Old 21st June 2017, 10:19   #646

Jee that's bad. Was thinking Renegade as a competition for Creta. Atleast will give the mass market an opportunity to enjoy a "Jeep" offering.
Old 21st June 2017, 10:57   #647

re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Price leaks intentionally or otherwise( as usual) begins, Fiat will be looking at responses to it!
Attachment 1649990
link

I would believe it would start at an ex showroom price of INR 16 lakhs.

Jeep Compass has cannibalized the Renegade sales in Brazil. Jeep Renegade will most likely not come to India.

Attachment 1649991
Just checked out the Jeep Brazil site.
Interesting to note that the Renegade ranges between 72990 and 136990 Reals while the Compass ranges between 103490 and 154990 Reals.
A tempting dilemma for buyers who look at the higher end versions of the Renegade - these buyers who must be migrating in flocks to the middle versions of the Compass.
I did read in the Economic Times yesterday that the Renegade might come to India with a shocker starting price of just below 10 lacs (with heavy localisation) . If this is indeed true, we might see it coming out to target an entirely different segment (the smaller SUVs, C Segment sedans and premium hatches) - and both the Compass and Renegade could thrive in the Indian market.
Old 21st June 2017, 13:51   #648

Can anyone comment about Jeep's 1.4 Petrol Multiair 2 engine & accompanying Auto Gearbox? There has been no discussion on this part. Is this version even worth considering?
I am in the market with a budget of 20-22L, usage ll be mostly city with 1 trip every week on the highway, auto gearbox is a prime requirement, would love a SUVish car like compass.
Old 21st June 2017, 14:39   #649

I called the Jeep toll free number today to get an idea of the pricing as I'm seriously contemplating purchasing a Compass.
I'm, told that the prices are starting from 18L and shall go up to 22L ex-showroom. The variants offered now are the Sports, Longitude and Limited, where the later two will be offered with FWD & 4x4 varients. All models are now diesel manual only. The Automatic will be launched later, probably the beginning of the next calendar year.

Originally Posted by harshunlimited View Post
Can anyone comment about Jeep's 1.4 Petrol Multiair 2 engine & accompanying Auto Gearbox? There has been no discussion on this part. Is this version even worth considering?
I am in the market with a budget of 20-22L, usage ll be mostly city with 1 trip every week on the highway, auto gearbox is a prime requirement, would love a SUVish car like compass.
I called the toll free to esquire, as I'm planning to book one, that the 1.4 petrol will be available in both manual & auto varients.

Last edited by benbsb29 : 21st June 2017 at 15:43. Reason: Merged back-to-back posts.
abhoumick is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st June 2017, 15:47   #650

Are residents of Chennai lucky to inspect the Jeep Compass anywhere in the city over the weekend? Are any city based dealerships currently displaying the vehicle; or even mall displays for that matter.
Old 21st June 2017, 15:54   #651

From the multiple reviews I've seen on Youtube, they all mention the that Jeep will come with a 1.4 turbocharged petrol engine which generates 160 bhp power with 250 NM of torque, the engine is the same one found in the Punto Abarth which will mated to a 6 speed MT or 7 speed AT and AT only for petrol as of now.

If for occasional weekend or highway trips then this should be okay, a heavy vehicle with a small engine means the mileage might be in just single digits.

Last edited by tjacob : 21st June 2017 at 15:59.
tjacob is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st June 2017, 16:50   #652

Received this from one of the dealers here in delhi:
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-screen-shot-20170621-4.48.15-pm.png  

Old 21st June 2017, 16:52   #653

Thanks to Sairam Venkateshan for sending these images in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this Team-BHP page!

Sairam being a customer of Fiat was invited for the unveiling of the car in Tirunelveli, TN.

