Old 29th November 2017, 11:20   #766

Re: Nissan Terrano : Official Review

Originally Posted by bik1906 View Post
I have a question for existing owners..Ive been looking at the terrano and on paper it has all the features I want (Abs EBD,7" screen etc) which are only available on the higher model of the captur...but Im very wary that nissan has only been selling 200 terranos or so per month (as per the team BHP monthly sales reports) and the micra sales have also never been very strong. So did you guys have any reservations about the company and dealers going the fiat/GM way?
Their focus is mainly on exports. They export a lot of Micras. Given they are part of Renault, I don't think Nissan will go GM way.

Last edited by C300 : 29th November 2017 at 11:20. Reason: Formatting
C300 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2018, 11:21   #767

Guys have been driving Nissan Terrano 110 PS since more than 3 years and it used to run like charm.

From October 2017, I am facing some issues which are bothering me a lot!

When I used to drive the car, I started noticing the lose of power for a second or two from October, especially in 2nd and 3rd gear. The feeling was as if fuel supply was cut off for a brief second. After a few days, electric malfunction light came up for few seconds (and then went off) and I gave it you Surya Nissan. They promptly returned it saying that they did not find any error in diagnostic tool.

After a week, STOP ENGINE light came up for few seconds and again gave it to Surya Nissan. This time also they promptly returned it saying that they did not find any error in diagnostic tool.

There was no malfunction light anymore for 2 weeks. After that while driving in highway, STOP ENGINE light came up again which did not go off and after taking it to a local service station, it broke down completely and did not start. This time in the diagnostic tool, CYCLE 2 INJECTOR was shown as faulty.

The car was handed back to Surya Nissan and they confirmed the same error code. The fuel injector was replaced which cost a lot.

Now after the Car came back from the fuel injector replacement, I drove in peak traffic for around 40 KMS and again electric malfunction light came up. Actually, it came up 17 times by the time I reached home in a span of 10 KMs.

I again got the Car to Surya Nissan and they again mentioned that there is no error in diagnostic tool. I test drove with them in peak traffic and highway for quite a distance after that but no malfuction light came up. The fact is that they have done nothing after I gave the Car to them (except cleaning the fuel line) makes me nervous that the issue can come up again.

I am also not convinced that folks at Surya Nissan are competent and they just check for error code in diagnostic tool.

Could the experts here advice me regarding the issue and throw some light on the issue? Thanks a lot.
Old 12th January 2018, 17:36   #768

Hi Acelerar,

Really sorry to hear about your problem. Was the injector replaced under warranty?

It may be worthwhile to show the car to an independent mechanic. Somebody who is used to diagnosing issues with Dusters and Terranos. Since the mechanical are same or similar maybe they will be able to advice you better.

Maybe worthwhile to ask on the Duster thread for an independent garage in Bangalore for this.

Best of luck !!
vishnurp99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th March 2018, 09:34   #769

Originally Posted by vishnurp99 View Post
Hi Acelerar,

Really sorry to hear about your problem. Was the injector replaced under warranty?

Best of luck !!
The warranty for Terrano is only 3 years. But since the car was under company lease I didn't have to pay for fuel injector (which was 30K). As soon as the lease ended, I sold the car and now in market for new SUV
Old 28th March 2018, 17:08   #770

Originally Posted by kirren07 View Post
Unfortunately, the problem persists. Now, it's more about shifting to first from neutral and first to second. There are times when I have to really struggle to engage first gear. Any thoughts? I'm sure service engineers here are clueless.
Hey buddy,
unfortunately, I too am suffering from the same problem,
during warranty, they did not find any issue, did some lubrication of gear uni (they think bhpians are noobs)

and now that the warranty is over, they are suggesting the same measures as directed to you.

Let me know if you manage to find the solution to this problem.

FYI, my ride is '14 made, 50k done, 85ps diesel.
Old 9th August 2018, 09:35   #771

Guys, Bumping the thread,
let me know if you researching for upgrading the ICE,
I spent quite a lot of time & money to finally come to the perfect aural pleasure.

Also,
when did you change your tires,
mine has crossed 60k, is 4 years old, and now regular punctures are happening,
although the tread has still some life,
I wanted to confirm with fellow riders experience before getting new shoes for my ride.
Nitish.arnold is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2018, 10:02   #772

I am facing power steering stalling issue with my Terrano, this issue goes after I switch off the engine and switch on again. The issue does not show up on the scanner.
The power steering stalls when I'm taking a full U turn, or reversing with a full turn, or if I hit a stone or pothole big enough to pull or exert reverse pressure on the steering at extreme low speeds.
Power steering oil is between minimum and maximum, and has reduced by only a few mm in the Last year and half and 29000 km, that I've been driving the car single handed. When power steering has stalled, the hydraulic pump below the steering oil reservoir is off.

Rahul
Old 31st December 2018, 13:33   #773

What a bunch of crooks the Nissan people are. Someone I know owns a Terrano which suffered engine damage due to timing belt failure. Just 50,000 km or so on the odometer. Guessing rats bit it off. Got the engine rebuilt at the Nissan stealership for 1.5 lakh rupees (I told her to go to Sunil Shanbagh instead).

Drove for 130 km and the car broke down. Dealer says "clutch and some other things" need to be replaced which will cost 60 grand.

Car is going to Sunil Shanbagh soon.

