenshots of your modem config windows in the browser along with screenshots of Router config windows, and post them on imageshack or something, I will tell you what to fill in where.

One last thing, I presume you are able to connect to the wireless via your laptop but cannot browse the internet.
Can you try opening these sites and see if it works
http://66.94.234.13/
http://66.39.140.204/
http://72.14.253.103/

Last edited by tsk1979 : 8th August 2007 at 23:17.
Old 9th August 2007, 09:07   #86

I've a PC connected to BSNL broadband using wireless router. PC to router connection is through LAN cable. Now I've a wi-Fi enabled phone. Now my question is how can i share broadband connection with my phone?

I'm using PPPoE for dialing in to the broadband connection.

My phone can see the wireless network and gets connected to the network but i can't access net.

Please help

_______
Arup
Old 9th August 2007, 22:18   #87

1. Do you have an ethernet cable? If not get one----I got two.one with bsnl modem and one with linksys

2. When you switch on the modem, does it connect to the internet, or do you have to "dial in" from your computer. If its a dial in, I suggest you tell BSNL guy to make it always on. i.e. modem on means connection to internet, no need of dial in.----I forgot to tell u before,he did it for me and now i dont have to "dial in" when i am using bsnl modem.
3. What is the ip address of your modem most probably it will be 192.168.1.1---yes

Lets go by the step by step process now
1. In your modem settings turn on DHCP. This way when your wireless router is connected to modem it will automatically get IP address---I think its already there as u can see in pic no.11

2. In your router there will be a setting "Do you need to dial in", change that, i.e. no dial in
3. In your computer for your wireless connection put turn on DHCP, turn on DHCP in your wireless router also, that way your Laptop will get IP address automatically.

One last thing, I presume you are able to connect to the wireless via your laptop but cannot browse the internet.---i can connect wireless but with bsnl modem which has pcmia slot for wireless pcmia card .I should have go that instead if i knew that it has that slot.

Can you try opening these sites and see if it works
http://66.94.234.13/
http://66.39.140.204/
http://72.14.253.103/---- yes but with bsnl modem

I took some screen shots with linksys router connected and its manual cd in cd drive.comments are above the picture.

Ist pic

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e298/rsjaurr123/1.jpg

2nd pic after clicking next

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e298/rsjaurr123/2.jpg

3rd pic after clicking wireless set up on left lower corner.

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e298/rsjaurr123/3.jpg

4rth pic after clicking enter manual settings

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e298/rsjaurr123/4.jpg

5th one asking for password and after that nothing happens.It was not the case earlier and after filling some password a window indicating next step would appear

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e298/rsjaurr123/5.jpg

6capture is when i followed what is written on green background in this pic i.e. i press secure easy set up button for one sec,it blinked for 1-2 min and in meantime i clicked 'next', this pic appeared

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e2.../6Capture1.jpg

whether i click next/enter manual settings or press secure easy set up button on router for a sec,always a window in pic 5 would appear.Till yesterday i was able to move forward where router,s own page for settings would appear for configuration especially after i chose 'enter manual settings'.

next few pic are of router web pge which i opened directly by typing 198.162.1.1.Just see if all the setting are fine.

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e2...ng192ini.e.jpg

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e2...cedrouting.jpg

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e298/rsjaurr123/9.jpg

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e2...123/status.jpg

Last pic if of modem indicating hdcp in on.

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e2...aurr123/11.jpg
Old 10th August 2007, 04:50   #88

192.168.1.1 is your BSNL router address, so change the 192.168.1.1 in your wireless router to 192.168.0.1

So here are the settings
1. BSNL settings : Make sure the BSNL modem IP address is 192.168.1.1, i.e. when your connect your laptop directly to BSNL modem and then do 192.168.1.1 you should get config page of your BSNL router
2. Since your BSNL is connecting it fine, leave it for now.
3. Connect the wireless router(linksys) to your laptop and change its IP address from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.0.1. Enable DHCP, so when you connect wirelessly now to your linksys the wireless gateway address will be 192.168.0.1, and DHCP will automatically assign IP address to your Laptop.
4. http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e2...123/status.jpg : This page looks okay, just make the mtu to be 1452 instead of 1500.

Before you do all this, put a pin in the reset slot of your linksys router and reset to factory settings. DO NOT TOUCH advanced routing and stuff for now.
Old 11th August 2007, 14:56   #89

I think router's adapter is dead(hope it not router!!).

Galti se mistake ho gaya,I forgot to add a 240/220-120v converter to router's adapter as there were 4-5 adapetrs lying around.

So now can i just i buy a 220/240v adapter or i have to buy 120v adapter and use converter?
Old 11th August 2007, 20:35   #90

Find out what voltage the router takes in.
Then get a 220V adapter which gives that output or go to an electrical shop and get one made for aroun 200rs.
Make sure if the router port says 9V 1A, you have a 220V adaptor which can do 9V @ 1.5A, if you buy one which is 1A, you will run into problems.