Old 2nd February 2025, 23:45   #11401

XUV 700 fuel sloshing and knocking sound and future integrity of fuel tank.

My 2023 XUV 700 AX7L Petrol has started to face the infamous 'football in the boot sound'. In last 1.5yrs of ownership, the car was never filled above 50-60% level of fuel until recently when i filled 42 ltrs petrol after low fuel warning. Soon after i started to hear knocking sound and mild vibration in handrest. I initially thought spare wheel or back row seat has come loose but that wasn't case because while reversing the car in my parking, upon braking, there was knocking as well as fuel sloshing sound. I took the car to 2 different service centre after this. One of them called it a known issue and said no modification given by company. Second one lifted the car and tightened and retorqued every screw there was under body. That however, didn't resolve the issue. I finally mailed the mahindra higher up including executive director and after the escalation my car was taken for 3 days and then returned. The service centre told me they have collected data, sound recordings and multiple other parameters have been checked and report given to Mahindra engineering team. They will advise now the. Course of action.

While the reply is still awaited,

What worries me more than sound is the future integrity.
If the force of fuel sloshing instead is strong enough to create loud sound and mild vibration, wouldn't that rupture the fuel tank someday in future??

What is the opinion of teambhp members on this?
Has anyone found any suitable solution for this issue??
Old 3rd February 2025, 00:06   #11402

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by Bukka12 View Post
I have installed few accessories... a left ORVM mounted camera with a separate monitor. Never faced any issue with either the battery or monitor.

However, I do turn off AdrenoX by long pressing the intelli control knob .... before turning off ignition.
Could you please share in details on the ORVM mounted camera with a separate monitor.?? I am also thinking of adding something similar.

Also why do you turn off AdrenoX? Does this mean the remote connection via the app will not work?
Old 3rd February 2025, 01:54   #11403

Originally Posted by Carophile View Post
Hi folks,
Update on the above issue . Workshop agreed to cover following parts under warranty:
1. Lower control arm
2. Rubber insulator bush
3. Engine mounting insulator
4. Bump stopper

Link stabilizer RH and LH not covered

Shock absorber LH and RH and bearing were ok and need not be replaced . They said if it needs replacement they would cover under warranty ( I hardly believe though)

The vehicle was ready for test drive.
Severe wobbling, vibration and front suspension noise is all gone.These were main problems noticed during long Mumbai Jaipur trip.
left side pulling and wobbling particularly at low speeds and at rear still there. These were before the trip also for few months. Wheel balancing and alignment is not solving this.

The diagnosis for these issues is worn out tyres. As the vehicle has clocked 66k on oem shoes, the above said problems will get solved apparently with new tyres.
I think changing tyres is must now.Also as almost full suspension setup is new, running it with old tyres would damage it. If the problem persists after change ,I will have to start a new chapter with M&M.

Seek opinion from the team whether such tyres can cause noticeable wobbling and pulling? Have I really driven too much on stock tyres?
Dear All,
Further update on above post:
Changing tyres was the first action required to further solve the problem of wobbling and pulling after the lower control arm, link stabilizers and engine mounting were replaced.
My search for tire brand did not take long as my sole choice was Michelins.
The only question was whether to spend so much right away as I wanted to change all 4 tires and my running may go down substantially due to change in job. Soon I convinced myself to take the plunge !
The dealer identification was also simple as I had earlier replaced my Swift tires to Michelin from Punjab Tyre Sole Vashi Navi Mumbai and they continued to appear on Michelin's web site as favorite dealer.
My search on google presented three options :
Michelin Primacy 4ST
Michelin Pilot Sport 4
Michelin Primacy SUV +
My requirement was low noise & vibrations,comfort & smoother drive and good dry braking. Rolling resistance,aquaplaning, sporty drive were not top priority. I thought ST4 was the best choice.
Things changed on visiting the dealer. The dealer presented Suv + tires and informed that ST4 and Pilot sport do not come in the size of 235/60/R18 which is the given size in my vehicle.
As per him , the tires are kind of bifurcated with ST4 being suitable for sedans, Pilot Sport for 5 seater SUVs like Creta, Seltos and SUV+ for bigger SUVs like XUV,Safari.
Though I was not fully convinced with the explanation but I was OK to fit an 'SUV' named tire in an SUV. The company must have engineered it accordingly!
Also, a quick peep into dealer's portal showed the size available in ST4 only in Ahmedabad. May be after launching SUV+ series, they discontinued this size from ST4.
Meanwhile,for info,ST5 series is going to come soon. They may have limited sizes initially but over the course of year many sizes would be added.

