Old 6th April 2013, 19:43   #31

Re: Scoop! 2013 Skoda Octavia (MQB) caught. EDIT : New Pics on Pg 1

Rear looks definitely sharper now. Rest of the design looks way too subtle from the pics here.
Black roof surely looks good but I suppose it'll generate more heat inside the cabin.
Old 6th April 2013, 19:59   #32

Originally Posted by Santoshbhat View Post

Any chance you were able to take look at the rear suspension . All UK variants get only a torsion beam set up for the rear. I wish the Indian car gets an all independent setup like the Jetta and current Laura.

Also hope the rough road package available with the current Laura continues and is not left out in the interest of keeping costs down.
I am betting the torsion beam suspension says in order to keep the pricing low and to distinguish this from the Jetta
ajmat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th April 2013, 20:01   #33
AVT

This thing looks sick ! Especially that glossy roof on the white car.
Lets hope skoda powers and prices it right .
Finally I may have a replacement for my cruze.
Old 6th April 2013, 22:29   #34

Originally Posted by Enigmatic View Post
I am glad to see the revival of the Octavia brand name, however as the earlier Octavia was launched in the price range of the current Rapid, people would expect the new Octavia to be priced similarly. But as this is a much better car, it would obviously cost more and would most probably be in the range of the current Laura. Hence wouldn't it be a gamble to carry on the same name which was earlier related to a car that was a segment lower ??
I don’t think the Octavia name will bring any negativity among the buyers. Irrespective of the name, if they launch the car with similar feature-set as sold abroad, it should do well. And IMO, it’s not fair to compare 2012 Rapid’s pricing with Octavia’s pricing many years back. Prices have gone up across segments, especially in the C2 segment and above. For e.g.; a Honda City would have cost around 7-8 lakhs during Octavia’s heydays.

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
- The Rapid like rear is a little downmarket for the Octavia. A more longitudinal one like they are bringing on the new Superb would have been appreciated better. But then they have already done that on the Jetta. So in that much this Octavia's back looks a little downgraded compared to the Jetta.
I also did not like the rear design much. But probably that’s Skoda’s new design language for the small cars. The Indian Rapid, Euro Rapid, and new Octavia have identical designs.

Originally Posted by dkaile
- Indian market specifically needs the higher variants for the Octavia as we would not relate very well with the 'Green Line' variants of the Octavia here in India. Let the 'Amaze' fill that efficiency bracket. I think Skoda/VAG group also realise this fact that they will never be able to compete with the Japs on that account.
Greenline variant is more to cater the manufacturer’s environment friendly credentials, especially in those markets where taxations and running costs are determined by the carbon emissions. I don’t think they will bother to launch the Octavia in India with a ‘green’ 1.6 TDI engine

Originally Posted by dkaile
- Hope they don't downgrade the rear suspension as is suspected on the lower spec variants.
Any chance you were able to take look at the rear suspension . All UK variants get only a torsion beam set up for the rear. I wish the Indian car gets an all independent setup like the Jetta and current Laura.
Also hope the rough road package available with the current Laura continues and is not left out in the interest of keeping costs down.
I believe that’s going to standard for all the variants – at least that’s the case where it’s already launched. From what I have read the independent setup will be there only for variants like the vRS. And as Ajit mentioned, it will help to keep the pricing low compared to the Jetta.
vb-saan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2013, 07:42   #35

What a Looker!!!
The new Octavia definitely looks great. Hope Skoda prices it just right!!
Old 7th April 2013, 09:49   #36

Wow. This thing looks so good. I have been on the hunt for a 10 lac or so sedan for 6 months now and even upped my limit to 15 lacs and almost finalised the elantra which is a terrific package and is doing good sales and is the segment topper at the moment.

The elantra does a cool 750 cars a month and my gut feeling is that this is what the skoda guys are going to target and target hard they are going to. Hyundai will feel the heat now.

The Laura is a terrific package and so is the jetta but their pricing is insane and models touch 20 lacs almost in most cities making it way too expensive.

The key to this segment is 12 lacs to 16 lacs with a various set of variants and keeping safety and entertainment as standard features to make this sell.

The trouble is people these days have no variety in this segment and here is where skoda aims to nail their target. The cruze,jetta, Laura, corrolla and the retired civic now were all segment rulers at some time or the other. The elantra sells more than all these cars combined almost with most cars doing 200 per month. So 750 is a fantastic figure.

Skoda is known for their build quality and they seem to have gained some respect in their a.s.s.

I am going to wait for this as my gut feeling says this is around the corner and not more than a month or two away from launch. These guys are not going to do ridiculous amounts of advertising. The Octavia is an established name in the Indian market and these guys know it. I think they have a winner here. I am betting my money on this. I am sure many have the same thoughts as I do.

Skoda - if you are reading this. Don't be stupid and price this sensibly.
Old 7th April 2013, 10:02   #37

I see a major overhaul of all Skoda sales outlets in Pune. All showrooms now employ the new Skoda logo on their showrooms. It could be that the Octavia would be the first Skoda in India to come with their latest logo.
moralfibre is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2013, 10:25   #38

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
I see a major overhaul of all Skoda sales outlets in Pune. All showrooms now employ the new Skoda logo on their showrooms. It could be that the Octavia would be the first Skoda in India to come with their latest logo.
It'll be seen as a cosmetic change unless they revamp their service support facilities across the country.
And if they're serious enough, a corporate campaign is a must.
Old 7th April 2013, 21:08   #39

As exciting as this prospect is, I am a little apprehensive with the pricing as pect most of us are discussing.

very brutally put, No way is this going to be priced sensibly. When the Rapid was launched, it was slotted 20-40k below the corresponding models of the Vento. I am expecting the same to be followed here in this case. The Octavia will be priced within 50k of each variant of the Jetta. VW has this thing of positioning its cars a notch above the Skodas and for good measure as well.

