Old 26th December 2023, 15:47   #3031

Re: Tata Tiago : Official Review

Originally Posted by rajivtelang View Post
Something is wrong, what is the kilometers reading on your car? Looks like wheel alignment and balancing was not required unless you have driven it for quite a distance in such a short span. Also AC vent cleaning? Why do we need it so early unless you are in a real dusty and hot environment? You better ask the SA what's going on here. The charges look like service after 2 or 3 years of usage. Others can also suggest.
So, the service representative said that after 1 year of usage it's recommended to do wheel alignment and balancing. My odometer reading is at ~9000 KMs. Also, the final service component is engine oil change, oil filter change and air filter change which costs around 3000 INR. So, the total comes to around 5700 INR
Old 26th December 2023, 17:25   #3032

Originally Posted by thugz_doge View Post
So, the service representative said that after 1 year of usage it's recommended to do wheel alignment and balancing. My odometer reading is at ~9000 KMs. Also, the final service component is engine oil change, oil filter change and air filter change which costs around 3000 INR. So, the total comes to around 5700 INR
Oil related changes are all required. Bit unsure about other things in Bangalore. Did you travel over rough roads a lot and also used AC full time? All these other things are always "recommended" but they cost a lot. SA will always try to convince you to get it done. Then what "free" is left in the service?

Last edited by rajivtelang : 26th December 2023 at 17:35.
Old 27th December 2023, 11:35   #3033

The AC vent cleaning is unnecessary, in my opinion. It is sufficient to clean the AC filter under the dashboard.

Wheel alignment and balancing is recommended but not mandatory. It's your decision if you want it done. If you do get it done, make sure you get the alignment report from them in a proper printed format.

Lubrication is vague. Find out what they do. In my experience you need to regularly lubricate the following:
Door hinges
Door restraint bars
Hatch hinges
Bonnet hinges
Petrol flap hinges and locking pin

All these can be done by you at home many , many times with a grease spray can for the same price as quoted prices!

Other lubrication points will be mentioned in the service schedule in the user manual.
Motard_Blr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2024, 11:59   #3034

Something worth mentioning about my Tiago NRG, 2019. Car has started giving some kind of frictional or brushing noise on front right side, mostly from front area no matter if it is flat smooth or rough road. Secondly when tried to pull in 2nd gear at very slow speed where all cars vibrate a bit, Tiago gives shattering noise again from right side, mostly front part. I visited KHT service, Mahadevpura and their "expert" told me it is suspension issue. Car is run only for 27K and 99% in Bangalore only. After asking same that guy said since car is 4+ years old this issue is expected
My Ertiga has completed 60K in 7 years, driven on very long drives and bad roads but never had suspension issues ever. Since Tata service centers are overloaded, do you think this opinion could be just a blind guess and escape from real diagnosis of the issue? Perhaps replacing the suspension could resolve the issue but could be a bomb for pocket for no reason.
I have reached to a final conclusion now about Tata cars, cars are excellent but service is pathetic and surely this is my first and last Tata car. Buying indian is always a matter of pride but maintaining it is an ugly matter of shame
rajivtelang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th January 2024, 09:48   #3035

Originally Posted by thugz_doge View Post
Surely this is too much?
All the items you mentioned indicate the omnipresent "add-ons" which they very slyly "suggest" and the customer "approves". In simple terms a ploy by the service advisors to meet their "target", IMO.
All you needed was to pay for the engine oil, oil filter and if needed air and cabin filters. Please check the back of your owners manual as to what is needed to be done and anything over that should only be because either to troubleshoot an issue or you felt like it.

Wheel alignment and balancing are different and needed when symptoms are observed like the vehicle isn't tracking straight, meaning that with a straight steering wheel its drifting left/right or you observe some vibrations or uneven wear on tyres etc.
Unless you have an issue I think doing it on every tyre change is good or if you want to be very careful on every tyre rotation which is typically 10,000kms.

Speaking of the service itself, just ask them to do whatever is covered in the service cost and I would also like to know if they changed/checked the cabin air filter before the "AC cleaning" ? And what sort of service doesn't include the cost of lubrication?

Seems like they're taking you for a ride, change your ASC or go to a reputed FNG. Also do all your tyre related stuff at a tyre specialist. Bangalore has some, Madhus is one of them.