The last step was to finalize the price and I think I negotiated at a good price with 16875 INR per tire including Balancing and Wheel Alignment. I did not get anything for old pair.

Circling back quickly on the need for replacement. The OEM tires had driven 66k in 2.5 years . The tread depth had come down to 2.5-2.6 mm ( legal allowed 1.6 mm) and the tire wear indicators were in-line with the tread indicating the tread had depleted to the indicator level.

After the boring part was done, now was the time to get new shoes on.Hurray!

It took around 1 hr to get all 4 tires changed,balanced and Wheel alignment done.
To my dismay, one of the wheels needs a 60 gm balancing weight while others needed around 15gm each.The explanation was that RIMs do get damaged a bit due to bumps or pot holes and this is not a major concern.
The alignment was off . I do not remember the degree but it was enough for the service guy to bring my attention with the promise to see his workmanship in making it zero.
He did show his craft ( apologies for the unclear image).
Few pics below of the New tyres:
The week & year of manufacturing - all four tires are around 26,29th week of 2024.

The drive out from the shop was a great difference to what it was while going in.
The cabin was remarkably silent , the wobbling was gone and a quick dash at high speed with sudden braking proved the dry braking capacity was excellent.

I thought this is it. I have finally reached the end of hell. But something was telling me , it was not.

The thing I noticed all through the process of tire change and a little later at Fuel station while filling air was that neither my vehicle not the Adrenox app on phone ever gave the notification of air leakage or air filling as it used to do always !
Articulating the issue, when we fill air or remove it ,the typical scene with previous tires was that the turn indicators on vehicle would blink and one horn sound would come as well as the wheel on the vehicle info MID screen would blink with change in tire pressure. At the same time,adrenox app will give notifications. This falls under the Tyre fill assist system in TPMS.
None of this was happening now.

It is not that the vehicle screen is showing error or not showing TMPS at all. It is showing all four tires and the psi count . Adrenox is also doing it. Also a fill from 30 to 35 is showing but with lots of time leg and without the usual registry of air being filled and in increments almost similar to source device. Now it suddenly would jump to say 35 from showing 30.
In short, I feel my TMPS is now not sensitive and tyre fill assist system is not working. I think while driving, if psi drops due to puncture, it will not give warning.
Strangely,if sensors were bad , it would not show at all but I do not think sensors have gone bad.
I showed it to ASC which said we have done manual learning of sensors and it will work now.But it does not. The ASC also said , I have noticed that after tire change people feel this but it is not a problem.
I took care that while changing tires, the sensors are not damaged.

I seek help on this from bhpians as I dont know where and what to look for now.
Since new tire specs are same I do not think tire change is the cause . As manual learning is also done,I have run out of ideas now on solving this.

Before tire change, I used to love the functionality when my vehicle's fill assist system would almost always go at par with Nitrogen machine and I would feel satisfaction seeing the two settling at the chosen psi point.
I want that back !
Mahindra XUV700 Review-invoice.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-wa.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-car.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-year.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-tread.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-front-view.jpg  

Carophile is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 14:34   #11404

Originally Posted by Bukka12 View Post
This is quite surprising. I have a petrol automatic since January, 2023 (AX7) and I’ve had the car completely stationary for more or less 2 months few times and it always purred back to life at the touch of a button. It is mostly used during outstation trips with family and friends. So the dormant period usually ranges from a couple of weeks to 7 or 8 weeks! I have installed few accessories as well, such as interior LED lighting, dashcam and a left ORVM mounted camera with a separate monitor. Never faced any issue with either the battery or monitor.
However, I do turn off AdrenoX by long pressing the intelli control knob and disconnect the dashcam before turning off ignition.
I missed your post and just noticed the "turn off adrenox". I didn't know this was possible. I have been asking the service center for 3 yrs to give me a way to manually switch off adrenox if I wasn't going to drive the car for a week and they always told me this is not possible. I will try this and see if the drain stops. If it does then I will just manually turn off adrenox on parking the car. I haven't even renewed the subscription so it's useless - not that it worked thanks to the shitty vodafone network
Old 3rd February 2025, 17:14   #11405