Does Nissan expect to sell any cars in India with such crooks representing them? What's worse, she did write to Nissan, but there was no response from the company. I do NOT know of ONE happy Nissan owner (myself included).
GTO is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 1st January 2019, 09:33   #774

+1 to this. My Gurugram based cousin was sick and tired of his 3 year old Terrano with the humongous service bills and niggles. He loved the ride quality but recently sacked it off and that too for a pretty average resale price.

Not a good omen for the Kicks as the market is quite tuned in to these customer experiences. Remember how Ford crashed badly just because of high maintenance costs of the Ikon and Escort!
itwasntme is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2019, 18:21   #775

I do NOT know of ONE happy Nissan owner (myself included).
To be honest, I'm one (at least now). I bought my Terrano 85 ps back in Jan 2015 from Kamla Nissan. Their service was absolutely poor and would not leave a chance to rip the customer off. No wonder they closed down sometime mid 2016.

I was happy that Royce Nissan opened up by my house - but they turned out be the same. They had good service advisers, but I'm sure they were pressed to make their monthly revenue targets. Well, they closed doors too last year, which is when Ritu Nissan took over. they even hired the old service advisers.

I was skeptical with approaching them (due to feedback in other forums), but I think they are learning from other's mistakes. I've had 4 regular service visits in the last one year, and also per their recommendation replaced the disc brakes (not just the pads). I think there was something wrong with them ever since I bought the car. I always thought the car was dragging itself and ever since I replaced the discs, the car is super smooth. Have had a couple of long road trips (all the way to Dwarka from Mumbai) and it was absolutely fun driving this thing.

Anyway - if you're in Mumbai/Thane area - visit Ritu Nissan in Wagle Industrial estate. Ask for Omar or Salim (SA). They will do a good job.

As a matter of fact - I had extended warranty that was due to expire on 26th Jan 2019. The SA asked me to send my car for a general checkup and replaced parts worth 66k (yes, its not a typo) as they were about to go bad, all under warranty.
DharmeshGohil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st February 2019, 12:11   #776

Originally Posted by DharmeshGohil View Post
To be honest, I'm one (at least now).m ever since I bought the car. I always thought the car was dragging itself and ever since I replaced the discs, the car is super smooth. Have had a couple of long road trips (all the way to Dwarka from Mumbai) and it was absolutely fun driving this thing.

Anyway - if you're in Mumbai/Thane area - visit Ritu Nissan in Wagle Industrial estate. Ask for Omar or Salim (SA). They will do a good job.

As a matter of fact - I had extended warranty that was due to expire on 26th Jan 2019. The SA asked me to send my car for a general checkup and replaced parts worth 66k (yes, its not a typo) as they were about to go bad, all under warranty.
I know a lot of people here in Bangalore who have received fantastic service from Nissan and enjoying their cars to the fullest. Nissan makes magnificent cars and provide wonderful service (definitely here in Bangalore). All they lack is proper showcasing of their products, marketing and pricing strategies. They just do not know how to grab market share and as a result are lagging way behind leaders, Maruti and Hyundai. Prospective buyers (especially first time buyers) will prefer those two to be on the safer side as peace of mind plays a big role when such a big investment is involved for obvious reasons.

Those who ignore reputations and sales numbers go for brands like Nissan and Skoda and they are having a gala time with their cars !
Old 21st February 2019, 13:00   #777

I so want to share with all you that how wonderfully my 2014 Nissan Terrano XE is performing, have already covered 1,38,000 Kms with it. Still drives like a charm, feels like it will last me for eternity but I won't share all this as I don't want to jinx it.

Touchwood.

PS: I ditched Nissan A.S.S in favour of FNG and it works wonder, super cheap and no headaches.
BANDHAV is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st March 2019, 19:20   #778

Originally Posted by BANDHAV View Post
I so want to share with all you that how wonderfully my 2014 Nissan Terrano XE is performing, have already covered 1,38,000 Kms with it. Still drives like a charm, feels like it will last me for eternity but I won't share all this as I don't want to jinx it.
I have heard from die hard Nissan/Renault fans that they are absolutely confident of these cars to cross even 5 to 6 lakh kilometers!

Though I am no expert, I will take 50% of this to be true !
Nalin1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2019, 12:11   #779

Originally Posted by BANDHAV View Post

Touchwood.

PS: I ditched Nissan A.S.S in favour of FNG and it works wonder, super cheap and no headaches.

Amazing to see these mile-munching stats.

Can you please guide what major parts needed replacement.
Mine '15 model 80k run Terrano XL 85ps is still going strong,
I plan on using it for the whole 10 years of her life.

Hence your feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Old 5th March 2019, 13:58   #780

Originally Posted by Nitish.arnold View Post
Can you please guide what major parts needed replacement.
Clutch has been replaced twice.
Once it was done at Nissan A.S.S, I was charged 46,000 Rs.

Next time I get it done from an independent mechanic, 10,500 was the total expense.

I got the timing belt and fan belt change once. OEM parts, outside labour, total cost 13,500 Rs.

Got the front wheel bearing replaced once. OEM costs 26,000 a set. I opted fot OES quality. 10,000 was the cost inclusive of labour.

Now I get it serviced at FNG. Average service cost is around 6000 rs.

Originally Posted by Nitish.arnold View Post
I plan on using it for the whole 10 years of her life.
My intnet is same, I intent to keep it for complete 10 years.
BANDHAV is offline   (2) Thanks