Old 26th July 2017, 18:23   #1396

re: The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs

Originally Posted by NPX View Post
not so
can someone post photoshopped pics of nexon with Hyundai, Suzuki, Honda, etc badges so that we can show those pics to our friends & family to gauge their opinions for nexon.
Originally Posted by akshay380 View Post
Attachment 1660779

Actually I did this few days back and asked about 8 people. Two guessed it right calling a Tata. Rest all wandered from Jeep compass to Hyundai.
I've gone a bit further up the notch
Sorry for the crappy image quality

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-fantasia-painting4.jpg
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-fantasia-painting5.jpg
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-fantasia-painting9.jpg
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-fantasia-painting12.jpg
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-fantasia-painting21.jpg
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-fantasia-painting20.jpg
amrutmhatre90 is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 18:27   #1397

Originally Posted by amrutmhatre90 View Post
I've gone a bit further up the notch
Sorry for the crappy image quality
Is it just me or does the red colour car look so much better with Suzuki logo?

Last edited by suhaas307 : 26th July 2017 at 19:29. Reason: Trimming quoted-post for improved readability
Old 26th July 2017, 18:27   #1398

Originally Posted by spindoc View Post
The Brezza is the closest to the Nexon in terms of height (the Ecosport / TUV300 are much taller) but its shape gives it a definite SUVish (or non-hatchback) character.
Actually, the closest in terms of height is the Honda WRV.

WRV - 1601mm
Nexon - 1607mm

Brezza - 1640mm
Ecosport - 1708mm

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 26th July 2017 at 18:28.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 18:27   #1399

I don't understand one thing, resemblance aside, if the car is looking good, what is the harm? And why take up these topics today? It is there, out on the internet since the Auto Expo. Why keep on discussing the same things over and over again. A father doesn't say to his child 'Damn you look like me man why not something different'. Ranbir Kapoor looks like his mom can't help it. Accept and move on can we.

It is a great effort by a homegrown company. Looks quite different from the competition, great engine specs (on paper), premium looking interiors (from pics).
We should stick to the Car now and not the Family. Eagerly awaiting the first drive reports!

Last edited by driveanddrive : 26th July 2017 at 18:28.
driveanddrive is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 18:34   #1400

Actually, the closest in terms of height is the Honda WRV.

WRV - 1601mm
Nexon - 1607mm
Brezza - 1640mm
I guess I had subconsciously discounted the WRV (maybe owing to me mentally associating it with the Jazz ) - I haven't come across Honda calling it an SUV either.
Old 26th July 2017, 18:37   #1401

Typical for most of the Tata or Fiat threads: Everyone jumps up and down and goes ga-ga when a new product from either stable is launched, and then goes ahead and buys a more "safe" option from one of the top-selling brands.

After all - log kya sochenge? Mere image ka kya hoga?
(Translated - "what will everyone around me think? What will happen to my image?")

The fantastic Nexon is destined for a real steep, uphill climb in the sales charts ahead, however delightful it's final iteration might turn out to be.

How will you convince any of them, little buddy?

RavenAvi is offline   (41) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 18:43   #1402

Originally Posted by YC.BALENO.CHD View Post
Unfortunately the post is written by me. The details were put together before the specs came out and hence the glaring errors. That said, I've made the required changes and tried being more accurate. I have also included a section on the ground clearance. Yes, 209 mm is quite a lot of clearance for a car in this segment. Thanks for the feedback.
I am trying to understand why you would pit it against Ignis! One of the reasons you have mentioned is the price range and its overlap. let me quote from your blog.

Tata Nexon Price (estimated)* ₹ 6.50 lakh – 10.50 lakh
Maruti Ignis Price * ₹ 4.56 lakh – 7.54 lakh
*all prices ex-showroom

Actually I am trying to understand what made you pick Ignis when there are almost every car in the B2/C1 Segment which will overlap in terms of price.The only reason I can see is that both cars don't have conventional shape and are bound to get polarizing views . I don't see a person going to NEXA showroom to buy an Ignis come out and try to compare it with Nexon. he might think of SWIFT or Baleno first and then think of other B2/C1 cars. Vice-versa, if a person decides to go to TATA showroom to checkout NEXON, I would be surprised if he comes out and heads to NEXA instead of checking out Ecosport or Brezza.
I cannot think of any other reason. Am I missing something else? could you please highlight?
RaghuVis is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 18:46   #1403

