Team-BHP > Team-BHP Directory > Mumbai

Old 31st May 2013, 17:58   #196

Re: Trusted petrol pumps in Mumbai

As a safety measure, yes. What brought about this query?

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Is it necessary to switch off the car when fueling up at the pump?
Old 31st May 2013, 20:17   #197
PPS

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
What brought about this query?
My mom suddenly asked this while fueling up as it was getting hot inside the car & the attendant was taking his own time to get things going. I usually don't switch off while my driver does.
Old 26th June 2013, 14:20   #198

Just for the benefit of everyone, I have compiled the list of HPCL - COCO Outlets here in Mumbai.

Trusted petrol pumps in Mumbai-untitled.jpg

Source: http://www.hindustanpetroleum.com/

Please ignore the spellings. I just pasted everything the way it was presented on the website.

Last edited by Animesh : 26th June 2013 at 14:39. Reason: Adding Source
Animesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th August 2013, 22:10   #199

Any trusted CNG pumps in the western suburbs? I have filled at the Lotus petrol pump at andheri twice and once at the BP COCO at Kandivali link road.
Old 9th August 2013, 01:45   #200

Originally Posted by StrangeWizard View Post
Any trusted CNG pumps in the western suburbs? I have filled at the Lotus petrol pump at andheri twice and once at the BP COCO at Kandivali link road.
The hp COCO opposite the pawan hans airport. It's very famous with the motorists over here. Although, I know some other good pumps, but I have no experience of CNG. Actually, my friend fills up at the borivali bp pump (CNG), its located at the end of gully which has a number of banks (near chandavarkar circle). He hasn't faced any problems.

Simple_car
Old 7th September 2013, 13:49   #201

There is a BP COCO near juinagar , Which is not far from the Rajiv gabdhi bridge connecting east and west nerul.
i have been filling up my Scooty from there for the past 5 months and also OHC, Swear by the purity and quality of the fuel!

Bharat Petroleum Petrol Pumpmore info
Tukaram Janu Patil Marg, Sector 24, Juinagar West
Navi Mumbai, MH 400705
Old 12th January 2014, 13:03   #202

Originally Posted by funkyp View Post
After having devoured this thread, the only pump which was praised closest to me was the IOC COCO at Sahar road which was a good 15 kms away! i did tank up here whenever i was going south.

However, for the last 2 times i have tanked up at the BP pump at charkop. This is a BP COCO and seems to be really good. FE has been consistent to what i get from the IOC COCO. For people living in Kandivali, Borivali this is a good option if you dont mind travelling a couple of Kms for good fuel.
Originally Posted by StrangeWizard View Post
Oh yeah I always fill up at the Charkop pump. It is pretty reliable.
There's one at kandivali link road. Don't remember which one (indian oil most probably) which isn't reliable at all. I always get low FE when I fill up from there. Also they have some stupid scan where they tell each and every customer, "Saar no coolant in your car! Please refill it now itself to prevent engine heating!!" They have tried to fool me thrice like this! And I've seen many people actually falling for this. I avoid this pump now as far as possible.
Originally Posted by Achilless View Post
Can u please tell us the exact location of pump. Are you talking about the pump which is near Hindustan Naka?
Originally Posted by funkyp View Post
Not sure if the junction is called Hindustan naka. You can search on Google maps for the location. Attaching a screenshot.
Even I used to tank up at this petrol pump after reading these posts, but noticed a foul play twice!

It happened like this. I generally take my car for refueling alone and step out of the car while the refueling is being done. I asked the attendant to fill petrol worth Rs.1500. I say, "Dedh Hazaar ka bharna". He did not set the filling machine to automatically cut off at Rs.1500, told me to check '0' and started filling. He stopped at Rs.500. I tell him, "Meine Dedh Hazaar bola" and thought he might have overheard. He asks me, "Saar, aapka gadi band hai na? Chabi ghumake dekho". I humbly go and check, and come back. In the meanwhile, he had started filling again and stops at Rs.1000. I ask him why did you stop at Rs.1000. He says, "Saar meine reset maara, pehle Paanch Sau ka aur abhi Hazaar!". I sensed something fishy and told him, "Meine nahi dekha, bharo Dedh Hazaar tak chup chaap!". He refuses and tells me to check the "Petrol ka Kaanta". Generally on filling petrol worth Rs.1500 my "Petrol ka Kaanta" reaches a little above half marker. Waited for a while, shook the car, but it was still below the half marker! I told him to fill "Chup chaap", and with no further arguments, he agreed!

This happened again yesterday! The same old thing, but a different attendant! Gave him an earful and he quietly filled without much arguments.
I even noticed that this happens only when someone is alone. IMO, if there is someone else, they have their eye on the counter!