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_122908.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_124050.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_124500.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_1245271.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_124539.jpg

Rear cup holder firmly stays in place, not like the other reviewer has mentioned.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_124722.jpg

Brochure pictures:
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140627.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140638.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140650.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140659.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140709.jpg

Some pictures of the information booklet giving some numbers:
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140731.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140739.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140755.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140821.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140830.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170620_140808.jpg

Last edited by Omkar : 21st June 2017 at 16:54.
Omkar is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 21st June 2017, 17:45   #654

Thats why while I already have an AWD (quite an expensive one by my standards), which is highly capable on and off road as per all the reviews and videos and posts
With due respect to the vehicle, I have seen 3 instances where it has failed miserably.
1. In a soft-roading event, it got beached in the first obstacle. It was the only vehicle that got beached and it was not driver error.
2. It could not go to a place in the mountains as it was not able to go up a steep incline. The Duster AWD has been successful in the same place though after a lot of struggle.
3. In another impromptu meet after the rains, several cars went to a field for some mud plugging. The said vehicle got stuck within 10 feet of entering into the field while none of the other vehicles had any problem.

I am not sure about the credibility of the reviews that has mentioned it as a highly capable off-roader, because real world scenarios seemed to be different. It is a brilliant vehicle on the road but off the road, Duster is far more capable. I hope the Jeep Compass will be at least as capable as the Duster AWD. Will wait for the Team Bhp report.
BlackPearl is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 21st June 2017, 17:51   #655

There has been no discussion on this part. Is this version even worth considering?
Because this variant will be launched only in the second phase as per most reports, probably close to the festive season.

Originally Posted by tjacob View Post
From the multiple reviews I've seen on Youtube, they all mention the that Jeep will come with a 1.4 turbocharged petrol engine which generates 160 bhp power with 250 NM of torque, the engine is the same one found in the Punto Abarth
Engine is not exactly the same as in the Abarth Punto. Abarth just had 145hp, and I guess shares the block with this motor.

The difference is the Multiair head which is a solenoid controlled variable valve timing technology, and anyways turbocharged as well. It is in the lower state of tune for our market (Reliability? Poor fuel?) as there is a 170hp version available abroad as well.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 21st June 2017 at 17:57.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st June 2017, 18:30   #656

Engine is not exactly the same as in the Abarth Punto. Abarth just had 145hp, and I guess shares the block with this motor.
Like I said, I got this info from the youtube reviewers, to be specific Auto Portal, the guy even mentions it is the same engine like in the Abarth. These are people who have been to the launch, so not sure where or how he got the information. I obviously cannot confirm any of it.

Anyways, here is the screenshot from the brochure about the engine and also the brochure download link for anyone interested.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-capture.png  

File Type: pdf Jeep-Compass-Brochure.pdf (2.85 MB, 597 views)

Last edited by tjacob : 21st June 2017 at 18:36.
tjacob is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st June 2017, 19:34   #657

I had a quick look at the Compass this afternoon at KHT. The place was packed so didn't spend a lot of time going over details, but the first thing that struck me was the heft of the doors. The doors are HEAVY and it makes my Linea feel like a 'tin can' in comparison. If you want a hernia, lift the hood. I have no idea what FCA had in mind but the weight of the body panels will do old Mercs proud.

The Triple door seals look very impressive, as does the gear knob. I had no problems with space in the front, or the back for my 6' frame.

Back seats don't fold fully flat, just like the Hexa.
keroo1099 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 21st June 2017, 19:53   #658

Originally Posted by tjacob View Post
Like I said, I got this info from the Youtube reviewers, to be specific Auto Portal, the guy even mentions it is the same engine like in the Abarth. These are people who have been to the launch, so not sure where or how he got the information. I obviously cannot confirm any of it.

Anyways, here is the screenshot from the brochure about the engine and also the brochure
Right. I clearly remember the AutoPortal review stating that as well. But the brochure further confirms that it is not fully right, even though they both belong to the same engine family.

TJet was developed from the FIRE engine in 2005, and the Multiair Turbo was developed in 2009. Abarth had the TJet while Compass has the Multiair Turbo.
Old 22nd June 2017, 00:42   #659

Nice! Looks totally different from the usual crossover breed
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-1498072303323.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-1498072319165.jpg  

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-1498072332957.jpg  

itwasntme is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2017, 00:54   #660

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
They have also opened a Showroom in Gurgaon on MG road near Guru Dronacharya station and I am also planning to go there in the afternoon today to see the Compass (I have already prebooked it though!)
Did you go to the Gurgaon showroom? Do they have a Compass on display?