View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 1st August 2021, 17:11   #676

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

The design is not only hideous but is very saddening to see they have messed up a good car. A lot was expected from XUV successor which should have been an ideal upgrade for many. Don't know why they can't make clean designs and a good looking car. It s looks more of a deformed fish to me. After the majestic Thar it's looks like the ugly duckling.
sam_machine is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 18:03   #677

What are those flashy wheels doing in a test lab? I really doubt the authenticity of the spy shots, and definitely trust their design taste! I am still keeping my fingers crossed especially when Mr. bose is around this time! I won’t be surprised if it is a planned marketing stunt? Something biting before a movie release!
Old 1st August 2021, 18:16   #678

I know some of us here believe that the spy pics are distorted/disproportionate hence the car looks uglier than it would be. However, I don’t recall if there’s any drool worthy car from the Mahindra stable.

Now let’s not bring Thar into this.
Old 1st August 2021, 19:07   #679

Originally Posted by andafunda View Post
Let's wait for better pictures and PR leaks (I suspect Mahindra will be rushing to release them now) and give this car a chance, shall we?
I had same thought when I saw images first. But looking at the teaser of infotainment in official YouTube channel, where car image in touch screen is clearly visible, looks like it is The PR leak.
Vishal.R is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 20:13   #680

The so called spy photos really looks distorted .. today saw xuv700 test vehicle on NICE road, Bangalore. It looked proportionate, driver was doing good/decent speeds and good in lane changes too.Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-09b8289e53b047a6bc128852089a3b09.jpeg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-df95b941eed445f0819d7fba2e60f547.jpeg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-f47f9250ff304e2e97a840c438b5258e.jpeg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-479ac104b7d24d3289d8555b8418666e.jpeg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-c33992830da34d43a26cf115361a1941.jpeg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-89abd447745d4cb19098200adaddee15.jpeg

Last edited by raj.barcode : 1st August 2021 at 20:20.
raj.barcode is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 20:23   #681

Originally Posted by sam_machine View Post
: After the majestic Thar it's looks like the ugly duckling.
Really?
I am sorry. But Thar was just an out right photocopy of you know what!!

If you compare to old gen XUV, then it’s fine. This is not new for Mahindra. Take a look at KUV to see how to mess up a car. Guess the guy who designed the KUV got promoted during this lockdown and took care of 700.

When I bought XUV500, it took me an year to adjust to the chesta faux cladding around the headlight. But if this is the teal new XUV700, I wonder how long it would take me to get used to.

It’s two days since I saw the pics. Just can’t get over those. Disgusting. Truly saddened by the turn of events now.
sheelapratosh is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 20:33   #682

Originally Posted by raj.barcode View Post
The so called spy photos really looks distorted .. today saw xuv700 test vehicle on NICE road, Bangalore. It looked proportionate, driver was doing good/decent speeds and good in lane changes
Nice catch

Guess these pictures somewhat lays to rest the speculation that car looks ugly, disproportionate etc. It has got a Kodiaq ish stance and appearance from the rear, more so in the last two images above. Looks pretty good to me. Even the side profile isn't what it is made out to be from those leaked pictures earlier. The negative press basis that would in fact work in it's favour. When the covers are off finally, we all would be in for a pleasant surprise since the expectations has now hit the nadir.

Last edited by Bibendum90949 : 1st August 2021 at 20:38.
Bibendum90949 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 20:41   #683

The pictures surfaced today are truly a disappointment. The features and interiors would be a crowd puller but won't help gain much numbers if the exteriors remain as shown.
On the other hand this may just be a customer clinic to gauge the reaction of the mass public and to tweak the cons as so rapidly being generated by the masses (myself included).
Old 1st August 2021, 21:00   #684

The so called spy photos really looks distorted .. today saw xuv700 test vehicle on NICE road, Bangalore. It looked proportionate, driver was doing good/decent speeds and good in lane changes too.
Thanks for sharing.
I feel that the rear lights are reason that 700 looks UGLY (subjective).
In these test vehicles, you can see the rear lights are camouflaged and therefore only small portion of lights are visible which in fact looks great and proportionate.
Hope they will change the rear lights and all the comments will turn positive.

Just to add more, I have observed that the front lights are part of the bumper as well as the side profile and it looks like they have intentionally made it like this to burn your pockets in case of repairs(Subjective) and same goes for the rear tail lights.
rpmmachine is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 21:30   #685

If the D pillar is not blackened, the side profile and rear quarter actually look decent. The abruptly ending chrome shoulder line can be fixed easily, so is the rear spoiler. Only the tail lamp cluster looks very ugly but I guess we will get used to it.

Last edited by Geta : 1st August 2021 at 21:34.
Geta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 21:58   #686

An update from a friend who works in M&M Supply chain - The launch is likely to happen around Navratri (earliest could be 2nd October). The delay is due to Service parts unavailability; as of now only 10% service parts are available v/s expected demand.
He also confirmed that it will be fiercely competitive in terms of pricing. He gurantei me that it will be worth the wait.

This specific leaked image looks outrightly ugly, mostly due to distorted angles. The contours have been captured incorrectly due to camera position. Car seems more proportionate from the road testing leaks.

And why are we not discussing the offical interior & features releases.
Interiors definitely look subtle and luxurious. Layout is also very clean and timeless. We're going to spend more time inside.
Features are futuristic; at least on the paper.
And the engines are powerful.
Overall it still looks like a strong proposition (may not turn out outright winner on the launch like Seltos).

For me, XUV700 is still on top my shortlist. Let's keep fingers crossed that it will look better in person and in other colors
dh.harshal is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 22:07   #687

The side profile has some XUV500 resemblance, but god knows what happened to the front and rear. The XUV500 had good looks and maybe I was expecting better from the 700. It is a true disappointment and there are already comparisons with the new Tata Safari's looks and the Safari looks so better even though it's a stretched Harrier.
Old 1st August 2021, 22:15   #688

The spy shots are definitely distorted. I feel some one had edited the picture without maintaining the aspect ratio, mostly reduced only the width of picture. You need to get used to the designs of headlight and tail light units(this is really over done). I feel rest all will be in perfect proportion. I think these concerns in the market will work in favor of Mahindra, since the expectation is low now after seeing these spy shots. But that is a matter of just 15 days and when they unveil the actual final version which will be in perfect proportion, people will be amazed. All blings and sector first features will make sure that Mahindra has a successful product in XUV700.
Old 1st August 2021, 22:18   #689

I have just this to say. Thank God they have managed to snag Pratap Bose. This is simply a crowning example of their idiosyncratic designs. The rear looks positively hideous. And that too in a premium segment.

Drive on,
Shibu
shibujp is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st August 2021, 22:52   #690

The so called spy photos really looks distorted .. today saw xuv700 test vehicle on NICE road, Bangalore. It looked proportionate, driver was doing good/decent speeds and good in lane changes too.[ATTACH=09B8289E53B047A6BC128852089A3B09.jpeg]2186873[/ATTACH
Great pics, the car doesn't look very bad or disproportionate in these. Looks like a slightly bigger XUV and will appeal to those that like the earlier design.

These also confirm the spy shots, the chrome strip does extend to the d pillar and ends abruptly midway.

Last edited by Sheel : 2nd August 2021 at 17:37. Reason: Broken quote tag fixed.