Tata Indica Dicor 30 5.51%
Palio Stile 1.6 72 13.24%
Voters: 544. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th March 2008, 19:36   #196

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
Now 50K means a lot of money to most of the <5L car buyers. How many would decide to spend that much more for the FIAT tag. And another question that comes up is if he is willing to pay that much extra wot he eventually decide to pay another 20K extra and settle for the Maruti Tag.

If you ask me, selecting a car is like being in love.

My dad goes "Look at Rani M, she is from a good family, She is fair, she has a good job, but she is a little short all right and I dont know why you are after that Nandita D"

"Dad, but I dont love Rani"

All the technicalities & finances of the matter after a point are mere details. But, thats just me!
Old 15th March 2008, 20:58   #197

Hmm.. not sure of that rockyheights that was what the sticker said. I will check it out once more when I go there again. But I wasn't impressed with the salesman at all, a customer ready to shell out 5 lakhs and they make it look as though we were looking for some potatoes
Old 15th March 2008, 21:30   #198

Originally Posted by rockyheights View Post
If you ask me, selecting a car is like being in love.

My dad goes "Look at Rani M, she is from a good family, She is fair, she has a good job, but she is a little short all right and I dont know why you are after that Nandita D"

"Dad, but I dont love Rani"

All the technicalities & finances of the matter after a point are mere details. But, thats just me!
If you want to purchase a FIAT, you should definitely fall in love with the car. That is how I purchased the car. If you are not in love, you cannot as there is so negative around the company. Even the guy who never owned a car/Fiat suggests you not to purchase.

-BSR

Last edited by rao_battula : 15th March 2008 at 21:30. Reason: In complete sentence
Old 15th March 2008, 21:30   #199

Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
@zaks and @gemimthomas - 50K difference on OTR price means 250 to 500 difference per EMI. Is that a serious difference?
How ?
At current rate of interests, EMI is almost 2100 - 2200 per lac for 5 years.

This would mean a difference of >1000 for a 50k price difference.
Old 15th March 2008, 21:36   #200

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
higher torque at lower rpm's should give better FE
12.4 kgm @ 2600 rpm (For GLX)
10.2 kgm @ 2600 rpm (For GL, GLE, GLS, GLG)

If what you're saying is in fact true, the 1.4L XETA GLX would offer a better FE than the other XETA 1.2L variants?
Old 15th March 2008, 22:54   #201

Originally Posted by luvjascha View Post
12.4 kgm @ 2600 rpm (For GLX)
10.2 kgm @ 2600 rpm (For GL, GLE, GLS, GLG)

If what you're saying is in fact true, the 1.4L XETA GLX would offer a better FE than the other XETA 1.2L variants?
Dude Indica 1.4 has more displacement too CC plus it churns out more BHP.
Old 15th March 2008, 23:07   #202

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Dude Indica 1.4 has more displacement too CC plus it churns out more BHP.
I understand that the 1.4L XETA has a larger engine, as compared to the other 1.2L XETA variants, and that's precisely my point. How can a larger engine provide a better FE than a smaller one?
On the contrary, the 1.4L XETA provides higher torque at lower rpms (which translates to better FE) than the other XETAs that provide lesser torque at the same rpm.

I am confused.
Old 15th March 2008, 23:50   #203

I understand that the 1.4L XETA has a larger engine, as compared to the other 1.2L XETA variants, and that's precisely my point. How can a larger engine provide a better FE than a smaller one?
On the contrary, the 1.4L XETA provides higher torque at lower rpms (which translates to better FE) than the other XETAs that provide lesser torque at the same rpm.

I am confused.
The qeustion was wheter keeping everything else the same. WOuld lower torque at same rpm give more mileage. Was referring to the swift and palio diesels which have everthign same except torque figures.
Old 15th March 2008, 23:55   #204

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
The qeustion was wheter keeping everything else the same. WOuld lower torque at same rpm give more mileage. Was referring to the swift and palio diesels which have everthign same except torque figures.
You mean, that the 'higher torque at lower rpm translates to better FE' rule applies only when comparing two vehicles of the same engine size, i.e. 1.2 and 1.2 or, 1.4 and 1.4, but with different torque figures. Correct?
Old 16th March 2008, 09:10   #205

This topic also talks about Getz CRDi , so here are its power and torque
Max Power = 110ps@4000rpm
Max Torque = 235 Nm @1900 rpm ( the highest compared to the other cars in this topic )
Old 16th March 2008, 11:10   #206

I am confused between palio multijet and indica dicor. (dicor is 50k less than palio)

50k is a big amount. Isnt it.

Please advice me
Old 16th March 2008, 11:35   #207

You mean, that the 'higher torque at lower rpm translates to better FE' rule applies only when comparing two vehicles of the same engine size, i.e. 1.2 and 1.2 or, 1.4 and 1.4, but with different torque figures. Correct?
Yes only applies when engine displacement and BHP is same.

Eg.
Car A: 1.1L 50BHP@5000 RPM, 120NM @2000 RPM
Car B: 1.1L 50BHP@5000 RPM, 140NM @2000 RPM
Old 16th March 2008, 14:10   #208

Originally Posted by adityakavoor View Post
I am confused between palio multijet and indica dicor. (dicor is 50k less than palio)

50k is a big amount. Isnt it.

Please advice me

To keep it simple, when indica new V3 version with fiat multijet will be launched it will be priced in same bracket as Palio 1.3 multijet.
So, comparing an Indica DICOR with 1.3 multijet for 50 k does not makes much sense. If you go by the built quality of fiat and worldwide acclaim of award winning Fiat 1.3 mjd engine.
Just sit in indica DiCOR and then Fiat Palio I hope you'll feel where does 50k goes. All these are my personal opinion, so critics please no bashing.
Old 16th March 2008, 15:19   #209

Originally Posted by sameer551 View Post
To keep it simple, when indica new V3 version with fiat multijet will be launched it will be priced in same bracket as Palio 1.3 multijet.
So, comparing an Indica DICOR with 1.3 multijet for 50 k does not makes much sense. If you go by the built quality of fiat and worldwide acclaim of award winning Fiat 1.3 mjd engine.
Just sit in indica DiCOR and then Fiat Palio I hope you'll feel where does 50k goes. All these are my personal opinion, so critics please no bashing.
The dealer in bangalore is also giving a 20 cash benifit with leather upholstry with dicor.

No offers for palio though.cheers:
Old 16th March 2008, 19:45   #210

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Yes only applies when engine displacement and BHP is same.

Eg.
Car A: 1.1L 50BHP@5000 RPM, 120NM @2000 RPM
Car B: 1.1L 50BHP@5000 RPM, 140NM @2000 RPM
That clears everything, thanks man!

Originally Posted by adityakavoor View Post
The dealer in bangalore is also giving a 20 cash benifit with leather upholstry with dicor.

No offers for palio though.cheers:

Dude, you are better off with an Indica DiCOR. 50K is a significant price difference between the two vehicles, and if you were to do a comparison, the DiCOR is better equipped, in terms of features.
It is a total VFM vehicle, with a very refined diesel engine. Besides, if the dealership's offering you a 20K cash discount, with leather upholstery, I'd close my eyes and go with the DiCOR.

Moderator's note: Please use the same post to manage content for upto 20 minutes. I trust this would be the last such reminder needed.

Last edited by theMAG : 16th March 2008 at 22:29.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com