Dear All,

Mine is a AX7 L variant. Is there a way to listen to music without turning on the digital cluster and the Day time running lights? While waiting at a parking lot and if I need to listen to music, its difficult to maintain a low profile as the entire cluster gets displayed and also the DRL's gets switched on. This also will drain the battery.

Kindly suggest if anyone has found out a way to listen to music just with just the Adrenox display on. Thanks in advance.
Old 3rd February 2025, 17:59   #11406

Originally Posted by deepeshh View Post
Dear All,

Mine is a AX7 L variant. Is there a way to listen to music without turning on the digital cluster and the Day time running lights? While waiting at a parking lot and if I need to listen to music, its difficult to maintain a low profile as the entire cluster gets displayed and also the DRL's gets switched on. This also will drain the battery.

Kindly suggest if anyone has found out a way to listen to music just with just the Adrenox display on. Thanks in advance.
Dear Deepeshh,
DRLs one can switch off from settings. It is a toggle switch. On screen display, if you chose setting that if no action for 60 seconds, display will go into wallpaper mode, which can be an image one chooses or clock.

This should serve your purpose as there is no separate ‘Music’ mode which will attain this directly. I think this mode doesn’t exist yet

Last edited by Axe77 : 3rd February 2025 at 18:06.
Carophile is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 01:45   #11407

Originally Posted by akg7091 View Post
I will try this and see if the drain stops. If it does then I will just manually turn off adrenox on parking the car.
Turn off auto headlight, auto wiper, DRL, seat retract upon door opening and closing as well. Not sure if it will help but that’s how I’ve configured my car. I only activate those when necessary.
Turning off AdrenoX definitely helps, as the mobile app won’t be able to ping your car when you do this. It’s useless anyway after subscription expires.
Old 4th February 2025, 02:24   #11408

Originally Posted by rroy92 View Post
Could you please share in details on the ORVM mounted camera with a separate monitor.?? I am also thinking of adding something similar.
Any ‘rear view camera’ can be fitted under the left ORVM. It’s pointed at the front left bumper and almost fully covers the left wheel. The monitor (probably 4.5 inch) is installed on the front left corner (of the dashboard) with a switch. The switch is placed directly under the steering, easily accessible but not visible from any of the seats. I rarely need it but it’s extremely convenient to use and I don’t have to worry about scratching my bumper anymore. Had the whole set-up installed under 4k.
In a way, it feels better than 360 degree cam as there’s no perceptible delay when you switch it on and totally independent of Adrenox and the centre display.

[/quote] Also why do you turn off AdrenoX? Does this mean the remote connection via the app will not work?[/quote]
Correct, all remote functions will cease to work and your driving data (location, speed etc) won’t be recorded. I do this when the car will be parked for more than 3 or 4 days. You can turn it off even when you are driving (if you aren’t listening to music or if it feels distracting).
Bukka12 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 09:11   #11409

Re: XUV 700 fuel sloshing and knocking sound and future integrity of fuel tank.

Update

I received a call from mumbai customer team regarding my post on team bhp on this problem. How they got my details since my profile or post doesn't mention any personal details is still unknown.

Received email reply from company- Typical reply saying the fuel sloshing is normal and happens with vehicle body movement. They are completely ignoring the knocking sound and vibration in cabin due to that.
They are downplaying the entire issue..

Don't know what to do, i have told them i will approach consumer court but i don't think they will take that seriously either.

Any opinions?
Tmittal93 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 16:38   #11410

Re: XUV 700 fuel sloshing and knocking sound and future integrity of fuel tank.

