View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 6th August 2021, 05:58   #781

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

I have to say, looks much better than the pictures leaked earlier and the new logo looks better than the outgoing one. I think Mahindra has a winner on their hands. Even if there are some weird aspects of the design, but let's face it, majority òf the customers would want it nonetheless as not many will care about them as long as there are features and the car is proportional enough and looks decent because first gen sold quite well despite being kind of an ugly duckling.
Old 6th August 2021, 07:15   #782

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
Is the XUV700 getting four wheel drive, OR would it continue with Mahindra's 4-door family theme of 'two wheel drive variants only'?
XUV700 will be available with the option of All-Wheel-Drive as mentioned officially on their website:

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-xuv700awd.jpg

Source: https://auto.mahindra.com/suv/xuv700
techdarshan is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 08:13   #783

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

Haha. See? There was nothing to worry about! Looks pretty good in my books.

Only need to wrap those "Fang" DRLs in body color.

But really anticipating AT+AWD and hope people on olx won't lie about it few years down the line.
Old 6th August 2021, 08:15   #784

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
Is the XUV700 getting four wheel drive, OR would it continue with Mahindra's 4-door family theme of 'two wheel drive variants only'?
I don't know what you're referring to. The XUV5OO, Scorpio, Thar and Bolero all have/had AWD/4x4 variants on offer (temporarily discontinued on the XUV500 as far as I know).
CapKoura is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 09:10   #785

The new XUV700 looks a lot better in the new pictures. The earlier spy shots looked a bit distorted to me and now it feels good to see the car undisguised.
Although I would still have liked a more Horizontal or upswept Window line and roof line towards the D-Pillar. The current rear profile has a downward dip which makes the car look a bit saggy in my honest opinion.

Lets see how the XUV700 holds its ground in its new segment among the competitors.
Old 6th August 2021, 09:27   #786

Originally Posted by CapKoura View Post
I don't know what you're referring to. The XUV5OO, Scorpio, Thar and Bolero all have/had AWD/4x4 variants on offer (temporarily discontinued on the XUV500 as far as I know).
Mahindra discontinued 4X4 variants on Bolero, Scopio, XUV500 towards the end of 2019 itself, after that you could only buy one if dealers had any left over stock. The option was removed from their websites in early 2020, and no 4x4 in the BS6 variants as well. So for more than a year there are no four door Mahindra 4x4s for sale in India.

The only Mahindra 4x4 available is the Thar. Hence the question will XUV700 also be 2 wheel drive only?
shortbread is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 09:33   #787

Originally Posted by gthang View Post
Living in a state of denial that this is a ground up design rather than a reworked Alturas which it is. The two years of development were probably spent in legal wrangling to get it from Ssangyong..... And since the Alturas was a Ssangyong Rexton which was a Mercedes ML, Mahindra probably found it fit to take inspiration (read:copy) from its shared heritage with MB for the large lcd dash and translated (read: paste) it for Indian requirements.
Ermm... Sure talking about the XUV700?

The Alturas is a BoF SUV, while the XUV700 is clearly a monocoque model. The only plausible way is for Mahindra to use the Sangyong Korando as a base for the XUV700, but looking at the scoop pics, it feels like Mahindra has decided to go for a heavily reworked XUV500 than taking from Sangyong like in case of the XUV300.

And I believe while the 2.2l diesel is still Merc derived, the new Rexton/Musso have in-house developed platforms than the old ML derived ones. Frankly the horizontal screens have become a design norm now, rather than terming it as copying. If so, Kia clearly copied from Merc for the horizontal screens, while Merc/Ford must have copied from Tesla for the vertical screens.

Last edited by DicKy : 6th August 2021 at 09:39.
DicKy is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 09:53   #788

To my untrained eyes, even with the newer leaks, the car looks as ugly as it did in the previously leaked images.

There’s just too much going on - Oversized lights, claws and what not. On the other hand Tata Safari, with a similar stance looks subtle and modern. The only way I am betting my money on the “oo” is when this drives significantly better than the safari. Otherwise I see no reason to tolerate this gaudy design.
Rajiv0909 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 09:58   #789

Huge relief that the looks of the vehicle are not disproportionate like the previously leaked pictures.

It looks very good. The DRL is very inspired by Renault.
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-renkol.jpg  

Mafia is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 09:58   #790

MM Boss : we are getting lot of bad press with the awful leaked pictures. What do we do.

Le Marketing Head : Start a campaign to highlight the features, the lights, the Sun roof etc.

Le PR Team : issue a gag order on all auto jurono.

Le Intern : just send out an undisguised car in the best color on a clear day and make sure some one captures it in a very short "scoop" video.

TaDa ��

Will still say MM blew a golden opportunity to prove that Thar was not a copy and they have a very capable design team. They have just reworked the xuv500. God know how will they justify the rear haunches or the Flang lights.
docted is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 10:08   #791

Looks significantly better than the previous images,
But still a facelift, does not look like a new generation product
Hyundai is at another level in launching new generation, every generation change offers freshness and a high level of excitement. It feels like a new car altogether (i20 > Elite i20 > new i20 all 3 very different, Creta > new Creta, Santro Zip > Xing > new Santro)

If Mahindra wants to charge premium it needs to offer more than this
Asoon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 10:08   #792

From this latest video, it is obvious that the new XUV700 is very much an "XUV500" in form and body lines. However, the vehicle seems to be wider and lower than its predecessor. That wide grille may divide opinions for sure. Also it remains to be seen if the large lamps gel well with lighter color shades.

For me this is no big stride in design or styling by Mahindra, but a mere evolution of the XUV500 design - nothing radical than that! The design also has a hint of MG Hector and the wide toothed grille has strong "Chinese copy" vibes to it. Looks aside, the real world performance and capability of the car is much anticipated. I surely will be visiting this in a showroom for a test drive in the coming weeks.
Miel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 10:36   #793

Taste is subjective and I was never a fan of the original XUV 500 when it was launched. But the sheer presence of the vehicle around everywhere, for the last decade or so has grown on me. It now looks sedate and understated compared to the new one. I think the new one too will grow on me. But I don't like it now.
Old 6th August 2021, 10:38   #794

I remember hating the 2020 Creta for its looks. But then it grew on us and now we own one too! In my opinion 700 looks a little OTT but nothing you can't start liking.
MIKHILMUTHREJA is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th August 2021, 11:12   #795

What this new XUV7OO did to me is: instantly connect the car with its predecessor, the XUV5OO, the overall proportions, lines and design elements make sure that you know where it is all coming from.
Something that Tata failed to do with the Safari
NiInJa is offline   (2) Thanks