While writing this post, I got a call from a friend who resides in Charkop and was telling him what happened. He said, he had the same experience there! He also claimed getting a lower mileage when filled from there!

This has happened with me twice, so it cannot be an 'Act-By-Mistake'! And both the times, if they were not guilty, they wouldn't have agreed on giving me such a VALUABLE RESOURCE without much of arguments!

I won't say that I don't recommend this pump, because some do find it reliable, but
PLEASE BEWARE OF SUCH FOUL PLAYS WHEN YOU TANK UP!

Last edited by nishantdlv : 12th January 2014 at 13:11.
nishantdlv is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2014, 12:11   #203

Originally Posted by nishantdlv View Post
Even I used to tank up at this petrol pump after reading these posts, but noticed a foul play twice!

This has happened with me twice, so it cannot be an 'Act-By-Mistake'! And both the times, if they were not guilty, they wouldn't have agreed on giving me such a VALUABLE RESOURCE without much of arguments!

I won't say that I don't recommend this pump, because some do find it reliable, but
PLEASE BEWARE OF SUCH FOUL PLAYS WHEN YOU TANK UP!
Sorry mate but you are at fault here. why should you listen to the attendant to check the fuel gauge and lose sight of the meter(and that too twice)
If you are standing out to see the meter, u do that with 100% dedication, or you are better off handing the cash to the attendant and refilling while sitting in the car itself.

I always tell the attendant to do a full tank and leave the nozzle (even if I'm filling for 500 Rs. as then they get a chance to play around)
racer_m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th January 2014, 13:44   #204

Originally Posted by racer_m View Post
Sorry mate but you are at fault here. why should you listen to the attendant to check the fuel gauge and lose sight of the meter(and that too twice)
If you are standing out to see the meter, u do that with 100% dedication, or you are better off handing the cash to the attendant and refilling while sitting in the car itself.
I know, I was at fault! Should have not fallen for his tricks! But I was unaware of such foul intentions! The second time I did not go to check the gauge, but surely had my eyes off the meter when he tried to divert my attention.
Just want to make our friends aware that there is something of this sort being practised and make them aware, so that others don't make the same mistake like I did

Originally Posted by racer_m View Post
I always tell the attendant to do a full tank and leave the nozzle (even if I'm filling for 500 Rs. as then they get a chance to play around)
Would definitely do the same from next time onwards! Thanks

Last edited by nishantdlv : 13th January 2014 at 13:48.
Old 7th March 2014, 16:30   #205

Originally Posted by infotech58 View Post
yes. understood the location of that bunk now. it always looked, kind of, shady to me so never tried it.
This pump at the Tatvagna Vidyapith is closed now no ideas what happened. Any other suggestions of good pumps on the Ghodbunder Road?
Old 7th March 2014, 16:36   #206

Originally Posted by arishi1 View Post
This pump at the Tatvagna Vidyapith is closed now no ideas what happened. Any other suggestions of good pumps on the Ghodbunder Road?
I was told that the bunk was under renovation although couldnt see any construction happening there. My guess is that the land must have been sold off since the bunk area is cordoned off with fencing.

Unfortunately no good bunks on GB Road within Thane city limits. Dont know beyond that. The only good bunk is at Majiwade of BPCL. Good IOC bunks are at 3 petrol pump area near Hari niwas.
ghodlur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2014, 12:17   #207

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Dont know beyond that. The only good bunk is at Majiwade of BPCL. Good IOC bunks are at 3 petrol pump area near Hari niwas.
I seldom tank up within Thane these days, in emergencies I fill in for 500 bucks till I can get to a bunk in Mumbai.

That said when I do fuel up in Thane its usually at the Majiwade BPCL. I've also tried another small bunk next to the Fire station (near EasyDay and Big Bazaar) on occasion and not had anything to complain about - no validity of mileage as I have never topped up the tank in Thane.
Old 8th April 2014, 11:08   #208

Originally Posted by satan View Post
The Navroze Petrol Pump at Parel has exceptional fuel quality. Clean fuel filters even after 100k mileage are a testimony to this..
WHere exactly is this one located? I have just moved to Parel and am looking at a reliable outlet nearby
Old 8th April 2014, 11:30   #209

Originally Posted by arishi1 View Post
A fresh update is that in place of IOC bunk, an HPCL bunk is going to come but only after the service road repairs are completed. This will be owned by the same guys who own a HPCL bunk at Manpada, Thane area. This news was given by one of the admin guy at the Manapada bunk, but exact date of Tatvagyan bunk opening is not yet clear.
Old 8th April 2014, 12:27   #210

Originally Posted by car.lover View Post
WHere exactly is this one located? I have just moved to Parel and am looking at a reliable outlet nearby
it shut down last Jan.
satan is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com