Old 28th August 2024, 16:43   #3796

Re: Toyota Innova Crysta : Official Review

Originally Posted by kiran_cr View Post
1. Repainting from Toyota, I saw some ads while I visited Lanson Toyota, or
2. Repainting at a trusted FNG.
Suggest to go with ASS only. I think Toyota offers a comprehensive paint package for the older Innova models. You can add trims and lights too as part of the package.
SKannan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2024, 17:48   #3797

We have a Crysta 2.8Z Diesel from 2017 at 1.1 L Km. Off late, the oil consumption seems to have increased, getting the 'replace or top-up engine oil warning' and we are having to top up oil every 4,000-5,000 km. TASS says there is nothing wrong with the engine. I would like to know the inputs of fellow members.
Old 28th August 2024, 20:56   #3798

Originally Posted by blogslogger View Post
We have a Crysta 2.8Z Diesel from 2017 at 1.1 L Km. Off late, the oil consumption seems to have increased, getting the 'replace or top-up engine oil warning' and we are having to top up oil every 4,000-5,000 km. TASS says there is nothing wrong with the engine. I would like to know the inputs of fellow members.
Are you sure you don't have a leak somewhere? How is your exhaust smoke?
Such levels of oil consumption for a toyota engine that has run 1L kms does not seem to add up.
starter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2024, 21:04   #3799

Originally Posted by blogslogger View Post
That's strange. The car is not even out of the egg yet with 1.1 lakh kilometers.

There should be no need to top up from 10 thousand km service to service.

Did you do a compression test? Any signs of leakage anywhere? How is the pickup?
humyum is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2024, 21:23   #3800

Originally Posted by starter View Post
Are you sure you don't have a leak somewhere? How is your exhaust smoke?
Such levels of oil consumption for a toyota engine that has run 1L kms does not seem to add up.
No leaks. No exhaust smoke as well. I assumed if the leak was internal, there would be blue or white smoke. That's the confusing part. There are no signs of head gasket leaks as well. Atleast as per my TASS. I really do not want to open up the head.
Maybe it's time to fit a sub tank ala Land Cruiser just for the oil.

Originally Posted by humyum View Post
That's strange. The car is not even out of the egg yet with 1.1 lakh kilometers.

There should be no need to top up from 10 thousand km service to service.

Did you do a compression test? Any signs of leakage anywhere? How is the pickup?
Acceleration seems normal. We're yet to do a compression test though. Thanks for the tip.

PS: For anyone wondering how that elusive error looks like, here it is.

Toyota Innova Crysta : Official Review-screenshot_2024082821304833_6012fa4d4ddec268fc5c7112cbb265e7.jpg

Last edited by navin : 4th September 2024 at 14:05.
Old 1st September 2024, 17:25   #3801

Hi Folks, I know this topic is not discussed widely, there are few references on this thread though. The speedo indicated speed is ~ 7-9 kmph lower than the actual speed. Although this is good, If you are hearing the 120 kmph beeps, you are actually at 110. Is there some way we can correct the speed? I don't want to turn off the beeps, i don't go above 120 in any circumstance, but i feel, i should have the full range of the speed (upto 120 kmph) available to me and Toyota is depriving me of that.

Any thoughts will be helpful.

Vehicle: Toyota Innova Crysta 2.4 G - AT

Edit:
I researched a little bit further and found there is a thread on this one. I have a better understanding now.
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...e-speed-4.html (Speedometer calibration: Government says that vehicle should overstate speed)

Last edited by Viper21 : 1st September 2024 at 17:32.
Old 4th September 2024, 09:58   #3802
SGK

Hello All,

I am facing a very peculiar problem, I have filled Air ( N2) from nearby bunk and within 5 mins I started to see air leak from the 3 out of 4 tyres. I am not sure what is the problem, I tried refilling one of the tyre from my portable inflators and again same issue. I am confident there is no puncture ( Visible to naked eyes), but wondering what could be the problem. I have faced similar problem some 5 months back in one of tyres and that time local mechanic told me sometimes he is seeing this pattern when air is filled from bunks and he just refilled Air without any fix and it was working fine. Kindly note this time I have new set of tyres and filled air from different bunk, but still wondering what could be the problem?

I was present during the entire air-filling process, so I don’t suspect any foul play.