Originally Posted by Tmittal93 View Post
Update

I received a call from mumbai customer team regarding my post on team bhp on this problem. How they got my details since my profile or post doesn't mention any personal details is still unknown.
Any opinions?
I genuinely don't think consumer court intervention will help, as this appears to be a design flaw.
My car has been stuck at the service center for over 15 days in the past two months due to multiple issues, including a coolant hose rupture and complete display failure. Despite extensive troubleshooting and disassembly, nothing has been resolved.
The service experience is appalling. Mahindra lags far behind brands like Maruti, Honda, and Toyota in after-sales support. I reported the display flickering issue early on, but they're still fumbling with software diagnostics. The lack of a streamlined system and accountability is glaring—overloaded centers and apathetic staff only exacerbate the problem.
Until top management takes genuine steps to overhaul the service ecosystem, Mahindra will struggle to compete. The cars may be great, but the after-sales service tells a different story.
Old 6th February 2025, 22:01   #11411

Hello everyone,

I had booked the Thar Roxx on October of last year as I was planning to replace my 2016 XUV500 W10 AT though it’s mechanically sorted I just got bored with car and wanted to replace it with a newer one as it’s nearing 10 years.

Although Thar Roxx is a great car in many aspects, but after a second test drive I felt that it has way less interior space be it in the front or at 2nd row, poor thigh and lumbar support for the driver and the ride quality although liveable but doesn’t really settle like a monocoque would post 100 kmph and still feels nervous to corner compared to a monocoque (typical ladder frame behaviour can’t complain but NVH is excellent).

I was allotted the variant of my choice the AX7L Diesel AT 4X4 but unfortunately had to cancel Roxx as I felt I personally had to compromise on too many things which the older 5OO did better (also it’s hard to go to C segment from D segment as the space offered inside is much less).

Now the next option is XUV700 AX7L AT as the on road price of top end variants of XUV700 and Thar Roxx is quite near ~3.5-4 lakhs is the difference, dropped Scorpio N as its lacking ADAS.

But is this the right time to get the XUV700 now as I’m getting almost 1 lakh discount on MY2024 or wait for the facelift considering it will reach its 4 year mark in 2025 and is also due for an update and continue to use my old but reliable 5OO?

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Last edited by Tensor : 6th February 2025 at 22:07. Reason: Added more context
Old 7th February 2025, 10:58   #11412

Originally Posted by rpmmachine View Post
Update on the Issues with Xuv700

The display is now completely non-functional, and I was forced to drive the entire day without any information on the screen. Despite multiple attempts to resolve the issue, including restarting the car and disconnecting/reconnecting the battery, nothing has worked.
It now seems inevitable that the car will have to stay at the service center for yet another week.
Update on issues with the XUV 700 display:

They took apart the XUV and attempted to replace everything they could during troubleshooting. Eventually, they found that the culprit was the display itself. The part has now been ordered (from Pune) and, thankfully, it's covered under Mahindra's warranty without any hassle.
To my surprise, the cost of the part(display) is around 1.1 Lakhs.
Additionally, the AC parts were replaced under warranty, and the coolant hose rupture that occurred during a trip was also covered under Mahindra's warranty.

Mahindra's commitment to customer satisfaction is truly commendable—their warranty process is efficient and seamless, with parts covered under warranty being replaced without any questions asked.
This level of service strongly supports the value of opting for an extended (paid) warranty with complete confidence.

The car will stay in the workshop for another week(a total of 2 weeks) until the part arrives and is fixed. I'll have to check its condition as I'm worried they might not be able to reinstall it in the same way it came from the factory.

The AC has failed twice, the coolant hose ruptured in the middle of a trip, and the screen went blank out of nowhere. I doubt if I got a lemon, or if it's happening to multiple owners.
I've lost confidence in taking the XUV on out-of-city trips.

I respectfully request that Mahindra consider extending the warranty to 7-8 years for cars that have experienced multiple/repeated issues.

The only question is: If Mahindra can offer a 7-year warranty in Australia on the same cars, why not in India? Mr. Anand Mahindra should seriously consider this. Here in India, where everything is manufactured, we get only a 3-year warranty, while the same car launched in Australia comes with a 7-year warranty.
In India, the maximum extended (Paid) warranty available is 5 years only.

