|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 635,417 views |
![]() | #106 | |||
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2017 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: 2013 Mahindra XUV-500 W8. Severe crash & not a single airbag deployed. Quote:
I doubt Tata is any better. Their vehicles (especially Indigo and Indica) are known to come apart in a few years Quote:
| |||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank bhpfaninblr for this useful post: | arvindb4, cbatrody, Flyer, RavenAvi, roby_dk |
|
![]() | #107 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: Bangalore
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) First of all, wishing your son a speedy recovery! It's really shameful that we have a particular premium car that continues to have multiple incidents of a standard safety mechanism not working as advertised and expected, but the said manufacturer seems least concerned about it! No wonder that many people strongly consider buying cars that are made for and sold in the west, and then brought here, rather than those conceived with a designed-keeping-local-needs-in-mind tag. It is high time safety regulations and certification get as much as attention as emissions are. Last edited by pannags : 26th July 2018 at 19:55. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank pannags for this useful post: | arvindb4, cbatrody, Lalvaz, roby_dk |
![]() | #108 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: New Delhi
| Hi All. I am filled with gratitude for the support and suggestions I have read on this thread. I and my family are truly in debited. Madhav is going for another major brain surgery,around the 1st of August, to replace his corneal skull and other issues . It wasn't happening because he picked up an icu bug, highly resistant. His hearing is 80 %damaged and there were 7 fractures around and in the ear aperture. I am really floored with gratitude I cannot repay ever. Please pray for Madhav in any way you can. Also I am sorry that I don't have the luxury of time to understand how to wade through this thread, whether sending a PM or being able to reply and quote multiple messages in one go. Please do understand that I see and reply everything from my mobile. I do try to reply and individually. Please Pray Pray and Pray. For Madhav and anyone else who may be suffering. Madhav is going through his 3rd major brain surgery around the 1st of August. Like to express my gratitude for all the support that I received from all of you. Please pray for Madhav. Miracles do happen. God Bless Arvind Please pray for Madhav, his 3rd major brain surgery is scheduled for 1st May Quote:
My heartfelt thanks and gratitude for the support. Madhav is heading for his 3rd Major brain surgery next week. Please put him in your prayers. We believe in miracles. Ancap is tested on the awd Xuv500. Internal components are not mentioned. Are we sure that they sell the same car here in India? Last edited by ampere : 26th July 2018 at 21:17. Reason: Back to back posts merged | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 19 BHPians Thank arvindb4 for this useful post: | bhavik.1991, bhpfaninblr, cbatrody, DrANTO, GKMahajan, GwD, haria, Ithaca, JLS, johny_desparado, myavu, NetfreakBombay, RavenAvi, roby_dk, roy_libran, sunny310c, Varun_HexaGuy, Vysakh, WalterWhite |
![]() | #109 | |||
|
I did approach them. They asked me for couple of lakhs which I cant afford. I requested for reducing and never heard back from them. Any way they are funded by a airbag manufacturer, I was told. I don't know if they would be inherently impartial in a probe. It's a mystery, I haven't been able to solve and have found no assistance either Quote:
Not misinterpreted. It's a dual carriage wide road. Wasn't busy at all. He tried to avert. People drive on the wrong side in gurgaon all the time. There was no roll over. It hit high metal fences and crashed into a green belt area full of tree stumps, rocks etc etc. I feel hope atleast from the solidarity I have received here. I am groping myself to find justice and an independent investigation. I am sure that HE shall show the right path. Last edited by ampere : 26th July 2018 at 21:34. Reason: Back to back posts merged | |||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank arvindb4 for this useful post: | cbatrody, GKMahajan, RavenAvi, roby_dk, roy_libran, WalterWhite |
![]() | #110 | |
| Re: 2013 Mahindra XUV-500 W8. Severe crash & not a single airbag deployed. Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank arvindb4 for this useful post: | RavenAvi, roby_dk, roy_libran, Sheel |
![]() | #111 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: kolkata/bangalore,india
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) Gentlemen, has anyone noticed how the web portals, which are like the automotive industry's version of Page 3 tabloids, has not written anything about this incident? A car has crashed where the airbags has not deployed and has, as a direct consequence of that, landed the driver in hospital with critical injuries. This would be a sensational story had the car been of some other manufacturer. These tabloids, who seem to have their noses and fingers in every pie and forum, has pretty much ignored this story. One wonders why! Infact, the last few XUV stories on the net are of the Rs 1.6 lakh discount that Mahindra is offering to sell off their old 2017 stock! My image of Mahindra has completely changed in the last few days. This is not a one-off incident, as can been seen by the other incidents on this thread. I was shocked to see the Mahindra manual which pointed out the circumstances in which the airbags might not work, for eg when hitting a pole? Why in the world not?! Euro NCAP specifically tests for side pole impact! What in the world are we being feed in the name of Indian manufacturing? Are all Indian manufacturers following global norms for crash-testing? Are they following atleast the Bharat crash-testing standards? And when in the world are they going to be implemented? God knows how many other models on road are defective death traps. I pray for the person who is in the hospital and for his family. What has happened has been extremely cruel to him. I hope he recovers fully. And I hope you get justice, OP. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 14 BHPians Thank avishar for this useful post: | arvindb4, bhavik.1991, Bibendum90949, cbatrody, johny_desparado, jpcoolguy, Lalvaz, RavenAvi, roby_dk, roy_libran, sandeepmdas, Sheel, Vysakh, WalterWhite |
