Old 28th February 2013, 12:33   #6736

Re: The Good Deals on Used Cars thread

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Instead of just putting up what we see in the ads, I think this thread would serve a better and sharper purpose if we put up only personally well known cars or already inspected cars which we can vouch for. Ads carry all sorts of lies and only a personal inspection of the vehicles and their papers will give us any idea if that car is worth a shout here. Just my .02.
Only a person who is interested in a car will inspect the car and go through all that trouble. In this case, even a person who is just browsing classifieds can post something here if it looks like a good deal. This thread is just to bring to the notice of people who are interested, the good deals available which may have been overlooked.

Of course I also mentioned in case a person's friend or acquaintance is selling a car which he can personally vouch has been well kept then that too can be posted here.
Akshay1234 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th February 2013, 12:51   #6737

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Posting this on behalf of my friend who's looking for a 2nd car (sedan) that he can mod/tinker around during the weekends and specially for weekend runs.

He's found 2 options in Bangalore:

1. 2001 Honda City 1.3, 2nd owner, 67000kms, zero accident, 90% maintenance history, old tyres, for 1,90,000
2. 2001 Mitsubishi Lancer, 1st owner, 79000kms, zero accident, 100 maintenance history, new tyres, new battery for 2,10,000

His budget is about 1,50,000 in which i think he can get Honda city. But what do you think is the right price? Also, which is a better car for modding out of these two?
Old 28th February 2013, 12:59   #6738

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
Many times when we are going through classifieds, we will see a car which looks like a good deal. It may have run very few kms, or the conditio

I'm gonna start off with 2 cars -

City : Mumbai
Make and Model : BMW 530D
Year : 2010
Kilometers run : 5000
Asking Price : 30,00,000
Link to ad : http://www.carwale.com/used/cardetails.aspx?car=D422547
ndition, or cars at a good price, or cars which are not listed anywhere but you can vouch for.
Superb Thread akshay1234
I spoke to the delaer for 530D & he says he cant sell the car below 29L.
For a 2010 BMW 530 D,the correct price should be between 23-25L IMO.Any inputs?
Old 28th February 2013, 13:06   #6739

Originally Posted by kedarwalke View Post
Superb Thread akshay1234
I spoke to the delaer for 530D & he says he cant sell the car below 29L.
For a 2010 BMW 530 D,the correct price should be between 23-25L IMO.Any inputs?
I think 25l should be a fair offer, even 26 since the car has run so little. Offer him 25. Tell him you are getting new shape 525Ds for the same price.
Akshay1234 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th February 2013, 14:01   #6740

Again requesting you to only post pics of ads which are of low run kms cars, or cars in great condition, or cars at a good price, or cars which are not listed anywhere but you can vouch for.
Akshay,

I am trying to decide between a new 320d and a used 525d but I was having trouble finding a good used car, so I was going to write to you for help and you started this thread. Good job, mate.

I think 25l should be a fair offer, even 26 since the car has run so little. Offer him 25. Tell him you are getting new shape 525Ds for the same price.
Someone has quoted 35 for a Dec 2010 525d. I will need some help in bringing this down to 25 or for sourcing a 525d for 25. I am messaging my number to you. Thanks.

One of the concerns in buying a used car is that the seller has tampered with the odometer to show a lower mileage.

I find it hard to believe that someone who bought a BMW 530d or a Honda Accord V6 would have driven it for just 5000 kms in 3 - 4 years. These are driver's cars and I would like to assume that those who bought them would have loved driving and made the most out of their prized acquisitions.

I think used car buyers should simply start ignoring the mileage stated and stop giving a premium to cars with low mileage.

Last edited by lapsi : 28th February 2013 at 14:15.
lapsi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2013, 15:01   #6741

Originally Posted by lapsi View Post
Akshay,

Someone has quoted 35 for a Dec 2010 525d. I will need some help in bringing this down to 25 or for sourcing a 525d for 25. I am messaging my number to you. Thanks.
Buddy I think I confused you a bit with my earlier post. I didn't mean a new shape 525d for 25, but for 30l. My guess is you could bargain that down from 35 to 31 or so, which will be a pretty good deal. Otherwise there is a new 530d done 4k kms on sale for 42, which you can probably get for around 38-39.
http://www.carwale.com/used/cardetails.aspx?car=D421882
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2013, 15:28   #6742

Buddy I think I confused you a bit with my earlier post. I didn't mean a new shape 525d for 25, but for 30l. My guess is you could bargain that down from 35 to 31 or so, which will be a pretty good deal.
Yes, now it is clear. It is a park and sale car. I had spoken to the dealer before your post and I have offered 27-28. Lets see.
Old 28th February 2013, 21:17   #6743

How much can i expect for swift petrol 2007 vxi model having run close to 60k

This is in Bangalore.
Do the accessories have weightage?