I read that the current Laura will be sold alongside this Octavia untill the kits go dry. Expect it to run for a few months albeit some discounts.
Old 7th April 2013, 21:36   #40

Clearly it's not a volume generating or segment shaking one. D segment is very tough place for almost all manufacturers. The bad mouth about after sales will take a long time to forget, unless skoda does something revolutionary. I'm one among thousands of customers who love skoda product but hesitate to invest due to the after sales image.
Octavia is an established name in India, but if it's coming in jetta's territory, it's hard to sustain. I seriously hope that Octavia can shake the segment, shake the bad image and reestablish skoda once again in our market. I only hope.
harishpr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th April 2013, 21:48   #41

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
I'm one among thousands of customers who love skoda product but hesitate to invest due to the after sales image.
Exactly my thoughts too. I liked this new Octavia very much, but the after sales is what makes me hesitate too. I like Skoda cars, but for some reason, the stories about Skoda do not inspire enough confidence to go ahead and buy one. I do hope that this Octavia will change the perception and their attitude towards buyers too.
Old 8th April 2013, 10:31   #42

Originally Posted by W.A.G.7 View Post
Exactly my thoughts too. I liked this new Octavia very much, but the after sales is what makes me hesitate too. I like Skoda cars, but for some reason, the stories about Skoda do not inspire enough confidence to go ahead and buy one. I do hope that this Octavia will change the perception and their attitude towards buyers too.

Being a Skoda owner for last 2 years, I think the after sales is going through a transition for the better. Skoda has closed down some of the old sales and service outlets, and the new ones replacing them seem to be more responsive to customer issues. Also owning a Maruti, I feel Skoda's service is a notch better in overall quality. It seems more expensive, but I have realised that when they rectify something, they do it very well. Unlike Maruti, which I have realised, has actually taken me for a ride many times, across various dealerships across three different cities.

VW group seems serious about its plans here. I remember their casual approach when my friend bought his Laura 4 years back. In contrast, I was pampered before i bought my Fabia. I realise that they have a certain work culture thats European, you have to take appointments and stuff, and as long as you comply with their working style, things move smoothly. The cars, as you say, are very good indeed. The issue with spares is being sorted out with news of second depot being established for faster spare delivery.

Does anyone else think the new front end resembles a Bimmer?

Durga Prasan
Old 8th April 2013, 10:50   #43

I have a different question for experts in the forum: the 1.4 TSI, with 122 PS on Jetta didn't feel too great to drive as per the official T-BHP review. What are the chances that:

(a) 1.4 TSI Octavia A7 will be a better enthusiasts' car than 1.4 TSI Jetta?
(b) 1.4 TSI Octavia A7 will be launched in a higher state of tune, i.e. 96 KW or 130 PS, which does not require supercharging?

Of course, none of the above can be exactly known immediately, but simply seeking different views, and trying to see if I can build a pre-case (for myself) for Octavia A7.
Old 8th April 2013, 11:37   #44

Originally Posted by Tats07 View Post
I have a different question for experts in the forum: the 1.4 TSI, with 122 PS on Jetta didn't feel too great to drive as per the official T-BHP review. What are the chances that:

(a) 1.4 TSI Octavia A7 will be a better enthusiasts' car than 1.4 TSI Jetta?
(b) 1.4 TSI Octavia A7 will be launched in a higher state of tune, i.e. 96 KW or 130 PS, which does not require supercharging?

Of course, none of the above can be exactly known immediately, but simply seeking different views, and trying to see if I can build a pre-case (for myself) for Octavia A7.

The 1.4 TSI in the New Octavia produces 140 PS in Europe. Given that the 1.8 TSI in the last generation produced 160 PS in the Indian version as well as the European version, there is every reason to believe that the 1.4 TSI should be tuned to produce 140 PS , like the European cars.

Well 140 PS is certainly better than 122 PS, and the new Octavia will be lighter too, so that should augur well for the power to weight ratio. How the car will ride and handle our roads is upto how they tune the suspension. The car is unlikely to come with an independent rear suspension.

Last edited by Santoshbhat : 8th April 2013 at 11:38.
Santoshbhat is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 8th April 2013, 12:19   #45

AFAIK both the Jetta and the Laura come with multi link suspension (transverse & longitudinal links) mounted on to a common torsion stabilizer bar making this a semi independent system at best.

An all independent system would be McPherson struts all around with or without a trailing stabilizer bar. I doubt very much that any manufacturer would go with these now-a-days as not only is this set up more expensive but the strut's towers eat up a whole lot of boot space. The last vehicle IIRC to offer this set up was the Baleno where all the wheels danced truly independent of the one next door.

All UK variants get only a torsion beam set up for the rear. I wish the Indian car gets an all independent setup like the Jetta and current Laura.
Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
I am betting the torsion beam suspension says in order to keep the pricing low and to distinguish this from the Jetta

A TSI engine is basically an engine equipped with both a turbo & a super charger to begin with. Is it not?

Originally Posted by Tats07 View Post
As I understand, the 140 PS version is a turbo+super charged variant of 1.4 TSI.

Where does the difference arise ? I am saying no independent only multi link. You are saying multi link and even more basic in US Conclusion & concurrence being that there is no all independent suspension.

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
I beg to differ.

The Jetta comes with two types of suspension, the Multilink - for european cars and a more basic set up for the US version. There are big differences between the US spec cars and rest of the world.

The Octavia share this basic set up. Only the high end vRS gets the multilink.

Last edited by khoj : 8th April 2013 at 12:36. Reason: replying to additional posts
khoj is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com