![]() | #112 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2017 Location: MH 43 // MH 46
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) Quote:
I keep him in my prayers everyday and I pray for his speedy recovery and successful operation on 1st August. Please always keep a positive demeanor and know that a lot of people you do not know or may never meet are praying for your son and pulling for you. I hope you have launched a public complaint in our government complaint portal pg.portal.in and requested competent authority to look into the airbags issue. PG Portal Link | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank Ithaca for this useful post: | arvindb4, roby_dk, SmartCat |
![]() | #113 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Pune
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) Arvind, I am so sorry for the pain and anguish that you and your family must be enduring. Seeing a child suffer is one of the worst emotions a parent has to endure. I totally empathise with your situation vis a vis Mahindra. My family experience with a Tata Safari back in the early 2000s has taken all Tata cars off our consideration list..permanently. Now, I guess your experience and the Mahindra Group's extremely callous response to your pain has perforce struck yet another Indian automobile manufacturer off my list. My Mom had suffered a stroke in the early '90s and by God's grace & blessings recovered to 99% of normalcy. In much the same way, with Gods blessings combined with your son's youth and the advanced medical care available today I am sure he too shall recover to lead a normal life. Do not give up. PS - No offence to any Tata or Mahindra fans out there. Last edited by R2D2 : 27th July 2018 at 00:21. Reason: added PS |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank R2D2 for this useful post: | arvindb4, bhpfaninblr, F150, RavenAvi, roby_dk, sandeepmdas |
![]() | #114 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Bangalore
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) So sorry to hear about your ordeal Arvind. Pray for your son's full recovery. As an XUV owner one of the reasons i went for W8 was all the extra safety features it came with but case like this makes me wonder if its worth anything. I dont want to bash Mahindra here cause its not like other manufacturers like Maruti, hyundai havn't watered down their cars selling in India for structural integrity. Situation wouldn't have been any different with other manufacturers. What we lack is a proper govt body with no stake in the game to be neutral in assessment. Hope you are able to get some independent agency look into this and make Mahindra accountable. The damage on the door cannot be explained unless sensors arent working or there is a design flaw. Last edited by supertinu : 27th July 2018 at 01:07. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks supertinu for this useful post: | arvindb4 |
![]() | #115 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) I dont understand why govt cant send all the cars manufactured for India to some independent test facility abroad. For people who value safety its their right to know what they are getting when they pay for the safety features. Atleast the information should be there. What consumers buy with their own money later is their responsibility. If people start seeing the stars on safety aspects advertised on their cars with emission like they do abroad for some aspects of the car, they will be influenced to buy something that has better safety. These details should be displayed prominently to their face on the door windows. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks srishiva for this useful post: | arvindb4 |
![]() | #116 | ||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2017 Location: MH 43 // MH 46
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) Quote:
India is supposed to have - Bharat New Vehicle Safety Assessment Program but as per what I could gather online, it is still languishing somewhere. Bharat New Vehicle Safety Assessment Program I believe ARAI does test vehicles. But .......................... Quote:
| ||
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #117 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2018 Location: DL
| Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) @arvindb4 what are you planning on doing next ? I think you should file suit against mahindra. If you want, i can give you reference of one of the best lawyers in Delhi. You can claim a compensation as in a similar case Toyota paid 25 Lacs. Here is the link: https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...w/45141644.cms Last edited by revvharder : 27th July 2018 at 08:16. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank revvharder for this useful post: | arvindb4, roby_dk |
![]() | #118 | ||||
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | Re: XUV500: Severe crash, but not a single airbag deployed (driver injured) Quote:
The manufacturers are taxed a lot and so does the end buyer, despite that, we neither get good infrastructure nor safe cars and this is something which may not see a change anytime soon. | ||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank Sheel for this useful post: | bhpfaninblr, cbatrody, Mu009, RavenAvi, roby_dk |
![]() | #119 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2017 Location: Bengaluru
The percentage of airbags not opening on team-bhp is highest with XUV. Mahindra is one of the worst paymasters and doubtful they can attract the kind of engineering talent that their competitors attract! No wonder they have multiple technical glitches on even their top end vehicles There have been many XUV owners on this thread trying to defend Mahindra's callousness rather subtly owing to the love for their cars. While it is natural, when XUV has had such multiple failures on safety front, first thing I would do as a XUV owner would be to sell my car and buy one from another manufacturer Last edited by bhpfaninblr : 27th July 2018 at 10:17. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank bhpfaninblr for this useful post: | cbatrody, ShortShifter |
![]() | #120 | |
BHPian | Re: 2013 Mahindra XUV-500 W8. Severe crash & not a single airbag deployed. Quote:
While Arvind's case here is completely different. Cheers! | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank sumitdongerkery for this useful post: | SDP, TheIndian |
![]() |