Re: TVS Apache RR 310 launched at Rs. 2.05 lakh Quote:
Originally Posted by ksameer1234 but is RR310 in the league of Ninja and R3?
I do love powerdrift for that amazing presentation and useful insights but this review felt like jumping to conclusions too soon. |
I don't think any conclusions were made. I am personally not a huge fan of powerdrift however, they did comment on the lack of feel from the michelins (unlike ex-autocar and current Zigwheels presenter Kartikeya singhee who actually went as far as to say that they performed fairly well on track. Michelin road tyres seriously?), they did say that the bike was too soft to be as quick on the track as the RC and that it generally was far from being the perfect track tool that TVS markets it as. PD even mentioned that the gearbox was notchy from cold start but eventually became smooth instead of singing praise like every other video out there they put it fairly realistically IMO and it was a well done sponsored video if any.
People talk about the 'league of Ninja and R3' what league? They have inferior chassis construction with the lack of either a twin-spar or a trellis frame, all they have is comfort, build quality and refinement due to their parallel twin cylinder engines, and PD never said that the RR310 is more comfortable or refined than them, just that it seemed to strike a more perfect balance between road and track characteristics) In every other foreign market, they are all considered to be in the same league both in terms of pricing and capability. It is only us Indians who see them as truly premium products. Honestly I can understand why we tend to think the R3 and N300 are premium. Even when I drive my 14 year old 1.7 lac km run used and abused wagonr running on mineral oil, after riding my RC390, the refinement just from the fact that it is a 4cyl, makes me think arre vahh!  so refinement does add a certain premium feeling but let's be objective, that doesn't place the entire bike in a different league altogether considering all aspects.
At the end of the day facts are facts. The R3 in previous PD video was made out to be far from a good track tool not just by sagar but by apex racing academy instructors as well, the Ninja 300 may have a full fairing but Kawasaki themselves have dropped the 'R' monicker from it indicating that they know it is not as sporty as it might look. Facts about the RR310 are that it does have high clip-ons, it is jointly developed by BMW and TVS, it does perform well on track and due to the linear power delivery and not too comitted ergos, can it not be said that it will probably be great on the road as well? Another fact is that it does have the most aerodynamic fairing in the class. So why can't that put the RR310 in the 'league' of other 300cc champs? Me personally, although I love my RC390 to bits as the only thing I wanted was an outright sport-bike, I do have difficult times with it especially when commuting for long in the city or at slow speeds in the rain, however these hindrances have never made me regret the purchase since I rode the R3 and N300 and found them to be too touring-like. This RR310, though, if I see it in traffic, I will honestly be jealous
I know for a fact from the film industry that PD has major financial backing they need not be inclined to sing absolute praise about every aspect of a product just because a company is sponsoring them, unlike most other automotive journalists, PD doesn't 'need' TVS as much as TVS needs PowerDrift. They even said that a road test would have to be done to come to conclusions. So although it is always good to be wary, let's not jump to conclusions ourselves as PowerDrift themselves hasn't jumped to any conclusions either.
Last edited by theMAG : 9th December 2017 at 08:12.
Reason: Editing to the maximum limit of 2 smileys/post. Thanks.
|