![]() | #316 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: UP32 & UP65
| ![]() The first unit of the new XUV 700 rolls out of the production plant. These new SUVs will be allocated to dealers for display and test-drive. (As per Rushlane) Although I am a bit skeptical here because the first unit has rolled out while most of the reviewers specifically mentioned the infotainment to be in the beta testing phase. Is Mahindra being hasty to catch up with all the frenzy and attention the XUV700 has got or will be beta testing on the users? ![]() Here is a link to the complete news by Rushlane: https://www.rushlane.com/mahindra-xu...medium=twitter |
![]() |
|
![]() | #317 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
2) With this logic, someone who purchases an Alto for Rs 4 lacs, will spend more than the purchase cost on fuel just by driving it a little over 50,000 kms. Someone who buys a Honda Activa for Rs 70,000 would have spent more money on fuel just by riding it over 30,000 kms. With this logic, a Rolls Royce will be the most logical purchase as you can drive it a million kms or more before the fuel cost matches the price of the vehicle. ![]() Last edited by Geta : 21st August 2021 at 16:45. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #318 |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Called up my local Mahindra dealer regarding unofficial booking of the XUV 7OO ![]() Regarding the price of the AX7 AT with AWD and all the options ticked, he speculated that the price might be around 23 Lakhs Ex-showroom. I was speculating it to be 20 or at least 21 but even 23 seems like a good deal. He promised to keep me updated through WhatsApp so will share any useful information I might get on the forum. This will be our first Mahindra car if all goes well. However, having never owned a Mahindra, I am terribly scared of any major niggles that might crop up (especially with regards to the amount of tech on board and chances for thins to go wrong). We have a Toyota Innova, an Isuzu D-Max and a Hyundai Creta at home and have never faced any issues till now (5 years for the Toyota, 3 years for the Creta). Hope if we go through with the purchase that the Mahindra will also be trouble free (for the most part). |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #319 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2008 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
1) All those cars (except the Hector) are in the 30L+ range. Folks who can spend so much money on a car can also afford to fill it up. Are you trying to argue that someone who has a budget of 12L will not feel the pinch for 6-9KMPL mileage? If you get 10.5KMPL out of a Grand i10, I can bet that you will not get more than 6KMPL out of the XUV 700 Petrol on the same commute. Would you be happy with that? 2) Anyone buying an Activa or an Alto doesn't have any better options that are cheaper to run, while still serving their requirements. This is hardly the case with the XUV700, where the diesel counterpart, and tons of other options exist in the market with a much cheaper running cost. And BTW you still haven't told me which parts of my last post were filled with "so much misinformation" that you claimed they had. I think you have a penchant for arguing for the sake of arguing. This isn't reddit, you know? | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #320 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
2) If people look for the cheapest option, Nano would have sold in millions. People don't look for cheapness. They look for *value* (monetary, snob, peace of mind or a combination of these) And XUV700 offers that in plenty, even in its petrol guise 3) The misinformations had already been highlighted in the screenshots and hence I didn't find it worthwhile to beat a dead horse Cheers! Last edited by Geta : 21st August 2021 at 17:02. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #321 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2021 Location: JK/Delhi
| ![]() Quote:
![]() ![]() Anyways, coming to the risk, I need some serious advice guys. I have a Fortuner delivery date coming in three weeks and these Mahindra teasers and videos have made me doubt my decision. Also with the current gen Fortuner seeing a facelift anytime next year, Should I stick with the Fortuner purchase or Should I wait for Mahindra to finally launch the Vehicle and hopefully it turns out to be fine and then wait for excruciating long waiting periods? P.S Owned Mahindras for as long as I remember so niggles are my daily thing. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #322 |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Just saw a video on YouTube that shows a Diesel Manual Acceleration comparison between the Mahindra XUV700 and the Tata Safari. I am shocked by the fact that even though the XUV700 has a plus point in terms of power and torque figures and considering the fact that the Safari weighs 1825kgs, which is more that what XUV700 weighs, the Safari wins the 0-60kph, 0-80kph, 0-100kph, 0-120kph and 0-140kph acceleration tests..!! Is there some sort partiality that is being practiced by the YouTuber or do you guys believe the test results?? |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #323 | |||||
BANNED Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: Nowhere
| ![]() Quote:
Last edited by Aditya : 23rd August 2021 at 05:28. Reason: Toned down. Please refrain from using an aggressive tone in your posts. | |||||
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
![]() | #324 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2021 Location: Delhi/Shimla
| ![]() A newbie to Team BHP but not to cars. So, I have an question for all of you. I am 56 years old, have driven all sorts of cars for about 40 years or so ( including Maruti 800, Zen, Swift, Scorpio and currently have an Eco sport, and I10 Grand and 7 year old Thar) but have never owned an Automatic. So, now looking at XUV 700, maybe the AX5 or 7 version automatic. So, for a 56 year old, how easy would it be for somebody who has driven manuals only to switch to automatics and would I miss lack of paddle shifters ( I suppose they make it life easier in an automatic drive ) in the XUV 700. Great forum and I have been reading/browsing the forum, before most of mu car purchases & hope to contribute here and gain some knowledge from here. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #325 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Great interview about the engine from the MAN himself. Pardon, its in tamil. But the tech terms would make sense to everyone. Quote:
Last edited by GTO : 23rd August 2021 at 09:01. Reason: Adding Kosfactor's very useful English translation :) | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #326 | |||
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Autocar: 10.34 seconds EVO India: 9.88 seconds Both are done using V-Box ![]() Quote:
Autocar: 10.3 seconds Overdrive India: 11.5 seconds I couldn't find the figures for BS6 MT, it should be similar with close to 10 seconds. I can't understand how a 7 seater Mahindra is poor in performance (for 20+ lakhs) compared to a slower and more expensive Jeep ![]() Quote:
Last edited by Dr.Naren : 21st August 2021 at 19:22. | |||
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #327 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
![]() I think, you'd be easily adapted to an auto-gearbox as you have been driving manual gearboxes for past 40 years. Shifting from manual gearbox to an automatic is like a 10th standard kid solving the homework/test of a 5th standard kid. It would be like a peice of cake for you to shift to an automatic car and would take you merely 2-3 drives to get completely habituated to the gearbox. In case of the XUV700, it is equipped with an Aisin Torque Converter gearbox and according to the reviews, the gearbox performs it's job well. So you wouldn't miss the paddle shifters for 90% of your driving. For the remaining 10% of the drives, you can use the trip-tronic fuction on the gearbox and can manually shift the gears by pushing the lever to the left, if you wish so. Happy Motoring ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #328 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Mod note - Please stay on the topic of the thread. All off-topic posts would be deleted. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #329 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Last edited by AtheK : 21st August 2021 at 20:20. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #330 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
No Experience with Lamborghinis, what you say is probably true. What I meant is that the Petrol XUV 700 MX MT will probably sell well considering it's awesome figures, inspire of having single digit Fuel economy, 6/9 kmpl. And would probably make good financial sense. Whilst avoiding the high tech equipment which may be unreliable in initial batches. I do hope that the mechanicals including suspension components are the same for all variants. Smaller wheels and badging apart, MX and AX seem similar from the outside, so street cred will not be compromised. BTW how much does everyone think the diesel version will give in terms of fuel efficiency? XUV 500 MT gives 10-12 kmpl in city and highways. This will be similar or lesser. Last edited by wildsdi5530 : 21st August 2021 at 20:46. Reason: Point about diesel. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() |