Originally Posted by Tensor View Post
But is this the right time to get the XUV700 now as I’m getting almost 1 lakh discount on MY2024 or wait for the facelift considering it will reach its 4 year mark in 2025 and is also due for an update and continue to use my old but reliable 5OO?
The right time to buy the car is when you feel it’s the right choice.
My suggestion, given the many failures, would be to wait for the facelift with everything sorted out. There is still a lot of troubleshooting going on with Mahindra. No one wants their car to be at the service center for extended periods.
rpmmachine is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th February 2025, 11:29   #11413

Does anyone have any experience with adding additional aux lights inside the grill? One installer suggested adding pod lights from Aozoom inside the grill. (TH 02/TH 03)

I discussed with FeRetrofit and they quoted 75K for the Octo Q set-up for the headlights.

I did not want to do that at the moment so looking at other alternatives.

I did take a look at the post on adjusting the headlights but it is not helping much. The throw and the light output is still not sufficient.

Last edited by batterylow : 7th February 2025 at 11:30. Reason: Additional info.
Old 9th February 2025, 11:26   #11414

Dear All,

I am in Market for a replacement cum upgrade of my Jazz 2017 V CVT. Jazz has been an exceptionally fuss free ownership however it lacks many of the present day safety features.

My requirements are:
- primarily for a family of 4
- Absolutely need 6 Airbags, Middle 3 point seat belt in 2nd row and TPMS.
- Running is in the extreme bumper to bumper traffic of BKC- Andheri in Mumbai.

We did test drive Creta but it appeared to be a bit less roomy and airy as compared to Jazz. Although it had a brilliant offering of tech but I am not someone who wud assign a lot of importance to them.

My Query:
Should I be even looking at the Diesel version given the DEF issues in case doesnt see much of a Highway run?

Does Petrol variant return decent, by Mumbai standards , mileage ? Anything above 8 kmpl in heavy traffic is good for me.
Does the petrol version have enough grunt for once in a month highway run?

I understand Innova Hycross might be a better option for me given the car will be chauffeur driven and I can have mental peace of Toyota.But, extra 7-8 lakhs above Xuv 700 for Hycross will he a bit of stretch for me.

Thanks in advance!
Old 9th February 2025, 17:40   #11415

Infractions: 0/2 (19)

Originally Posted by Shanks_Jazz View Post
Dear All,

My Query:
Should I be even looking at the Diesel version given the DEF issues in case doesnt see much of a Highway run?

Does Petrol variant return decent, by Mumbai standards , mileage ? Anything above 8 kmpl in heavy traffic is good for me.
Does the petrol version have enough grunt for once in a month highway run?

I understand Innova Hycross might be a better option for me given the car will be chauffeur driven and I can have mental peace of Toyota.But, extra 7-8 lakhs above Xuv 700 for Hycross will he a bit of stretch for me.

Thanks in advance!
Assuming you have a budget of around 25 lahks on-road Mumbai, the XUV700 AX7 Diesel MT seems to tick all the boxes, we have an AX7L AWD Diesel AT in the family and it has been an absolute gem with no issues whatsoever, so you don't need to particularly worry about issues, moreover, the car has been in the market for a few years and most issues have been ironed out already. So go ahead with the Diesel MT, Moreover, any large SUV with turbo petrol will be a fuel guzzler in traffic, so a diesel is a better bet.

Now, if you want to consider other options, I would recommend an AX7 Diesel MT 2WD Thar Roxx, with its intimidating stance, it's a good car to have, but not particularly comfortable as in an XUV.

If you want to stay within the Honda stable and get decent mileage, an option worth considering is the Honda City Hybrid, the top end costs less than 25 lakhs on the road and there are offers to the tune of 1.25 lakhs as well, so should be a good option to get chauffeured around in.

Another option would be a Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Hybrid or Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara Hybrid, although not as fancy as an XUV700, it gets a frugal hybrid engine and should be good for your usage scenario.
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks