Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On owning a car

Old 22nd December 2014, 18:01   #301

Re: ARTICLE: How to sell a *USED* car in India

Mods, I hope this is a relevant thread for the query ( If not, please move it )

My bike is registered in Kerala. However I am currently residing in Chennai. Can I sell the bike here in Chennai without applying for NOC or transferring the RC?

If I can sell, what all additional documentation should be done by me?
Old 29th December 2014, 14:29   #302

Guys, Need some advice. We traded/exchanged our Zen for a Hyundai at Advaith but I have not received any documents regarding the transfer to the new owner till date.

Whats the process regarding deals in Exchange Melas?
Old 29th December 2014, 15:40   #303

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Guys, Need some advice. We traded/exchanged our Zen for a Hyundai at Advaith but I have not received any documents regarding the transfer to the new owner till date.

Whats the process regarding deals in Exchange Melas?
When was the deal done? The process followed is the same if the dealer finds a buyer soon. Looks like the dealer has not found a buyer for your car as of yet. Recommend you to meet the dealer and find out if the car is sold or not.
Old 29th December 2014, 17:07   #304

One year back. Since its a reputed Hyundai Dealer I have not bothered to check. But I'll get down to it. Bangalore RTO website is down, else could have checked for ownership transfer.

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
When was the deal done? The process followed is the same if the dealer finds a buyer soon. Looks like the dealer has not found a buyer for your car as of yet. Recommend you to meet the dealer and find out if the car is sold or not.
Old 29th December 2014, 17:20   #305

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
One year back. Since its a reputed Hyundai Dealer I have not bothered to check. But I'll get down to it. Bangalore RTO website is down, else could have checked for ownership transfer.
May be that the transfer is already done. (Did you give them the forms pre-signed). If that is the case, then you should do a follow-up with the dealer and he should be able to get you the records.

Regards.
Old 18th January 2015, 19:08   #306

Greetings to All!
Please find the new ONLINE application for Transfer of ownership by the SELLER to any RTO inside KERALA State.
Old 18th January 2015, 21:07   #307

Greetings once again to to All.
*****NEED SOME EXPERT ADVICE******
I am negotiating to buy a 2009 CIVIC V-MT Pearl white for 7lakhs in my home town- Cochin, I personally feel the Civic in Bangalore & Cochin were on the same price range ( Approx ).
The Bangalore Civics are selling the V trim Manual for 6 to 7lakhs.
I have asked the Seller all the questions as advised by GTO, waiting for the reply. Said he would provide me details.
Is the purchase price of 7L OK for a 2009 VMT, with rear spoiler & JBL subwoofer! ( Not keen on Loud music!, but says it is installed )
Thanks in Advance!

Attachment of Kerala RTO Transfer of Ownership.
ARTICLE: How to sell a *USED* car in India-transfer-ownership-owner-vehicle-any-rto-inside-kerala-state-.jpg  

Last edited by Eddy : 2nd April 2015 at 11:27. Reason: Merged
Old 19th January 2015, 16:12   #308

Please find the details to the questions asked to the SELLER.
In the mean time please help me with the following information.
-Year & Month of manufacture / registration
- Original Purchase Invoice of Civic.
- RTO of registration
- Individual / Commercial lifetime tax
- Number of owners
- Insurance type (comprehensive / third party) & validity, Any Claims.
- Service history availability, Last service date.
- Colour (interior & exterior)
- Variant / Trim level
- Kms covered
- Accessories fitted
- Reason for selling
- Are you the registered Owner of the Civic.
-Are you willing to get your Civic inspected by Honda in Ernakulam.
- Lastly do you have an agent who can do all necessary paper work at the RTO.
Reply-
1. 2009 November
2. Dont know exactly as i am the second owner ( Approx 15 lacs )
3. Previously it was Trivandrum. Now it is Chalakudy
4. Life Tax
5. 2nd Owner
6. Full Cover valid till Nov 2015 ( United Insurance )
7. Last service done in Jan 2014 and oil changed in between with regular checkups like type rotation and wheel alignment
8. Taffeta White & Beige leather seats
9. VMT ( Full option with manual transmission)
10. 24300 kms currently
11. Rear spoiler, rain guards, JBL sub woofer
12. Less use and going for a small car
13. Yes
14. Yes
15. We can do it directly through RTO by taking printouts online and submit it to the RTO. No need of any agents. I did it myself for this.
Old 27th January 2015, 19:48   #309

