Old 31st October 2014, 09:02   #9886

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post

Since your friend is based in a rural area, both the above cars are not suitable for him, as he plans to keep the car for next 5 years, by which time the cars will be more than 10 years old.

If his budget is limited, I will suggest him to stick to Maruti / Hyundai Cars when it comes to long term ownership and spare parts availability in rural areas.

Thank you!

When I say rural area , its less than 20 kms away from Kochi city where all these dealers are present. His usage is mainly for occasional local trips.
Old 31st October 2014, 09:21   #9887

I would have gone for the Ford Fiesta given the excellent handling and driving dynamics and would be a grand upgrade from the M800. But given that your neighbor is based out at rural area, it would make more sense to invest in makes from Maruti or Hyundai since their spare parts are readily available. A well maintained Esteem or Dzire would be more practical in this case.

Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
My neighbour, a young guy, is looking for an upgrade from his Maruti 800 and shortlisted two pre owned cars:

1. Ford Fiesta Classic 1.4 Zxi - 2007 May - 52000 kms - 2.5L negotiable
2. Mahindra Logan 1.6 GLX - 2007 - 52000 kms - 2L

He is based in Kochi rural and monthly usage is not more than 500 kms. He wish to retain the car for next five years. Both cars are single owner and service history available.

What is the fair price for above cars? Which one is best suited in terms of maintenance and spare parts availability?
CountMe91 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2014, 16:49   #9888

For sale:
Car: Tata Safari Dicor 3.0
Model: 2006
Odo: 109,000
Condition: Engine is superb, boot door has rust.

How much can I expect as a good deal?
Old 1st November 2014, 23:51   #9889

Sold 2009 February Fiat Linea Emotion Pack MJD run 113000kms for 2.85lakhs.
Was getting quotes from 1.5 to 2.2.
Got a decent quote so sold her, moreover after a couple of months the car would be a year older which again would have hit the value.
I think I got a nice price considering it was a Fiat that too had clocked 100,000kms.
Had she had a suzuki badge upfront might have bagged 50 k extra.
ishlinea7260 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2014, 00:06   #9890

Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
Thank you!

When I say rural area , its less than 20 kms away from Kochi city where all these dealers are present. His usage is mainly for occasional local trips.
Dont call of any of the places in Kerala as Rural ..20 km from Kochi is Metro!!!

Since the plan is to keep 5 years, I suggest not to consider both. Ford will be too expensive to maintain, Logan may not be reliable after an age.
arjithin is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2014, 10:47   #9891

A friend of mine is looking to sell his Swift VDI Dec 2008 in bangalore . Its done 75000 kms. Its reasonably maintained but has a few dents and scratches. how much should he be asking for it? Insurance is valid till June 2015

Last edited by zombiedriver : 2nd November 2014 at 10:56. Reason: forgot to mention the city
Old 2nd November 2014, 11:25   #9892

Originally Posted by zombiedriver View Post
A friend of mine is looking to sell his Swift VDI Dec 2008 in bangalore . Its done 75000 kms. Its reasonably maintained but has a few dents and scratches. how much should he be asking for it? Insurance is valid till June 2015
Your friend should get about 3.5-3.75. A friend of mine sold his 2010 Ldi done 1.36L kms for 3.25L, tyres needed replacement and some body work, suspension etc about 25K worth of work pending.
zulfi hansi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2014, 12:24   #9893

how much can I get or expect for a RITZ that was bought in feb 10 and manufactured in Nov 09. It has done 50k.
Old 2nd November 2014, 14:20   #9894

Originally Posted by ubermeow View Post
how much can I get or expect for a RITZ that was bought in feb 10 and manufactured in Nov 09. It has done 50k.
Diesel or petrol? Which variant? Which city?
Old 2nd November 2014, 14:25   #9895

I am getting a civic 1.8V Auto Sunroof , Top Model 2012 Aug for 8Lacs .Mileage is 17K Kms . I just want to be safe that i dont own a white elephant . Usage will be about 1000KMS per month . Looking to keep it for about 8-10 years. Any pointers on routine expenses with civic , major service costs , spare parts cost ?
Old 3rd November 2014, 12:23   #9896

Folks, I'm being offered a Honda City May 2012 VAT by an individual in Pune.

It has 17 K on it and 2 large scrapes on the doors. Otherwise it's in very good condition.

They are asking 7.5 for it but I feel they should be negotiable. Service history is clean.

What would be a reasonable price? I understand that Honda City resale has gone lower due to release of new City version.

Old 3rd November 2014, 14:06   #9897

Originally Posted by vipul_bscity View Post

It has 17 K on it and 2 large scrapes on the doors. Otherwise it's in very good condition.

They are asking 7.5 for it but I feel they should be negotiable. Service history is clean.

What would be a reasonable price? I understand that Honda City resale has gone lower due to release of new City version.

VAT was the costliest Civic. In 2.5 yrs they are taking a big hit selling for 7.50L.
But from your perspective, try getting it to 7L. Civic is a beautiful machine that ages slow. It will serve you for years to come.
Old 3rd November 2014, 21:09   #9898

Originally Posted by vipul_bscity View Post

Originally Posted by itsashishsharma View Post
VAT was the costliest Civic. In 2.5 yrs they are taking a big hit selling for 7.50L.
But from your perspective, try getting it to 7L. Civic is a beautiful machine that ages slow. It will serve you for years to come.
I guess vipul mentioned about the CITY and not the CIVIC.
Old 3rd November 2014, 22:08   #9899

How much should I pay for a Grand i10 Asta AT March 2014 (purchase should be around 6.4L on road in Delhi)?

The car is reasonably well maintainted, has run 8000 kms; and the seller is an individual.

Last edited by barcode : 3rd November 2014 at 22:10.
Old 4th November 2014, 01:24   #9900

Originally Posted by barcode View Post
How much should I pay for a Grand i10 Asta AT March 2014 (purchase should be around 6.4L on road in Delhi)?

The car is reasonably well maintainted, has run 8000 kms; and the seller is an individual.
I am not sure there would be much difference in the OTR price and what the seller is expecting. How much is the seller asking for? At best you can deduct 20% depreciation. I personally feel it's more worth to buy a new car since the difference may not be significant.