I have reached to a final conclusion now about Tata cars, cars are excellent but service is pathetic
Hence our service is a hit/miss disclaimer
On your issue, not competent to comment on it but logic dictates a second opinion from another ASC or a reputed FNG.

Last edited by shancz : 17th January 2024 at 09:54. Reason: typos, words
shancz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th January 2024, 10:48   #3036

I have reached to a final conclusion now about Tata cars, cars are excellent but service is pathetic and surely this is my first and last Tata car. Buying indian is always a matter of pride but maintaining it is an ugly matter of shame.
By and large, the service experience is / is slowly getting the same across the board. Reason is simple - like any other industry, same people are changing jobs across the brands in all roles and eventually bringing a cultural equality .

With absolutely any car (and often not just in India) - if you know a good FNG - in my opinion its always the best to ditch the ASC as soon as the warranty expires and maintain a nice working relationship with the FNG. All my cars are perpetually entrusted with BHPian AsitKulkarni's garage. Japanese, Indian, German! I used to have the apprehensions till some years ago. But the difference in workmanship, care towards the car at a good FNG vis-a-vis an ASC is startling.

Suspension changes aren't always scarily costly. Definitely worth a check at an FNG. They are easy to identify in most cases as well. Even visual inspection on a lift starts dropping tell-tale hints.
Originally Posted by shancz View Post
And what sort of service doesn't include the cost of lubrication?
I'm not promoting or justifying this item in the list, but "ServicePlus" has been a very old item in TASC quotes and invoices. Its not new, neither is the OP being taken for a ride with this particular item. And - its a good level of lubrication that do at all parts that need them. Not some basic spray stuff, but actual high quality greasing is done. I always took it, and it usually doesn't cost too high. I used to ask for it even, while openly telling the SA that I add such small items to get a small bump in the service bill, to ensure incentive for the SA. Upsells is their target, its a reality. It was one of the things that I did as a token of my appreciation of his very good handling of my Tata cars for over a decade at the ASC. I used to tell him - "Don't try to do anything that I have not asked for, don't damage the car at the workshop, don't change anything, and add the service plus".

Remember, we are now in an era where Maruti charges 10 odd bucks for a paper in the footwell that reads "Thank you, please visit again", puts in 3-4 spare windshield washer packets in the glovebox, and adds them in the bill, and includes the charges of tissues, wet wipes used by the mechanic - into your bills . Maruti owners (I am one too) - rate this as best service network in India. Its all relative in the end.

Last edited by Reinhard : 17th January 2024 at 10:56. Reason: Removed extra emoji.
Reinhard is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th January 2024, 11:13   #3037

Originally Posted by Motard_Blr View Post
Lubrication is vague. Find out what they do. In my experience you need to regularly lubricate the following
That's pretty much what they do under this line item.

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
I'm not promoting or justifying this item in the list, but "ServicePlus" has been a very old item in TASC quotes and invoices.
Some manufacturers have the habit of levying one single charge calling it "XX km Service" which would include a check of several parts, tightening of bolts, greasing of joints, windshield fluid, washing etc. Ford did/does that. Others tend to charge everything separately. Ultimately, it works out to the same I believe. Perhaps, charges have been split up to give the notion of service being cheap.

Tata ASCs have become crazy aggressive in up/cross-selling; and when I indicated my unhappiness to the dealer principal, he mentioned off-the-cuff that they have had to resort to this post Covid.

Remember, we are now in an era where
BMW Motorrad charges Rs. 350 for use of the paddock stand to mount the bike during service.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 17th January 2024 at 12:09.
libranof1987 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th January 2024, 13:54   #3038

Originally Posted by jerrindanny View Post
After dreading about AMT Issues in TATA cars, it has occurred to us.
We own a 2019 January purchased TATA Tiago XZA.
We have not encountered any major issues in the last 4.9 years of ownership, except for one-time Oil Sensor replacement.
On November 27 Monday, we had some personal errands to run. We had a run for about 30 km and we reached the hospital for a checkup. After 2 hours from the hospital, we started the car, once the car passed the gate, the AMT fault warning light came in and we parked the car towards the roadside. We waited for 10 minutes with the engine off and started the car again. The warning light still popped up and the Neutral sign (N) was blinking. On moving the gear lever to A(drive), the car was not engaging to drive. The same was was for Reverse and for manual mode as well.
We contacted our local TATA ASC (Focuz Kozhencherry) and asked for our sales advisor. We advised it may be due to a sensor issue and arranged a pick-up. We insisted on a flatbed truck. Meanwhile, I sent my family back to the house and waited near the car. After about 1.5 Hours, the crane service truck reached and we transported the car to the service center.
A job card was opened and since it was almost past 5 pm they said they would start the next day. The mechanics started to take apart the piece under the gear lever and the part behind the air conditioner. They were checking for any loose wires that must have resulted in the error.
The next day around noon the service advisor called us and informed us that on checking the error codes, there were two errors one with TCU and the other with the gear lever. They took apart the gearbox and informed us they would confirm the next day.
Today they informed us that the fault is with the TCU part and needs to be replaced. The total cost of the TCU part is Rs 28096 excluding the labour charges. It has to be ordered and the part should arrive from Pune.
The car has been in the Service center for a week now.
Has Anyone faced issues related to the TCU Unit ?
Please make AMT oil replacement part of your yearly service routine. Maybe that will prevent a fault! It isn't part of the owner's manual recommend jobs, but then again no oil is truly "lifetime" capable!

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-d...ata-tiago.html (DIY: AMT Hydraulic Oil Change (Tata Tiago))

Last edited by lemedico : 17th January 2024 at 13:56.
lemedico is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th January 2024, 12:55   #3039

All my cars are perpetually entrusted with BHPian AsitKulkarni's garage. Japanese, Indian, German!
Didn't know this, Thanks, will keep this in mind if I end up in Pune

- And its a good level of lubrication that do at all parts that need them.
- I used to tell him - "Don't try to do anything that I have not asked for, don't damage the car at the workshop, don't change anything, and add the service plus".
- Remember, we are now in an era where Maruti charges 10 odd bucks for a paper in the footwell that reads "Thank you, please visit again", puts in 3-4 spare windshield washer packets in the glovebox, and adds them in the bill, and includes the charges of tissues, wet wipes used by the mechanic - into your bills . Maruti owners (I am one too) - rate this as best service network in India.
- Didn't know this too, in that case I am incorrect in my "claims" for this item. Maruti includes it as a part of the odd thousand service IIRC and hence that costs more than the other one since it also includes the opening-cleaning of all brakes and caliper pin greasing.
- This is the ideal service that I would like to get as well. I wouldn't mind if they cleaned the brakes every time but they usually try to push useless stuff like wheel alignment/balancing, some interior cleaning, some coatings etc.
- Of course it is and Maruti dealer-workshops can put many "reputed" brands to shame. Having experienced it first hand I moved over to MASS and that's where sense prevails in the Maruti world and that's what I like, hope it lasts.
Here's an earlier take on the topic (Dealers charging for tissue box and paper mats).

Its all relative in the end.
Absolutely.
Old 24th January 2024, 20:07   #3040

Originally Posted by shancz View Post
Hence our service is a hit/miss disclaimer
On your issue, not competent to comment on it but logic dictates a second opinion from another ASC or a reputed FNG.
I would never be so harsh on my opinion had there been enough ASC or FNGs. Finding a good ASC is like winning a lottery in case of TATA, same story everywhere. FNGs, a tough call since car is still under extended warranty.
OK, here goes the update story, they replaced both front suspension rods and rack/pinion assembly. Fortunately this assembly was covered in warranty and final bill was 2K that included WA too. Though it was not a bomb for pocket, I will still hold my opinion on the quality of service. Here are some reasons to support.
1. Car had undergone some bodywork due to a two wheeler hit on driver side door, jamming it. Work was done in March 2023. Work quality was average but door was brushing the fender, had to revisit to get it fixed
2. Second time visited in Jan 2024 as mentioned for some underchassis brushing sound, the SA told me last time's work was not proper, some nut bolts were not properly tightened, adding to the noise. Now whose fault is that. Since it was the same "good" ASC, I asked him to call the person who did it but he simply laughed and ignored.
3. Now the killer part, upon receiving car with 2K spent, in a couple of days the same door started brushing against the same fender, how amazingly they repeat things
The SA is calling me back to get it fixed but TATA ASCs are super loaded and one needs to wait for atleast 1-1.5 hours to get attended, 15km from home adding to waste of half a day.
Isn't my opinion valid and yes, somebody said this very thread that you are really lucky if you visit TATA ASC only for regular service. For any other type of work, you need to pray and hope you don't have to revisit for same. Unfortunately I am a victim of the later.
rajivtelang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2024, 20:08   #3041