Originally Posted by nagateja View Post
Thing to note is Bolt is/was a taxi segment vehicle. Now, a potential Nexon buyer wouldn't prefer to buy a vehicle which might resemble a taxi. Thats it.
100% No offense to Bolt users.
Will all due respect, Sir, the biggest hit in the taxi market is/was the Maruti Swift Dzire. This fact had never bothered the general public to go ahead and purchase the Dzire. Similar is the case with Wagon-R. General public loves the Wagon-R and so does the taxi segment. Innova is another example of the same.

So this taxi segment thing is not really thing to bother about. This my opinion.
iamahunter is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 19:18   #1404

By the way, who is the gentleman with spectacles in the tweet?
Those two other @ are the tata marketing team guys welcoming the reviewers. The videos are generic and are for all the reviewing mags/shows.

Last edited by avingodb : 26th July 2017 at 19:21.
Old 26th July 2017, 19:31   #1405

I did not find anywhere proof of auto headlamps and/or auto wipers in any of the spec sheets. Everyone seems very confident about it though.

If it were having auto headlamps, then there would've been a headlight switch similar to Hexa/Aria.

Any confirmation from anywhere?
Old 26th July 2017, 19:41   #1406

Some insight into the design and testing of the Nexon.
Source: Twitter.
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dfqp5zuvwaan3dt.jpg_large.jpeg  

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dfqpatov0aarmtf.jpg_large.jpeg  

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dfqood2voaae31e.jpg_large.jpeg  

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-dfqrunxuaaab7hf.jpg_large.jpeg  

Last edited by prasathlr : 26th July 2017 at 19:43.
prasathlr is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 19:55   #1407

Originally Posted by spindoc View Post
I guess I had subconsciously discounted the WRV (maybe owing to me mentally associating it with the Jazz ) - I haven't come across Honda calling it an SUV either.
They call it WowRV / Winsome Runabout Vehicle.

I don't think TATA calls the Nexon as an "SUV" either. But anyways, all of these products try to steal the same pie of the market. I can't believe I'm saying this, but I would prefer more sedate WRV over the Nexon in terms of (only) looks (Red looks much better than the Blue though). But it's Nexon all the way in terms of interior design, probable quality (seen in pics) and engines (on paper atleast).

If they are calling it an SUV indeed , probably an SUV we need to bend down into? Rather than climb in? Waiting for team bhp review to answer a lot of questions.

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-img_20170726_192358.jpg

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 26th July 2017 at 20:06.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 20:03   #1408

I don't think TATA calls the Nexon as an "SUV" either.
Unfortunately they are calling it so

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-capture.jpg

Source - Nexon Twitter

Last edited by volkman10 : 26th July 2017 at 20:04.
volkman10 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 20:08   #1409

Originally Posted by prasathlr View Post
Some insight into the design and testing of the Nexon.
Source: Twitter.
Thank you very much for sharing the images

And i dont see a reference of INDICA anywhere, considered while designing the NEXON.

All International OE's are identified by a bold, imposing, embellishment of their company Logo on a standard grill across variants.
Tata has worked a lot on re-establishment of its brand,identity, makeover.
Lot of heart, soul and hardwork has gone into each of its new IMPACT vehicles.
But brand bashers, critics, TATA haters will always keep comparing it to past.

All I can say is if anyone calls himself an enthusiast, start receiving whatever market has to offer. Drive,enjoy, review and then share thoughts.

Japs buy Japs, Americans buy Americans, Europeans buy Europeans.They make their brand big.
we can only buy them, never compete with them.

Coming to NEXON, i just hope its numbers blows all bashers away as will its quality, and best in class figures
Sudeep_Kimster is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th July 2017, 20:37   #1410

I believe the ICE offered in Nexon will be the best we have seen from Tata till date.

Also it looks like one can use floating touchscreen for AC control
The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-1.jpg  

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-2.jpg  

The Tata Nexon, now launched at Rs. 5.85 lakhs-3.jpg  

damager21 is offline   (4) Thanks