Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 29th August 2016, 15:00   #4756
BHPian

Re: The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by procrj View Post
Slightly OT but couldn't find another thread for the same. Looking to replace a 6 year old desktop with a desktop or an AIO. While the desktop options are clear in my head I am exploring AIOs and hence writing to ask if anyone here owns one and what is upside/downside of shifting to an AIO?

Use: Will be for basic home use i.e browsing, watching videos, music and some very basic office use - excel/outlook etc.
I have been using an HP All-in- One ( HP Omni) at home since the last about three years. It has excellent display and comes about as a compact unit, esp with wireless mouse and keyboard.

Pretty hassle free ownership till a few months ago. Then, one fine day, some horizontal lines started appearing on rhe screen. Was concerned, but soon realised that a typical "tap, and shake" would make them disappear. We attributed them to some UPS malfunctioning, etc. But they kept coming regularly.

When they became prominent, we referred to HP service who said that they have received such complaints and that being in guarantee period, the screen will be repaired free of cost. But we will be without the AIO for 3-4 weeks!!

That was not possible at that point of time, so we continued, tapping and slapping the screen and using it -delaying the replacement to the end of the warranty period, because it was unthinkable to be without the AIO for a month then!

And one day, the lcd screen cracked..!!

We thought that for a few thousand bucks I may be able to get the replacement done locally, thereby avoiding the AIO being taken away for repairs for a month by HP.