in a couple of days the same door started brushing against the same fender, how amazingly they repeat things
That's unfortunate and I understand your reasons, I would hate to be in your shoes
And even more unfortunate is that I have no other suggestion but to go back to the same ASC who "fixed" it to "fix" it again hoping that they'll be third time lucky. Since they've worked on it before, hopefully they would be able to get it right this time. I would suggest to bite the bullet and go to them as soon as possible as the issue would be fresh in their memory. It hurts but it has to be done.

As its said about experience like these, most of us think its a bit over-hyped until it happens to us.
Wishing you all the best and I never thought I would have to bank on luck and charms for a mechanical solution.

Good Luck, Keep us posted.
shancz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th January 2024, 17:11   #3042

My Journey to the First Family Car and Birth of a Petrol Head

The idea of buying a car came to mind soon after the first wave of COVID-19 hit India.

Until then, I was a two-wheeler enthusiast, and our family relied solely on bikes and scooters – one scooter and three bikes. The turning point came when I took my dad for a diabetic checkup and noticed the discomfort he faced on the scooter. That moment made me realize that my parents are ageing and prompted the decision to purchase a car for my family.

After my dad's recovery in a month, I initiated discussions within the family and began researching car loans. My savings of 2 lakhs for a high-end editing computer turned into a down payment. With a budget of under 10,000 INR EMI per month, the journey to find our first car began.

Once again, I shared my confidence with the family, and we started exploring vehicles. This was an interesting time because none of us had any idea about how to buy a car. My knowledge of cars was from watching Powerdrift videos, listening to discussions from relatives and friends, and checking out cars online. I knew how to drive a car, having learned it at 18 when I applied for a driving license, and occasionally driving friends' and relatives' cars for 2 to 3 kilometres. I love admiring cars on the roads. Back in 8th grade, a black BMW 320D that I saw twice a week while waiting for the bus to school became my poster car. With just a basic understanding of cars, my journey began.

Being a first-time car buyer, I was initially looking for a second-hand vehicle to be bought on a loan. However, this plan ended quickly as my research concluded that I would be spending equal to or more than a new car in 5 years due to higher interest rates and maintenance costs. When I decided to buy a new car, my excitement increased, and I started researching how to pick my first car. One thing I was sure of was to buy a hatchback because of first-car buying considerations like easy parking and low maintenance.

Next, I used CarWale for filtering and comparing purposes. First, I struck out the brands I didn't like – Maruti and Hyundai – mainly because they were considered "boomer cars" and super unsafe. Next, Volkswagen was out due to budget constraints. Finally, I ended up considering Renault, Ford, and Tata.

I had a strong dislike for Tata, primarily because of an old Indica taxi experience where my dad put me in the back seat while going to our native place. The lack of visibility outside and the motion sickness it brought made me dislike Tata. However, in 2019, safety in cars became famous, and Tata cars gained popularity for allowing people to walk out of the car to chill after a big crash. This made me add Tata to the list in the 3rd place.

On a Weekend, my father, brother, and I visited showrooms to check cars closer.

First Hyundai, as Dad wanted to check the Peacock green i10 Nios. The experience at Hyundai wasn't great; the showroom was crowded, and the lazy representative didn't want to work. We quickly exited and went to Ford, where the Freestyle was amazing. I wanted to buy it, but it was out of my budget. Figo's base model was 1st on my list. Next, we visited Renault, which was a good experience in the showroom, but the Triber did not impress me, but my dad loved it, so it took 2nd place on my list. Finally, we went to Tata. The cars and their prices were interesting, but the showroom and representative were mediocre. I did not know how Tata Tiago impressed me and connected with me so well and made 3rd in the list. On the way, we stopped to get the price of Swift for comparison at an Arena showroom and went home.

I started my in-depth research. At that point, my 1st pick was Figo, the 2nd was Triber, and the 3rd was Tiago. After a lot of research, I struck Triber from my list, watched many reviews, read user reviews, and had discussions with multiple people. I was strongly in favour of Figo, and I even convinced my family to Figo, and the twist happened when I booked a Tiago XZ+ Manual in red colour.