Has anyone else experienced something like this? Could it be an issue with the bunk or something else entirely? Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited by SGK : 4th September 2024 at 10:09. Reason: new question need to be added
Old 4th September 2024, 12:02   #3803

Originally Posted by SGK View Post
Hello All,

Has anyone else experienced something like this? Could it be an issue with the bunk or something else entirely? Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Did you check if its leaking from the valve. Sometimes after filling air, the valve may not seat itself properly due to dust particles maybe thats the reason you do not see it happen all the time. Some attendants use the spit method, to put that on the valve tip (remember doing that on cycles myself) to check for this.
Old 13th September 2024, 20:06   #3804

Hello Folks,

I drive an Innova, 90 % of usage will be in Coorg and 10% on the highway (Mysore and Bangalore)

Want an opinion, I am planning to change my tyres. I am confused, what brand should I buy

Yokohama Earth 1 or Blue Earth, also 215/55/17 is it a good size to continue?

Please advise, Thanks.

Last edited by Turbanator : 13th September 2024 at 22:13. Reason: proofread before posting.
Old 18th September 2024, 10:27   #3805

What are the checks to be done for 40k km service of Crysta 2.4 Diesel MT? I'm not happy with the Wheel Alignment and Balancing done at dealership due to the left pulling issue keep coming within 2k km drive. Can i opt the services from tyre service centers?
Old 18th September 2024, 10:38   #3806

Originally Posted by vpbops View Post
Hello Folks,

I drive an Innova, 90 % of usage will be in Coorg and 10% on the highway (Mysore and Bangalore)

Want an opinion, I am planning to change my tyres. I am confused, what brand should I buy

Yokohama Earth 1 or Blue Earth, also 215/55/17 is it a good size to continue?

Please advise, Thanks.
I had Yokohama Earth 1 in size 16 and were pretty good. Found them much better than Apollo tires which came from factory. My in-law's car is running Earth 1 17 inch and have been good. There was a damage and same was replaced under unconditional warranty. Had to pay on pro-rate basis.

Originally Posted by Innysta View Post
What are the checks to be done for 40k km service of Crysta 2.4 Diesel MT? I'm not happy with the Wheel Alignment and Balancing done at dealership due to the left pulling issue keep coming within 2k km drive. Can i opt the services from tyre service centers?
You can opt for alignment/balance outside, mention same while handing car over for service. Avoid all value additions like engine flush, 3M care, T Gloss etc.
Old 18th September 2024, 10:41   #3807

I had this problem in the initial days when they would never tighten the camber caster bolts correctly which would lead to the alignment going bad within 2-3k kms. Then they also suggested welding the purge plate that adjusts camber to prevent deviations After the smiles package got over I started getting WA done from outside and ever since then the camber and caster hardly deviate at 5k kms. Only toe needs to be adjusted. I think its more than 10k kms and three alignments that only toe is being adjusted while the rest have been in their limits.
audioholic is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th September 2024, 10:42   #3808

Things to be replaced for 40K service
1. Engine Oil
2. Oil filter
3, Differential Oil
4. Break Fluid
5. Air condition filter

I always do only what ever mentioned n the user manual

Left side pulling within 2k km can be of many reasons.
You can do the Wheel Alignment and Balancing from any reputed shop. I never got it done from dealership. In Bangalore, i always go to Madhus
kavu75 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th September 2024, 11:41   #3809

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
You can opt for alignment/balance outside, mention same while handing car over for service. Avoid all value additions like engine flush, 3M care, T Gloss etc.
Applying grease to differential joints - i believe it's part of the service itself. What specific positive impact we will get from Engine flush, 3M care?

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
I had this problem in the initial days when they would never tighten the camber caster bolts correctly which would lead to the alignment going bad within 2-3k kms.
In my case, they did tighten the camber caster bolts but issue persists, will try this time from outside.

Originally Posted by kavu75 View Post
3, Differential Oil
4. Brake Fluid
5. Air condition filter
Differential oil and Brake fluid - looks its the first time due for change? AC filter - they changed it in 30k service, is it to be changed in every 10k km service?

I never got it done from dealership. In Bangalore, i always go to Madhus
Any recommendations at Chennai around Tambaram area?
Old 19th September 2024, 08:47   #3810

1. Engine Oil
2. Oil filter
3, Differential Oil
4. Break Fluid
5. Air condition filter

I always do only what ever mentioned n the user manual

Left side pulling within 2k km can be of many reasons.
You can do the Wheel Alignment and Balancing from any reputed shop. I never got it done from dealership. In Bangalore, i always go to Madhus
Please share the location / address of Madhus.