View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 14th August 2021, 22:05   #1171

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

Super-agressive pricing, for sure! I guess they are feeding all the fat profits being made from the Thar in here
cool_dube is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:07   #1172

Let me tell you all a little joke -
People : Just wait till Captur/Duster/Kicks/Seltos/Thar/XUV300/Harrier/Safari/ XUV 7OO is launched, then Creta will be dethroned.
End of joke ...
On a serious note, the pricing will surely help get those initial bookings in. As Mahindra did with the Thar, they'll hike up prices soon enough. Don't get me wrong, I love this design of XUV, heck I myself will end up owning one in future ! But I believe Mahindra has few more years to get that "premium brand" tag in Indian consumer's eyes. Wishing Mahindra loads of success in this one !
Akshay6988 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:07   #1173

Originally Posted by Geta View Post
Leave alone Hectors, Harriers, Safaris, Crystas and Cretas.... Who is going to buy even BMW X1s at 45 lacs or an X3 at 60 lacs on the road when you get a 200 PS gasoline engine, 7 airbags and a pano sunroof at less than 18 lacs on road?

Man, this is some serious threat for every car priced between 10 to 50 lacs ...
OTT. X1 or X3 have a different segment of customers. Dont think even a single X1/ X3 sale would be lost to XUV 7OO.

Even Innova Crysta has loyalist and a different segment of customer. Mahindra is far away from Toyota when it comes to reliability.

Creta or Seltos are for a smaller family prefering a lighter compact SUV. However, the pricing may compel few of these customers to have a look into 7OO.

Jeep Compass rivals with XUV 5OO. Again Compass owners are mostly enthusiats or ex fiat owners or know the worth of a perceived over priced Compass.

The direct threat of such aggressive pricing is only on Safari, Hector & Harrier.

Last edited by VWAllstar : 14th August 2021 at 22:08.
VWAllstar is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:08   #1174

Mahindra has put out videos on its YouTube channel that highlight how some of these variants will look.

As for the pricing, what can I say?

Other than I am glad that I got an used car instead of spending on a new one.
JithinR is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:09   #1175

Originally Posted by Geta View Post
Leave alone Hectors, Harriers, Safaris, Crystas and Cretas.... Who is going to buy even BMW X1s at 45 lacs or an X3 at 60 lacs on the road when you get a 200 PS gasoline engine, 7 airbags and a pano sunroof at less than 18 lacs on road?
No one is cross-shopping BMWs with Mahindras. They are buying the badge, not sunroofs. Luxury brands will be the least impacted by this launch. This can be a second car for BMW customers at best.

Great pricing, very good interior, and boring exterior. This will sell like hotcakes. Customers of sub-4m SUVs and even hatchbacks with enough parking space will certainly look at MX variants.

Last edited by sri_tesla : 14th August 2021 at 22:29.
sri_tesla is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:11   #1176

Originally Posted by anb View Post
XUV 7OO compete against Tata Safari. Jeep Compass, BMW X1 etc. are definitely superior in many aspects and belong to a segment or more higher.
I was looking at X1 as a possible upgrade from my current XUV500 AT. Now, with these prices, I will very likely retain the XUV500 and replace wifey's car with the 7OO.

I am sure there are a zillion others with me on this.
Geta is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:12   #1177

Originally Posted by vvivek85 View Post
I hope it's a typo, if not tough times for owners who faces situations to use this spare wheel
Lets hope the price is not a typo.

Last edited by amol4184 : 14th August 2021 at 22:14.
amol4184 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:14   #1178

Excellent pricing ! It's so feel like the introduction of XUV 500 a decade back ! I personally think Mahindra has an AMAZING product planning / pricing team. This is exactly how to create enough hype and a great launch.

I also suspect a booking closure in about 7 days time because it's going to be over whelming than the supply. Knowing Mahindra, they may also give a price protection for the bookings done till then.

I am so tempted to make a booking and take delivery after an year - probably few niggles will be sorted in the mean time and one will get a better car at the same price. This car will make look a lot of products up & below naked with the current pricing / specs. And am so happy that such products will force others makers to stay grounded.

Just think of it, the base version of this car is not too far from some of the sub 4m hatchbacks with half the power / torque figures.

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 14th August 2021 at 22:16.
swiftnfurious is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:14   #1179

I still don't like the looks but that pricing is crazy. Who wouldn't want a full size car with that Mercedes screen and features that people like in Creta. And much more powerful engine. Is there an AWD model as well?
AnandB is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:15   #1180

The elephantine question in the room is, how will M&M manage the deluge of bookings that they will most likely get with these prices? Even if the production lines for their various vehicles are separate, surely many suppliers and vendors would be common? Would be interesting to see what supply chain magic they do once bookings start, specially w.r.t not letting the already much delayed Thar deliveries get even more adversely affected..

Last edited by comfortablynumb : 14th August 2021 at 22:42.
comfortablynumb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:18   #1181

Bootspace with all rows up.

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-8e9948e1417a436d876841d1ad600f1c.jpeg

https://instagram.com/stories/shutte...dium=copy_link
CEF_Beasts is offline   (33) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:19   #1182

Originally Posted by AnandB View Post
I still don't like the looks but that pricing is crazy. Who wouldn't want a full size car with that Mercedes screen and features that people like in Creta. And much more powerful engine. Is there an AWD model as well?
They are giving AWD in option pack . Choose that and enjoy the ride of XUV 7O0.
quattroa4 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:19   #1183

From a confidential source: Looks like almost 2000 units already produced. Mahindra has been prepared this time and they are not planning to do a Thar delivery fiasco this time, but still may end up due to the pricing.

But I am not so sure about the exact numbers.

Last edited by saikarthik : 14th August 2021 at 22:23.
saikarthik is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:19   #1184

Originally Posted by CarNerd View Post
Instead of drooling over features, we should be concerned about the overall length which doesn't look longer than the XUV 500. How is this going to be a spacious 7 seater? I hope the 3rd row is usable for adults and the boot has some space in the 7 seater.
There is nothing like a spacious 7 seater which seats 7 in comfort and also has spacious enough boot space within 5 meter of length. Even larger SUVs like Fortuner/Endeavour or even XC90/Q7/GLS haven't achieved this. Only Kia Carnival which measures over 5.1 meter meets that criteria.
With an available length of around 4.6/7 meter, they need to choose a compromise (or balance) they want to make:
  1. Provide reasonably spacious 3rd row but with almost zero luggage space
  2. Cramped 3rd row and some luggage space
  3. Useless 3rd row seat with decent luggage space
I am for compromise no.1 as at least it can be used as a 7 seater within the city and use it as 5 seater on a highway trip.

Last edited by Guna : 14th August 2021 at 22:20.
Guna is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 14th August 2021, 22:20   #1185

Underwhelming design will soon be forgiven all thanks to stunning pricing and impressive powertrains. Fuss free booking/buying process and niggle free vehicle ownership is all what prospective customers will be hoping for. The game is Mahindra's to lose now.

Last edited by Emvi : 14th August 2021 at 22:23.
Emvi is offline   (7) Thanks