What happened was I took a test drive of both vehicles. Also, during those times, I wasn't an expert in driving to understand drivability and other things. Figo was great to drive. but After Driving Tiago, it connected me more with the car. And was confused. So, I researched more by comparing opinions and prices, etc. Even though Tata was my last choice, many people spoke highly about Tata and its progressive growth and the quality of the product, which slowly changed my mind. At last, it was like I could buy either Figo or Tata.

My status with both brands at that point was that Ford was only ready to sell me a top model, stating they were only manufacturing top models at that time. The vehicle will be ready for delivery in 1 week, and everything, including the loan, will be taken care of by the showroom. The representative was calling for regular updates. we just had to get to the showroom with the papers. On the other hand, Tata had a waiting period of 2 months. The representative did not care about anything; he was like if you want, send me the booking money, and then he will give the phone number of the bank person. Where we have to go and meet the person in the bank to get the loan papers moving.

So, my deciding factor was made with a core Indian mindset. If a shop is crowded, they are selling a good product, and it will be in demand always. So, I picked Tata Tiago. I was nervous throughout the 2 months, thinking if I had made the right choice. Thankfully, my cousin had his wedding, and I was busy with that. I got super nervous when I heard the vehicle left the factory. During that period, I read bad customer reviews of Tata dealership scams. I couldn't sleep when it reached the showroom. I did a PDI even though I didn't know anything about cars. I was even thinking of my childhood days' experience in Tata Indica during the last 3 days when the car was being registered.

The day arrived; it was a day before Diwali, and coincidentally, it was my parents' wedding day, which I came to know a week later. It was an evening around 4ish; I signed my delivery report, received all the documents, and by taking a group photo of receiving the key, took delivery of our first family car. Then, we left the showroom for a temple pooja and went to a different temple for one more pooja. We reached home with a new member of the family.

About my tension: if I had made the right choice, it eased out when looking at the happy faces of my family after seeing the car for the first time. When I drove the car with my family to the temple, the car felt magical and worked so well, which comforted me more. In the coming days, we took a trip of 100 km where the car shined and worked so well that my tension turned into the birth of a petrolhead.
Tata Tiago : Official Review-img_20201113_163243.jpg  

Tata Tiago : Official Review-img_20201113_170914.jpg  

i_magsman is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st February 2024, 06:46   #3043

Issue with Tiago BCM

Dear all, I received some excellent advice from you all a couple of years ago regarding the 'check engine" light. Now I'm requesting advice on a new problem.

I own a Tiago XZA from 2016. A month ago, one of my power windows stopped working, side indicators and parking indicators stopped, and I kept seeing an airbag alert in spite of no accidents, all of a sudden. I recently took it to a nearby garage and the owner told me that it is a BCM problem and it would have to be replaced. It would cost me approx 12000.

I wanted to know if a BCM really needs to be replaced or it can be repaired, or any other issues can affect BCM functioning.
Old 1st February 2024, 09:33   #3044

Re: Issue with Tiago BCM

Originally Posted by icubyx View Post
Dear all, I received some excellent advice from you all a couple of years ago regarding the 'check engine" light. Now I'm requesting advice on a new problem.

I wanted to know if a BCM really needs to be replaced or it can be repaired, or any other issues can affect BCM functioning.
BCM can get damaged by moisture, vibration, heat and aging. It is vital component of the car as everything in the car is controlled by BCM.
BCM can be repaired by expert technician and coding. But it is complicated process and if not done properly then many systems in the car will get affected.
Repaired BCM can also develop new problems later.
You can also get used BCM in kurla market for cheap, they also give guarantee for 1 or 6 months but that m.ay turn into lot of trouble and headache.
So it is just safe to buy new.
Jordygt500 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2024, 11:04   #3045

Re: Issue with Tiago BCM

Originally Posted by icubyx View Post
You have good experience now with what can go wrong if BCM is working incorrectly.

All electronics can sometimes go wrong and to reliably repair it is going to cost you about the same as a new one, unfortunately.

If that is even possible.

I would advise you to get a genuine BCM if you really need one.

Ask your dealer if he can show you that it is ONLY an issue with the BCM ECU by connecting a good one to your car, before making the purchase.
madhavgpai is offline   (1) Thanks