I have all five yoko a drives run around 10k only.
Apart from that i got a new battery.
And art leather seats and audio system with jbls

Also i got few dents. What kind of hit does it take? I can repair it if it pays

Last edited by rajshenoy : 28th February 2013 at 21:40.
Old 28th February 2013, 21:22   #6744

Originally Posted by creative420 View Post
1. 2001 Honda City 1.3, 2nd owner, 67000kms, zero accident, 90% maintenance history, old tyres, for 1,90,000
2. 2001 Mitsubishi Lancer, 1st owner, 79000kms, zero accident, 100 maintenance history, new tyres, new battery for 2,10,000
I think the Lancer is super over priced. It should be under 1L. I have a 2002 lancer and the best I can get now in the market is about 1L. Might go up a little bit as a result of the Alloys but not by much. I know someone who might be thinking of selling his 2002 sfxi, let me know if you want me to find out the details.

Don't know about the city.
thewhiteknight is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2013, 10:05   #6745

Originally Posted by infotech58 View Post
In 14-15 lac you can buy 2 used CRVs.
3-4 years old CRVs go for 7-10 lac depending upon condition.

Recent Example: check this post - A BHPian picked up a '09 CRV for 8.5 lac:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post3044222

Another friend of mine, in NCR, was offered a 2008 CRV for 7.5 lac not too long ago.

You can get a 2008/2009 Accord for less than 10 lac very easily too.
Hmm..... Because there arent too many CRVs being bought and sold, it seems like theres no market price on this. Dealers are offering ~14L for a 2010 CRV with about 35K on the odo.

If a 2008 CRV went for 7.5L, then would the fair price for a 2010 model be somewhere around 12?
Old 1st March 2013, 11:09   #6746

Originally Posted by r_devakumar View Post

For a 2009 Cedia sports (all stock) wih 45K KMs in Chennai, the asking price is 5 Lakhs. I am yet to see the car, and as per the seller the car is in very good condition and has full maintenance history. Is the price is ok? How much i can ask for assuming the condition is good? The price i am thinkning is 4.5L max.

Devakumar
Hello Devakumar,
Considering that the prices in South India are generally higher than rest of India, a 2009 Cedia should around 4-4.25L range. If the car's good then start with 4L & settle @ around 4.25L.

Since you mentioned that the car's in stock condition,I'm assuming that the car's tires are also stock. At 45K kms the tires are at the end of its life. So that's an immediate expense of 20-25K's.

Hope this helps,
Varun

Originally Posted by creative420 View Post

His budget is about 1,50,000 in which i think he can get Honda city. But what do you think is the right price? Also, which is a better car for modding out of these two?
Hello creative420,
Between the City & Lancer, I'll take the City. Cause I believe, spares are relatively easier to source.

However, I find it a hard to believe that a 2 owner City has done only 67K's, that too in the last 12 years??!! Please check for odo tampering.
As for the price, both cars are overpriced. A lancer should cost max.1.25L & for 1.9L you can get a City 1.5. A 1.3City in the range of 1.5-1.75L

Advice -
There are many City/Lancer's around. Tell your friend to take his time & choose wisely.

Varun
powertrain is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2013, 13:36   #6747

Originally Posted by powertrain View Post
Hello creative420,
Between the City & Lancer, I'll take the City. Cause I believe, spares are relatively easier to source.

However, I find it a hard to believe that a 2 owner City has done only 67K's, that too in the last 12 years??!! Please check for odo tampering.
As for the price, both cars are overpriced. A lancer should cost max.1.25L & for 1.9L you can get a City 1.5. A 1.3City in the range of 1.5-1.75L

Advice -
There are many City/Lancer's around. Tell your friend to take his time & choose wisely.

Varun
He got the booked the Lancer for the final price of 1.55L (paid some token amount). It took a lot of convincing, but the owner gave in. The reason why he went for this is that the owner himself was quite an auto-enthusiast and he has done a fair bit of proper modding on the car. And the clutch plates were changes 3K back and lot of internal thing. New tyres and new battery and 1 year old decent ICE setup made this a much viable option for him.

Thanks for your advice though
Old 1st March 2013, 17:51   #6748

One of my colleague in office is planning to sell his i10, 2010 registered, magna, 17000KM. What should be a fair price he can expect?
Old 1st March 2013, 18:03   #6749

Originally Posted by rock* View Post
One of my colleague in office is planning to sell his i10, 2010 registered, magna, 17000KM. What should be a fair price he can expect?
Hello Rock*,

You friend can expect approx Rs. 3 to 3.25 lac for 2010 I10 Magna with 17000 on ODO.

Used Car Dealers will probably not offer more than Rs. 3 lacs. Also you have not mentioned the month of manufacture of the Car.

Old 2nd March 2013, 14:10   #6750

Last heard that the X1 got sold for 12 lacs. Sounds too good a deal!

Originally Posted by altius View Post
City: Chennai
Make: BMW X1 Petrol
Model: Not mentioned. Probably 2010 or 11
Km: 15,000
Asking price: 15 lacs
Source: The Hindu Classifieds - 24th Feb

If it had been a year or two down the line, I would have considered buying.