Hi guys,

Iam hoping this thread is still being watched out there. I need some help with selling a used car. My friend is selling his car in Pune. He is the second owner, and the car was purchased in Mumbai. Its worth mentioning too that the car was transferred to Pune RTO since he used it in Pune. The car is on his dad's name, who unfortunately passed away a couple of years back. A couple of months later he was transferred to Bangalore. He tried changing the papers to his name, even though he was to sell this car, but was told that its better to do that straight while he sells the car, else it becomes double work.

Now he is trying to sell his car in Pune, and might travel for the same reason in Feb. Can someone please advice what needs to be done while he attempts to sell it ? Since the car is in his dad's name, does that create an issue?

Also what documents are required, and most importantly does it take a lot of time?

He requested me to post this here, and hence doing so. It would be great if someone can help.

Devyaani.
Old 28th January 2015, 20:16   #310

Hi! There,
I have faced the same issue with my Brother's Car & Yezdi Bike.
1. You need to get an application made at the LOCAL Tehsil Office,Legal Heirship Certificate,
Transfer of ownership, to next surviving Family member Forms, paid TAX and RRC book, meet the Superintendent of the LOCAL RTO office, speak to him. And get into the process of submitting the docs.

Good Luck!

Joe
joednazareth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2015, 14:55   #311

I couldnt find a appropriate thread hence and posting the query here.
I have lost my RC book and need to sell my vehicle.
- What is the process to getting a new RC book ?
- If I am forced to sell my vehicle without RC book, what are the other docuements that will be required additionally
Old 3rd March 2015, 11:38   #312
SRK

I had a few queries regarding filling up the forms. I would be selling off a two wheeler and would like to clear a few doubts. Could someone please help me out with.

DELIVERY NOTE:

I have this day taken delivery of Scooter, Motor Cycle, Motor Car bearing
M.V. No. __________________________________________________ ___
From Shri / Smt. ________________________________
Of __________________________________________________

In the above form, what has to be filled in the space provided after "OF"?

Also do I need to fill in the names in the space marked for "Office Endorsement" or that will be taken care by the RTO.

One more question was, that the 2 wheeler has a MH 01 registration, while I reside under the MH 02 RTO. If I sell the vehicle to someone under another RTO like MH 04 or MH 03 what procedure should be followed.
Old 8th March 2015, 19:56   #313

Dear esteemed members,
Greetings to all!
1. Please advise, how do I make a purchase of a car from an individual.
2. How to make a down payment, what kind of receipt should I get, do I pay into his Personal Bank Account.
3. What is the format of Vehicle sale agreement. Terms and conditions to be included. Do I need it drafted and signed in front of a Public Notery.
4. New rule in Kerala, requires Seller to initiate transfer of ownership from HIS registered vehicle's RTO to the Buyer's RTO jurisdiction. Now this transfer is anything more than 15 days, and the Buyer receives the purchased vehicle's RC CARD by registered post.
5. How and when to make the final payment.
6. When to take the Delivery of the purchased vehicle from the Seller's possession.

What is the right way to go about making payments to an Individual, car owner.

Thank you for all your inputs.
Kind regards,
Joe
Old 18th March 2015, 13:24   #314

I am in the process of Transferring my car in Delhi to an Individual.
Referring to this thread, I am completing Form 29 and Form 30.

Need some help on Form 30 wherein it states:
*I/We enclose the `No Objection Certificate' issued by the Registering Authority.
** If the `No Objection Certificate' issued from the Registering Authority is not enclosed, the
Transferor should file along with this application a declaration as required under sub-section (1)
of section 50.
For a Private Car, how and where do I get the NOC from?
Old 2nd April 2015, 10:33   #315

Hi, I sold my sold to a private buyer. He's paid almost 95% of the sale value. Now for the last few days, he's postponing collecting the car, citing some reason or the other. Says "I will come in two days, I will call tomorrow, etc, etc".

If I was the buyer, I would be desperate to collect the car once the payment was made, to reduce my period of risk.

Right now, I have all the originals with me, and nothing has been given or signed by me. I don't think I have any risk.

Or do I? Am I missing something?