Old 10th October 2024, 17:47   #346

Re: Procedure of renewing vehicle registration at the 15-year mark | It's easier than you think

Originally Posted by sdp1975 View Post
Got my Punto's RC renewal done at the KA51 RTO today through an agent. Total cost was 13K including RTO charges. Most vehicles were yellow board. I reached at about 10-30 am and the inspector arrived at about 12-30pm. The inspection was minimal, the only check was for the chassis number and nothing else.

How long does it usually take for the new date on the RC to show up on the vahan portal ?
For my bike it took about a week for the new date to reflect, this was back in 2022. The inspection happened on the same date as "Fees" and "Entry" below:

Procedure of renewing vehicle registration at the 15-year mark | It's easier than you think-img20241010wa0097.jpg

Last edited by boniver : 10th October 2024 at 17:48.
boniver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th October 2024, 18:01   #347

Re: Procedure of renewing vehicle registration at the 15-year mark | It's easier than you think

Got my Punto's RC renewal done at the KA51 RTO today through an agent. Total cost was 13K including RTO charges. Most vehicles were yellow board. I reached at about 10-30 am and the inspector arrived at about 12-30pm. The inspection was minimal, the only check was for the chassis number and nothing else.

How long does it usually take for the new date on the RC to show up on the vahan portal ?
When we renewed the registration for our Civic in April, it took a whole month and a half before the RC showed up on Vaahan. We dropped in two weeks after the test, they mentioned that everyone was busy with election duty and hence all files were being delayed.

The card itself took around two months to arrive from the RTO(This was Central, HSR layout).

Maybe you should wait another week and see if anything changes. Since you've gone through an agent, it will take much lesser time than ours and he would be your PoC.
CzechItaliaMoto is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2024, 15:31   #348

Thanks to everyone who has posted there experience regarding FC/registration renewal. I went through the thread but could identify clarification to a couple of questions I have.

Is there a per-month Rs.500 (for LMV) fine applicable for late FC renewal in Karnataka? Apparently this is in effect since 2023 April.

Reason for asking: I have two cars who's FCs expired in 2019 and 2020. The vehicles are in excellent running condition.

Another question is: if I try to do this by myself (without an agent), on the VAhan website, should I apply for Fitness Certificate or Renewal of Reigstration (OR both?)

Thanks in advance for your kind advice!
lancer_gypsy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 13:50   #349

Originally Posted by lancer_gypsy View Post
Is there a per-month Rs.500 (for LMV) fine applicable for late FC renewal in Karnataka? Apparently this is in effect since 2023 April.

Another question is: if I try to do this by myself (without an agent), on the VAhan website, should I apply for Fitness Certificate or Renewal of Reigstration (OR both?)
I checked with three different agents and they all quoted the same Rs.500 penalty per month for private vehicle registration renewal, in effect since April 2023. Thus the penalty per vehicle comes to Rs.9000 until current month (Oct 2024). Apart from that the agent quoted approx Rs.7000 in regular RTO fees per vehicle. In total he quoted Rs.22K per vehicle, and also that it may be a bit more than that. I've given him the original RC of both vehicles and advance of Rs.30K; Will keep this thread posted on the updates.
Old 24th October 2024, 11:23   #350

Got my Punto's RC renewal done at the KA51 RTO today through an agent. Total cost was 13K including RTO charges.
Hi sdp1975, Even My Punto at KA51 is due for Renewal next month by 15th Nov. Want to initiate this. Pls private message me the agent details if you have, just in case.

Also I checked the Vahan site with my vehicle details, it says the mobile number has to be updated when I tried that online, it says vehicle is registered in multiple RTOs etc, And asked to visit the RTO for mobile number updation.

Others, Kindly help with the process as I have to renew the registration at 15 years completion by next month. Should we pay the fees online first and then visit the RTO. Does the re-registration has ot happen at same RTO (KA 51) or can it be done at other RTO Like in HSR or Kormangala (KA01). Kindly advice.

Last edited by samsan02 : 24th October 2024 at 11:36.
Old 24th October 2024, 17:05   #351

Originally Posted by lancer_gypsy View Post
Will keep this thread posted on the updates.
The fees for one car (Maruti Zen from 2005, Regn expired in 2020) came to Rs.16362, of which the penalty for late renewal was Rs.9600 and the rest was regular fees. Went thru the agent. His fees (incl what he will share with others) will be an additional 6K approx.
Old 25th October 2024, 18:10   #352

Originally Posted by samsan02 View Post
Hi sdp1975, Even My Punto at KA51 is due for Renewal next month by 15th Nov. Want to initiate this. Pls private message me the agent details if you have, just in case.
I got the registration done from here. His number is on google maps.
sdp1975 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th October 2024, 20:39   #353

My Corolla's RC is due renewal in Nov. The fee payable as per vahan is 11,7xx (green tax of 6k+5k renewal in UP).

My generations old FNG is getting it done through thier agent. Yet to get a quote from him but I believe to avoid hassles best to go through such people. Im a bit sceptical about paying government fee electronically unless specifically told to do so. You never know these people might just refuse to accept the payment receipt & there's absolutely nothing that can be done to recover the money. Better safe than sorry!!

The garage guys will prepare the car for inspection and get the ghe job done. (Anyway, the only issue is front bumper thats gotten off the hooks on one side, courtesy a biker).

Will update on my experience once it's done!!
Old 15th November 2024, 11:13   #354

Originally Posted by Bicycle7385 View Post
Whether anyone dealt with following situation, my two wheeler registration is expired on 2017, now if I want to renew registration, whether I will need to pay penalty for the whole period based upon new charges or can it be based upon what was relevant charges during the last seven years.
I am also looking for the renewal of my old bike (expired in 2020). Please let me know if there is any new info you get.
Old 19th November 2024, 17:47   #355

Originally Posted by kookaburra
I am also looking for the renewal of my old bike (expired in 2020). Please let me know if there is any new info you get.
My bike will be completing 20 years in December and I am looking at RC renewal. I had done the 15 year renewal myself and it was easy (The MVI looked a bit surprised as I had polished the bike and it was shining. He just asked me to start the bike and approved). In the ensuing 5 years, due to COVID and general wear/tear, some rust formed on the bike chrome and there are few scratch marks. So, I am thinking of going through an agent just for passing the bike inspection process (paperwork to be done by me). However, most agents are quoting all inclusive fee from Rs 4.5k~7k for bike RC (though the government fee is just Rs 1200/-). Would a general service and washing/polishing of bike suffice to pass the MVI inspection. I do use the bike regularly for commuting. Any recent bike RC renewal at KA53 (KR Puram) RTO?
Old 20th November 2024, 05:58   #356

Originally Posted by jsriram View Post
Would a general service and washing/polishing of bike suffice to pass the MVI inspection.
+1. I would go with this. Along with right documentation, keep the bike neat and tidy, should suffice.

Last edited by JMaruru : 20th November 2024 at 06:02.
JMaruru is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th November 2024, 16:11   #357

The below was my 15 year experience (second post on page 1). Now i went back to KA03 for the 20 year renewal

Things to do at home
1) Submit the documents and pay the fees online. I also had address change this time
2) Inspite of submitting documents online, i took a print out of the same (just in case)
a) Insurance (though it dint require it online)
b) Pollution
c) RC card original (stapled inside a polythene cover)
b) 2 copies of payment reciept (one to be stamped and taken back as acknowledgement)
e) The forms that are generated by parivahan (Form 33 and 25, in my case)

At the RTO, first get a file from any shop outside and put the documents in it, label the file with your car number, phone number, name and purpose of visit

1) Show the forms at 2nd floor to the counter 7 (i think, forgot to note it). for online submissions, the RTO still has to check and initiate in the system else it gets stuck in limbo
2) Go and join the queue with your car (presently the queue is in the lane of mahalaxmi safety solutions, facing the direction of the RTO (https://maps.app.goo.gl/uTNAHW4sRABVWg1X7)
3) wait and listen to some songs in the car. The inspection can happen at 1130 or 1230.
4) go back to 2nd floor and if the RTO inspector has signed your documents, submit the same to counter # 1 and get an acknowledgement from them.

Tip: Inspection time seems to have changed to 1230 but i cant say for sure. in any case, visit RTO at 11pm and get the counter thing done at 2nd floor and you should be done by 2 pmish.

Originally Posted by ak916 View Post
Sharing my experience of renewing FC for 2005 Zen at KA-03 RTO. Also, you can use it as a to-do guide for KA-03, specifically and RTO in general.
ak916 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 13:03   #358

Hi All

Had a question on FC renewal/ inspection.

Does the owner personally have to visit the RTO for this entire process? Or is it sufficient if a relative/ friend/ driver takes the car?

Are there any signatures required at the time of inspection?
Old 26th November 2024, 17:38   #359

Originally Posted by dhruvagarwal View Post
Hi All

Had a question on FC renewal/ inspection.

Does the owner personally have to visit the RTO for this entire process? Or is it sufficient if a relative/ friend/ driver takes the car?

Are there any signatures required at the time of inspection?
I completed my vehicles RRC ( Renewal of Regn Cert) about 6 months back.
If the forms have been signed by the owner, it's not necessary for owner to be present.
Vehicle should be neat & clean with all lights etc working to complete the FC test. No damages to car ( scuffing is okay I guess)
It's a pretty straightforward process.
Passatman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 18:04   #360

When I did my 20 year RC renewal,I signed all the forms and sent it through a friend. I also was asked to send a couple of photographs of me with the car. One of the front and one of the back with me in the frame.

I don't know whether it is a one off in Tamilnadu,but, this is for your information.

rajeevsulu is online now   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com